Amore Fitness Membership

phiphiphi

nope! was it fun??

hope you enjoyed yourself though it was pretty hazy yesterday..

ednamode

hello there! is this thread still alive? i planning to join amore after so many 'years' of consideration... but will be attending their trial lesson (cardio blitz).. now reading some of the post regarding the instructor 'fliting' with some girls make me dun feel easy

princessloo

haha, i dont think instructor flirting with some girls is any of a problem cos i don't see it. cos instructors (some male) should have interaction with the members (who happen to be all female).

eiggam

I'd signed up for a power package and gg to try yogasana at woodlands amore today. I hadn't been to yogasana nor woodlands.

two concerns:
1) r there lockers for us to use? never used lockers before as i usually go from home to classes at HM and then straight back, so din even bother to notice. today gg to try woodlands since i'll be there in the evening..
2) Anyone tried yogasana? how is it?

ednamode

maggie, i heard from the staff at woodland branch mention that we have to bring own lock and the locker is only for day use only.
by the way, hows ur lesson ? good?

ednamode

princessloo, if the instructors (guys) is decent enough, is okay.i more wary of those flirty kind... heee...

amidala , i hope to enjoy it. and i hope amore dun disappoint me (meaning, they better provide siong workout)...as i will be signing up with them for 1 year if i am satisfied with the workout...

phiphiphi

hello!
the big lockers are for daily usage meaning we got to clear them at the end of the day but it's free of charge though...as for the small ones we got to pay but you can put your stuff inside the small lockers forever haha
but we got to bring the locks ourselves

ednamode

i went for my trial CB last sat. the movements were fast but still can manage to catch it somehow. taught by Carmela.. n sweat quite alot!
tdy i just signed up 1 year with them!

ladygarnet

yeah, i like Carmela's lesson alot. Unfortunately, these few days I'm too busy to attend alot of lessons. Have been hitting the gym instead.

happielee

Jus wondering wat do u wear for aerobics wkout? and where is a gd place to buy tops that are longer?

I jus bought some 3/4 bottoms now am lookin for tops..but since i have too much midrift fats, am tryin to get tops tat are longer..end at hips maybe...

However,been shopping but only see those tat end at the waist..hmm..with the 3/4 bottoms,it looks kind of weird..any ideas?

Now very motivated..once settled the outfit will shoot to Amore to sign up immediately..

amidala

hi slgerman, you decided to join amore..welcome to the club. i started out wearing only normal t-shirt and track pants. suggest you try out t-shirt with your 3/4 pants first until you feel more comfortable in skimpier outfits.

fefifofum

hi ladies. been a long time since i read the forum. have not been attending for a while cos of work.
so any hot gossip that has been happening? seems like the thread is quite dead compared to the previous time when there was so much talk of afffairs and all...
don't tell me everything is all over already??

ladygarnet

I tried Yoga finally and indeed, I felt asleep during one of the relaxation exercise.. haha..

but tot it's good. Will try to attend more sessions in future.

think u can buy coupons is it? then use as & when u go to e gym i think... but u beta check wth other amore goers ionic
cioa anionic ... lol

amidala

The price plan has not changed since I joined but the promos have been getting less attractive. The shortest term package is 3-mths.

Power Package (inclusive of GST)
- 12 lessons @ $189 (once a week)
- 24 lessons @ $304.50 (twice a week)
- Unlimited $346.50 for 3 months.

Start date for all the above package is on the day you activate your package by going to the gym or joining a class. Package expires exactly 3 months from start date. Please note that for the count-by-lesson package, when you attend a class, you can go to the gym at the same time for free. But if you go to the gym only without attending class, they will still deduct 1 lesson.

I think the current promotion is 21 days free for purchase of 6-mths package. The longer a package you purchase, the more freebies you get, but I'm not sure what they are now. You can go to any amore branch to enquire - not sure if they entertain telephone enquiries but no harm trying.

jonic

Hi Elin & amidala,

Thanks alot for your info! One more question, are the lessons you can attend restricted to the branch you signed up with? Meaning you cannot go bugis for lesson today and then go woodlands tomorrow.

Anyone knows whether they have any promotion coming up? Thanks!

amidala

No restrictions at all. You can go to all branches.

Amore's promotion usually changes every month. The current one started around the same time as the WDO on 7 Oct. The next one to look out for may be Christmas and CNY promotions. UOB Ladies card and Citibank cards also had some promotion last month - not sure if it is still available. Best to call up the parkmall branch (tel: 67337333) to enquire - the staff there seems to be more well informed.

angelika

I went for my first kickboxing lesson at HM yesterday... Totally cannot catch up! Dunno whether I should just continue with another KB class or go to the 320T instead... Prob is, the 320T class at JP very far. -_-"

amidala

my guess is either Desiree or Cheryl or Bong teaching the kb class - all 3 of them have the same style. just persevere with the kb class and you will eventually get the moves. can also try Donald or Chris or Carmela kb class - theirs not so fast. if you ask me, i think it is not worth the long trip to JP for the 32OT.

angelika

Thank you for the advice!
Where and when do Donald/Chris/Carmela conduct their classes?

The one I went to had a replacement instructor... I think her name was Maureen(?) or something like that.

amidala

I think you mean Murina. I've not attended her class before though.

Donald has a kb class @PM on Sun, 11am.

Chris teaches @PM on Monday, 7.30pm and @Bugis on Tue, 8.00pm and Fri, 8.00pm.

