Amore Fitness Membership

phuture

Melissa, it's never too late or too early to start exercising. Sounds like you've lost alot of weight already, so it's the best time to start toning up. Combine your workout with cardio (aerobics) exercise (for fat burning) and weight resistance exercise (for toning/sculpting).

Northgal is right, it's $330 for unlimited sessions in 3 months (power package)

fatcat

Phuture: Never try SS before, i think step is kinda complicated and i don't think i can follow through, will try when i get more fit and strong.

enigma_gal

Hi northgal,

Actually i not too sure if i'm suitable to go for aerobics classes coz i am 109kg n not sure if i can do it..

do they have normal gym membership?

glymo118

Hi Mel,

If you decide to join Amore, you can try this low impact class at bugis parco branch. The class is conducted every sat at 10:30am by Miki and the pace is slower than many other low impact classes. This is suitable for beginners and you can also slowly build your stamina and learn the steps/movements before venturing out to other classes. I have very poor co-ordination and her slower paced class helped me to pick up the steps before I ventured to other classes which are faster. Besides, Miki is also very friendly. I enjoyed her classes.

fatcat

Hi glymo: Do you know which branch this Miki teach besides Bugis? I found my Low class is quite fast, i like something slower too coz i'm also beginner.

phuture

Hi Mel,
I agree with glymo. You can start off slow to build up your stamina. Yes they do have a gym membership (whereby you can't attend aerobics class) but I'm not sure of the prices. You can call to enquire. Like I always say, it's never too late or too early to pick up exercise.

Hi fatcat,
Come join me lah! I'm also not fit! When I get confused with the steps, I just march on the spot and shake head at the instructor! haha...

glymo118

fatcat,

I am not sure if she conducts at other branches. You can try calling them to ask? But I find that particular class is a good place to pick up the steps and learn the name of the move.

phuture,

Ya. I was blur too. Had to scroll up twice to check if I am replying to the correct person. Have gone for Pauline's lo class at TPY on Mon. Really fast but fun. Sometime so fast that I just concentrate on the leg movement because I got no time to co-ordinate my hands!!! If really can't catch, I also march on the spot. Have yet to try Pauline's NB class. Maybe go try one of these days. Like Bong's NB, can feel the muscles "burning". Shiong but shiok!

northgal

OOH, I am also getting confused that there are Mellisas and there's Mel.

Mel : If you are afraid that you may not have the stamina to catch up in an aerobic class, you may go for the 'New Body (NB)' class instead. It starts with 15 mins warm up (enough to take your breath away if you have not been exercising), follow up 30 mins of exercises using dumbell/resistance band, ended with 15 mins of crutches for toning the abdominal and cool down.

northgal

Joey,

I have watched the PT in Parco conducting her lesson few times, thought not sure if she is the only PT there but I am sure that I will not want to take up her PT lesson. She has slight wavy hair, tied up. She teaches like a commandor, v arrogant. Given the choice, I would definitely go for Liz.

northgal

Lydia,

The attendancee at F/pilates are all new comer, therefore rest assured that you will not be feeling uneasy. The pace is very slow, guess that you woun't want to attend the Fundamental classes anymore after 2 or 3 sessions.

northgal

vienna,
You may wish to try out walking on the treadmill instead. The equipment came with built in heart rate monitor so that you may monitor if you are walking at the appropriate intensity.

joeylow

northgal.. ya .. she Su**s.. sori couldnt find another appropriate word to describe her. just briefly tell u what happen.. the first time i was with her, of cos i couldnt follow her pace and the hands and legs coordination ( well if i could follow exactly like her, what for i sign up with a pt right?). she was damn annoyed with me and kept mumbling of like i m stupid or what. worse stil, i wore the wrong shoes there( my shoes are not meant for gym usage). however instead of putting it nicely to me, she said "u dun know u cant wear this kind of shoes ar" very rudely.

once i came back, i wrote a super long letter wanting to complain abt her. after printing it out, i misplaced it then lazy to type again hee.. anyway if any chance she tok to me, i will insult her.

btw, northgal, u always patronise bj branch? hw heavy r u nw? want go togetther someday?

northgal

Joey,

ohh, sorry to hear that you have signed up for her service, paying to get scolding in return. Able to change PT? How many session did you sign up? In fact I feel sorry for her other trainees too. I noticed that those pple under her training were mainly the low self-esteem, blur and obliging type. I spoke to Liz b4 and have seen her training others, find her very kind and easy to go along with.

