Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

mittens

Hi Maplehue - Hehe...Problem is I don't like noodles that much, especially soup noodles! (mainly the oil coated type of noodles before they're cooked type of noodles; the ones coated in flour are ok). So sometimes I crave pasta and he wants noodles!

Emilia jo! - You must be so good at making sambal!!! I like the soup with chinese cabbage too!

I'm going back to S'pore this Sunday, but only for a day and then it's to Brunei for a week.
But, we can get chilli padi (and regular bigger chillis, ginger, etc) in most supermarkets. Dried chili we go to the asian spice shop. I cheat though - I bring Mum's blended chilli with me - Mika's addicted to it and has it with just about everything.

hey hey everyone .. sorry, been a bit occupied lately cos my mil, step-fil and bil arrived a few days ago and tomorrow, my fil, step-mil and their two kids are also arriving in sg .. phew! 7 visitors at the same time - i don't know how we're going to divide our time with them. had my mom take care of the kids overnight cos we were out late last night, having dinner and just talking so now we're off to get the kids back.

maplehue: elias LOVES sambal, the hotter the better .. he also loves durian - cannot walk past in the supermarket, he's the one that does the double take and will look at me to see if i have similar cravings so he can buy .. hahaha ..i think he was asian in his past life ..

btw, my mil gave me an album containing pictures of elias from when he was a baby up till the time he entered college. so sweet of her .. i was looking through the album two nights ago and came upon an envelope .. there were some family photos and then some photos of a brunette in a smaller envelope .. just so happened that elias came into the bedroom at that time so i asked who is this lady - you should have seen the look on his face! he went completely berserk and started ranting about how he's going to lecture his mom yadda yadda yadda .. turned out that those were photos of his ex-fiancee (now i finally now what she looks like - hahahaha). long story short: this was the missing album he had been looking for - turned out the ex had taken it when they sold their shared apartment. he had told his mom to get it from the ex cos he knows that i would like to have the album but to make sure that the ex gets all photos that has her in them before the album was given to me .. i had to pacify and convince him that his mom probably overlooked the pictures cos they were hidden in the envelope - hah, a thought just crossed my mind that maybe his ex wanted me to find those photos but who gives a **** cos she didn't get her way in the end .. that was in his past!

ok, will write more later ladies .. have a good day.

maplehue

Good morning ladies,
Hope everyone is well

Hi Mittens, I lovee soup noodles! So scrumy! Will Mika be traveling with you to Sg and Brunei? You are lucky there are asian food there. Imagine if there isn't any..You'll be suffering from chilli withdrawal. Hee.
So Brunei for a week yeah? Enjoy the yummy food! I would love to visit Brunei one day. We have a few friends there. They were the one who gave my Mom the 'keropok'. Have a good trip and pack early okay
By the way, who does the packing? You or Mika?

Hello Cuclainne, I am actually amazed to know that Elias loves durian. He deserves a medal!
I just told Jeff about it and what he is missing and he just rolled his eyes. Hee.
Unfortunately, Jeff cannot stand the smell at all. Even when my sis bought us some durian puffs, he couldn't handle it. I was so-so with durian but have stopped eating it altogether cos of Jeff. Even my after durian breath could make him a little sick. Just like he has stopped eating nuts and peanut butter(this used to be his fav.) because of my serious allergy.
Hmm. All this food talk is making me hungry now..
You must be so busy with hosting and everything. The story about that pic. of Elias' ex is quite funny. I hope he didn't scold his mom too much. hee. I think he just wanted to protect you and his own eyes.
AND yes, maybe she wanted you to see those pics but who cares, she didn't get her way in the end. Enjoy the in laws and rest when you can ok

Seems like a few of us are with our families right now or will be soon. My Mom is here, Mrs. N is in Sg, Cuclainne's in laws are there, Mittens is going to Brunei, Emi, yours will visit soon right? tootsiroll is in Sg,...who else am I missing??

Hello to the rest of the ladies here and have a good day everyone. Talk soon
x

maplehue: yes, he first tried it when he came to sg in 2004 - he said that his former colleague told him it was disgusting so that only made him more interested to try it out.. hahahah .. everytime we have visitors, he'll be sure to 'force' them to try it - like his family has tried some before but even on this trip, he was trying to get them to eat more variations of it like durian ice kacang, etc but they couldn't keep it down so he's even more resolved that they should eat more of the stuff .. hahahah .. elias doesn't eat meat so if and when i cook, i don't cook meat dishes .. only have the chance to eat it if it's with my family or when we're eating out.

mrs_n

Hiya everybody it's been quite a few days and my have you guys have been quite busy on this thread. Btw tootsieroll congrats on ratty's safe arrival. Your two babies look so sweet and angelic in the picture.

maple we had quite an unevenful journey except for the part where we almost missed our connecting flight from dubai to singapore. Not really our fault if it happened, as there were no announcements at the airport and no flight details on the screen although we've been checking every few minutes for 2 hours before the plane was due to take off. Half hour before take off, Paul went to ask the information desk why there wasn't any flight details on the screen! So you can imagine how surprised he was when they told him it was the final call for our gate! If I had known that I would have to do a cross country across dubai airport, I would have worn my running shoes instead of slippers! We were waiting at gate 9 where the flight info screens were and boarding was at gate 45. Gee! By the time I reached the desk I was panting like mad! And just in time to hear the man at the desk tell Paul 'Is this your wife?' Hee! Hee!
I had told Paul to go ahead without me as I had to make an emergency stop at the loo on the way. Good thing they made an annoucement (yes finally) while I was in the loo because Paul bless him, in his haste had told me the wrong gate number!!! Alamak even more drama if that happened.
After all that panicking and running, the plane was 2 hours late leaving Dubai, partly because of the foggy weather the night before (they had many flights to clear) and partly because there were so many confused passengers caught in the same situation as us who didn't realise what gate they were supposed to be at! But nevermind, at least we made it here in one piece. On the whole the service on Emirates was pretty good though I think we have learnt our lesson not to depend on the screens in Dubai Airport in the future for any flight departure details!

Oh talking about sambal! Paul is doing quite well on the chilli front. It's all thanks to Elias (cuclainne's hubby). When we met up last year I was telling Elias that I usually remove the chilli seeds whenever I make sambal and he advised me not to do that. Since then I've been making sambal with all the chilli seeds!

Wow! Cuclainne that's quite a big swedish crowd you have at the moment. Bet Elias' family must be very excited with the new addition to the family.
Can't you do part time or three quarter time in your work place? In my old work place you could do that as long as one has a child below the age of 6. One of my ex-colleague's did that I think she was on half time when her youngest was still a toddler and then when on to 3/4 time when she got bigger. We all used to envy her as she had longer weekends than the rest of us.

Well hope everybody will have a Blessed Easter! Oh btw, I've managed to dig up some of my old baggy clothes and am also borrowing mum's pants (they fit for the time being). Hee! Hee! I knew my baggy baju would come in useful one day! But don't tell my hubby that he has banned me from wearing baggy baju though I have a good excuse now!

mittens

Hi Cuclainne - Goodness me...so many visitors! You must be so busy! How long are they all there for?

