Amore Fitness Membership

ms_vain

Heard that the Amara Amore has no gym facilities? Anyway, I'm sad to note that they had closed down the one in Tiong Bahru. So now I'm left with Cineleisure and Bugis which are nearer to my home.

Had stopped going to gym for a few months and the weight just came back like an old fren. 'sigh' so now intending to join back coz my sis wedding is in July and I have not decided what to wear. Moreover, I'll b the bridesmaid!

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Ning ~ dunno leh, i have not gone for any classes with male instructors. LOL!! hee...

Cyn ~ yah, since Ning says it's so dark, u better get your hubby to pick you up...safer hor...unless u want to use your YOGA moves to protect yourself..heheee....

Ms Vain ~ hello!! welcome to the thread. Yah, it's true, Amara is a very small outlet....i think it only has the exercise room. U mean the Orchard and Bugis outlet are too far? How abt Woodlands ? I think there's gym there. Not too sure abt TPY though.

Why don't you sign on again? Start now and i think there's enuff time till Jul for you to look your best.

Jazz ~ helloooo...are u around?? Going for BB tommorrow?</font>

ning

ssmilezz ~ hey i realised there are very few BB classes hor? which class you go to? all like very early leh.. i only knock off at aruond 645
i sign up unlimited liao leh, so now can try many classes!!

Ms Vain ~ yeah welcome welcome! nice to see new people. Amara has no gym, but has bathing facilities.. you going to go for classes mainly or going gym?

happy week ahead everyone!

arctic_hare

Ms Vain/ Ssmilezz, TPY no gym too... but all the outlets have a very big changing room for power package holders.

Have anyone of you receive the Amore mailer on their rewards scheme yet?

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Ning ~ yah, not many BB classes and I know that some outlets don't even have BB lor....
wah, u really sign on unlimited already? hee..so fast. So how many months did u sign on? Got 20% discount off the price?

Cyn ~ Yup, the changing rooms are fine! U know, i have never used the steam bath before. How does it work? *blur*

No no, what's this Amore mailer abt? share share?</font>

ning

cyn: the rewards scheme not launched yet i think, staff say launch already will inform us, but from now on we can start accumulating points already. The catalogues will be available at the outlets

ning

ssmilezz ~ i realise we always posting message at the same time, so I always see your post after i post haha.. i just did upgrading of the package, cos i already signed up for 12 mths free 2 mths aerobics package, so now i add on to become unlimited 14 mths.. each lesson work out to be around 6 dollars if i go 3 times week, but i should be going more than that lah.. hopefully :p

Amore is launching this rewards scheme where we can accumulate points through purchase of fitness plans, equipment etc. The points can be exchanged for things like 1 mth free etc. the details will be out soon, but as mentioned we can start accumulating points already. there will be this catalogue available for our reference

ssmilezz

<font color="119911">Ning ~ yah, i also want to know..how to accumulate points?? *curious*

huh? i quite confused leh..so basically, u are tied down for how many months? 14 months issit? hehee...i think i am tied for the next 15 months...so my package is the 1 year (12 mths) and free 3 months. So will end around mid next year.

arctic_hare

ning, it seems that there are only 2 classes of BB.
- Cineleisure Wed 5.30pm, &amp;
- Parco Bugis Junction Mon 7.30pm.

So few...

Ssmilezz, is the BB class packed?

ssmilezz

<font color="aa00aa">Cyn ~ I go for the Bugis one..in fact going today..hehee....it's quite ok lar...think BB not very popular compared to another classes. Dunno why...hehehee.....</font>

elainet

ssmilezz, is there a 20% discount?
The gal therre didnt tell me leh.

Ning, I went for NB. I love toning. Actually wanted to go bugis on Tues for the LO. But hor, fully booked when I call abt 4p.m. Didnt know nowadays, LO so hot liao. Must early early book... Which class do you usually go?

ssmilezz

<font color="119911"> Elaine ~ oops..i think the 20% offer was for the month of march. Over already...when did u book?

Yah, NB's very popular...for the Wed session, usually when ppl come for the class, they can leave their names for the following wed lesson already. kia su hor..hehee</font>

ms_vain

Thank u for the big welcome.

btw, i oso didnt know abt the loyalty scheme. think i will be going to sign up a course within this week.

