Any brides here does not have a proposal ring?

jenzhuzhu

Hi Tammyelton

I do not have a proposal ring from my FH. He did nt even propose to me. In fact we juz automatically start preparing for wedding after we sign the package with the BS

To me, i dun think proposal ring is reali tat impt, afterall u have ur wedding band

winnie_gal

i dun have any proposal ring too. we juz prepare our wedding...

anyway i'll still get my wedding band mah..

jaspire

I do not hv a proposal ring too!~ My bf proposed wif a self hand-sewned bear wif my name at bear's footie and he done the bear while i went on a biz trip. Also proposal was on our Anniversary... so it was unexpected! BTW, i hand-sewned him a bear a year ago for his bday... so it is bery meaningful to us then rings which we wld hv on our AD...

pinkbunny

me too - no proposal ring. i'm practical, told him i don't want cos so many rings for what - i only have 10 fingers! i've had my own ring that i bought years ago, and wedding band, that's it. my own ring symbolises my individuality, and wedding band ties us together. enough liao

hapict

jaspire
tat was very sweet of your FH!!

pinkbunny
wau u even more practical than me.. n i m considered v pragmatic...

btw, did any hubby here propose with the weddin band? my FH wans to do tat n i was v upset.

tinkybell

me too.. no proposal ring and never was there a proposal.

when the HDB advertise some upcoming new flat for grap, my FH and I went and look then apply. Subsequently was the bridal package, which we just signed up.

Now we are at the midst of our ROM preparation, never heard him mentioned abt proposal ring at all, but I am gald we have our wedding band in place.

jhoo

Me too, no proposal ring. However, just before he proposed to me, he 'stole' my ring which he bought for me during courtship. at that time he was still studying, not that rich, and what he do is use the handmade paper star and paste onto that ring and gave to me during the proposal time with a big bouquet of flower. This ring is still well kept by me
during our ROM, he bought a real diamond ring as my wedding ring.

hapict

tinkybell
yea i think i shld be content. he's willing to buy a nice wedding band with lots of diamonds (small ones lah) to propose to me. no more surprise but happy loh. ;p

jhoo
tat's v sweet leh. when young, the men has all the nice creative ideas..

zhuoen

hi hapict, dun have to be upset... as long as he is genuine and loves you... its the most impt thing... my fh have not bought me a proposal ring yet as he is paying for his part time studies so i need to be understanding enough not to pressure him cos if he is sincere. it will just be fine... having a ring doesnt mean everything... hahahaha.. i hope i m not consoling myself... hahahah... though i din pressure, everyone else ard him is giving him the pressure, but i told him its really fine... its never too late to buy me one when he can...
thereafter, we went to buy the engagement ring... and we are both happy and awaiting for the big day so that we can wear the rings! hahaha...

furnana

my bf bought me a purple gold ring from GH..hmmm does it = proposal ring? In fact i was hoping for a solitiare. hehee

but as wat u gers say earlier, if they truly loves us, a proposal ring or not is not the biggest issue..

chetxin

i do not have proposal ring too.
he tried to catch UFO couple bear for me with over 100 bucks but was unsuccessful.
Quite sad, cause he spend so much on the bear.
I got my wedding band .. which we both like it very much.
Looking fwd for solitaire..

francaisco

I bought a solitiare as a proposal ring for my wife. cost about 1 times my monthly salary. She didn't really expect to have 1 but I think if it makes her happy, why not.

Heh, ofcoz I'm on tight budget for 1/2 year after buying the ring :p

BUMMER, just saw the topic.. oh well please pardon me.

ahtai_ahxue

i got a a tiny diamond ring from my FH, actually i wanted a pink gem..he proposed at school on the last day of his grad show..cos i grad from the same sch 3yrs ago.. he make it very sweet in a way tat both of us, his classmates and lectucers will nvr forget tat special day.. i still want my pink gem!!

wnteruv

Just like to share my experience with you..

My FH had just graduated from uni not too long when he proposed to me.. during then, he was a poor guy who dun have much of the savings. Thus, he had only got me a 0.24 D colour VS clarity solitare. It wasnt like many other ladies who had a big ones, but i accepted it still.

However, deep in my heart, i am v envy of women whose husband had gotten them a big solitare to propose. I feel that a proposal ring symbolise how much the gal meant to the guy, his endless love towards her, and her as his one and only. And many ocassions, we had seen women showing off their 'promise of love' and make other of their frds feel envy of her..

