Any Comments on Ximula / Alumix wardrobe system ?

dodgeviper

I'm planning on getting the Ximula wardrobe system. Anyone got any good/bad comments on the quality, price or watever? Or, Anyone got any pics of your Ximula / Alumix wardrobe system to show?

jazzyjas

heard from a colleague tat this place is cheaper compared to the rest. As for the quality i am not sure but no complaints from him so far.
Am trying 2 find a contractor for the wardrobe oso.

Perhaps u can check the below website for details:-

http://www.ximula.com/

afcai

Not a bad idea afterall, I did a Ximula full ht wardrobe system with them. It is quite nice and modern.

itsuki

hi afcai,

did u get yours direct from Ximula in Parkmall? How much rough did they quote you per foot? Thanks.

regds
itsuki

afcai

Hi Itsuki,

I did not get ximula in Parkmall. my full height wardrobe is 1600mm in size and cost $926(with GST).I got it from an Industrial park in Toa Payoh.

sherlin

afcai, where is the Toa Payoh's branch located? ID co usually charge around $2500 for walk-in wardrobe of abt 13 feet.

afcai

you may wish to PM me for the location.It might not be so expensive if one get the display set from its showrm or recommended to join the hbay tour. there would be discount vouchers etc during the tour. anyway,I get to know the ID when I am in the hbay tour which is held every Sat.

NB:the height of the ceiling to the flooring of my house is abt 216cm.

bungy_jumper

Hi, I also went to the industrial park in T.P to get the alumix. For the exact same system, i was quoted about half the price of what my ID quoted me. Anyway, since they are the supplier, my ID also had to get from them, so might as well I approach them direct.

lifestyle

i did the ximula system for my walk-in wardrobe from T.P. frankly the price are still ok compared to cupboards. (personal opinion) i was quoted about half the price of what cupboards offering. the staffs are very friendly, especially the uncles that came down to install the system. they are very patient and gentle towards the whole process.
the system cost about $4000 (includes a routating Cloth stand), without glass door. they quoted me $900 more for the glass door, which i find it too expensive. according to them, that was a "safety door"(a layer of sticker stick onto the glass)that's y it was so expensive. in the end, our glass contractor whom done up our mirrors did a set of Tempered Sliding Glass door for us. frankly, my hubby and me are quite happy with our walk-in wardrobe.

dodgeviper

Thanks all for the comments.

We went down to T.P Industrial Park for the Ximula system, the ppl there are friendly. The guy who served us is very nice and patient too, he explained everything to us. Drafted 2 plans of the wardrobe (1 walk-in and 1 normal /w sliding door) that we wanted, roughly quoted us a price on the first visit.

We came back, thought abt everything. Went back to him again recently confirmed wat we want and he re-quoted us again on the normal wardrobe. Price is quite reasonable and within budget, so we decided to give it a try.

The Ximula ppl are coming down to our place to do the false wall this week, so we shall see how's their workmanship and such.

Will update again.

haruna

watz false wall?

ha, so i m not alone (i m oso interested in the aluminium structural system). personally i prefer the ximula over the alumix, reason being the modern and stylish aluminium framing, the flexibility of future expansion (additional of shelvings, bars, drawer units, etc.), slimness of the ximula structures. of course, it comes wif a price ($$$$).

comparing ximula & illumiflex (from cupboards), the pricing are quite close. i gaz illumiflex's xpensive bcoz itz from uk/germany (either 1). ximula, on the other hand, is costly bcoz it comes wif aluminium framing. just my views.

b it alumix, ximula or illumiflex, i gaz it shld b betta than those pieces of wooden partitions/platforms.

dodgeviper

Hi Haruna, the false wall is the partition wall, cos the place where the wardrobe is going to be needs a partition up to hold the sliding door.

W@@T, finally the wardrobe is done. Overall is ok.. but hor, there's actually a small scratch on the sliding door (Frost part) and a small dent on the top of the sliding door. U guys think we should complain or jus let it be? Anyone of u got any recommendation on how to cover up tat scratch on the frost piece?