Ning: i usually manage to hop into the gym after work and i know there is a separate package solely for gym users.

ning

ssmilezz ~ hmm.. i not sure about the scheme too, but the staff assured that they will let us know all the details in due time! At this moment i only know we can accumulate points for whatever we purchase (i cant remember if it's 1 point per dollar or 1 point per 2 dollars.. something like that) then after that we can exchange for freebies!

by the way, you go every monday for BB huh? me may join u one of these days.. can?

elaine ~ i just started on toning classes, last time mainly go for cardio impact classes. i usually go KB lor.. here i think everyone know cos i kept talking about it haha... nowadays i go for KS, and trying out NB too.

book early lor.. cant blame the people for being kiasu, cos the classes so fast fully booked liao.. i also usually book for following week after the class, but more for convenience sake lah ahha..

Ms vain ~ i see! me dun go gym one, i cannot motivate myself haha, i will stop halfway one :p

baby5556 ~ BABY!!!!!!! where are u ah??? tell u come in never come in leh...

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Cyn ~ no leh, the time slot not suitable for me so no YOGA. Sorry sorry...how's your Yoga session coming along?

Ms Vain ~ which outlet do you frequent? I like to use the gym alot....:p i usually try to do cardio on my own either before or after the classes i attend.

Ning ~ Huh, must spend $$ to buy things arh? cheh, i hardly buy stuffs from Amore.

There's this offer going on where u bring in any old sports apparel and they will give u $30/- discount from any of the new sports apparel purchased from them.

Yah, i go everyday. Last evening lesson really quite crowded and got quite a few new faces, so the instructor actually came down from the platform to assist them one to one. :p

Hey, u went for NB already arh? Which day class?</font>

ning

ssmilezz ~ everyday??!!! for gym lah? i haven go NB, going tomorrow at Bugis with my colleague. u going too?

the points thing not just limited to buying things, u renew membership, upgrade plans etc also can

ssmilezz

<font color="119911">Ning ~ no lar, i go gym twice a week lar....always spend abt 2 hrs at Amore without fail.

Hey! I will be at Bugis tommorrow too....no PT session cos i will be changing my PT sesions to Thurs next time.

jaz811sg

Hi gals!!! did not come in for a few days got so many paostings liao

I just went for the Mon BB class. Wah!!! Damn Siong leh. ssmilezz you must be really very tone if you do that kind of workout every week. I'm whole body is aching everywhere leh, especially my thighs and arms. I think NB suits me better, but BB really gives me the feeling that I've workout so quite satisfying lah
I'm interested in their loyalty programme, might wait for it to come out before I renew my classes. Now i'm on the 24 lessons aerobis package, thinking of signing for their unlimited package. Will see how it goes lah

jaz811sg

I also went for their steps intro on Sunday at EP. Wah really far for me man. Took me more than 1hr to travel there. But not bad lah got to learn all the basic moves. going for their steps workout for begginers this Sun, so got to travel all the way there again haiz......no choice lah they only got 1 class there so must travel lah

The instructor told us that for the normal steps workout must check with the staff weather the instructor is using 1 board or mulitple boards. Any of you tried steps workout before? Can make some recommendations for me? By the way will we look very bulky if we do too much aerobics huh? I've been attending classes 3-4 times a week. I want to look slim slim not big big leh.

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Hey Jazz !~ So you were at the Monday's BB class!! I was there too...where were u standing? In front of behind the class??

Yah, i enjoy BB very much heh heh...dunno why the instructor came down from the platform on MOnday. Usually, she will be up there doing the exercises with us. I also like her warm up aerobics! She always makes an effort to change the routine monthly so not so boring.

Oh no, i hope your first session at BB didn't scare u away for good hor....
I'm always at the class so the next time u decide to go....:p can tell me!

I was sweating like a pig..*oink oink* but very very SHIOK!

No lar, aerobics won't bulk you up so easily. In fact, it is not really possible for a normal woman to beef up like those bodybuilders. it's not in our body genes. Don't worry.

