Amore Fitness Membership

sharlene

northgal,
Its a temp male replacement instructor tdy, he quite ok also. U attended HILO before? What's the difference with Lo?

How's Pauline?

northgal

Sharlene,
I have never been to HI/LO as I was told to refrain from high impact work-out due to knee operation few years back. I think HI/LO incorporate jumping.

My strong advice to all my friends is to seek guidance on proper way of working out before starting an exercise regime. Our bones and joints are fragile, once injured, chances is likely to be a life-time problem. I am speaking from experience.

northgal

btw, do anyone of you here visit the thread 'how to slim down properly'? There are many tips to pick up on exercising there and you would find cases of pple mentioning about ankle n knee pain problem. Perhaps we didn't realise that we are no longer young....

I think I would have like Hi/Lo if not due to my knee problem.

sharlene, I only attended Pauline's pilate classes for beginner. She is a gentle n kind lady. Super tanned!

phuture

Northgal,
I went for KB at Civic yesterday after work... agree with you the place is nice and I like the gym better than BJ. But it's too far for me leh... with the peak hour traffic it took more than 40mins' drive. I'll stick to TPY, HM, CL and BJ, save some petrol!

sharlene

Anyone can tell me how much does the unlimited package cost?
Do they provide towels for shower? And we need to bring own lock for the lockers is it?

northgal

sharlene,
You can call up any outlet to inquire about the package. It cost about $110/mth on average, sometime comes wif perks for 6mth or 1 yr package. They do not provide shower towel, only a small gym towel. You may rent the shower towel at abt $1/towel. You need to bring your own small lock.

phuture

Sharlene,
You don't need to inform the staff. On that day, just 1) give them your card so they can sign you in, 2) write in the list to rent their gym towel (small towel), 3) then can proceed to the changing room (depends on whether you decide to take up the aerobics or power package, there are different changing rooms). From there you can make use of any of the lockers.

They do have permanent lockers for us to rent, but I personally don't think it's necessary (plus if you're someone who likes to travel to different outlets, it wouldn't be feasible to rent). Most people prefer combination locks as there are no need for keys, but it's really up to you. I bought my lock at amore, but recently at Metro, they have funky colour locks selling for about $2, you can check those out.

Amore doesn't provide free usage bath towels, which I think is rather crap! Other clubs like CF, PF, Fitness First, they're all providing free usage. I mean, what's the big deal!?! Anyway, call me a scrooge, but if they wanna charge for bath towels, I'd rather lug my own!

phuture

Little_ger,
sounds like you're enjoying LO! When are you gonna try out Hi/Lo? Let me know and perhaps we can go together!

fatcat

Hi ladies I just sign up a power package, just want some advice, is the LO all the way dance for the 1 hour or just 30min dance 30 min floor exercise??? I haven't do any aerobic for at least 6 years so don't know whether i can cope with it.

phuture

Fatcat,
I've never attended LO before, but the usual routine for most classes is 15min warm up, 30min cardio, 15min floor. Maybe little_ger and northgal can answer your question better... I just kaypoh

northgal

hi fatcat,
phuture is right. Almost all classes start are in that sequence. ie. 15min warm up, 30 cardio work-out, ended with 15 mins floor work like crunches, cool down and stretches.

I enjoyed the LO very much.

sharlene

Phuture,
So far I went, never see any place that can write name to rent their towel. U mean the towel use to wipe sweat need pay $1??

Basic aerobics package can also get the towel?

phuture

Fatcat,
How? enjoyed yourself?

Sharlene,
mint is right. wipe sweat one is called gym towel, that's free to use. The list is usually at the counter, if not there, just tell them you need a gym towel.

jaspeng

I'm amore member too. I love the class on Sat at Orhard Cinelesiure. The instructor name is Bong.

He has class for NB at 9.30am and 10.30am is Hi\Lo. He is creative as compare to the rest of the instructor!!!

fatcat

Anyone got package with the Amore spa too? Is it good? I go to TPC for NB last week, it's good but for a beginner like me, my muscle is still very sore till now.

phuture

Hope everyone's still exercising and keeping fit!

There's a roadshow these 3 days at Parco. There's a promotion that's irresistable... "sign up for 1 yr, get 4 mths free!"