Hey Maplehue - No, Mika has to work. Hehe..I still stock up from S'pore/Brunei cos I go back every other month, but yes...the fresh ingredients are from here, so it's a good thing that they have them here. Looking forward to my old bedroom, etc. in Brunei. We both do the packing whether we're travelling together or if just one of us is flying.

Hi Mrs N - What an adventure you had in Dubai! Yes..it can get quite chaotic there. SQ was flying Moscow to S'pore via Dubai but starting today, they are also going to fly Mowcow-S'pore direct..Yippee!

eminozy

hey!
Happy easter!
i am comatosed on choc eggs for now. Hello MRs N. GOD! i know what you mean about Dubai. I wont go into details BUT i HAD the WORST time in an airport ever besides Frankfurt airport nightmare. well, these 2 are the start of my WORST AIRPORT list. Charles Du Galle was quiet bad too actually.. geee.... BUt i guess those 2 cant beat any otehr nightmares.

Anyway, on a food note... heheheh. yeah. i will die without sambal and i am quite a cook, but maybe my food will only taste good for me and chris. coz we dont really use sugar or salt or oil.. and we like it that way.. so... i dunnolah.. some people said that they cant taste my food properly and thast why i have table salt for my visitors when they come over! heheh. can u imagine a non oily sambal? hehehe

Elias loves durian..? SO cool. Chris is ok with it but not a total Fav. He had his first durian in Paris. i was craving for one- bloody cost him $30 euros. I am notty! hheheheh.

I wonder how you cope with so many visitors Nisa. simply amazing, You must be a great hostess, that why they keep coming back!

I like that episode with the fotos. I saw Chris' Ex as well before we got serious and i have to say i felt like 'nothing' compared to her, no jealousy though. She has sporty body, blonde , blue eyed, pharmacist. She looks like a model. But Chris said she wanted a woman with a womans body and have no icy death stare! hehehahahahheh. So that means fat bits here and there and brown dove asiany eyes!

christie79

hey hey everyone!

im back in norway now..felt strange cos i left 'home' and came home..the norwegian weather greeted me with some cold wind when i arrived at the airport but then as we drove towards home south, cold and much snow awaited us..the snow here at home had almost melted away last few weeks but came back again yesterday with a vengeance of about 20cm it!

Thus today we had to cancel the long weekend easter trip to visit hb's grandpa near bergen as most roads are close due to bad weather...anyway i have a long while to unpack over the next few days cos we'll be staying at home and tidying up my stuffs before starting school next tuesday.

i miss my sg home and im having jet-lag!!! this weather is making me feeling even more down.

durian? hb thinks it's a 'rotten' food cos it feels mushy! the first time he tried to take the fruit, he dropped it immediately as to him, it was already 'decomposed' haha He don't mind the smell though

Chilli stuffs are ok for hb, he likes that but as for other food esp seafood, im still trying to train him..as the wedding vow goes..for better or for worse..heheh *Evil Grin*

ej~how do you make sambal without dried chilli? can make? must have assam right? wah im craving for some now cos it's so cold!

tootsieroll~Congrats!! your 2precious are so very adorable!

maple~huh? tootsieroll 's in SG? i thought she's in uk still..

Cuclainne~yeah lor..what's past is past..look forward to your futures together!

margie~shop to heart's content?? hahah i did that but had a shock when i got to the check in counter! eventually had to pay extra almost SGD600! i had about 18kg overweight! plus some i had to ask my mum to post it over to me via singpost.

Mrs N~Wah such happenings in dubai! Hope you&hb will have a great time in SG! Why doesn't mr N likes you in baggy baju?

Mittens~Hope either SQ or KLM can have direct to Oslo someday! im still praying hard for that!

Deluxe~well sometimes im also lazy to cook sauces from scratch..I bought along a package of black pepper sauce from sg..dunno if it's good. Can you get prima sauces over where you are?

Eliz~Hope all's well with work and biz!

HaPPY Easter everyone!!

maplehue

Good evening ladies,
TGIF to everyone!

Hi Cuclainne, I didn't know that Elias is a vegetarian. Do you have any difficulty coming up with interesting dish for him? I was on a no meat diet for one year when i was a teenager but had to come back to it when I started fainting and needed to change my diet. I also had anemia and hypotension. You made me laugh with the durian story.
Him, making the others try durian? Ha..It must be hard cos many foreigners we know cannot stand the smell. I used to love 'pengat' durian so much and would eat it with bread...Scrum

Hello there Mrs.N. Boy oh boy, your story at the airport doesn't sound fun at all! Sorry to know that you had to go through all thatand still ended up having to wait for another 2 hours. Imagine if you were later in your pregnancy?? Not good! I didn't expect Dubai airport to be like that. Quite disappointing considering Emirates is a good airline. But I am just glad that both you and Paul arrived safely in Sg. Have you indulge in some of the food yet? Hee
Not bad at all to know Paul can eat sambal! I used to remove the chilli seeds myself when I first started to cook for Jeff but it is still too hot for him. His tummy is super sensitive. We have tried a few times but looks like we've both agreed that he is not a chilli/hot or spicy food person. Hee
In between, baggy clothes are still 'cool' Mrs.N! and not to mention comfy. Strange...Jeff doesn't really like me wearing baggy baju either!

Hey Mittens, one more day and you'll be in Sg, followed by Brunei. You sound excited!
I'm sure you'll have a great time there shopping, eating and spending time with your Mom. Will be shopping a lot?
Speaking of Mom, my Mom is leaving tomorrow. I always get sad when its time for her to go back to Sg.
After living abroad for so many years, I still feel melancholy when its time to say goodbye. But mid June is not too far away right, I should be alright! Ha. She bought lots of stuff and pressies knowing that she won't come to Seoul anymore. I was just telling Cuclainne the other day, when we were in the city last week, she wiped out the whole stock of korean pocket mirrors and nail clippers to bring back to Sg. It was hilarious. And I was like....why nail clippers Mom?? Hee

Happy Easter Emi, so did you or did you not eat choc cross buns?
I miss the choc bunnies too there. There is no Easter or good friday celebration here in korea. People worked today. Well, I didn't. Decided to call in sick cos of my backache. With the pain and Mom going back, it is definitely not a good combination. But I am feeling slightly better now after some heat rub. $30 euros for a durian? So dear!! I don't add oil either in my sambal but I do add a tiny bit of maple syrup to make it sweeter. Without it, it is too pedas! Jeff and I are also very careful with sugar. We hardly use any in our food. As for salt, jeff likes a little sprinkle of it on top of his grilled potatoes and unfortunately with the constant hypotension, I have no choice but to use some. That's what the doctor told us too. When my hypotension is bad, jeff would purposely sprinkle enough salt on my food!

