Angbao market rate

omc

I've been to a not-so-close friend's wedding at conrad during weekday. I aren't sure if I am added to the list becos there wasn't enough people to meet the min guests requirement by the hotel. Frankly, I am surprised by the invitation, I gave $88. I've also been invited to a Chinese restaurant wedding from a very close friend, I gave $120. I think it pretty much depends on the relationship between guest and the couple.

ourdreams

It's a four star hotel. Bride is my colleague. I know that nowadays for four star hotel, the rate isn't cheap as well. That's why I thought of $128... Usually, min for hotel is $100, right?

ourdreams

I thought so too. But I have colleagues who are only willing to give max $80 even though they know that it's at 4 star hotel. I think that colleague of mine is sure to lose quite a bit if everyone has that kind of mindset.

sillyfool

Its like that.. thats why when i plan my wedding, i never take into account that I will earn money.. hahaha

Its for ppl to share our joy
not share their money... it will be a bonus to earn. but in future when they get married and stuff. it will all go back

ourdreams

I think it's not so much on earning but rather not to lose too much.

If it's my wedding, I'll definitely not want to lose too much as well. It's a blessing to breakeven...

fran0610

what happens if it is HTB relatives who are invited and bring gatecrashers (e.g.: uncle MIL??? ) and give $100 for 4 persons. i am very irritated with such people who are at the wedding for a free meal.. i am all in for inviting only those who are sincere in seeing me married .. trouble is once you start inviting relatives, you cannot don't invite those who belong in the same category but are only there for a free meal.. anyone turned away gatecrashers?

yomeishu

frances, I totally understand your concern but the "legendary" issue ($100 for 4 persons)is very hard to avoid unless you specially tell them about the seating arrangement/capacity.

My husband and I had our ROM at Shang and we invited our friends. They all asked me prefer gift or angbao. I told them I only prefer they will attend and the angbao/gift is not important. Surprisingly we got unexpected gifts/angbao from them. It's a bonus to us even though the amount is not able to "cover" what we spent for our ceremony. And we never think we had "loss" on our ROM.

Maybe just dun expect/worry about how much ppl will give. If the total end up not able to cover the banquet spending then just take it as a token to exchange happiness. Anyway, it just that you are treating ppl a good meal to share your joy

ken80

nowadays, if hotel sure lose money lah only see how much you lose for example, i am htb in 2012 still headache how much to lose sign

gelyn

Actually, to hold wedding dinner is to share our joy by inviting them. And not to expect them to pay for your wedding dinner.
But if you have that intention to recover cost or breakeven...then better to do without wedding dinner. Cos you never know if you will get some cheapo who will only give you S$20.

My two cents worth. :)

happylilone

I have to agree with gelyn.. No doubt everyone wans a grand wedding like it's the talk of the century.. But it is also v impt to do it within your means.. That's why we forego the hotel ballrooms and opted for a restaurant instead.. It's also not abt earning the $$ back.. But since it's a tradition that the couple gets AP, restaurants is also a better choice in terms of alleviating the stress on our guests' wallet as well..

In my opinion.. A good celebration should first of all not impose too much on the guests.. And u can even enhance this celebration by adding stuff like unique favours and maybe live photography that your guests can enjoy..

I would say if we have chosen in the first place to host our dinner in a hotel.. We wouldn't have the means to even provide the small things that can leave a lasting impression on our guests..

ken80

ya also hehe cannot expect people to cover your cost lose few k still ok but sad thing is got cheapo give 30 dollars those type especially when working adults old poeple still ok as never work liao
reason for hotel also because of the ambience as compared to restaurant. choogin regent or marina mandarin hehe