Any Clubbers Out There?

lilacz

Any couples out there who still club after you are married?Most, or even all of my friends stopped clubbing after getting married.Would like to know more friends who enjoy clubbing.

lilacz

Me and my hubby usually club separately with our own friends.He prefers velvet and i prefer zouk when there are guest DJs.Sometimes we will go Centro too.What abt u guys?

sharetoo

Where else to go clubbing in sg? Same old places!
Centro, zouk and velvet. I prefer velvet! We do go pub hopping at Mohd sultan/far east square as well. We were at ZoukOut & Centro countdown parties last year. I thought ZoukOut was really fun.

lilacz

Yah manz, where else to go!Good for u, my hubby always end his night ard 1am, then head for supper.He will never wana go zoukout with me...

So u and ur hubby have mutual friends to go clubbing with?

sharetoo

Was at zoukout with hubby & his colleagues who brought their wives along too. Usually it's just the 2 of us though. Oh I've to clarify.. hubby's going to these clubs & pubs 'cos it's part of his job. I'm lucky that I get to tag along! For a usual nite out, we don't usually stay at a place for too long. Like 2 weeks ago on a saturday, we went centro-lola first, then headed to Post Bar at Fullerton Hotel, then ended the nite at velvet. We don't stay more than an hr at each place.. unless our friends are with us.

On New Year's Eve we were at many countdown parties with his colleagues.. started with pubs at far east square then Raffles The Plaza then SingExpo for the Centro one. Only got home at 6am on New Year's day!

I don't think I've "clubbed" so much in my life till I gotten married.. which is rather weird. Used to hate to go clubbing 'cos hate to have to queue to get in. Enjoying the priviledge of not having to queue anymore since hubby can get in all these places. But then again, looking at those really young people around.... it does make me feel very old sometimes! Which age range are you at? 20-25 / 26-30 / 31-35 ???

lilacz

Wow, nice job out there for ur hubby!He must be in the entertainment line or something right?Good for u!

Im 28 this year,what abt you?

sharetoo

I just turned 30 last year. Scary man.. used to be able to say "I'm in my 20s".. suddenly the big 3 :p

Nah he's not in the entertainment line. He's in F&B.

lilacz

Dont worry everyone will be "there" one day.Im also near 30 already.So any plans for kids since married for 3years liao?

Wonder why no one joins us in this thread.Thought will recd many feedback since there are many young brides here.:p

female

hi, here's another one! Im pretty old too, 28. i'm like lilacz, my hubbie & i club separately. i actually prefer clubbing with my girlfriends - more fun! but nowadays, dont dance as much, just drink. looks like we all hang out at abt the same places. I usu go Winebar, and if feel like dancing, then will enter Phuture.

We also go Embargo, SoundBar, Alleybar. Centro once in a while. Have any of you been to the one in East Coast Park..cant rem what its called. You basically lounge on seats on the sand. Pretty nice. Sharetoo, your life sounds pretty haps!! so many parties! I lose energy faster as I age

michell79

yo! i prefer Chijmes & Embargo.. bt nw seldom go liao coz no kakis. anyone wanna gather a grp & go clubbing? :p

lilacz

Great to see more ppl in this thread!Guess all of us enjoy more or less the same kind of music and atmosphere.I love trance, esp vocal trance!So wont wana miss out on big time DJs when they spin at zouk or centro.

Hey Female, i think the place u mentioned at East Coast is "Tunnel" if im not wrong, but i have never been there.

sharetoo

Lilacz, last nite we were invited to the Adidas party at zouk. It says "by invitation only".. gosh apparently many people were invited! I spoke too soon about not having to queue anymore.. 'cos for such event we still have to queue! :p And the queue was so long! Think we queue for about 15mins but gave up & went home when friends came to take over. Guess we're pretty lazy people... it wasn't too bad going home to watch tv.

Female I like Embargo too. Oh the place you mention is mahalobay or something.. they shifted to East Coast from sentosa. Very relaxing at nite sitting in the open air with your feet in the sand. I've seen people bringing their dogs there. Tunnel is next to it.. where Big Splash used to be right? Went in briefly before... looks like a big boxing ring. The toilets' worth a mention.. was trying to figure out where the water tap is & it turns out you've to step on something so that water will come out from the pipe.

