Any comments about "kronotex" laminated floorings?

manylobang

Hi Foggy,

Sorry very busy with you know what. anyway, i guess it is better to call the wiparquet saleman directly - gary at 96199019.
You can also check with Nelson as he should be more updated about the latest prices.
I have to lay low now cos i think i met a pro....

winterbabylon

hi shiok,

If you ever feel that it is getting personal, then you have mistaken. And I am sorry to make you feel that. But my aim here is just to let you know that we cannot have the idea that international brands are good and local brands are inferior. If there is anything to be felt, I thought I should be the one to feel being attacked personally.

When being asked by Foggy what brand did I choose eventually, I gave him the reasons that I choose Supreme 12 mm. But you then commented that my information is misleading. How is it misleading till now you still have not told us? I do not understand why dealing with a PTE LTD for warrantied products is not better than dealing with a Sole Proprietorship? I have given my reasons why PTE LTD is better, perhaps you would like to educate consumers like us why dealing with Sole Proprietorship is better? It seems counter-intuitive.

Comment(1): Yes, I know you like to share the information to us which is very kind of you. However, it seems to me that without having hard facts about other brands, you are already implying that they are inferior. This is unfair to other brands. You may be very happy with WiParquet and keen to share it with all fellow members here. However, at the same time you should not diminish other brands.

For instance, you have said at least twice that Powedeko is better than supreme because it is a public listed company. Okay, now, how about you elaborate to us why a public listed company's product will be better than a non-public listed? And also why must an International brand be better than a local brand? And why must German technology be better than local technology?

Comment(3): I do not know why all of a sudden you are bringing profitability and turnover to the topic. When I said my FH and I prefer to deal with PTE LTD, you commented that PTE LTD has paid up capital of $2 only for some. Hence, I replied to you the paid up capital of Supreme is in fact not $2 but $475,000.00 which should allay any fears of "$1 director company". Now you are talking about profit. I never even mentioned anything about turnover and profitability. It's funny that now you want to use the turnover/profitablity of a comapny to support your claims. I need to know the paid up capital because if I were to sue that company, I know whether is it in red or blue, I have the rights to claim to a maximum of the authorised capital.

Comment(4): Yes, probably BMW is better than Proton Saga cars. But hey, we are comparing BMW vs Proton Saga, and not Germany vs Malaysia. Okay how about BMW vs Lotus (note: Lotus is wholly owned by Proton now). So is it because Lotus is now a "Malaysian" brand, it is inferior to BMW? We should compare product with product and not its origin. How about Singapore's OSIM? Eu Yan Sen? All these are our top brands! And from your knowledge, Supreme is actually a local OEM brand who get's a Malaysian factory to manufacture its boards and put its name on it, then doesn't theoretically, it makes Supreme an international brand as well?

Comment(5): Yes we should check the hard facts with the sales persons and not make comments that this brand is better because it has better joint designs, surface finish etc. If you say my analogy of PTE LTD vs Sole Proprietorship (though it is not an analogy at all) is misleading, then similarly your constant "protection" on Wiparquet is also misleading as you do not have any facts to support it. Since you want to leave the hard facts to salesperson, then why condemn other brands simply based on your subjective views? Why say a 12 mm thick board is no difference to a 8mm board when the advantages or disadvantages should be left to the salesperson?

manylobang

winterbaby

From your comments i can tell that you know very little about assessment of a company and the legal aspects of it. I will be gracious not to rub more cos the more you write the more errors you make. Go ask someone who knows more than you and i am sure he can correct you accordingly.

Your efforts with a lengthy explaination to protect your case with is noted. However, i chose to make it short and simple... let everyone who read the thread draw their own conclusion without my need for any further comments.

But i cannot tahan, please don't try too hard to defend supreme in your Comment 4. the more you try the worst it gets cos everyone knows that a proton is a proton. What we are talking about is the quality of the product that is Made in Germany compared with others makes that is "german technology". If one day BMW is made out of Germany, i may change to other make cos I prefer top quality products if i can afford it.

If one day i veri free, i will go to great extend to prove my point why powerdekor is superior to supreme since you challange me. Ha ha... it's going to be very easy.........

beagle

Aiyo shiok.. you oredi say no shiok to say.. dun say anymore nah.. I respect all views including both of you nah.. take it easy guys.. afterall is just a friendly exchange of ideas lah.. different views dan different lor.. OK? no more war but peace...

keepitreal

Yo yo yo chill it man....

keep it cool, keep it cool....like wat Nelson had said we should respect all views man. This is a place to exchange ideas and its up to individual to believe it or not ya...