I have to admit, it was really my yi(2) han(4) that i didnt have one that others have. Even if one day I / FH is to buy one for myself in future after our marriage, it does nt contain the same meaning that it should have.

However, to be fair, he did promise to compensate for our wedding band. Thus, in the end, he had got me a half eternity ring 8 diamonds, 0.47 channel setting, one which I had wanted as my 'dream' wedding band.

poopoo

I don’t have my proposal ring too!

To me, it is ok since I am not wearing it also, because if is a diamond ring, I will worry that the diamond will drop off! If we buy the diamond ring from the shop, it is just like change display location, ie from the shop to my drawer. So, I always tell my husband, let my proposal ring display it in the shop instead of let us display it at home!

jhoo

Mine is DIY 'diamond' ring.....its still hold a special meaning which gonna be with me for the rest of my life....

my hubby was studying when we proposed, ROM and got our flat, no regrets at all when there no real diamond proposal ring. my wedding ring, yes got the diamond but end up we got another one for my daily wear coz i do not want my diamond to be lost, 'hurt' one day. people ask why keep it and only wear when there's special occasion, coz its my precious......

I did not have a proposal ring too cos I am actually a no accessories person so will not wear a solitaire at all. My bro even joked that I may knocked the diamond away if I have one. Well my hubby bought me a pendant from brazil that has many coloured gems with a certificate. well the gems looked richer in colour than those found in singapore. guess what??? I did not wear it too haha

mentos

i dun think i'm getting one

but tt's wat i told FH. We just got a flat and i would rather have the $$ to contribute to paying off the renov & Wedding stuff. Both of us dun have sponsors for anything so all the money has to come from our own pocket, moreover we are trying not to take any loans so no pt having a stone on my finger that will burden us more at this pt of time.

Nevertheless, I made FH promised that he have to compensate me when we're more stable

bel_vodka

Hi all..

Actually i dont wanted to have a proposal ring
From my FH.
Coz i wanted to save more money for the both of us.

But when i told my cousin abt it.
She asked me to think properly..
Coz she said tt Guys do change abit after married.
For example, Guys wil buy wad u wan now
but in future when u down with kids, flat, bills
They will make u wait for it lor..
Or tell u excuses to escape frm buying.

Some more in a life time then u will get a proposal ring.

so after thinking for a few days
I told my FH i wan a proposal ring no matter wad.

And he realli got tt.
But he havent go n collect

Hope he will have gif me a surprise.

somemore,i believe most of the girls wud wan a diamond ring frm your darling.

aniway, is one in a lifetime

but still is up to u hehe

pukindog

i too didnt buy a proposal ring for my FW but we got ourselve a custom make ring from fairy inc with 10 diamonds on each rings. cost me quite a bomb but i did tell her that i think the money for the propsal ring can be put to greater use for our AD wedding. well i know deep down in her she wanted to get a proposal ring and i try to get one for her. maybe a DIY one is good enough.

knowsy

Be enlightened. Get informed. You don't really need a diamond.

Worth-less
About 130 million carats (26,000 kg) are mined annually, with a total value of nearly USD $9 billion. Now if you do the math - that works out to be US$69.20 per carat! The price of diamond is artificially controlled and inflated. Mined diamonds are bought by cartels and kept in vaults to control supply and keep prices high, in truth there is nothing rare or precious about the stones.

For a detailed exposé of the De Beers cartel, read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

Have you heard of conflict diamonds?
Roughly 49% of diamonds originate from central and southern Africa - that's the majority of diamonds in retail. But this is the same region where conflict diamonds get worked into the system.

A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts - http://www.amnestyusa.org/diamonds/index.do

In some cases, the United Nations has prohibited the export of conflict diamonds, arguing that their trade finances armies in fighting against legitimate governments and perpetrating human rights abuses, and prolongs devastating wars. It points to the UNITA rebels in Angola and to the Revolutionary United Front rebels in Sierra Leone (who it states were financed by the government of Liberia, also through diamond sales) as purveyors of conflict diamonds.

The UN is attempting to implement certification procedures to decrease the number of illicit diamonds on the world market. On July 19, 2000, the World Diamond Council adopted at Antwerp a resolution to strengthen the diamond industry's ability to block sales of conflict diamonds.

