An Chuang & Guo Da Li Items - where to buy?

yukikodawasan

Hi ladies, anyone can help me out here?
I intend to shop for my An Chuang and Guo Da Li items soon. But duno where to get, only know it's from Chinatown. Anyone can share the address with me? Besides the one in Chinatown, are there any other places that sell similar items too? Like the umbrella, tea set etc?

Please email to me at [email protected].

cheekybee

Hi oink oink...

You can get some info from here...

http://myfortunekitty.com/?p=71

I just posted some pictures of my GDL last year!

yukikodawasan

Hi Cheekybee, thanks for the lovely information.
It really helps. Do you have any idea of places that sell nice wedding bed sheets?

kiston

Hi oink oink,

If you are buying the items separately, you can go to

1) Ang Mo kio central shop selling household items like kettles, woks, etc. They have bath tubs with xi imprints at $9+, teasets from $14.50 onwards, Xi plates $2+, bed lamps at $2.90; face basin.

2) a shop at Joo chiat - 5B pte Ltd. Bath tub with xi imprints 5.80; Xi plate $1.80; Basin ard $3+. Smaller mouth rinser mug and spitton can be bought from afew shops next to 5B for 60cents and $2 respectively.

Threads, needles can get from Japan home. Reasonable price and presentable. Cost ard $2 if i remember correctly

Bedsheets can get from chinatown. Quite a number of shops selling. Can also get stickers, ang pow packets from there as well.

rayrachel

alternatively could get from City Square at JB too..

THey have whole sets of GDL items..tell them ur dialect and they would be able to advise..

rayrachel

Dan> emmm... dun have the unit number.. its at Level 4... opposite side from T&T Print or the Printemps BS... its inside the extension de.. not that diff to find..coz the shop is very red...

Alternatively, you can buy from a shop at Chinatown also.. behind CK.. at Chinatown Complex... #01-77 (above it is the food court)

found some of the stuffs there cheaper than City Square.. i just went down yest. and good thing is can bargain.. i bough only $20++ and managed to get a little bit of discount.. so do consolidate what u need...and ask for discount frm the auntie..

The cute cute stickers there very cheap.. $1.50 for the big piece... many places selling $2-$3..

Same..tell her ur dialect..she'll be able to advise what is needed.. u can decided what u want and what u dun want..

luckiechako

hi there
u can try this website or go down to buy.....
www.minah.com.sg
i went there last weekend & the boss very helpful even when we r not buying coz 7th mth..... he will oso advise u on the customs of yr dialect.......

karine82

Hi rach, u been to the feng shui jia fang in Malaysia??? u still remember wat are then things is ex then Singapore?

rayrachel

hi kmj> i've been there yes.. MMm.. but the prices are mostly cheaper there...

But Chinatown has some cheap ones too. but for those stickers (cute couples in red traditional costumes) its cheaper in JB..

sylmc

I've been to Feng Shui Jia Fang in City Square. Some of the items there are more expensive than in Spore, like the tea sets. However, they do carry more variety than in Spore. Even got charcoal for the bride -_-" But I forgot the purpose.

After been to shops in Bukit Timah, Jurong West & Hong Lim Complex, I still prefer those at Chinatown market especially the uncles shop behind the famous porridge shop

karine82

thanks Jol and rach, think i will go there next weekends and but some... is it too earlier if I get it nw? I scare the candels will spoil if i get it nw

sylmc

we bought our candles a month prior our AD :p coz our GDL is about 5 weeks before our AD. I know its very early but its a date given to us by the shifu whom we visted as per my FIL's instruction

sylmc

Come to think of it, i better ask my HTB to put the candles in a cool and shady place. He is a Cantonese so the dragon and pheonix are 3D. Better not take chance...scarely melted and look like worm or bird *diaong diaong*

karine82

haha... mine AD is 9 Oct 2009. thought of get my wedding stuff now since Ringat so low.

Is it too early to buy nw? or I dun buy the dragon and pheonix candles so early..

Hey Jol, MY GDL is only 1week before my AD leh... hw come urs is one month earlier?

rayrachel

kmj> hahahahahhaa... u soooo funny... since Ringgit is low.. u can change the ringgit first.. u dun have to buy now... seldom their price will increase also.. u wont know sekali next year even lower. hahahaha...

sylmc

kmj - our shifu gave us 3 dates for our wedding date. when we choose the date in dec, he told us we can use nov date for our GDL. we also doing an chuan that day but due to timing, it will be before GDL. so the bedside lamps are at his house now

dun buy so early lah. agree with rach.

doramee

Hi.. is it ok if on An Chuang day, the couple is not in the house? means the relative will be doing an chuang for the couple.. and is it ok if the couple cover the bed linen themselves, then just let the "Hao ming ren" to "move" a bit the bed?

sylmc

Hi doramee, it depends on how strictly you want to follow the tradition custom. Traditionally, Teochew & Hokkien newly wed will set up the bed themselves. Then get a ‘hao ming ren’ to move the bed and a little boy to jump on the bed. In my case, my husband (a Cantonese) covers the bed linen, put the coins at the corners and moves the bed himself while his parents place the good fortune items on the bed. He said he is the groom and claims he is the most eligible ‘hao ming ren’! In my sister’s case, her husband’s eldest bro and sis-in-law move the bed for them.