I see that the SW class is always crowded too. Seems quite fun!! Now that u learn the basic step, why don't u try out one of the classes?

arctic_hare

Hi Ssmilezz, I am enjoying my Yoga classes very much. Have tried the class at TPY and AM. Prefer the instructor at AM better, but I think she only has one class leh... Monday may not be a good time for me from May onwards.

arctic_hare

Ssmilezz, I have not tried CO's yoga... maybe will try one of these days. Why did you say the timing not good for you? CO's yoga is on Tues 8pm and Wed 8.30pm. Too late for you?

jaz811sg

Hey ssmilezz!!! I was standing near to the mirror in the middle of the room. dun dare to stand too front pai seh lah 8P. No lah did not scare me off. I will go again. Will tell you when I'm going
I just went for the Hi/Lo class in Cineleisure today. Can feel my stamina building up, i'm able to keep up with the class better. So happy
I will be going for the SW beginner class on Sunday at EP. Haiz..... got to travel far far again, but no choice lah once i'm familiar with the steps I'll join the normal SW class. Keep u all updated then

ms_vain

Ssmilezz,

Havent been to any outlet since my package expired 3-4 mths ago. I usually went to Tiong Bahru b4 they closed it down.

I just went to Cineleisure, quite pact leh. As usual orchard very crowded. But the yogasana class at 8.30pm nobody one! the instructor is a guy, wonder y?

I took up the package for the gym only, unlimited for 3 mths at abt $225.00. Actually wanted to sign for 3 mths only, but the lady said this package quite attractive if i only use gym n seldom attend class. then she suggested i took up for 6 mths, ie 2 packages lar. seeing i not keen, she added that they can extend my 2nd package to 6 mths later after my 1st package ends. sounds quite good deal so i took up for 2 packages lor coz i intend to go 2-3times per week mah.

ssmilezz

<font color="ff0000">Hey gals!! Where's everyone?? SO quiet here lately....

Jazz ~ i'm going for BB again tonight...will i see u there? I am always stand towards the other side of the room. Not near to the mirror. :p

baby5556

hihi ssmilez, cyn, jazz, ning leh???

haa...lonG TIme NO SEE leh...

me slack liao long time no go except every fri..veri jiatlat leh...how to be healthy??

so lazy nowadays already...forgot to book LO for 2mr..!!! eeer

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Yo Cyn ~ Go for SW if u really wanna sweat it out....sure shiok one...:p

Baby5556 ~ heee..don't be lazy lar...get your butt off the couch and book yr lesson. Jia you jia you!

Yeah, where's Ning??? U around???

shanice

some of the instructors who I personally like ...

SW - Janice, Celine

Janice - Mon, 10.30am amara
- Tues, 9.30am Tpy
- Wed, 10am, east pt

Celine - Sun, 10 am East pt

KB, Kardio Sculpt- Matthew (veri friendly)
Kardio Sculpt - Sat 9.30am tpy
KB - fri 3.30pm eastpt

Hi/Lo or anything at all- Sharon

Sharon Hi/Lo - mon 9.30 or 10..forgot...east pt
Step n sculpt - mon 5.30pm bugis
Step workout - mon 6.30pm bugis

shanice

ning

hi everyone...

hey i posted something here last night leh!! why gone???

sigh.. anyway i shall try to remember what i wrote last night.. but sad leh!! i purposely came online to post messaged for u all in the middle of the night..

as i was saying.. thank you very much for missing me ssmilezz and all the rest! but hor, how come i so long then come in but not a lot of changes or news postings leh? talk more leh!!

anyone missed the launch of the reward system? yesterday last day to bring over all the previous purchases (cant remember duration) so for those who have activated then you will have some points accumulated already.. those who missed then has to start accumulating now, cannot use past purchases.. i have 1000+ points now! supposed to be equilvalent to around $50 worth of stuff..

welcome here shanice! from your schedule, we can see that you do not belong to those working... cos u are going to so many different classes and all at different times of the day! me cannot go for almost all the classes u recommended, ahha... so which classes u enjoy most? maybe you can share with us and rekindle all the sharings that once were so hyper here!

post more messages okie people?? miss u gals!!

arctic_hare

Hi ning, I acitivated my rewards too! Understood from my therapist at Day Spa that every 100 points can change for $10. Not sure if applicable to Fitness as well leh...

ning

hee.. suddenly everyone like very busy, dun come here as often liao hor?? especially ssmilezz and baby5556.. last time they so on! ooi where are u all hiding??

cyn: not sure about hthe equilvalent amount, shall wait for the catalogue to be out i guess

shanice

hi i got married last yr june.... joined amore in nov 2.. and managed to slim down 10 kgs for photoshoot.... amore's help and a strict diet.. however i wun recommend a too strict diet cos might deprive the body of essential nutrients. as for me, i did read up alot and take supplements. thats why i was able to workout n yet look fine for photoshoot.