I patronise BJ and Civc most of the time. Would be glad to go together one day, but I am currently extremely busy with work stuff as it is approaching the company's year end now.

How long have you been with Amore? I only enrolled in August, for a 6 mths unlimited package. I love the LO & NB most.

nuvola

hi northgal,

good to hear that i may not be the only blur sotong on sunday. haha
anyway, i managed to find kakis to go with me.

joeylow

hi northgal,

i dun know can change pt a not.. anyway i signed up with the 3 times trial this was my 2nd time le..so i dun bother to request for a change lor..

can.. when u free we go together..

i been with amore for nearly two years but i dun go often til nw cos nid to lose weight fast as my wedding is in feb. hw abt u? i didnt go for the aerobics .

northgal

Hello Joey,

I am 55 kg, standing at 1.6m. I don't find myself fat, but I am flabby and not shapely. I expect my ROM to be in late 2005, more than sufficient time for me to tone up but it is also because of this that I am dilly & dally. I exercise mainly because I want to be healthy, though can't deny that I want to look prettier too.

I was nervous and feeling inferior when I thought of giving aerobic a try. You may have notice from my earlier posting in Aug, asking for help. Nevertheless, I have made the right choice by signing up with Amore cos I feel more comfortable without hunk around.

joeylow

hee me weigh the same as u but me shorter..156cm.. same as me loh .. bah bah ..but i am actually trying to get back my weight of 49kg( i just gave birth 3 mths ago).

me sign with amore quite some time but always wait til last min then reali serious to tone up.. dun know why i so lazy leh :p

hello gers,
how much is the membership fees to join Amore?
Can I take up the classes with u gers?
I feel weird having to go alone....

joeylow

hi butter.. the membership price i nt too sure.. cant rem.. but u can call.. i have bj number which is 63366822.

where u stay? u want go for gym or areobics classes mainly?

enigma_gal

Thanks for the info, everyone. So sorry for the confusion..seems like a lot of ppl confused over the names.

i'm interested in the sunday one, sat gotta work. anyone interested to go on sun for the class?

northgal

Hi all, I managed to get the following 3 month package price, exclude gst. Perks available for 6 mths or more packages.

Registration fee for new member - $35

aerobic package power package
12 sessions $120 $180
24 sessions $190 $290
unlimited $240 $330

hello Joey,
Tell u the truth hor... I never been to gym before... coz my friends are not into this kind of activities... so, I am a MOUNTAIN TORTOISE.. (Don't laugh at me leh...)
I will just follow u gers (or rather follow u if u allow me to)...
Which Amore do u go to?
Bugis will be good for me... coz my office is in Suntec and this location is like quite central...

Hello northgal,
Thank you got the price list!!!
The price above is for per month?

northgal

butter,

My colleagues and friends are different from yours. The gang are all super gym patronage. Plus my company heavily response to the Govt healthy lifestyle campaign. Feel very left out if not involved too.

Wow...
northgal, u are in govt sector?
My side... no one is keen in all these kind of healthy stuff... haiz....
So, which Amore do u go to?
(Do take have a lot of branch)??

joeylow

hi butter.. its ok lah.. not too late to start now mah,, me not an expert in anyway too :p

i go to the bugis branch cos i stay at bugis mah :p

perhaps u want to email me yr contact then we sms to tok abt it? my email is [email protected]

northgal

Mel : Power Package allow member to use the shower, steam bath, gym and to attend yoga, pilate, hip hop and Jazz, therefore more expensive.

butter : There are 8 branches, but out of which only 3 has got gym facilities. Member can attend classes at any branches, no restrition. I normally go to the 3 that comes with attached gym.

Bugis Junction (w gym)
Cineleisure (w gym)
Woodlands (w gym)

Bugis Village
Amara Hotel
East Point Mall
Kovan
Toa Payoh

Lydia : I happened to know that Pauline is on leave this Sunday. A relief instructor will be taking over her class.

phuture

Hi Butterkiss!
I sound like a broken record here, it's never too late or too early to start exercising! I used to be like you, a 'mountain tortoise' like you put it. But now, I swim once a week and go for Amore classes two to three times a week, I feel much fitter now and also see my body more toned (I didn't lose weight but I can eat more liberally now).