Hope you find the above infor useful

doramee

i am teochew (msian).. hubby is cantonese (sporean)..

our lovenest is in spore, our banquet will be held in msia. after an chuang, we are going to msia for customary wedding. after the wedding in msia, we fly back to spore to work till weekend then we will pray groom's ancestor and have tea ceremony to hubby's relative and simple buffet at our lovenest.

may i know whether we can sleep on our wedding bed after customary wedding in msia but before praying ancestor and tea ceremony?

sylmc

hi doramee, I'm also a teochew bride and my HTB is cantonese. I think you can sleep on your wedding bed since you have finished half of a customary. Not logical if you can't even sleep on your own bed right? My BIL slept on the wedding bed even before his customary with my sister since both are oredi legally married ^0^

If you wan to play safe, why not check with your in-law? If they are ok, then you 'gao zhen wu you' kekeke

trimax

Hi Jol,

You bought your jia zhuang behing the ck at chinatown is it? There is cheaper as compared to other places? Is inside the building near where? How much you buy?

I am desperate to find cheap one. Can kindly advise..thank

sylmc

tricia - yup, behind the CK at chinatown. I only bought a teaset, bedside lamp and a comb coz I want a simple one. Skip the zi sun tong barang barang and the elaborate hair combing stuff like ruler, mirror. Also din buy umbrella and fan.

But if you asked me on the cheapest jia zhuang, I would say JB. City Square has 2 outlets that sell all these stuff esp Feng Shui Jia on the 3rd floor.

reeree

I have been to several shops at Chinatown area. So far, the best prices I have seen are at KK Marriage Goods, #01-226, Chinatown Complex, Blk 335, Smith Street. For example, they are selling the sewing kit at $8.80, other places selling $10 and above. They are also selling the baby's bath tub around $8+, whereas other places selling above $10.00.

kateng81

wa lau i went JB the shop u guys mentioned closed down already! then i compared prices frm bukit timah $400++ to people's park $300++ to my fav shop at golden happiness katong shopping centre they only selling the whole package at $128 wor!!! Some more got delivery to my place leh!!

sillycouple

whichever shop u go.. jus dont go to amanda dreamweavers in chinatown! The non aircon complex facing OG de. We bot the GDL stuff there and later on then realize the brolly they charge us $16. Other place same brolly selling only $8! what a rip off!

cheer7

sillycouple: i oso went to e same shop as u, e 1 near OG, agree tt their brolly s more x than other shop but we realise e quality s diff, theirs s of better quality... we bought e brolly @ bukit timah shoppin centre n we r wonderin how come e price s twice as much... then my mum say its e material n workmanship.. b positive n treat it tt u r buyin a better quality stuff.. we order our GDL items there xcept for e umbrella n slippers..

sillycouple

cheer: actually most of their stuff are more exp than others. I dont really mind the quality since its just for formality. doubt we will use all these after the wedding. wedding oredi spend a lot so every cents like that counts. n the brolly from them is those plain ones. we've seen nicer ones after that at $8-10 only.

actually the uncle in that shop is very nice n patient. some of the items we dont need, he willing to take out the cost accordingly. Its the other girl that seems more bitchy. She actually tell the uncle off infront of the customers. N end up she nv give the cost that the uncle agreed to give us. rather unethical of her.

It is a process whereby the groom will bring some traditional items such as cakes etc to the bride's parents, sorts of like asking for the bride's hand.. A tradition since olden days.

dorazu

I went to KK Marriage Goods. The aunty is quite friendly, but just find that she solds us alot of stuffs which is not really necessary. When we ask her if we can take away some stuff cause too ex, she keep persuading us to buy it.. She didn't even tell us the individual price and just tell us the total amount after calculating herself.. Find being deceived by herself..

Can I check if paying $300+ for bride side and $200 for groom side reasonable for Guo Da li?

thiasy

Bride side $300 abit to expensive.. what does it consist??

I bought the following items as below
- Baby prosperity set inclusive of basin, pottery, baby bath tub, mug at $17.35 wrapped nicely with "Xi" ribbon and transparent wrapping paper.
- Wedding cartoon tea set: $20.83
- A pair of wedding cartoon bowls/spoons/ chopsticks at $13.88
- A pair of lamps $27.80
- Cute traditional wedding couple king size Comforter + bedsheet set: $65
- Wedding couple cartoon towels: $16.90
- 2 pairs of wedding couple cartoon slippers: $13.80
- Nice red umbrella: $5.18
Total: $180.74

smilem

hi Gene.. there many shops in SG sell such stuff.
AMK Jubilee
China Townpoint
and the above btb's recommendation.

If u intend go JB.. there also ve many shops