Hi Chris, welcome back and happy unpacking!
I do dread it sometimes especially when I have to work the following day. So now, when we travel, my hubby and i will make sure to arrive 3 days before we start work. How's the snowing there? I thought spring is already here? Seoul has warmed up pretty well. It was supposed to be 15 degs today.
And i can see more colorful flowers now when we pass by the nearby florists. Very pretty. Hope you'll get over the jet lag soon. I am sorry to hear that you had to pay 600 dollars for the excess baggage. When Jeff and I had an excess baggage of 20 kilos in Sg, we showed the guy Jeff's contract and explained to him that we were both relocating in Seoul. He wasn't too happy but gave us the go ahead. I guess we were very lucky.
Hmm.. I thought Tootsiroll is in Sg?? Maybe I am losing my mind. All of us are everywhere around the globe and traveling, i think I have lost track. Hee. Sorry

Hello to the rest of the ladies here. I should go back to bed now. Time for the heat pad again. Have a good weekend everyone!
x

mittens

Hey Chrisl - Moscow too, although not as much snow as you're having. It was funny, just 2 days ago, Mika mentioned that the weather's so nice....feels like Spring is already here and sure enough....started snowing again yesterday and today. And, yeah....not having direct flights is such a pain. Where do you normally fly via? I also had to go via another European city to get to Brussels before moving here (usually Zurich b'cos familiar with Switzerland). SQ used to fly to Brussels, but stopped a few years ago.

Hey Maplehue - Hehe...I usually feel down a few days before flying (no matter which country I'm leaving from). Feeling sad leaving Moscow b'cos I have to leave Mika and my cat behind to go back to an empty, dirty apartment.
Going to Brunei this trip is for 'Ching Ming'...so always sad to visit ancestor's gravesite.
I'll land Monday about noon, then it's a morning flight on Wednesday to Brunei...so that just leaves Monday night and Tuesday to shop for things to bring back to Brunei (thank goodness I don't suffer from jetlag). But yes...it'd be good to see parents again. Leaving Brunei is always hard.

Korean pocket mirrors I understand, but.....nail clippers???? Hehe.

Mika's quite conservative....does not like me to wear tight, short, strappy, strapless, etc. stuff. The more covered and baggy, the better for him.

No Easter holiday here either.

Have a great weekend everyone!!!!

Mrs N: sounds like you've had quite the adventure in dubai .. glad to hear that you've made it to sg safe and sound .. yes, they're happy with the new addition though they have different ways of showing it - like my mil and bil pays more attention to sofi cos sofi is more aware of the people around her (can interact), unlike the little one who just seems to be staring into space (hahaha) whereas my fil and his family likes to hold the little one more often cos like my sil said, she still has that baby smell which they all like.

no, i don't think that will be possible with my current job - as it is, even during my maternity leave, i am expected to do some work .. argh!

mittens: they'll be here until the 29th .. just realised that all of them are most probably leaving on the same flight - even though my fil and mil remain good friends after their divorce, the husband reckons it might be awkward if their families were to cross paths .. but hey, it saves us from having to make more trips to the airport ..

emi: durian is quite expensive in europe - i used to get frozen ones from the thai store in central stockholm but then i overheard them telling a swedish family that they have fresh durians too .. elias had a 'fun' time trying to think of how to discard the remains after we're done cos we couldn't throw it in the garbage shed as they only collect trash every few days and he didn't want the smell to linger and annoy the other occupants in the building .. in the end, he made me wrap the remains in layers and layers of paper and plastic and he went a few streets away to throw into the public trashcan .. hahahaha ..

it's been hard trying to coordinate and keep everyone occupied .. today we were getting ready to leave the house and meet the fil and family at their hotel when mil and husband called and said, oh they're coming over NOW to take photos of the kids so we had to wait for them and then basically shoo them off so we can rush to the hotel. we met them, got more presents (always for the kids, nothing for us), then left them to go get lunch and do our own thing.. by the time we're done, it's time to drop off the small one at my mother's and then we head to dinner with fil, family and bil ... oh gosh, such a headache to plan something that is ok with everyone so we're kind of glad that mil will be going away to bintan for a few days so we can just concentrate on fil.

hahahah .. when i first saw her photo, i didn't feel jealous or insecure at all .. i mean, she is pretty but not drop-dead gorgeous as what i was told beforehand .. i think elias was worried that i was going to freak out or something but i honestly didn't feel anything about it.

chrisl: you're back? so did you manage to shop to your heart's content?

maplehue: elias does eat seafood but he's more into eating vegetables - he became 'vegetarian' by choice about 10 years ago after he accidentally ate cow's brains at a restaurant in paris .. after that he just decided that he didn't want to eat meat anymore. his mom is also a vegetarian - she became one after she got sick and stayed with him to recuperate .. she discovered that she felt better after being on the same diet as him so she stopped eating meat too. so it's been ok - i'm able to cook dishes with fish in them so it's not been too bad for me either.

yah, while we were in the car to town, he was telling me that we should take his dad to eat fresh durian and i was like, oh no, not again! after dinner, my sil was saying she hoped elias was not going to bring them to eat durian cos she didn't like it too when she tried it and all the siblings, aside from elias, were in agreement .. but he might still get his way cos his father and step-mom wants to try the fresh ones.

do you know that everytime we go to geylang to buy durians, elias insists that we don't get the fruit ready-to-eat in styrofoam packs cos he says durians tastes better when they're left in the husk? hmm .. i only want the uncle to do it for convenience sake plus i still remember the time when he tried to hold the durian and got pricked so he dropped the durian and it rolled onto my foot!!

hhahaha .. re: the nail clippers, your mom just wants everyone to practise good hygiene ..
has she returned to sg?

mrs_n

Hee! Hee! Riza of course you can lah! What has been happening in Colorado? You haven't been around for a while so you'll have to update us.

Chrisl too bad missed you this time. Bet Gaute is happy that you're back though. Yeah it takes a few days to get over the jet lag and the homesickness. We're arriving back on Sunday afternoon so will be evening by the time we drive up from London and then its back to work the next day!

Mittens yes I saw the advert by SQ! They were flying to Houston via Moscow. It's good to be able to fly direct but usually the fares can be quite steep. Anyway have a good trip back to Brunei via Singapore.
And hopefully you will be able to sweeten your mum up to the propect of your marriage to Mika. Fingers crossed for you.

Cuclainne sounds like one big happy family gathering! Poor you must be tired out. That's too bad that they expect you to do work during your maternity leave. Probably you should consider a career switch! How about setting up your own B & B catered specially to the likes of Swedish visitors???

Emi yah I heard CDG could be quite chaotic. Paul was on a business trip with some colleagues and they were on transit at CDG from Toulouse to Birmingham but because the airport was on high alert it took them forever to get through security and when they got to the gate they were told that it had been changed! Very nice of the airport to do that without any annoucements and the screens were still showing the original gate nos. By the time they made their way to the other gate, it was closed and their luggage had been off loaded. They had to spend the night in Paris and left on the first flight in the morning. What a thing to happen! And the worse thing was I had left my wallet, mobile and office keys in Paul's car the day before he left. He didn't want to leave them in the car park in Birmingham so he took it along to France with him! And b'cos of this incident I was left another day without my essentials!! Hee! Hee! Thank goodness I didn't need petrol during that time. Otherwise wouldn't be able to go to work!!!

maple your mum must know quite a lot of people who need to cut their nails!! Yeah good thing I'm not that big yet that I can't run. Poor little baby must be wondering what on earth all the jumping around was about!
Don't be too sad about mum's leaving you'll see her again soon. That's what my hubby told me the other day. He said my mum shouldn't be too sad at the airport when we leave as she'll be seeing us again in July.