You can check out their website at www.amorefitness.com for more details.

If you would like company, we can go together too! Don't worry we're all nice girls here, right everyone?
You can PM me, no worries! My usual spots are Heartland Mall, Toa Payoh and Bugis Jn (I do go to other branches too, just for a change of environment)

nuvola

hi northgal,

If i remember correctly, I saw Cindy's name on the board for the sunday's f/pilates slot. Sigh, so many bad comments abt her, i hope i'm not so clumsy that she cannot help but fume....haha...

northgal

There is a complete list that show all the outlets schedule and the respective instuctors on the notice board. However, temp changes will not be updated in this list.

There is also a white board at each Amore outlet that show the schedule and instructor for that particular outlet only. Those written in blue are permanent instructor. Writing in green are temp instructor covering for the perm instructor.

It is advisable to call out that particular outlet to confirm the instructor for the day as changes can be frequent.

angeg

hi northgal,

thanks very much...btw,do u koe if we can ask them to photocopy 4 us??hehe...lazi to chk each time..

hello phuture,
which package did u sign up?
I would like to start EXERCISING as soon as possible...
And, like what Joey mentioned, we can go together if you don't mind...

phuture

Hi Butter,
I signed up for the 2x/wk power package... into my last few lessons. I bought an unlimited package already, will start that in the coming weeks. Yes cannnnn... we 3 can go together lah. What classes are you gals interested in?

phuture

SS and/or NB this Friday at Toa Payoh... anyone?

Butter, you can check out the classes at their website. For a beginner, LO and NB would be better.

northgal

butter,

Yup, agreed wif phuture. You may go for either LO or NB.

I extracted the following for you:

LO = Low Impact Aerobics, a class designed to start beginners on aerobic exercise and for those restarting an exercise programme. Low impact moves that enables calorie burning.

NB = New Body, A high intensity but low impact aerobics workout using bands and hand weights. No jumping or running. A combination of cardio and muscle training, excellent for fat burning and toning. Dumbell & resistance band may be used.

Forget about yoga or pilate if your main aim is to lose fat fast.

northgal

For those who are still feeling inferior about joining the existing aerobic classes, there is a beginner class at EastPoint Mall on Thur evening. This is the one and only beginner class available. Expect to see step by step aerobic demo and lots of sotongs! Will not want to attend it anymore after 1 or 2 sessions.

nuvola

I attended tues's LO at WL. I guess there were sotongs around....but i think i was the blurrest sotong....

k_aka_k

Yo!

I'm one of Amore member and very happy wif their gym, classes and svcs...

Normally, i'll go to bugis outlet, anyone?

beaver

i used to go to amore's. took cindy's NB class. erm, actually i like her cos she's v demanding, insists that we do correctly. i toned up very fast taking her classes. well, different strokes for different folks i guess. one of the reasons why i stopped going to amores is cos i found the other instructors not keen eyed enuf, and not as sharp....
other reasons why i stopped was cos i didn't like their admin style and cos they stopped the spinning classes. anyway dats besides the point. cindy yelled a lot and all dat, i just didn't take those personally.

dodolooi

In case, anybody who's interested in Amore,
I have some $10 off registration valid till end dec. Got it when i signed up their course.
If you are interested just drop me a note.

ms_pink

hi, can I ask if I want to join the aerobic classes, which class is suitable for beginners? Mainly to trim my tummy and also flabby arms. And maybe not so strenuous for beginners. By the way, what to wear for the aerobic class? Do I need to have any proper atire? Or can I just go in any comfortable t-shirt with shorts or long exercise pants?

ms_pink

hi Sharon,
Is the $10 off registration still available? My friend and I may be signing up or the aerobic course. Is there any terms and conditions for it other than to sign up before dec? Can I have more details of it? My email is [email protected]

phuture

Pink,
you can actually scroll up and read the previous messages... the classes suitable for beginners are 1) LO - low impact, 2) NB - new body which tones up your arms and tummy, 3) introduction classes like step, yoga and pilates. There is a special Beginners' LO class which is even more basic.
As for attire, just make sure you have proper and comfortable shoes. T-shirts with shorts/pants are fine.