i have posted my wedding pics here before under the section of a place to show ur wedding pics i think... the discussion thread is named as shanice's before and after pics ..and shanice and brandon's wedding pics...something like that... if interested can go check it out.

i like kardio sculpt alot... sat morning 9.30 by Matthew. and my fave is step workout... once u are familiar with the jargon and with practice, u'll feel that its veri fun. depends on instructor too.... there's one who i dun reall like cos she do sw until very 'luan' (messy) , uses 2 boards and definitely not for beginners. but her hi/lo is good. dun wanna put names here... but the SW session i'm referring to is at toa payoh, thurs, 6.30pm.... she has a 5.30 hi/lo class b4 that.

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Ning ~ wah...miss my posts issit? hehehee what did u post last night?? I've been here but there wasn't any posts leh...so sad...anyway, how are u?? still going for your KB?

I went for BB last evening. (the usual) kekeke... I still have not recieved anything abt the reward points leh...how to activate? Amore didn't send me anything leh....
shucks. Se ka li that means all my past purchases all not counted arh?

I wanted to bring this old exercise top to get the $30 discount for new activewear clothes. But haven't got down to it yet. Want to buy a pair of pants. hheee

Cyn ~ hellooo!!
long time no hear. U also managed to activate your points lar? oh dear...how come i don't have arh? *worried*

Shanice ~ hey! I saw your pics last time.
Really pei fu your determination and u look great!

arctic_hare

Hi ssmilezz, I have been busy with work recently. Just transferred to a new department, everything still blur blur to me.

Oh, I din receive their letter yet too... I was asking my therapist at Day Spa when I went for my treatment and then she asked if I want to activate it lor... and so I did.

jaz811sg

Hi gals!!! How are all of you?

ssmilezz - Hey! I did not go for the BB class yesterday, cos i'm in the afternoon shift so got to work till 8pm
. But will definately try to make it next mon lah.

Hiaz.....so sad got to work till 8pm this whole week, can only go for 1 class tommorrow. Feel weird werid leh, have not been excersing since last fri. Feel fat fat now leh. Cannot lah must be more on next week.

Shanice - Hi! I think I saw your photos before. You look really good.
I really must admire your determination. Keep it up girl!!!

Got 1 question to ask you all. I've been going for class for almost 6 weeks liao, I do feel more tone but not much weight loss. I think I lost only about 1 kg. I attend classes at 3 times a week, and I dun eat alot of fatty food. Got any suggestions for me? If dun see much difference very diffcult to feel motivated leh.

Help! Help!

Thanks !!

jaz811sg

Hehehe just went to Bintan with my BF on Sat to celebrate my birthday, just spend 1 night there cos BF got no leave, but it was fun. Got the 1 night free stay at Nirwana from M1 when BF sign up for new plan. So happy
but everything there was expensive. All the prices listed are in Sin $. If you gals want a short trip can go there it's near and quite relaxing but got alot of Singaporeans loh.

Are all of you married or getting married?

shanice

hi jazz....

frankly my method will work but hor not advisable..i cut out all rice stuff and sugar leh... and meat also...
but after I stopped my diet, i gained but some leh... but overall i would encourage u to eat much lesser rice, eat lotsa veg, fruits not too many, eat fish, or if u eat more meat, skip the rice. esp dinner... keep busy and drink alot of water. no refined food (or slowly reduce) ...refined food means simple carbohydrates such as white bread, white rice, donuts, pastries, soft drinks, any other canned drinks except coke light (0 cals) but dun drink too much artificial thing also, cos still got caffeine.

I went aerobics almost everyday and lost the weight in 3 months, 10kgs. try to do more cardio ones... such as hi/lo, kickboxing, SW... lose weight oredi then more toning. when doing aerobics, use lots of strength... kick harder, make urself perspire alot...

but dun push urself so hard like i did lah... now i try to maintain a healthy lifestyle instead lor... eat more whole grain sandwiches, or veg, eggs, fish, lean protein... or one good method is to limit ur carbo intake to one meal, perhaps lunch? breakfast switch to hardboiled eggs/canned tuna in water/cheese and stuff like that instead of bread?

very impt: avoid soft drinks...alot of sugar and those that sounds healthy, but still the same amt of sugar...e.g. canned green tea, herbal tea, Qoo drinks, fruit juice (might as well eat the fruit), iced lemon tea, honey jasmine, etc etc.....