We booked the tickets for my parents on zuji. Can't belive how expensive the taxes were!!! Almost equivalent to the amount of the ticket itself. Looks like flying from now on is going to be an expensive affair.
Don't know how often we'll be able to go home next time.

Hey do you ladies know of a new forum which is dedicated specially to Singapore women living abroad? http://www.sgwomenabroad.org/

rizaclark

Nothing much lah Mrs N. All is well here in Colorado. For me, from all the emails of this forum, makes me so overwhelmed, coz lost count who is who... especially the new brides etc etc...

christie79

Maple~norway's further up north so it's much colder and the weather's very strange and unpredictable. hb says that it could be snow up til as far as in may. Yesterday after my post, the snow was up to 40cm high and then today as im writing, the sun is shining so brightly! I told hb that it seems like there's not going to be spring in norway at all from what i see

Hey you've back pain too!! In fact i have been waking up with backaches all these mornings since last june!
I went to the doc when i was back to sg and found nothing wrong with my spine..i don't know what's wrong then..maybe i really strained my back muscles badly..coupled with really soft beds..hmm think i'll go to the doc here again to be sure..have you seen a doc too?

Mittens~You have a cat too?
Hb and i are comtemplating to get a kitten here in norway..but i had one in sg, now my sis is taking care of it..

Cuclainne~i filled up my luggages with mostly foodstuffs! all those bbq meat, fish floss, beancurd skin, fresh pandan leaves, veggie seeds, jap curry and A1 curry mixes, dried mini anchovies, ginko nuts etc etc and oh a slow -cooker to boil my soups and such! hahaha i joked to hb that my 'mini-asian' store in the cupboard is back in business again!
actually wanted to buy more but cannot cos my luggage had trouble closing!! I had 2 checked-in luggages eventually!

Mrs N~booking on zuji is expensive! I always back and forth between checks on airlines webpages and zuji to see if there's any promotions..cos it actually cost less most of the time booking direct from airlines.
Oh? New forum? Will check it out! Thanks!!

Riza~Hey hey! how have you been! It's always good to have you here, the more the merrier mah! Is it spring there already? Or still snow?

rizaclark

Chrisl,

I'm doing well thank you... so paiseh coz lost touch with the ladies in this forum... me so blur like sotong coz so LOST in all the fast moving entries in this forum...

Its Spring alright here in Colorado. Denver experience sunny days but up in the mountains still experience snow... Colorado weather is so unpredictable, imagine like last year it will snow still in the month of JUNE! So you have to always be prepared...

To all the lovely frens here, like Emi, who I have met in person, the lovely ladies who I have yet to meet in person and all newbie BTBs my sincere apologies for MIA-ing so long...

Congratulations to all the mummies who have recently added blundle of joys in their families..

PS: For those travelling overseas any tips where you get reputable airline tickets be it from Singapore to any part of the world... Since I am living in the US, most of the time, my parents use Zuji... but even thru direct airlines websites they still cant find good deal.. *sigh*

Now USD very low, "lost money" coz my parents booked their flight tickets way earlier... *DOUBLE SIGH*

maplehue

Good Sunday morning ladies,
My Mom has gone home
She left last evening and I got sad again at the airport. Aiyaiyai. When she was here, when we came home, the lights in her room were always switched on. But yesterday when we got home at night, it was dark. But the hubby has been so sweet as usual and makes it easier for me(I get like this all the time everytime she's gone back). He is now making me his Sunday french toast and vanilla tea.

Hello Mittens, you must be on your way to Sg now. Travel safely and enjoy the shopping/food, etc! One week will fly so quickly and in no time, you will be back in Mika's arms yeah. Hee
And I also hope you'll get some good bonding time with your Mom to talk about you and Mika. Fingers crossed that she will soften to that.
What is your cat's name? I would loveeee to have one but Jeff said our lifestyle will make it quite impossible. We travel so much and I tend to agree with him. I used to have a white persian cat when I was young in Sg. His name is Gino. He passed away from a failed kidney. Sweet fluffy Gino.

Hi Cuclainne, you made me laugh with that durian story..Hee. I hope you didn't get hurt from the pricky skin! Elias is definitely one adventure man when it comes to durian! did you guys go ahead with the durian feast the other day? Is the family getting used to the taste and smell? Has Elias tried durian 'bubur kacang'? He may like it if he likes durian that much. As for being a vegetarian, will Elias get sick when you cook red meat dish? I have a vegetatian friend who can't even smell or look at red meat(including chicken). She'll get nauseaus by smelling and looking at it. It was a little difficult for us(and a few other friends too) to have everyone over for dinner cos some don't eat seafood at all while she can't even look at red meat. How are you today? Still busy with the family?

Hi Mrs.N... ha..like what Cuclainne said, maybe my Mom just wants people to practise good hygiene. I counted all of them. She bought 43 of them and said that is still not enough! Goodness me!

I know... and will try not to be too sad. Afteall, we'll be going to Sg in mid June for a week. But the first few days are always a little hard.
But thank you for your encouragement Mrs.N
Do you get sad like that when you say goodbye to your Mom?
On a different note, from my experience, Zuji is nowhere cheaper compared to a purchase from a travel agent. We've also tried Expedia and its the same thing with them. So we have given up buying tickets online and just get ours from our travel agent. Jeff and I just booked a one way SQticket from Seoul to Sg for US$500 each which is considered a good deal. Everything is so dear here in Korea. Thanks for the new forum, I clicked on it quickly but didn't register. It looks like a website monitored by Sg government.. Hee

Hello Chris, what..? 40cm of snow? Sounds a bit like Montreal. I remember one morning when I wanted to go to the supermarket and I couldn't open both the front and back doors cos of the heavy snowfall the night before. Hee. Stay warm okay.

It is definitely Spring here in Seoul. The buds are appearing and it rained last night.

Yes, I have backache too! Terrible feeling and painful. Thats why i didnt go to work on Friday and it was my first sick leave in a year, thats how painful it was. My backache comes and go for a few years already. It is feeling better now but I still have the heat pad on. In January this year, Jeff and I went to the International Bumrungrad Hospital in Bangkok to get things checked and they didn't find anything either. So now, I just eat some painkillers if it gets too painful. I have also tried exercising a bit more to strengthen my abdominal muscles cos apparently we need our abdominal muscles to help support our back. I just get desperate sometimes and willing to do anything to stop the pain. Do you have hot water bottle or a heat pad? That'll help you temporarily for sure! Try it ok

..and yes, I know exactly what you mean about having a 'Mini Asian' store in our cupboard. It feels good doesn't it?

Hello to you Riza.