Carmela @Woodlands on Sat, 9.30am.

They may have other classes - you can check the detailed schedule on the notice boards at any of the branches.

All of them have different styles, you will have to try out their classes to know which one you like best. Carmela's one would be more similar to Cheryl/Desiree/Bong's style.

happielee

I m gonna sign up today with Amore...see whether they have any promotions...

Am wondering whether i shd go to Bugis/Parkmall or Amara branch? Anyone can advise which outlet is less crowded or bigger in terms of venue size?

Anyone wanna go together? Am thinkin kick boxing n probably hilo classes on wkdays..

amidala

you may want to consider waiting for a few days. Amore is having a open house 10-12 Nov. they may have new promotion or at least get a goodie bag when you sign up during the open house. u can even try the classes and gym before you sign up - just need to call up and book in advance. i'll fwd you the email they sent me (i tried but can't extract the image to upload the file here).

happielee

Hi Amidala,
Thanks! I got it! Anyone wanna go on Fri together so we can both get the goodie bag (hee hee hopefully it is nice stuff!)

ladygarnet

heard from Jovienne dat there's a new class coming up - smething like CardioHipHop.. haha. all the combinations.

I have not been faithful in attending classes coz always so busy after work these few days.. I think i'm getting fat!!!

jonic

Thanks Amidala! Which format is the file in? Cos I can't open e attachment.

slgerman, where are you going to sign up?

amidala

Hi Jonic, it should be a jpg file. Try adding the extension before opening the file e.g. xxx.jpg.

CardioHipHop sounds fun. Hope they put the class in a good time slot.

happielee

Hi jonic,
I may go to Park mall or Amara on Fri to sign up n at the same time check out the rooms there..i remember going to Bugis branch donkey yrs ago..and it was very squeezy..so thot may go to other outlets..

amidala

Everafter, yes to your question.

Slgerman, fyi Amara has no gym, ie if you want to check that out too. I've not been to JP and Woodlands only. Parkmall is the biggest among the rest.

mystique_

I am existing Amore member and membership expiring soon... I checked with the East point branch and they told me only members who sign up for the first time will get the goodie bag, not for existing members who are renewing. Still considering whether to renew my aerobic package or to sign up power package..

belladona

Me also. Just completed my aerobics package...but have not signed onto a new package yet. think they only offer aerobic package for existing members who are on this package.

ladygarnet

yes.. the aerobics package is for existing members only. But they are converting more locations to be just for power packages.. so aerobics package becomes very limited

jonic

Hi slgerman,

So did you sign up today? I signed up at heartland mall cos it's near my home. Took the 6 mths unlimited package. Anyone knows whether it is considered as a power package?
Given vouchers for complimentary massage/facial and IPL hair removal at amore day spa. Is the staff at the day spa pushy? Scared I will be pestered by them to sign up packages.

ladygarnet

jonic,

Some are very pushy. My sis had a hard time to get away from them. As for me, I made it very clear to them that I will only buy if I think I need it. And I told them I dun like pushy people and mentioned about complaining to the management if I receive poor service. So, been in there for 4 months, they will introduce promotions and products to me (it's their job) but once i reject, they wun say further. Usually, i go back and look for my consultant.

amidala

For anyone interested, Rasol is taking the 8pm KB this Friday at PM, and Bong is taking the 3pm SB and 4pm NB this Sunday, also at PM. But pls call to confirm the instructor before you go as they can still make changes at the very last minute.

ednamode

hi ionic, so sorry for not able to get back to u as i thought the thread is abit 'quiet'
anyway, i already signed up with amore and am into 3rd month with them. see quite a positive changes to my figure.
i been faithfully going to Desiree High/low and KS at Wdl Civic on thursday, and Carmela 's KB at wdl civic as well on Sat. enjoyed alot on carmela KB class as i sweat the most! .
so i went to Parkmall for Murina KB and quite disappoint. Cheryl's KB is okay but i still prefer Carmela's teaching.
by the way, i will be going to JP outlet to try their KB. hope is good. any idea who is teaching KB at JP outlet????

pinkbunny

hi! mind if i butt in, i also just signed up with amore. my friend jio-ed me so i thought i'd try the 3 month twice a week package. have only gone for a few KB classes, dunno what else to try leh! i usually go to PM or amara. i'd like to try out JP too

yaya, where is carmela based?

wanna check with you ladies, is it true that 3 month package no freebies? only 6 months and above got? cos the price diff is not all that great ya?

anyway, happy exercising all!
here's to a healthy new year to everyone!

princessloo

Hi yaya, I do know Chris is teaching KB at JP.

Anyone knows when Bong will be back? I kinda miss his classes. And I guess many regulars too. I noticed the crowd is gone during his lessons. haha.

ednamode

missyloo, i book this coming KB at PM .been wanting to go to attend Bong class .hope no last min change!
by the way, i went for Donald KB on sat at PM. i tink its because its the 1st time i went to his class.abit lost on this class and so i left 10mins before the class end! (which i seldom do that during a class).... show that i am quite pek chek lor. but hope this dun deter me from attending his class next time. i feel quite paisey to look at guy instructor because my eyes always on instructor throughout the class.

Pinkbunny, what carmella told me is that she teaches KB at East ( forget whats the name) on thursdae and at wdl civic on sat.i went for KB at JP. is a replacement instructor called sook ping or su ping. cants remember her exact name. so is chris good?