In 2002, the UN approved the Kimberley Process scheme aimed at preventing conflict diamonds entering the market.
See - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimberley_Process

Still there is no guarantee the Kimberly Process can enforce 100% that no conflict diamonds make it to the market - see National Geogrpahic interview with reporter Dominic Cunningham - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/02/0212_030212_diamonds.html

Natural mined diamonds have been coming under a lot of heat recently. Award-winning journalist Cecil Adams sums it up the best in a recent article: “diamonds are a scam, pure and simple.†Most people in the new millennium understand that between the DeBeers diamond cartel, the issue of child labor in Third World diamond processing operations, and “blood diamonds†used to finance oppression and genocide in Third World African countries, not to mention your snooty and pretentious local jeweler, diamonds are just not worth the hassle, guilt, and let’s not forget thousands and thousands of questionably spent dollars.

7 Reasons Why You Should NEVER Buy a Diamond:

1. The price of diamonds has been artificially inflated since the 1880's via the De Beers diamond cartel. Read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

2. Current public perception of diamonds is the direct result of a masterfully executed marketing campaign by De Beers that began in 1938, not inherent scarcity or value. If you've read the article by Edward Epstein (you really should), you know all of the gory details. Isn't it amazing (and scary) how brainwashed people are about the "value" of diamonds, even though they're not actually worth that much?

3. A diamond is an illiquid asset, not an "investment". Try to sell a second-hand diamond ring on eBay or at a pawn shop. Do you really think you'll get anything close to what you paid for it? Do you really think the price of any diamond you purchase today is going to go up significantly over time? A diamond ring isn't even a good "insurance policy" to fall back on during hard times - it's an illiquid asset that you'll have a hard time selling for a price anywhere close to what you paid for it.

4. The diamond industry funds warfare, genocide, and terrorism. A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts. Profits from conflict diamonds are used to finance warlords in Angola, Sierra Leone, and Liberia, who use their weapons to kill and maim innocent people. You won't be able to tell if your diamond is a conflict diamond or not?
Read BBC reports
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/correspondent/1604165.stm
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/3581799.stm

5. A diamond is - by nature - just a pretty rock. Think of the oft-quoted "rule" of diamond ring buying: the ring should cost a minimum of two month's salary (pre-tax), and you should spend as much on a ring as you can afford. Let's put this rule in its proper context: according to the people who sell pretty rocks, you're supposed to trade a full two months of your time and effort for one of their pretty rocks. Does that seem wise?

6. People notice the setting more than the diamond itself. To the naked human eye, most decent quality diamonds look the same. Unless the stone is yellow, has major inclusions, or has a distinctly lopsided cut, no one will be able to distinguish an ideal cut, E color, VS-1 stone from a lesser-quality diamond just by looking at it. What people do notice is the setting - how the stone is featured or placed, side stones, and the craftsmanship and artistry of the band. Knowing this - does it make more sense to focus your attention and dollars on a better stone, or on a better setting?

7. The opportunity cost of buying a diamond is huge. Opportunity cost is what you give up by spending your scarce resources on a single option. In other words, if you drop ten grand on a diamond ring, you have $10,000 less to spend on other things, like a fantastic honeymoon, a car, furniture, a down payment on a house, investing for the future, or further education. Are all of these options worth giving up for a little piece of colorless carbon?

From this guy's rant - funny yet true - www.diamondssuck.com

If you still dun get it... go watch Blood Diamond - http://www.gv.com.sg/Booking/movies/moviedetails_7193.htm

tinggy

Blood diamond is quite a good show. Gals, please watch it. i used to be a diamond fan too. But after watching, I decided not to wear a ring with sin. hahah

mrs_woofie

Hi Diamond no more...I am a great fan of diamonds just like most of the girls. But thank you for ur information. I will probably think more before spending such monnie in future. =)

Btw, is there anyway to differentiate between blood diamonds and the other types?

coachlover

I'm still waiting for one though we have gotten our house 1 yr back n now in the midst of sourcing the banquet...

mjeyeu

Hey i use to like diamonds alot like normal ladies. But after watching Blood Diamond, i think a simple purpose ring will do.

knowsy

Hi Mrs Woofie,

There is no way to differentiate a Blood Diamond from a conflict-free diamond - which is where the problem lies. Although there are now steps taken to stop the smuggle and trade of conflict diamonds, there is still no guarantee as the diamond trade is complicated.

Even if you go to local stores, they may have the certification for the diamond but it's for the authenticity of the stone and not its origins. There is no way a sales assistant behind a diamond counter can tell you for certain that it was not a poor African child forced into harsh mining labour that produced the diamond you are about to buy. (If you don't believe, try it - go to any diamond store in town and ask them, I bet a diamond they'll be clueless).

And even if they can prove it's conflict-free, there is still no denying that a diamond is not worth much and it is not rare - imagine millions of carats are mined every year! (how can that be rare?) The only reason why they cost so much is because cartels buy up these diamonds and hold them to keep it from flooding the market.