Michell, my hubby & I've passed that age of clubbing. But have to go because of his work. It's fun though 'cos we get to meet a lot of interesting people. But nowadays at 12am+ we're already starting to suppress our yawns! Getting old! Most of our friends have stopped clubbing too.. what's very common now among our friends is to hold dinner parties at home. That kind.. putting on a jazz CD, light candles, drink wine and just sit around to talk kind of activity.

michell79

hi sharetoo,

ya! u r right! haha...although im still consider young, bt nowsday very hard to stay late at nite.
feel very tired.. heh..mayb as u said, gg to old liao..
sometimes my frd cheo me go, i rather stay at hm sleep/shopp wif hb. coz sometimes i feel its very selfish if go & leave hb alone at hm. feel he's very lonely leh.. haha..
jazz CD..hmm..romantic ya~

lilacz

Sharetoo, i envy ur lifestyle too!I love clubbing, and if only its my job!Cant be waitressing at this age, yet no money to open a club.

Michell, u can let ur hubby know in advance that you are going out, then he can arrange something for himself too.Thats what i do.:p Usually we will go out separately on fri night, unless one of us has nowhere to go, then we will accompany each other.

michell79

Hi lilacz,

i did tat b4, bt u knw wat? all my hb's frd like to go KTV/nite club. so i rather sit at hm accom him. if nt his frds confirm bring him ter(although my hb dun realli like tat kind of plc)i trust my hb, bt anyway..have to aware mah, rite?
his frds all cannot make it 1, so i worry lor.
although sometimes i go clubbing, he'll onli choose have kopi wif few frds/stay in my PIL hse.
bt i feel bad lor leave him alone.. hehe..

lilacz

hahaha, nice wife u r Michell.For me its easier, cuz most of the time my hubby will have clubbing kakis, if not i will ask him along to club with my friends cuz they can click too.Prob is most of my friends who club more are guys, so i was hoping to get to know more girls who enjoy clubbing too, esp with trance music.

michell79

yo lilacz!

*blush blush* :p nt realli la.. haha..juz beaware dun let my hb got the chance 2 go tat kind of plc ma.. waahhaa!! *evils grin*

ehh..my hb dun like 2 join my frds lor, although he knw them well. mayb he dun wan 2 spoilt my mood lor. anyway, i dun realli like 2 cheo him along to club..haha..no freedom!

hmm..trance, then u should like zouk?

lilacz

Yah i love zouk, do u?Actually all my friends said we r too old for zouk, but i dun care ah, as long as i enjoy the music and my group of friends, i dun care abt the crowd.hehe.

female

michell, i support you!! i tell you, i really dont like the stories i heard fr these KTV places. so if my hubbie's frens only go there, i think i'll "peng san"!

speaking of old, last time, can go zouk & dance til 3am. now, on the rare occasion when i dance, sometimes by 2am, knee-joints like pain pain like that. sigh, lao le
i still love to dance, but dunno leh, zouk's tracks cant get me grooving anymore. i actually like hip-hop now (slower mah, less energy required). love drum n bass, but too bad, Singapore dont have already since Insomia closed.

sharetoo, you're right! its Mahalo-something. the only gripe i have is the drinks are expensive, and they serve in these cheap, unstable platic Ikea watering cans. I do wonder how the seats look like now after all the exposure to sun & rain. girls, if you like chilling out, this is a nice place.

lilacz, whenever my girlfrens & i are at zouk, we'll ask ourselves "Why are we here??" We must be one of the oldest people there. but still keep going back. we call ourselves "lao gor" i.e. old goose. kekeke

ENJOY!

lilacz

Hey female, im 28 this year too, not "lao gor" yet right, very sad leh.At least still start with digit "2" mah.Anyway, where else to find a place with good music, and one-for-one!Actually Centro does have older crowd and good music, but i dont like their round settings.If u sit at the other side then cant feel any of the vibe happening at the other end, and their drinks are rather ex.

michell79

yo ladies!

female, hehe... ya, its true! tats y i hate guyz go tat kind of 'dirty' plc..sucks! HUHHHHH!!
insomnia closed liao?? hw come!!!
i hav been few months never go onli, closed liao??
so sad..i like e band ter so much!!!

zouk..actualli nt realli VERY like tat plc..coz as wat ur said... alot of youngster ter.. feel myself very 'bo liao' go ter..haha..

lilacz, i personally dun like centro. i feel all ppl ter(especially gals) like aiming TARGET ter..
haha.. nt realli go ter enjoy. u get wat i meant?
and all act like very PRO! hmm...dun like tat plc.

lilacz

hahaha Michell i know what u mean, i find that alot of girls in Velvet are like that too!Thats y i dun exactly like velvet though i like zouk alot.Btw, Michell, u r only 25 this year right?Come on!U r one of the young ones in zouk ok!

sharetoo

Can assure you that you're not one of the oldest pple in zouk/centro... 'cos none of you can beat me! I'm 30-going on 31 this yr ok! ~sigh~ Though I usually don't reveal my age when I get to know people... they'll be like "hey, you mean you're married? U look like 23 or 24 tops". I'll just smile & keep my mouth shut!