Shanice

shanice

hi jazz...

me again! sorry, forget to add that though i gained some back after my wedding... now i'm at my wedding weight again...cos got exercise and do housework lor... poor thing hor? ehhehehe

shanice

jaz811sg

Hi Shanice

Thanks for your advice. I must really admire your discipline and determination. For looking at the diet you follow very few people can do it, especially since we are working and normally we will have our meals outside. To see and not eat is really very diffcult. I will try lah, but hor I think it will be easier if I just go for more classes. Are you still that on? Going for classes everyday?

shanice

hi jazz

i go 5 times a week now...oso depends lah, if got something on, i wun force myself to go aerobics...

maybe used to it oredi... i oso normally have my meals outside... wat abt fish soup, with 1 third rice? or yong tau hoo soup? usually those food court ones must at least order 8 items.... too full to eat rice with all those veg n stuff!

sometimes i take economical veg rice with much lesser rice.... oso can. or if i with a guy fren, i eat chicken chop, give him the fries...kekekeke...they so happy!

ning

hello everyone!!

ssmilezz: no mails were sent out, but the staff shoulf advise you.. they also advised me on the spot. if i not wrong, the pre-launch period is over, ended on 18th apr.. if u are close to any staff/instructor can ask them to help u, maybe can get hee..

i still go KB ah, going more times a week now ever since i upgraded to unlimited.. feel quite happy hee.. going to more type of classes on top of KB. if i super free and no impt appts, i will go for KB on tue, thu and sat, then NB on wed, NB+KS on sunday haha.. crazy right? but not every week like that lah haha.. yah lor, miss your postings.. post more okie?? anyway how u put colour ah??

jazz: i think we have discussed the issue of weight loss before.. to summarize for you based on my memory, if you do go for weight training you actually will gain muscular mass and thus weight is not a good guage.. quoting ssmilezz:"trust the mirror, and not the weighing machine.. who cares about the weight if i can fit into clothes nicely?" or something like that lah, ahah... forgot actual words liao, sorry ssmilezz! :p

in general cutting down on carbos will help, but it's actually a very simple theory.. as long as energy output is more than input, you will lose fats...
in other words, as long as you engage yourself in enough activities to use up all the energy intake, you can have a nice body without sacrificing on good food
of cos if you need to lose weight fast fast then dieting will help but only in the short run (this is my personal opinion only!) cos for me, i will DIE if i have to diet the whole life!! a lot of people diet a while, lose some fats then cannot stand it.. then when they start eating normally, they end up eating more than usual.. either case, stay healthy that's most impt!!!

baby5556

hi..wowowow, so many postings ah....

miu, saw my email reply..bz with bb yea, must takecare leh...its a hard time i understand though i am not 1 yet, phoia of such...so sorry to say this...

mtdt...so ur hb back 2mr leh...have a great day cleaning the hse and await hb's return

shanice, dun realli chat with u also ..wow, go 5 times ah...if for me, i will drop dead..haaa

jazz, dun realli chat with u here leh...

ssmilezz, hey wru ?? bz in jan05 bride thread huh??

cyn,, how u??

hey ning...sounds like expert sia, u KB QUEEN..haaaa

peg, u in pgl liao..rite??

btw, any1 can advice me if i take bus 83 to mrt, how long will it take? and mrt from pgl to outram...me dunno leh cos i be shifting this sat and will start my brand new day on mon from pgl to workplc...pls help !!!

shanice

hi Ning

yes agree with u that most importantly fit into the clothes we like...ah that feels so good! Weight is not a good determining factor... cos water also got weight, and muscles too..esp when I also do resistant and strength training with handweights... like KS or new body.

as for food... i much more relaxed now... but watch overall calories lor..if lunch more then dinner less...vice versa... but maybe last time used it, little rice, so now also still little rice.... but i like wholemeal stuff (which is good) and I love to chew it... wun get hungry so fast... brown rice is nice... and sandwiches... i like to eat slowly.. very fulfilling!

shanice

ssmilezz

<font color="0000ff">hey gals ~ where's everyone? So quiet here....
Hope everyone's doing fine..i'm going down to Bugis today.</font>

missypms

moshi..I m still new here. Just signed up more Amore @ TP 2day. Just wondering wat class is gd for beginner?? I;ve been running...no effect at all. Need to lose FAT n tone up by Jun : (