Well, other than the above.. everything is fine, the man who came down to install the wardrobe did a fast and neat job. The result is Good...

bungy_jumper

Hi Dodge,
My doors also have alot of marks on the frosted side. The more I wipe, the more marks it leaves behind. Any idea why ?

afcai

Hi DodgeViper,

yrs is only small dent, for mine, my frost part got bubbles all over which are filled with dirt somemore. Have asked my carpentary to re-do a few times but it is still the same. In the end, I give up.

My drawer also got some dent which is caused by the workers. have already complain and the contractor say they will take action.

maybe u asked back yr ID or contractor how to get rid of the scratch on the frost piece.

bungy_jumper

afcai,
how do you maintain the frost part? I used a damp cloth to wipe.. but as it dries, i see circles and lines left behind by the damp cloth. very aweful.

afcai

Hi jumped,

I did not do any maintainence on the frost part bec I am afraid the damp cloth will wipe of the color of the frost part(mine is pink and blue).

acc to my ID, he said that one must use blower to dry immediately or else there will be a mark.

dust collected inside my frosted part. I think my contractor did not use the clean cloth to wipe it before he laminated it. at least, now it is only a few spot only compared to previous one, it is worst.

nanshee

hai .. can i have the address of TP Ximula system? Can i check with u, how much does it cost for a 13ft walk in?

u can pm me at [email protected] .. thank you. really appreciate ur help

bungy_jumper

Hi Nanshee,
Its block 2 TP Industrial Park. #01-1401
Perhaps you can call them for a quotation first before you go down.
Tel:68445255

afcai

Hi Porcu,

Yup, I'm using their services. I have done the Display glass cabinet, Walk in wardobe, Bi Fold door with almuni frame & safely glass from best glass, kitchen cabinet and the extra cabinet which is the extra part left over by the kitchen cabinet part so I asked them to build the extra cabinet with them.

haruna

hi DodgeViper, 4got i've posted some queries on dis thread. 10q 4 sharing. BTW, how much did they charge u 4 d false partition? n 4 wat dimensions? thot they doin slidin door n structure oni, dinno they oso do partitions, hee!

i've bought my ximula. they've delivered but bcoz i've decided 2 do a false ceilin in my walk-in area s well, i postponed d installation. d installation is scheduled 2 b on dis sat. now rushin my renovator 2 paint d false ceilin prior 2 d installation. :p

greenie

i juz noe tt i am payg more than the normal wardrobe to hv this system... sounds a bit crazy to me...
but my hb said a few hundred more is ok, coz the wardrobe will last... well, we will see.

and my ID told me that there is no backing 4 my wardrobe.. i will see through my walls and wif the poles that r supporting the wardrobe. sounds funny to me.

bungy_jumper

yah, u will see the poles, bars and shelves. The wall, floor and ceiling still can see. PM you the alumix pics later for your reference.

haruna

ooi, *starz*, u can chk out www.ximula.com (4 ximula structure sys).

in my view, itz worth it. coz u can unmount n mount elsewhere, which means u can reuse when u move house, reconstruct in other plcs/areas, unlike d constructed pieces of wood 4 wardrobe. then if well maintained, shld b more lastin 4 d wooden wardrobes.

jazzyjas

hi..
we ordered a wardrobe from ximula oso.
thk ours is alumix system oso.

there is sth i dun understand.. how come there is no backing for the wardrobe? meaning use the wall that this system is mounted as the backing? thx.

greenie

ohhh, i din noe the system so super one ah! can remove and fix it elsewhere next time? tts something i din noe!

thks jumped, 4 sharing the pix!

bungy_jumper

hi jazz,
I also did ask them before, but alumix only deals with system and not carpentry. the vertical poles are mounted from the floor to ceiling/or floor to wall if your false ceiling not strong enough.

hi starz,
the system can remove and ta bao with you but the vertical poles if already shorten cannot lengthen again.

ice_kacang

I got a question. Because the back is not covered, we can see the wall.. So next time if want to paint how? I think quite troublesome right?
Anyone can tell me how much does a system cost?

bungy_jumper

Hi Ice Kacang,

Paint first before installing, next time wanna paint, use smaller rollers i think. The poles not that near to the wall lar, about 20 cm away.