And how are the rest of the ladies here?? Have a good Sunday and talk to you gals soon.
..x

mrs_n

Chrisl my mum wanted to get tickets during Natas fair but the tickets there had to be issued in May and my parents wanted to come up in July. We checked the newspapers and zuji was the only one that came up with the dates they wanted. They intend to stay longer this time about two and half months. Actually the price of ticket itself from zuji wasn't too bad $850 to LHR by Thai. It was the taxes that made the ticket ex. I think taxes in Heathrow are expected to rise in April so that's probably what makes flying so costly. Actually my mum wanted to come up in mid July via Manchester but no tickets available at a reasonable price. So ended she's coming 2 weeks before my due date. Now she's worried that the baby might come early since both hubby and I have the record of being 'early' birds.

Oh yah, Mr N likes me to wear clothes that are the right size for me. He says baggy clothes make me look like I'm wearing curtains! Though I agree with maple that they are definitely more comfortable and airy.

Hey you should have gone to a chiropractor about your back. When I sprained my back last year the doctor told me he couldn't do anything except prescribe painkillers and hope the pain will eventually go away. But after a few sessions with the chiropractor, my back was ok and has stop giving me trouble since. Chiropractor sessions were a bit pricey but if they can put your back problem right its worth it as there is nothing worse than a backache!

Riza then like that you must come by more often so you won't be so lost! Glad to hear that all's well in Colorado.

Oh dear, too bad about your parents flight ticket. But on the bright side if they do come up now, it will make their SGD more worth it yah?

mrs_n

maple good morning! Yea usually feel a bit lost in the first few days after my mum leaves. If I'm parking the car, I would remeber, oh if mum's here she would look out and tell me if I'm clear or to be careful of someone else's car etc. You know little things like that. However she doesn't come up that often so we are the ones who have to do the travelling instead.
We usually buy our tickets online months in advance. This time round we got ours last August. Learnt from experiece that the earlier you get them the cheaper they are.

Hee! Hee! You never know this forum and thread might be monitored too!!!

georginat

hi ladies !!!

having 4-day holidays here..good sales in dept stores so been busy shopping , shopping..but only for baby stuff !!!

Mrs. N, did u buy lot sof baby stuff while in sg ??? i bought alot in sg, in ozzies, i bought clothings which are so reasonbale after the sale !! so happy !haha !! i bought from pumpkin patch online and gosh , what a steal !! only A$8 per piece (averagely) and i bought 32 items !! just cant resist it !! sometimes you can get very good deals online...things are so ex in UK !!

nisa, when do you start drinking coconut juice? those big green coconut or those small cocount? oh...talk about durian, Julio loves it too !!! he can eat 1 or 2 whole durians by himself !!!

i book airticket from zuji too, i like their service, so far so good...if not, i will buy qantas thru their website, cheaper , no service charge..and sometimes they have real good deals, but the taxes are a killer !! have to pay $512 for taxes from sg to canberra via sydney..and the ticket is $628 ( bought during their sales period)...geez!!we buy 1 year ticket from sg , coz we will definitely go back for holiday during the year so its so much cheaper to buy from sg than oz...(if u convert oz to sg $$, sometimes can save at least $450 !!)

there is this website,www.p2ptravel.com, can check it out...i also sometimes buy from www.airfare.com.sg, Misa Travel, the fares can be cheap sometimes...

rizaclark

Hi to you Maple, nice to meet you here.

Mrs N, my parents are only able to come in June since my dad teaches in one Sec school in Singapore. But they only can come for 2 weeks. Likewise, last year, my parents purchased the airflight tickets way back in Feb/March 2007 for the June 2007. December, is too cold for them coz even when they were here last June, they already "complain" its too cold for them already...

Georgina, thank you for the tickets weblinks. I appreciate this alot.

As I am typing this on a Saturday evening @ 21:25hrs its started to snow again...

eminozy

hey riz. see that u are back. why the MIA? have a great weekend in colorado!

nie. hope ur back is doing ok. i told chris about ur hypothemia... if thats how u spell it and he said its best if u drink coffee too. Mrs N suggestion of a chiro is actually an excellent idea. dont be sad about ur mum, u will see her again in june, that is like in no time.

i joined a gym today coz chris said that he is worried that i am too lazy! hehehehe. worried that i will have health issues when i am older. so now, i would have to not be lazy and start going as to make my money worth. hehehahha

Gina. I love pumpkin patch. Bought heaps of things for my nephews all the time during their sale. There was a time when it was not in spore yet and i was urging my sis to franchise but they did not answer her email. And now its quite hot in Singapore and everywhere! hows ur tummy looking nowadays? u loving the bump? hehehe

oh yes, i am a MISA www.airfare.com.sg customer for the longest time. All my outbound journey fr Singapore is from them and Thai Airways is one of the best airplanes to Europe actually. you can do an open jaw with them and stopover bangkok for makan! hehehehe BUt outbound from OZ is definitely qantas as you can try and get another city stopover as well!

oklah...i think i better go rest. i took too much immodium to stop my diarrhoea and now i am constipated -bloated. Such is life...

eminozy

nisa.. when are u going back to sweden again. there is this cute hand liquid soap i bought over there in 2003 and i saved it till this year when we got this place to use. its cheap about $2 and the packaging are in different rainbow colour variety. i was hoping if u go back , can buy for me or not? heheh. i will take a picture and show it to u. its so cute. I love swedish packaging!

rizaclark

Emi,

Thanks for the greetings.. PS: Until now still cant believe you are in the same school as my little cousin Fai"don" that is what I address him as,.. erhm, not little already lah.. he is a grown man... like yourselves a grown fine lady now married..

Long story short alot happenings lah here in Colorado. Have been bz, with the new house, renovating, remodelling, still work in progress. Hopefully to finish what we can do, before my parents come for a visit again. At least now they can have their own room etc etc..

Apart from that, life is good, Alhamdullilah.. Have been climbing, exploring Colorado eateries, especially the cupcakes thingy... etc etc...

So sorry to hear about your recent misadventures. Awak jgn sedih2 okies.. The most important thing is the fond memories both you & Chris shared... Talking about the Immodium part, lately I also kena what you went to thru... sick for several days take Immodium then baru lega...

Tu lah kisahnya..

maplehue

Hi Mrs.N..yes, its the little things mom used to do or say when she was here that make me feel a little lost and sad. i'll feel better soon. we have already talked on the phone twice today

so you booked your tickets last august?? that was early! jeff and i can be a little fickle sometimes so we are a little scared to book anything way ahead of time. but ive heard of the good deal if we do it ahead! plus with plans to meet other people on our holiday doesn't help anything either. hee. i agree with you about this forum, this might be monitored too for all we know! ..hello is anyone there?

Gergina and Emi, jeff and i use MISA travel a lot too. Eventhough we are in seoul now, but we do all our bookings for my mom through misa via online. they are reliable and reasonable.