Just remumber...RESPECT!....WEST SIDE!!!

Keep It Real...

rachelcheng

Hi, my contractor told me that tho kronotex is a german brand with german tech, but now manufactured in China.. Supreme manufactured in Msia. So does it implies that we are comapring china vs msia goods? Eventually I choose Supreme..

beagle

oh? d sales person told me is from germany... i didn't know he bluff me... or maybe they jus shifted operation.. hmm..

Anyway, Rachel, since you have selected supreme, can i ask what color did you pick and what is the color of your hse that match it.. Got time to share?

adelinekueh

i think every contaractor would bad-mouth each other product. supreme have bad after - sales service. they will also quoted slightly higher in sqft to "earn more". my friend use them, after one month there is gap liao, and call them until now, also didn't come rectify. keep shifting the blame to different dept. krontex is a relatively new in sg, didn't try it, so don't know. but i try power decko in my previous house before, very good after sales service, prompt.

xun_ng

Just when to suntec fair, happen to saw Kronotex, they show me at the back of their laminate, its printed as "Made in Germany".

check out this URL, www.eplf.com and u can know which r the brand is the member of European Producers of Laminate Flooring.

xun_ng

there r some other brand which is not so popular..
parador,poliface,quick step.

I'm more interested in Pergo, their design is v. nice.

redtail81

yup wat to say prego is oso the 1st brand to come into sg am i rite ? heard it from my id
but kronotex's should be quite alrite too :p im just going for practical uses instead of design only

adelinekueh

ya, prego got the best design, heard they have been in the market longest. they even got one that look like tiles instead of wood. parador is not new, they happen to be one of the first brands that carry those lock system.

curryfish

Adeline, seems like u know a lot about reno, piping, tactic, flooring,ID firms and etc. Really impressive by ur prompt response. care to share with me more......

redtail81

share with me oso

anyway wat kind of laminate flooring would you recommand ? if im looking for 1 tat will last esp against water cos i have pet at home which might piss or vomit all around... and i dun mind getting scatches so much... texture is not an issue to me too. anyone can recommand what kind of laminate suit my usage the best ?

Hi Ali G,

have ur ID taken pics of your laminated flooring? Got link to show us?

Hi All kronotex & Supreme users,

Am I right to say that colours would be different for each mm? i.e will I be able to find the same colour of laminated flooring in both 8mm and 12mm?

7.5psf? I visited their HQ sometime last week and they told me 12mm is about $6.5psf.

btw, can u recall and do u think the colours for 12mm are quite limited?

xun_ng

yah..7.5psf is the price they quoted me!! i remember it v well cos i told them Pergo is cheaper than I walked alway.
yah..the color is very limited for 12mm.

dinodino

I was quoted $2,600 for Kronotex laminates for my 3 bedroom and additional $1,200 to cement screed the flooring for the laminates. Is this expensive? Am i over charged by my ID?

xun_ng

dino,

you choose the 8mm or 12mm? u count by sq ft c per sq ft he charge how much? the cement screed is ex, some IDs quote me fm $450-$650 for 3 bed room.

sbb

hi anyone can help?
my hse gg to lay the laminated flooring.
anyone kws must the contractor clean the hse first than lay the laminated flooring?
cos my contractor doesn want to do that..he said can just laid over.. but isnt it very dirty to just laid over...cos my hse is covered with dust/cement dust etc...

ag72

** $200 Supreme Laminate "Voucher" for Sale! **

I had previously placed an order with Supreme Laminate for laminate flooring in my previous residence. Eventually decided to move, and my new residence already c/w parquet flooring. My $200 deposit with Supreme is transferrable and I wld like to let go to interested party at $150.

You can also use it to offset your other purchases from Supreme, eg. raised platform.

Do email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

nelle

I used Kronotex (Robusto 12mm) for my 3 bedrooms and platform at living room. 2 rooms of same color and 1 room different (same color for platform). Quite costly at about S$3500. But the quality is good and no problems since 2004.

nelle

010109, still very good! Thank heavens, but the salesperson I use to liaise with is not with Kronotex anymore...

noamie08

Kronotec is good product. its manufactured by armstrong. i work with hundreds of laminate flooring products and i havent heard any negativity on it. Where did you get the floors from? remember before you install it it needs to be in house at least 24-48 hours to climatize to room temperature. The locking sysytem varies with each product. the common problem with installing a laminate is you can actually break the locking system when you install it by chiping it or hitting it too hard. usually the cheaper the warranty of the laminate the weaker the locking system is. i hope you floor turns out nicely.