Any 2007 brides with outdoor themes (beach/garden) on AD?

small_one

Hi All 2007 BTB

My AD is in May'07 and lucky for me, my parents have decided not to have a traditional sit-down banquet.

Hence, to compensate the 'lost' of banquet for my parents' relatives and friends, I've been toying with the idea of having a outdoor wedding in the evenings. (if you have watched 'my best friend's wedding', that's what I am working towards, personally)

If you have attended such weddings, kindly share the ideas here. So that we can all improve on the wedding ideas and make it our own dream weddings.

vinwee

Ivy,

My sis going to hv garden wedding soon. Will update u.

She's going to do this at our own house with the tentage set up and western style buffet dinner.

small_one

Hi vinwee

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to hear what your sis did.

coyote

I juz had mine by the poolside garden. Its lovely to me...I wld surely recommend u to go for it but weather is a BIG factor for outdoor. Do have contigency plan ;)

small_one

Hi coyote

where's ur AD held? I'm toying the idea of setting up a tentage in the middle of a beach or garden. However, the cost of having a tentage is dependent on the number of invited guests...

coyote

Ivy,

There are lotsa places to consider loh... I personally dun like the idea of errecting tentages as it will cost a bomb n need lotsa deco to make it look lovely n romantic. In order to save $, I wld suggest you find a venue that either has its contingency plan already (a shelter area provided if rain)....

I hold mine at Amara's balinese poolside garden. They have a pavillion at the ctr where you can have your soleminsation/stage there. And tables were placed surrounding the pavillion. They have a small sheltered area to accomodate 5 tables if u wan but I having 7 tables so tat sheltered area we used for buffet-line. In event of rain, my guests will be moved to one of their function rooms.

Rasa sentosa is a gorgerous place to hold ur wedding n I saw frm mag. the whole place looks romantic with the dollup tentage ;) Sentosa has a ginger garden whereby u can hold ur wedding outdoor or if rain, there's a function room beside the garden.

Let me know any places in mind...coz I got some pics n quotes frm various outdoor venues on my consideration list ;) Cld b helpful for ur planning.

small_one

Hi coyote

Thanks for all the info. Actually, I am truly torn between a church wedding and an outdoor wedding.

Originally had CHIJMES in mind, cos they have the church building and the lawn altogether at one place. However, the rental is way beyond our budget.

Second on our list was St. Andrews, but now there's re-work done to their lawn and we have no idea when the re-works will end. Besides, St. Andrews Cathedral is pretty commercialised as a wedding venue, hence we are also worried that the rental is high as well.

My FH and I went to recce some churches a few weeks back, but all do not have lawns. Although the one that's ranking high on our list is St. Theresa Church at Bukit Purmei, near Mt. Faber.

coyote

Ivy, u r welcome...i m glad to share my search. Church wedding is nice esp if u could combine both ur idea of having the soleminsation inside the church n dine at their garden/lawn ;)

Have u check out Changi chapel? That little outdoor chapel is simple yet authentic (to me) n u can either make use of their rooftop for makan/ bark cafe (open space yet sheltered) for makan ;)

Chijmes, Botanic Burkill both are around $3k rental. Chijmes u need to errect a kitchen tentage if serve chinese sit-down banquet.

Can't help much on church venues as I m a non-church person....kekekeke...

small_one

Coyote, i've given up on Burkill and CHIJMES liao...

I do know that the Changi Chapel is v beautiful, but a bit small, cos my parents will like to invite a lot of their friends and relatives.

Haha, i v problematic hor... *sigh*

did consider Rasa, cos I attended a church friend's wedding there. but considering my FH's friend is related to the Rasa boss, a bit pai seh to use there also.

coyote

Watz ur guest capacity? Gd mah, know the Rasa bozz can ask for better price :p

Problematic? No such thingy wor...wedding is once in a lifetime n venue will be a big factor contributing to your memories

coyote

Do u have any budget in mind? One thing is wedding is a costly thing loh....deco, tentage, lightings, fans, table/chair cover, ctr pc...even all the little details all add up will cost a bomb. Best to set aside a budget n work frm there ;)

small_one

hi coyote

you look lovely in your WG. I think I saw a similar design on one of the bridal mags... I love the collar... Your EG is also v slinky, suits you v well.

Realised also that your HB and you have fu qi xiang, both of you look very compatible.

BTW, which BS did you go to? Were both your gowns from the same BS?

coyote

Tks Ivy. All gowns (both PS n AD) were OTR frm J&M BS. Tat AD EG is not a EG lah...i bot it frm Holland Village coz BS ones all very EG look. I need soemthing more simple n easy to walk...so i call it evening dress...hahaha....

small_one

Hi coyote

I do like the balinese feel to your AD. Love the pavilion especially.

As for the budget, it will really boil down to the concept that we have. Cos my FH and I do not really meet eye-to-eye about the general concept of our AD. He wants only church wedding, where as I prefer a church-wedding with a outdoor feel... abit like to contrast the feel in and outside church.

small_one

Hi coyote

I do like the balinese feel to your AD. Love the pavilion especially.

As for the budget, it will really boil down to the concept that we have. Cos my FH and I do not really meet eye-to-eye about the general concept of our AD. He wants only church wedding, where as I prefer a church-wedding with a outdoor feel... abit like to contrast the feel in and outside church.