Hello Riza, how is living in Colorado? When i was living in Montreal, i used to go to NY a few times cos it is very near from montreal. its so busy there and colorful and so active but i dont really feel 'at home' there. is your current place a busy place? my mom loves the cold weather and she likes the snow too.

maplehue

Emi, mine is not hyppthermia but hypotension. it refers to an abnormally low blood pressure and makes me dizzy and sometime feel like fainting. there is no medicine for it and i was advised to take a little bit more salt. you know how much i "love" salt right? hee. they didnt mention coffee at all and i am not a coffee drinker either. i'll get sick even after a little sip. strange isn't it? jeff is a coffee drinker for sure. can't live without his expresso machine! his birthday this year, my mom send a big parcel full of starbucks coffee seeds!! like 8 of them! this was in february. we still have 5 more in the cupboard. and his mom from canada send him a parcel of bags and bags of licorice and turtle chocolates!
you should see him. beaming like a school boy.
thanks anyway for the suggestion about coffee. that was sweet of you and chris. as for chiro, we went to the one at parkway parade and you were right MRS.N, it was quite dear but of course worth it. Jeff had treatment for his neck and me my back but we couldn't find any english speaking chiro here in korea and jeff refuses to go to those with just basic english.

which gym did you join? will you have time? if i'm still there, i can definitely be your gym buddy
I love the treadmill and the rowing machine. For my arms, i like to use the 'pull down'. jeff used to train me twice a week last year cos we have a gym at work but we have stopped this year cos of his busier workload. he was exceptionally keen when i used the weights, i told him i wont do too much of it cos i dont want to look like Rambette(female version of Rambo)!

in between how is your tummy now?

cuclainne, take 5 when you have a minute okay..you must have been so busy lately..

hmm..mittens must be on her way to sg.

have a good sunday afternoon everyone.
x

liz4jeroen

Happy blessed Easter everyone! Been busy n feeling a little tired.

Hi Maplehue,
Great to hear that yr little niece is taking taekwando. Is yr mum a child pschyologist? I'm staying in Holland not in Singapore. Thks for the thought though!

Mrs N I miss celebrating Easter in Singapore. Miss the church and the songs! Just not the same here.

Chrisl, thks. So u r back. Did u stock up a lot of stuff home?

Riz, welcome!

Mittes, hope u have a gd trip n everything will go well for u.

Ok! Adious! Maybe I go n take a nap! zzzzzzzzz

mrs_n

Hello Ladies can't believe we missed the snow ... again! Talked to SIL and family on skype yesterday. The children called us actually
as they were up early and excited to see the whole place covered in snow. We even got a webcam view of their garden! Seems that heavy snow comes to our part of England whenever we are in Singapore for a visit! The last time that happened was 3 Christmases ago when we were here. Oh well! At least we'll miss the not so nice 'icy' road conditions.

Gina wah that sounds like some serious shopping you've done for your baby! Your luggage back to Sg must be full of baby stuff.
We didn't do much shopping really. Just a bit kaypoh and went to baby fair to look see and bought some safety gadgets like those plastic covers for table edges and drawer catch. Biggest purchase so far was getting some 'Bum wear' cloth diapers! Got it at the expo. Was a bit pricy upfront but in the long term it works out to be cheaper as they are re-usable and adjustable to baby's size as they grow. Also now with climate change we decided to do our bit for the enviroment and be green! So no disposables for us unless necessary.
Yah we'll get some baby clothes before we leave. Saw some in Toa Payoh Central the other day where you can get 4 for $10. Thought that was cheap compared to England.

Will you be going back to Canberra after your delivery?

Liz Happy Easter to you. Yes Easter here is so much livier than in England. Was at Risen Christ for Easter Vigil and it was 3 hours long! There were 60 Baptisms, 8 Receptions and Confirmation of the newly baptised adults. And we all sat there freezing away in the air-con.
Did you not go to the English speaking Mass?

Riza no wonder you MIA. Your life for the past few months sound very very busy. Doing up house certainly take a lot of time and effort. I'm sure your parents will appreciate your hardwork when they come over.

EJ you so on can join gym. Is Chris going to go with you for your gym sessions? I should take my bike out more often when I get back. But not sure how good my balance will be with big tummy!

maple yes that's the earliest booking we everdone! Mar/Apr is a nice time because of the Easter holidays so save a day or two on annual leave and also my hubby can use some of last year's leave and this year's leave as their annual leave start from Apr to Mar.
Are you allowed to take leave during term time?

Mrs N: perhaps i should take that into consideration, esp. since it seems that we're having swedish visitors every other month or so .. hahaha ..

chrisl: wow - you really brought back a lot of goodies .. elias' mom brought three loaves of bread which she baked herself and several other bags full of another type of bread and three slabs of brown cheese - all because he was complaining that he cannot find good bread and cheese here. yah, i think the next time i must bring rice cooker .. my mom was even considering bringing her blender .. seems like these are not very common items in a swedish home ..

maplehue: yesterday we went to newton with his dad's family and he had them try durian ice-kachang .. this time his little sister said it actually tasted edible .. hahahah .. no, elias is ok with the smell .. there was a time, when i was pregnant with sofi, that i wanted to eat steak with mashed potatoes and so he went to the supermarket, got the food stuff and cooked them for me. he even sat next to me while i was chomping on it ..

ej: yes, we're hoping to go back in june or july - let me have the picture and i'll see if i can find it. i've already informed elias that i'm going to travel with a nearly empty bag so that i can shop shop shop!!!

gina: you can start drinking the coconut juice one month before your EDD .. i heard that some people say it's the smaller coconut, others would say thai coconut but really, i don't know what the difference is so as long as it's coconut juice, i drank it ..

maplehue

Good afternoon ladies,
Hope everyone is well...It was hard for me to wake up this morning to go to work cos it was raining and the cool weather made it harder

Hello Elizabeth, good to hear from you.
Yes, the younger one is taking taekwando. She is quite good at it! My sister made her karate her thigh and there was definitely power there! hee
My mom did child psychology hoping to become a child psychologist but then she got a 'calling' and diverted what she's learned into that calling. I did a 6 months unit myself when i was at uni in singapore.

Hello Mrs.N, wow...60 baptisms? that must be a long service. I hope you didn't get pins and needles!
One of my bestfriends nominated me as her son's godmother. I was living in Melbourne at that time and couldn't fly home. I felt bad missing the ceremony. International School year starts in July and ends in June. Summer and winter breaks are long.
One good thing, they don't bug us during the whole length of our holiday. No meeting whatsoever before term starts. So have you shopped much for yourself other than for the baby? 4 for $10 for baby clothes! That is a good deal for sure!!

Hello to the rest of the ladies here! Have a good Monday and talk soon
xo

maplehue

Hello Cuclainne,
I just missed your entry before I started writing.
Is durian ice kacang the same as durian 'bubur kacang'. I forgot to ask my mom to cook for me bubur kacang when she was here! Of all the desserts, I am so bad at this one..it'll always ended up too sweet or too watery or too bitter. sweet of elias to buy and make you a nice steak with mashies. Must be scrum. Other than the smell of good leather handbag..heee
That was the western craving, what about the eastern craving??