Mine L-shape 1900 by 1600 about $1500. Still it depends on how many tiers of drawers you need, shelves, bars, poles, locks, etc.

greenie

hi jumped, heee, the way u put it very cute... can ta bao the wardrobe when we shift the next time...
this is sth my ID din tell me leh...
thus i was so surprised when u informed me.

hey, yours is quite cheap.... this was the price my ID quoted me 4 normal wardrobe... currently mine will cost me abt $1.9K. mine is quite simple leh, dunno how come urs cheaper than mine.

bungy_jumper

hi starz,
hee, but a little difficult to dismantle and put back lor.

i also thought mine was cheap considering that my id actually quoted me $2.7 for the same thing. Then i decided to engage alumix direct, err.. imagine my id's face when he saw the alumix workers at my place.
but well, i saved $1200

shellfish

is it advisable to do the walk-in wardrode after reno for the house? meaning to set up a space for the walk-in wardrode first durng reno and then ask wardrode specialist to do up the wardrode when the rest of the reno is completed.

greenie

oh wow, jumped... u saved $1.2K by engaging them directly??? then its a gd move on ur side... 4get abt ur ID's face! hahahaha
i'm sure it drove him nuts!!! heeee...

risa, FYI, my wardrobe will only b fixed up after the 7th mth, and there is alrdy a space set 4 my wardrobe. however, its not walk-in lah. 4 walk-in, i am not too sure will cause any disturbance anot, like dust etc.... as far as mine is concerned, my ID said its relatively fuss-free to install the wardrobe later.

afcai

Hi *starz*,

My wardobe size of 2000+ by 1600(full height, forgot my ceiling height) with froster color sliding door is under promotion price too. it costs only $926(including of GST). The partion wall using plastercell costs $250.

ice_kacang

Hi Jumped,
Nice seeing you here.. Thanks for the info.. Have you any inconvenience using the system? For eg. When you folded your clothes and stack them up, because the sides are just two poles, the clothes will sure kinda fall if stack too high right? Is there any cons abt using the system?

greenie

afcai, wah, now u make me jealous wif the price u paid....

i am not sure of the dimension of my wardrobe but nvm lah, juz let my ID do up liao, since alrdy signed the contract.

u went straight to the supplier huh?

bungy_jumper

hi starz.
yah, my id sure driven nuts. I waited till reno completed before i called in the WIW, but my ID dropped by to take a look at the touch-ups..so..

Hi Ice,
Nice to meet you here too. So far not much inconvenience. Don't really have to stack high cos i had alot of shelving.
Mine cost $1500 because I added alot of shelves and a 3 tier drawer with locks and wheels. Depending on dimensions, some are 2 tier, some are 3 tiers. wanted more drawers cos cant be hanging underwear right?
Altogether i had 11 shelves. So more shelves, more drawers means more money.

greenie

jumped, i din get a chance to look clearly at those shelvings, do u mind showing me more detailed ones? as mine is not up yet, i wan to get my $$$ worth by askg more shelf from my ID!
hehehe, thks.

afcai

Hi starz,

We were intro to the supplier by hbay tour. at the time, we only sign up for the kitchen cabinet package and later my id intro the promo for the wardobe. anyway, my wardobe is smaller than jumped.

i think wiw for jumped is more worth it.

Hi jumped,
yr 3 tier drawers got wheels, mine does not come with it and it is quite heavy.had requested id to do it but he said it is no neccessary. is yr those drawer contain heavy wooden type?

wow, yr wiw really worth the $$.

bungy_jumper

hi afcai,
thought your wardrobe shld be bigger than mine ?
I think i paid $30+ for the set of wheels, so at least mobile lor, next time need that bar to put long dresses then can move the drawers away.

hi starz, this the only photos i have now unless you want the drawings, i have to find a scanner to transfer it.

142279.jpg