In the end, it's consumers who are not well-informed and buy into the advertising of diamonds that are the real suckers! I say buy something else, there must be many many other things that could represent your love - a highly polished stone of no value is a damn sad signifier. Wouldn't it be better to spend the money on a fancy trip to somewhere exotic that both of you can remember for life - that would mean so much more!

goooogal

Hi Diamond No More, I'm waiting for the DVD release. My hb was the one who told me about Blood Diamond and I fully agree on the facts about diamonds - that they are essentially worthless pieces of minerals. Even though I still like their glitter I think it would be wiser to spend my money elsewhere. Actually when you think about it, a natural diamond is chemically and physically the same as a synthetic diamond. Only difference is that the synthetic one is PERFECT. So gals why waste money on imperfection? Buy a perfect one for a fraction of the price! And feel lots less guilty about it.

eighty

My FH proposed, but without a diamond ring. I'm totally fine with it because I'm totally NOT into diamond. I can't eat it, wear it, use it... it's simply a waste of $$ IMO.

Ok maybe I can wear it. But not as in clothing kinda wear... get it? And I'm not into wearing accessories. I'd probably be freaking out every single suspecting people might rob me if I'm wearing a diamond ring. So I think life'd be much better off without one... for me anyway.

dreamiez

my FH didnt even propose don't even have the 'will you marry me?'

we sorta made the decision together to get hitched. but he still went and get me a ring though i instructed him not to get a expensive one!

joinblack

I got a F 0.52 VS1. He was kinda irritating... pissed me off the whole day, then made me worry by disappearing... at 6,he suddenly called saying that he was outside my office... wanted to talk to me... when i came out, i saw him with the flowers and a lee hwa paper bag... anyway, i am a lucky gal, i got the ring and flowers and the "will you marry me" on 1 knee... wasn't one of the most romantic methods of proposing but it worked...

joinblack

but becos of the ring, we gotta budget for the solemnization... now, i am not sure if it was a good idea to spend so much on the proposal ring...

joannee

i oso dun have a proposal ring... and we both agreed to spend a bomb on our wedding band. =)tat's y he gave me a Tiffany for my ring... Which i tink itz gd enuff 2 replace my proposal ring.

joinblack

haha... i wish i had an unlimited budget for wedding bands... sounds good... actually, i think the wedding band is just as important as the proposal ring... this is the band that should last a lifetime...

btw, anyone has suggestions for where to host a budget ROM for about 90+ pax!! That is the number of family members that I have!!

listan

we a bit wacky lah, i'd got a destinee 10 solitaire for proposal, which we later traded in for wedding band. Destinee has 2 yrs full value trade in, so we chose a wedding band from same collection (required) and got a pendant (since the first ring was more costly) and pay a small diff.

Solitaire not so me lor, scratches my face everytime I wash face. (diamond scrub.. sigh)

as for ROM eh. is 90 odds the final number of pax leow or have you estimated the non-turn out? There is this lovethatbinds that is just near ROM, and I inquired with them initially, but my guest lists ran up to more than 130pax, so can't hold it there. (site can be found at ROM site) price reasonable

joinblack

sorry, have not got a chance to log on for a while... 90 odds the final number of pax.. this is purely family and very close frens, think there should not be any drop outs...

I found a place that both my fiance and I love... it is called Namly Lounge at SIM management centre... it is not very accessible but the place is nice... cosy and private...

for those that have yet to decide on a place, you might wanna consider it... and it is cheap...

http://www.kristo*.com/our_services/Venue/ewedding_Booklet.htm
replace * with an n
Click on Namly Lounge

zoan81

Hi, my SO also just graduated from uni not too long ago.. he was quite a poor guy who dun have much of the savings. Thou we are in the mist of preparation of our ROM dec, he have yet to propose .... thou he promised he will and get me a decent rings...

But i agree, anything we missed out like honeymoon or proposal ring etc, deep in our heart, we sure envy of women whose has it. Now it may be does not matters to us...but what about years down the road and you missed that special moments...

machiavellian

I hate to have to say this, but at times I really do pity the guys that are marrying you.

It does seem to suggest that the fact that they are willing to make you their significant other, vow to take care of you and shower you with love and care for the rest of his life, strive to provide you as comfortable a living as possible no longer suffice for women today.

It is not that women's adulation for diamond rings are ignored. Men do understand that their wife-to-be would love to receive a stunning and beautiful diamond ring as a proposal.