Last sat we went clubbing again. We stayed in zouk for less than an hr and went centro. I usually prefer zouk to centro but that nite centro was much more fun!

Female, that mahalo-someting place looks great in the nite... but if you have seen the place in broad day light, it's really awful. Same thing goes for Embargo... at nite so nice but in daylight, you'll notice how the seats are all rusty!

So what do you guys drink when go clubbing? My fav is lychee martini. I'm not much of a beer drinker. Usually we'll have vodka redbull.

lilacz

Personally i dun enjoy the drinks, i find it very bitter and it makes me feel bloated.But i like the feeling after drinking, so each time me and my friends club we will try to order more during one for one and play games to get rid of the drinks.
If im determined to feel "better" that night, i will take shots and the drink i hate most, E33.Sadist huh.haha.

female

hellos

lilacz: ya lar, i suppose 28 isnt like old-old. even 30's is not. its just more rare to find (married) people our age that still enjoy clubbing. i know pp who got married, started slowing down fr clubbing to just drinking, then the kid came; now, its just house parties. "lao gor" does sound funny hor. i guess we feel old there coz we've been going zouk for like 10 years now! moved fr zouk to mtv bar (phuture) to wine bar. like u, i never liked velvet - too model-model types. feel the girls quite competitve oso, maybe coz the rich types hang there?

e33 haha potent stuff! yucks! my poison brew is Long Island Tea. eeeuuck!! the no. of times i've fallen down the stairs in my teens after drinking that...aiyohhh...now, i dont touch it unless reeeeally want to get high fast. i usually drink beer coz i realise i can control myself better. i like Hoegarden, its sweet. Kilkenny too. But if share jug with others, its usu vodka ribena. lychee martini is nice, except when have to eat the lychee - super strong!

Michell: humph, please, dont get me started on KTV or else i wont stop! maybe we'll feel more "balanced" if there are KTV equivalents for women!

is there another Insomia i dunno abt? My Insomia died like 3 years ago. it was in a dingy shophouse in Bugis, but Guerilla (dj) had fab drum n bass nites. if any of you know where to go for that, pls let me know! the last time i danced to dnb was at the 1st ZoukOut. zillion years ago....

sharetoo, geez, ure the lucky one! i wish someone will check my IC. keke. i look exactly my age. i also dont like centro much. went twice, both times crowd full of old men, feel a little sleazy in there...oh, and you have to try the 4-Cheese pizza at Embargo...yummmmmyyy. there's another plc thats very nice at nite, yucky in day - Altivo at Mount Faber. Just thot of another chill place: Soundbar at Gallery Evason Hotel. Anyone goes LiquidRoom?

lilacz

Really great to know there are girls out there married and still enjoy clubbing.Female i totally agree with you.My friends who r married r either slowing down, or just hold hse parties.Some occasions like Christmas and New Year Eve are never complete without countdown!Its great to have friends who organises hse party during these occasions, but its just different.

Heard last time there was this bar for women ard Orchard area, but closed down already.hehe.

I've been to Liquid room, but dont really enjoy the place.It seems to cater to their regulars only.

Since married ppl r usually quite tone down, think no prob if a kid comes along.What abt u girls who still enjoy clubbing?Sometimes it did cross my mind to have a kid, but it does hinders alot on our social life, and it makes me think twice...

michell79

yo ladies!

lilacz, ya..im 25 tis year. hmm...still consider young la :p bt hor, inside zouk, i found alot of xiao mei mei leh.. haha..their attire oledi can fight wif them. keke...
ya, quite alot of married woman oledi tone dwn. mayb some gotta take care of their kids lor..
heh..tats y im nt willing 2 hav a kids nw.. keke..

female, hmm..i think e insomnia i toking abt diff wif urs. for mine 1 is in Chijmes. hehe..live band. yest i called up my frd ask him whether insomnia closed ah? haha..he so shocked and told me ' No la, who said.' hehe.. then i realise muz b something wrong betw both of location liao..

for me, i like long island, vodka ribena, vodka lime, gin, ..i dun like beer. make me feel bloated.

sharetoo

Guess we girls mostly don't like beer. Female, I don't mind having a Kilkenny as well though. Taste quite alrite. I love cheese.. will try out the 4cheese pizza the next time I go Embargo.