But will show my FH your pics of the amara pool, when he's less busy.

coyote

Tk q, at least u can feel the balinese part...kekeke.... :p

We decorated the pavillion n poolside tealight ourselves...so proud of my helpers...kekeke

small_one

really? i tot it was part of the hotel package...
eveything looked very professional... indeed, if i were you, i'd be v proud of them and their work as well.

coyote

I have these in mind for my small wedding:
- Fort Canning Patio
- BBoss
- Tuscany Rest.
- Flutes at the fort
- Les Amis
- Halia
- Au Jardin
- The Mango Tree
- Rooftop rest. at Changi hotel
- Sentosa Ginger garden
- Mt Faber
- Ember rest.
- Corrider Leaf rest.
- Secret Garden
- Paddy Field
- My Humble Hse
- etc etc...too many :p

small_one

Hi coyote

There are some places that you've listed, which I do not know their locations:

- Fort Canning Patio (where?)
- BBoss (opposite Istana)
- Tuscany Rest (where?)
- Flutes at the fort (where?)
- Les Amis (where?)
- Halia (where?)
- Au Jardin (where?)
- The Mango Tree (where?)
- Rooftop rest. at Changi hotel (near changi village)
- Sentosa Ginger garden (sentosa)
- Mt Faber
- Ember rest. (where?)
- Corrider Leaf rest. (where?)
- Secret Garden (where?)
- Paddy Field (anchor point)
- My Humble Hse (esplanade)

Kindly provide road names or landmarks for those indicated as (where?).

coyote

- Fort Canning Patio (the open cafe of fort canning sunrise, http://www.at-sunrice.com/main_idx.html)
- BBoss (opposite Istana)
- Tuscany Rest (inside Plaza Sing, quite a new rest. max capacity is ard 100+)
- Flutes at the fort (http://www.flutesatthefort.com.sg/newindex.htm nice but very ex)
- Les Amis (bontanic garden)
- Halia (bontanic garden)
- Au Jardin ((bontanic garden)
- The Mango Tree (East Coast Parkway, besides Coffeebean serving Indian Coastal cusine...drooling)
- Rooftop rest. at Changi hotel (near changi village)
- Sentosa Ginger garden (sentosa)
- Mt Faber (http://www.altivo.com.sg/ackcontact.html)
- Ember rest. (http://www.hotel1929.com/dining/ember.htm Retro deco, capacity only 45pax, expensive)
- Corrider Leaf rest. (http://www.corianderleaf.com/specialevents.html)
- Secret Garden (where?)
- Paddy Field (anchor point)
- My Humble Hse (esplanade)

Others tat i looked into too are:
http://www.saintjulien.com.sg/
http://www.townhousetwo.com/
http://www.hangouthotels.com/
http://www.goldenpacific.com.sg/portfolio_hotel_mtgroom.htm
http://www.dapaolo.com.sg/home.htm
http://www.cafesoc.com/cafesoc/
http://www.albertcourt.com.sg/us.htm
http://www.indochine.com.sg/festivedelights/functions.htm
http://web.singnet.com.sg/~fosters7/
http://www.bottletree.com.sg/index.htm
http://www.lawgazette.com.sg/2002-11/Nov02-lifestyle3.htm
http://www.rsyc.org.sg/facilities/eventshosting.htm

small_one

hey coyote

think you missed out secret garden... or did you input the link below?

but thanks very much for your very comprehensive list...

rhino

Hi just a little contribution fr my findings & quotes fr some of these places!

Saint Julien - high end french restaurant... if interested in the Boathouse gotta book with the Wine Bar- Bacchus Rental is $2.5k(wkday)/
$3k(wkend) per area.
Area A- upper deck
Area B-Lower outer deck
Area C-Lower Bar interior

Each area can accom abt 80-100 pax so may need to pay alot for venue rental alone!

My Humble House - HIgh end Chinese fushion resturant. max 110 pax - individually served @$120 onwards /pax.. Ex Ex corkage! Need a min. of 20K if i don rem wrongly, to occupied whole place!

BBoss - Istana Park - close already!

Au Jardin is part of French Les Amis Gp.. which is located in Botanic Garden. Les Amis cafe is a small outlet in the same place! http://www.lesamis.com.sg/webtop/outlets/

Bottletree Restaurant got beautiful Aussie landscape area & timber deck by the sea! But it is remotely set @ tip of Sembawang beach. Normal days it operates as Al Fresco Cze Char Kinda of makan place....

For small wedding, i find this 1827 Thai restaurant with unique interior & ambience:
http://www.theartshouse.com.sg/restaurant_cafe.html

Njoy ur venue shoppin!

rhino

U r welcome Ivy!
Visiting the places & asking for quotes is a tedious process but i enjoying it! Cheers

winterhakone

yea gals...agree....

having a outdoor ROM is simply lovely!!...i had mine @ the Southernmost Pt of Continental East Asia in Sentosa ....

small_one

hi winterhakone

how to have AD at the southernmost pt at sentosa huh? must apply permit? from where?

cuase I am thinking about going there, if my hubby insist on not using rasa...

coyote

hi Ivy, My Secret Garden rest. is located inside Sculpture Square. They have a aircon n open area.

Cafe211 @ Holland Village S.C. rooftop is nice in the evening too.

Guess it will b easier for u to source n visit the places after u reach an agreement wif ur FH. Coz we actually felt very tiring to visit all places we had in mind.

winterhakone

ivy...i did my ROM there..not my AD...sorry 4 the misconception....

in fact i wanted 2 hv @ tanjong beach...but there was a countdown party n the place would still b in the mess...so the pple there advised us against it.....

u can book the venue throu sentosa office...i m not sure whehter u hv seen my ROM pics...

coyote

thanks winter, as expected...very lovely...wow still got fireworks so grand!

like ur hse reno, how much did u spent?

rhino

Yeah certainly gog to narrow down the shortlisted places... out of budget ones or out of place were strike off from my list!

Win, indeed a unique ROM place!!! keke

tlc

Hi winter,

can share ur pics? PM me if dun mind...thks!

anywya, can we get from outside restaurant cook to hotel/resort club instead use their own rest as their insider rest may more exp? can hv such way?