One of my close friends here just told me this morning that she is pregnant..and she is already craving for burgers with extra minced meat. What do you call that? Sloppy Joe is it?

When is your dad in law leaving? Did Elias take any leave for the family recent visit?

Ok talk soon everyone

aplehue: i think the durian bubur kacang is a hot dessert .. my mom makes green bean soup and put the durians in - yum but very sweet so it's an occasional treat. my eastern craving was seafood hor fun - had it for dinner almost every night for several weeks when i was preggers with sofi. with elin, i didn't really have any cravings ..

just found out that both sets of families (my fil and mil are divorced and have their own partners now) will be leaving on the same flight - that would be interesting. he took some days off when his mom arrived but he's back to work now.

i've been trying to re-organise the kids' wardrobe .. trying to see which of sofi's clothes does not fit her anymore and putting it together with elin's clothes .. just when i thought i was done, i opened a drawer and there are more clothes! it's another 2 hours before sofi's home and there's clothes and socks all over her bedroom floor!!!!

liz4jeroen

Hi hi ladies', it's snowing yesterday and right now! White easter! Last year, there wasn't any white xmas!

Will write again. I'm at my in law's house!

eminozy

hello. am at work doing my active night. one of my torturous client have at last decided to fall asleep out in the lounge in front of the tv. Now i can start making lunch for them to take to work tomorrow and not have to vigilantly look over this notty woman.

The only reason i joined gym is because i can see my legs turning grotty elephanty. heheh. thats a very bad sign. hehehehahha. unfortunately chris is already in a dif gym nearer to our place. mine is a bit further coz i so want a pool to swim in. this one's demographic includes babies to really old people. So no posers to freak me out when i do my stuffs.

I like kickboxing, maybe a little rowing and yoga. and this place have aqua aerobics... i would love to try that! heheheh

Nisa..thanks.. i still have yet to get a photo of it.. i just had a weird thought. what if its not a hand soap as i assumed it is? heheh nmindlah i like it.. its as small as ur palm so it wont take too much of space in your shopping bag! hehehe

you all talk about desserts, i think i will make sago melaka tomorrow..cannot handle hearing all this durian terigu and stuffs.... *slurp slurp*

Eh margie , where are u? resting issit?

riza..its fine... life is such... as fed up as i can be, i still trudged my way. heheheh

maplehue

Good morning ladies,

Cuclainne, so..did you manage to sort and clear everything before sofi returned? Ha...
I've heard a similar story from my sister. She has loads of clothes to give away and at one time, used the yahoo auction to sell off some of them. So 'sayang' cos some were still very new and pretty. Did you and Elias tell his parents about the same flight thing, just to "prepare" them for the surprise? Hee.
I asked my Mom last night how to make a good 'bubur kacang'...I think I'll try again this weekend. but I don't know what else to use other than durian..Any suggestion?

Hi Elizabeth, stay warm there...Brrr.

Emi, I don't really know how to eat 'sago melaka'. To me, it has the texture of fish eggs. I only like the gula melaka part and love 'kuih koci' Do you know how make that? I think it is too hard to try. You are right, all this dessert talk is making me drool...

Mittens, hope your flight was good and you are enjoying your time with you mom.

Mrs. N, how many more days to go before you leave?

Hello to the rest of the ladies here.
Have a good Tuesday everyone. I am going back to work now. Over and out.
..x

georginat

nisa, ok...so as long as its coconut juice, i will just drink it !!

EJ, we like TG flight too, reasonbale fare and good service, moreover can stopover Bangkok to shop and eat and go to other parts of Thailand..

Mrs. N, there are 2 stores in Toa payoh central, something like factory outlet, sell kids rompers and jackets around $3 - $ 6...the stores are somewhere opposite Bangawa Solo, near Watson store (not the one near the HDB Hub)...

EJ, pumpkin patch does not accept franchise , in singapore, its wing tai that distributes the brand... yes, they can be so cheap during sales, but must wait a while first coz they will further markdown more, still can get good buys though...went to the store yesterday and bought 2 more items !! i just couldnt resist !! Julio was like ' i thought you said no more buying of baby's clothings?' well...i did say that but...hee hee....after calculating how many pieces i have bought so far..gosh, its 91 pieces !! i must really control buying now!! me super kiasu , bought 1 year supply coz i reckon baby grows up so fast..so i bought mostly 6 - 12 months clothings....the designs are so nice and the quality is good..so doesnt matter it's last season's stock !!and Mrs N, pumpkin patch is selling in UK too and guess what, i checked the UK website and found out that what i bought on sale in oz, they are selling full priced in UK now..coz the season is opp for UK and oz..Uk is going to spring and summer and OZ atumn and winter , so the UK side is having winter sales...so nice the clothings, was drooling when surfing...

maplehue: not really - see, i was almost done when elin decided to do a merlion on me, herself and the playmat .. so after cleaning her up, and then getting the mess dealt with and then getting myself a shower - sofi was home! so i did what anyone else would do, i suppose .. i scooped up all that was on the floor and stuffed them into another drawer .. hahahah ..

anyways, success .. well almost. we finally managed to locate a durian stall in chinatown and took his dad and family there tonight. i told him not to be overly ambitious and to get only one durian for all of us. anyways, his dad and step-mom had three pieces, his brother two and sister had one. a success i would say considering that his father wanted another durian but we didn't want to spoil our appetites for dinner .. they are slowly but surely getting used to the taste and we were quite the sight for the people there - even sofi was eating the durian.

gina: ooh .. coconut juice is good, esp. when it's cold. yum yum .. are you taking bird's nest too? i used to take the bottled ones from eu yan seng every few days .. put them in the fridge to chill.

heheheh .. i understand the shopping spree. me and elias decided early on, when we had sofi, that we were not going to buy more than what is required but unfortunately i cannot step into a store and not buy anything for her. she has more clothes than she can wear - when i was cleaning out the closet yesterday, i found so many dresses .. some of which she can't fit into anymore!!! thank goodness for having another girl then ..

mittens

Sorry for not being posting for a while....mad, mad rush.
Did nothing but shop during my 1.5 days in S'pore....at airport now waiting to board for Brunei.