I remember back in my late teens' days... the in-place to go is Hard Rock cafe. You should have seen the long queue back in those days!

But zouk has been the all-time fav place to go. Sometimes when I see those sweet young giggling girls there, I couldn't help thinking to myself that they were still in primary schools when I was out partying in zouk 10 years ago! How not to feel old?!! hehheheh.. Looking fwd to going to the zouk in KL.. they are opening soon.

Agree that Velvet has a lot of those model-model/stewardess-oh-I'm-so-pretty/glamorous kind of girls! The other day we saw this girl wearing a long formal evening gown.. perhaps she just attended a wedding or for all we know, she could have been the bride herself! It was just fun watching the uncomfortable look on her face... guess the long tight gown hinders her movement & she looks like she can hardly breathe!

Talking abt cool hangout place.... there's this East West Bar at Neil rd near chinatown area. Quite a nice place. EnLounge at Mohamad sultan is quite nice too.

Lilacz & Female,

Any plans for kids yet? err.. Michell, 25 still very young, haha.. you can don't join in this conversation!

lilacz

In fact, my passion for clubbing does hinder my decision to have a kid.I cannot imagine having to stop clubbing altogether when i have a kid, and plus the fact that pregnancy makes me fat.Im sure i will put on alot of weight, but not sure if i can shed the pounds!Haiz...I have not even tried out the New Year's Eve Party at Suntec City!

What abt u sharetoo?

michell79

hi lilacz, i married 1 year plus 2 month. hw abt female?

sharetoo, wat u meant 'you can don't join in this conversation! u meant ask me 2 get out frm tis conversation juz bcoz of im STILL young rite!

cutiechar

here's another kaki here who is married and enjoys clubbing! hehe..

I normally go with hubby and frds. and one good thing is tat I have a bunch of frds who go clubbing but now oli go occasionally..so hard to find frds who are so "on" anymore..hehe...I think I am the youngest..I am 23 this year..just got married! I too go Zouk, mdm wong, mohd sultan...etc.

hope to chat with u gals here!!

muackzz

lilacz

Welcome cutiechar, wah i envy ur age manz!I was very happy when i turned 23 cuz i can go everywhere at that age, its THE AGE.Even when u r 21 u r not allowed at certain places.So u went thru customary already?

How come ppl stopped clubbing at such a young age nowadays...since u r 23 so i assume your friends r ard the same age and they r not so onz anymore?What a waste...

sharetoo

Lilacz, my hubby & I are planning to have kids soon... if not this year, then next year. A few days back I read an article on ST about why couples nowadays delay starting a family. There's this term called "Kidults" to describe adults who are kids themselves (in terms of mentality).. so how else can they be parents? A very intersting article.. http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/singapore/story/0,4386,233072-1075759140,00.html

Michell, so are you planning for kids yet?

Hi Cutiechar, welcome! Agree with Lilacz.. 23 is a magical age.
I'm the oldest in this thread. I'm not exactly very keen on going clubbing/partying but I usually get to tag along whenever my hubby visits those clubs/pubs for work in the weekends. Going to 4-5 countdown parties within a nite can be very tiring! We get invited to openings/private parties/whichever centro or zouk's events (eg. centro party at Padang last year), etc very frequently. But truthfully, we prefer stay home to unwind & relax.

lilacz

Actually i requested to see her pixs too, think female is too bz with the requests....Female, we are waiting...

sharetoo

Christmas, good for you

No one's too old to go clubbing. I've seen those 50-60+ old men at zouk. I'm sure they're still having a fabulous time clubbing.

I guess as we grow older, our priorities changed. Some friends prefer to meet up for coffee or dinner where we can hear ourselves talk.

female

welcome, cutiechar & christmas!

cutiechar, if i see you in zouk, i'll probably classify you as 1 of the "xiao mei mei"!

gee christmas, you're an inspiration. i would hate to become 1 of those old married-couple types.

ya, married not long ago last september. lilacz, actually that thread died for so long already, but your other "twin" lilac decided to "revive" it. hao la hao la, will send you all the links. xian chou le. who knows, we may just recognize each other! i esp scared of sharetoo, coz we both started 10 years ago..maybe you saw me rolling drunk down the stairs?? kekeke. eh, you all share pixs oso leh.