But a lot of comments here goes along the line of "Oh I don't have a proposal/diamond ring.. I understand blah blah.. BUT, I still wished that he could have..." Come on. If you do mind, you do. Saying you don't, and then harbouring regrets is just masking your selfish wants and protraying yourself as an "understanding" partner. Are you really one?

It's saddening to hear that for guys who are fresh out of unis or do not have savings or are devoting their resources to wedding preparations and housing costs only have their partners' support in words but not from their hearts.

For those who insist or demand for a proposal ring no matter what before you agree on marrying him, congratulations on displaying your ugliest side. Nature does shine through via little actions like these.

cactus_79

It's the way society is these days. really. Once a gal announces she is goign to get married to a guy, pple will ask , where's the ring?!
It's very normal. I don't think it's too much to ask for a proposal ring. Most ladies here are not demanding big diamonds. I'm sure even a 0.3ct ring would suffice as a gesture. I know it would, for me.

machiavellian

I agree that it's the way society is these days. But the 'ways' associated with any society are formed by the cultures and influences in effect on its people. Over the years, it has become a norm for couples who are getting engaged/married to have a proposal ring/wedding bands. By a 'norm', it is an indication that the practice is a common trend, but not a necessity.

No doubt girls nowadays do expect to have a diamond ring for the proposal from their significant other - and it is not their fault for such standards since media influence and peer pressure has made it near 'compulsory' for the man to buy her one. What I do feel is that since it has become a common practice, and knowledge of the 'proposal' ring's significance is so widespread, it is in fact the husband-to-be's duty to source and purchase one. Why has it become the prerogative of the woman to demand/expect the eventual arrival of the ring as the proposal gift?

cactus_79, you pointed out that since most girls here are not demanding big diamonds, it is acceptable since it is normal nowadays. A '0.3ct' ring would suffice as a gesture? Since when the love for you from your husband-to-be is directly pegged onto the size, color, clarity and cut of the shiny rock on a ring? Would it be fair for readers to assume that a 0.2x carat diamond ring would be too 'stingy' and too insignificant a gesture? Why must there be a 'cut-off' point for the diamond ring if like you said, size doesn't matter?

Maybe I didn't make myself clear enough. My opinion is that there ARE girls out there (and on these forums) who have unknowingly placed certain benchmarks on their expected size of the proposal ring for their HTB to 'hopefully' fulfill. Comments of how 'contented' they are with their rings received, or even the absence of one, are almost always peppered with terms like "it's only...", "but...", "I wish...", "if only...", or even "Sighs!"

To me they are obvious clues that reveal disappointments cleverly masked by remarks an understanding spouse would make.

To those in question out there, nothing against you, but try asking yourself and sparing a thought of how your boyfriend/HTB would feel if he is to find out 'the ring' he gotten is not up to the mark. Not all men are financially sufficient enough to splurge on a diamond ring for proposal, and yet the mass majority of men are still going out to splash thousands of dollars on them. I am very sure that out of all those who do not go ahead and purchase a diamond ring, only a small proportion belongs to the type of men who are too stingy and selfish to part with the money. Most would fall under the category of not being able to afford the splurge. The man that you are marrying - which category do you think he falls under? Pause and then reflect on your own remarks made on forums... does he deserve such assessments based on whether he bought a ring, and how big, how expensive the ring is?

If these girls want to portray themselves as the understanding women they think they are, then for starters, remove all expectations of 'the ring' you might have - so that in the event the man of your dreams DO follow the 'norm' and get you a ring, it would be a pleasant bonus (regardless of the diamond's 4Cs and costs). I am certain the happiness you will experience will be unrivalled.

cactus_79

I never thought the amount of love is reflected by how expensive/big the stone is... but I would say it's a must for a guy to buy a ring for his bride to be.... need not be expensive. but at least, for the gal to be able to answer to her friends and family when they ask where the ring is. May I go as far as to suggest that it is nice if gals can also buy engagement rings for their husbands-to-be.... I did.

machiavellian

Kudos to you cactus_79 for having such an understanding stance over the 'proposal ring' issue. It's saddening to say the least that girls today so often mistake the cost/size of their ring as a direct representation of their husband-to-be's affections.

I'm glad to hear that you took the initiative of buying the engagement rings. Regardless of whether or not the HTB is financially sound enough to afford the purchase of all the rings, it is a thoughtful touch to help lighten the burden. That's exactly what my wife-to-be has proposed doing actually, and I'm glad she volunteered the help. (regardless of whether or not I'll eventually agree is another matter)