Yes...have a cat...adopted her from S'pore, took her to Brussels, Moscow (and holiday in Finland). HTB upgraded us to biz class with points so that cat 'can be more comfortable'! So, yes,....she has never travelled in cargo, always as pet in cabin. Will post a pic of her when I can.

eminozy

hehehhe. goodness. mittens! and i thought one of my friend who is now in belgium is crazy. She travels around with her cat in the cabin too and spent like kazillions on the little trecherous notty cat who only loves her and no one else. its hilarious. dont shoot me yet, but i am a obsessed catlover but that cat of hers...only God knows. hehehehha

anyways... i am enjoying this new gym regime of mine.. i went for aqua-aerobics yesterday and today for body combat.... nearly died. I wonder when i will start to become lazy and totally forget to go to the gym. heheheh.

nisa... maybe your psyche unconsciously knew u are gna have 2 girls hence teh buying of kids clothes liek nobody's business!
the soap picture is attached !

nie. sago is yum, i think the texture is like air kathirah, sold during ramadhan at teh food bazaar. serously, i think its texture is safer than fish eggs on a sushi... THEY dont pop! hehehehhaha and go gooey. they are already naturally gooey! heheheh. kueh kochi is those with coconut, some sort of corn flour and palm sugar rite? steamed in banana leaves? yummmmmmmmmmm. hehehehhaha
637098.jpg

maplehue

Hello ladies, good morning to all of you

Mittens, when I was in France and traveling, I noticed so many travelers holding their pets in their arms like holding a baby, everywhere including at the airport. I didn't know they fly with them like you do with your kitty! I love Paris but don't really like the fact that they allow their customers to bring their pets in the restaurants. in between, how is shopping so far?

cuclainne, i laughed picturing you scooping all the clothes into another drawer! ha
that is an indication you have too many of them already!! but like what my sis said, nothing is too much or too many for her girls cute clothes
so you guys just got one durian for the entire family? i am surprised that elias didn't push for another. what is the latest top grade? the last time i ate was D24, then someone said D27 is better! Amazing how these drurians get a code attached to them.

Emi, i don't think kuih koci is the one with bananaleaf, that is 'nagasari' right, kuih koci use other leaf(i think) but 'nagasari' is with banana. other than peanut, i can't eat banana either. i get swollen lips and rashes and even the smell can give me hives. my mom used to make the white thing only without the banana for me. i've had 'air kathirah' but it felt like something still pop in my mouth but i believe you, the texture should be safe that fish eggs. what is body combat?

Talk again soon ladies.

ej: i've not seen these before - did you remember where you got them? i'm going to show the pic to elias and ask him if he has a clue .. i think since it reads soap on the packaging, you should be safe!

maplehue: no, i told him beforehand only one durian since we were going to have dinner afterwards and durians tend to fill you up rather quickly .. yah, they have all sorts of codes like XO, etc .. not sure what was the one we had but it was super sweet - maybe that's why his family could tolerate it ..hahahahha ..

well, some of the clothes were gifts so they were still in their original boxes/ packaging when we moved. and then this year, some of my friends came bearing more clothes for both girls so that's why .. it's not me, really!! ;o)

you see it in sweden too - they even allow pets on the train but thankfully they have specially marked carriages for that and everyone pretty much obeys that rule. but in restaurants too?? i've seen swedes bring their pets out but they just 'park' their dogs outside the stores/ malls while they run their errands.

ej: i've shown elias the picture and he said he hasn't seen that in a long time but we'll keep an eye out for it - how many would you like?

georginat

nisa....mostly friends will give clothes and accessories..coz sometimes really dont know what to give, so give clothings the best choice...i reckon i will rec lots of clothings on luke's 1st mth celebration...

this week i am at week 30, suddenly the tummy becomes bigger..mu hubby calls me potato now :-( and sometimes there's cramps below my tummy and have to hold my tummy while walking....

maplehue

good sunday morning ladies..
hope everyone is well and enjoying the weekend!

where is everyone? its a little quiet here..

Cuclainne, that's right. The restaurants in Paris and France where i was allowed dogs in the dining area. Twice on different occasions, the owners had their tiny dogs on their laps while they were having their dinner. I must admit, these dogs were well grooomed and everything but i still found that a little strange. Cute sight though! I wished i had a camera with me.
but maybe not all restaurants allow it.
In between, is Elias' family still in Sg?

Mittens, you must be packing and getting ready for your departure. Hope you've had a good vacation!

..and Emi, hows the gym time going?

Talk soon everyone
X

gina: yes, that is true .. how long will you be in sg after the birth?

mrs n: how are you? do you have any cravings for local dishes?

maplehue: nope, they've left on saturday night so we can breathe a little easier now ..
but we've spent so much time with them that i didn't even get to buy a birthday present for my nephew .. guess i will have to make it up to him with a big pressie .. hahahah .. someone gave him a drum set and it's driving my mom nuts! elias reckons we should buy a set for sofi too but i would still like to keep my sanity and eardrums intact ..

mittens

Hey Everyone!

Quite easy to take cat travelling...just needed cat to be microchipped and rabies vaccinated (+ the usual vaccination is current), then export permit from AVA and to let the airline know that you are taking a cat on board. Belgium, Russia and Finland (I guess the whole EU except UK?)....no need for import permit. Just have to have cat's EU passport to show that all her vaccinations are in order + health certificate signed/verfified by vet about 2 days before flight that she's healthy. Actually....almost no one ever looks at the papers. It's almost always that when we have to take her out of her carrier at security (the bag goes through the x-ray and she is carried by us through the body scanner), the security staff is more interested in touching her, asking how old she is, etc. then actually looking at her papers at all.

Bringing back into S'pore is harder...import permit + minimum one month quarantine.

We do think we're nuts sometimes...spending so much on a cat...but we just can't bear to leave her at a boarding house! (twice, I've done that in S'pore and both times, she came back with some sort of skin disease!)

I've now changed my tix to go to S'pore Sunday instead of tomorrow!

Hope everyone's well!

mrs_n

Hee! Hee! Mittens didn't know that cats are eligible for passports too. Do they need a photographed or paw print?
Hope you are having a nice time in Brunei bonding with your mum. We are leaving on Sunday too! Wee hours of the morning.

3 weeks can pass by so very quickly.

Gina we managed to get some stuff in Toa Payoh. Paul getting worried that our bags will be full. Ha! Ha! Still need to keep some space for the sauces. You should be heading back to Sg soon?

Cuclainne no particular cravings. I just eat whatever local food I can. Glad to hear that you can breathe easier now and have a little bit more time for yourselves now that the ILs have gone.

Maple this last week we suddenly have a deluge of invites from everyone to have 'makan' with them! Feel so full already. I think the MW is going to be surprised by how much weight I have put on. Have to walk even more now.

maplehue

Good morning ladies,

Hi Cuclainne, hope you've been resting and now slowly getting back to your routine. ..So Elias wanted to get Sofi a drum set?? Noise wise...that won't be too good. Hee. You are right, you still need to have your sanity and eardrums protected!
What about a small keyboard or something instead of the drumset? Does it have to be music related?

Hello Mittens, you must be back now. Hope the flight was a good one and both you and your kitty are fine. Did you have to pay for excess baggage from your shopping trip? Hee. I forgot to ask you...why didn't you leave your cat with Mika? Post your cat picture here if you can okay
I miss having a pet!

Hi Mrs.N..you must be enjoying the food there!! Jealous jealous! I have to wait for 2.5 for my turn. Can't wait! Don't worry about putting weight...Im sure its nothing. PLUS, I bet you are not the only one enjoying the food, the baby is also eating with/for you.
How is Paul? Is he doing okay with the climate in Sg? And when will you guys return to UK?

Jeff and I are fighting something..We've been feeling under the weather these past 2 days with a cold and sorethroat plus aching body. The spring rain doesn't help either and both of us are slouching on the couch now. So feel the sun for us okay Mrs.N and Cuclainne!

And talk soon everyone.
x