sharetoo, the only 50-60+ old man i saw in most often, velvet, are also accompanied by KTV-looking girls. the grossest 1 i saw had permed hair, black fishnet see-thru top, can see his thick gold chain. eeeuch!

michell, where are you? sharetoo was joking!!

lilacz, i seriously think you're the most true blue, die-hard clubber amongst us. anyone else agree with me? i losing steam already, often preferring to meet for quiet drinks & coffee to chit-chat. so when we do go clubbing, its really "chiong ah!!"

abt kids, i have a confession: hubbie & i do not like kids. im still waiting for my maternal instinct to kick in. gotta go read sharetoo's helpful article to see if we're "kidults"!

lilacz

Firstly, welcome Christmas!Yah i agree with you, whats age gotta do with it?*wink wink* Its like some ppl's interest is watching movie or shopping, but mine is clubbing.But hor, when we are older, we must choose the right place to go.I find it abit weird to see old men or old ladies at zouk.Maybe zouk is just not the place for them...i wont want to go zouk 10 years down the road too, feel bit out of place.

Hey Female, u look so young i cant believe we are of the same age!Im not a die hard clubber lah.Maybe i started late thats y have not had enough fun.My "peak" was when i was ard 23, abit late right.After that my then bf now hubby din like my frequency of clubbing then die down liao.Now that im "backed at the scene", of cuz wish to have just enough fun before settling down to have a kid.I know i know, when is it enough?Im really not sure...For me, i do love kids, but am still waiting to feel the maternal instinct in me too.

Sharetoo, thanks for sharing that article.It does reflect so much on our society today huh.

michell79

morning gals!

female, im here..

hey gals, tonite im gg clubbing wif my frds. she's my ex-classmates. she said wan 2 c c hw's devils bar look like. hmm.. actualli dun realli like tat plc..too pack.
hw's u gals? gg anywer tonite?

lilacz

Hi Michell, here u r!

I also dont really like Devil's bar.So packed!And i hate that door they have there.Still free for ladies?Been a long time since i go there.

Enjoy ur night!

sharetoo

Female, you gave a very good description of those 50-60+ clubbing old man, my point exactly.... looks like some D.O.M right? I'm sure age has nothing to do with clubbing for them! Hey I just checked my mails... nothing from you yet. Don't worry abt me recognising you... 10 years back I'm most likely pissed drunk too. Maybe you've seen me throwing up in the toilet!

Lilacz, I don't think I've ever seen old ladies in zouk/velvet yet! hehehhh.. usually old men (in the company of "sweet" young girls). As for having kids, can't wait to have kids! It'll be a whole new experience to be a parent.

christmas

mmm... quick question:- so if u aren't supposed go zouk where can u go when u are 40? 50? 60?

any suggestions lest i'd be the butt of pple's jokes in future haha :D

lilacz

hehe, Christmas gd qns!

I think the now 40-50 generation dont club as much as this generation last time, so i cant tell for now.We will boogie with the trend then.hehehe.

cutiechar

Hi all!!

hey michell
hehe.so whos going to devils bar tonite??hmm..I have been there few times but get quite sick of there but occasionally shld be FUN! me going to learn swimming sia tonite...keke

Hi Liliac!

ooh..yar most of my frds got go clubbing but not tat often. we oredi started to hang out in Mohd sultan when we were abt 17.keke..I still remember tat my frds had to smuggle me in using friendship so tat they wont check my IC. I still remember last time along Mohd sultan..err..Samsara,wong san, the peak, velvet..along the stretch..now all closed down liaoz..but ok, most of them still got go clubbing..wahaha..mayb I am the oli one who has toned down..
yes! I went thru customary last dec oli..keke

Hi sharetoo!

you are so fortunate, if I were you, I wld be buying mani mani nice dress or tops to go hippy! wahaha..since got the chance to wear almost very weekend! but sometimes, we do need to relax and laze ard at home..sometimes I do feel this way oso.

Hi female!

huh xiao mei mei ar...really?keke...I started work early..so I think I look huggard than those who are 23 years old..mayb we have a chance to go clubbing, then I wil "shock" you! wahaha... :p

muackz

michell79

yo ladies~~

lilacz, at last we change plan went Chijmes(Insomnia). wow.. fun!
although quite pack, bt like e live band ter. shiok! long time never go, yest super fun. hehe..

cutiechar, actualli dun realli like devils bar. previous plan go devils is b'coz my frd wrk ter as bar tender. so he ask me go ter.. bt think twice, better dun go ter spoilt my mood.. keke..