SH*T... I just signed up for unlimited package for a year... and already paid in full...

angeg

Hi phuture,

same here... i just sign up on the 5th...i so heartpain when i c their promotion...furthermore,i attend a trial KB at BJ n sign up on the spot wif my fren...

heehee...can we ask them if we r applicable as well?

fatcat

Yeah la why they never mention about this promotion when we sign up? I also just started 2 lessons and paid in full already!!

youngmum

Hi there...I'm new here....desperately trying hard to lose post-natal weight. So thinking of joining amore. Anyone has a personal trainer at Wlands Amore? Tot of signing up.

phuture

yeah... very disappointed. The 4mths extra would be wonderful!

Vienna, I don't have a PT. Maybe the other girls can help. And congratulations on being a new mum!

youngmum

Hi mint...so do u find it difficult to do workout wif the trainers....i have weight problem so i'm afraid i wont be able to do what they have in store for me. very paiseh also.

baibies

vienna, hey.. me oso trying to shake off my postnatal fats... lose abt 8 kgs so far.. but still got another 8 to go.. haizz... its so hard to slim down....

youngmum

Hey May! Lucky u...only 8kg...i got 15kg to lose before i get to my wedding weight...and at that time i was already chubby. Sigh...if i could turn back time, I would eat wisely during pregnancy and not give in to my stupid pregnancy cravings and gobble up prata every other night!!!! Anyway...hard to work out now coz it's fasting month for me

Hi vienna,
Dun worry, they would plan the programme to suit your physical aptitude. Then they'll slowly increase the level as you improve. No need to paiseh cos we are all there to lose weight.

baibies

vienna... if u tok abt wedding weight.. me oso got another 10kgs to lose... hahaha... hey.. u going to woodland branch?? mayb we can go together and encourage each other... haha... i have a unlimited power package there.. let me noe if you are interested.

joeylow

Hi may i pm-ed u.. hope to get an reply from u soon

also by the way gals, dun take up training with the pt by the name of cindy at Bugis branch. Shes very impatient and rude!

baibies

hi joey i reply u aldy. :)

yes i heard of cindy... she seems quite fierce but was highly recommember as a pt by the reception staff.... hee maybe too free??

baibies

hi mel, depends on wat package u wan... there's aerobics,gym and power package and oso once,twice or unlimited usage. u can go www.amorefitness.com to chk but nt sure if the prices are there. call them to ask lor.

nuvola

I've just signed up with amore & am thinking of taking up pilates. Anyone going to Civic centre for F/Pilates or Pilates this sunday?

By the way, I a little suaku, what to wear for pilates classes huh? anyone can enlighten me?? hehe

northgal

Lydia,

You are free to wear anything that you are comfortable in to attend the classes. Most people will be in long or 3/4 track pants and Tees. Shorts are not recommended for pilate.

I attended the Sunday F/Pilate b4, the class is normally packed, the instructor is Pauline, not bad.

northgal

Mel,

You can call up Amore to inquire about the package. Unlike other mega gym, Amore is willing to disclose the price to you over the phone.

You can take up any of the following:

aerobic package
(1) 12 session within 3 mths
(2) 24 sessions within 3 mths
(3) unlimited sessions within 3 mths

If you would like to attend the yoga & pilate classes, you will have to enrol in the 'power package' instead. It is a little bit more expensive but the power package allow you to use the gym facilities.

phuture

Lydia,
no need to feel shy. everyone started out as a 'suaku'! Just ask the counter staff anything you're not sure of, feel free to ask them for directions etc... they're all quite nice.
Yah pilates is done barefooted like yoga. Just in case you didn't realise, the pilates are 1hr-sessions and yogas last 1.5hrs. Have fun!

Little_ger,
How are your exercises coming along? built some muscles yet? I haven't gone to BJ branch since the last time we went! I haven't slacked lah, just been going to TPY and HM more often. Keep in touch!

phuture

Fatcat: I usually go for Friday's SS +/- NB (when my FH not in Sg, nothing to do on friday!) And it's not packed, very good. The SS very siong ah, the instructor is Lai Koin (in her 30s but she's very toned, I think she only teaches one class there). The NB is Pauline, she's very good too. Feel free to join me! Would love company!

snowbell

power package
(3) unlimited sessions within 3 mths

how much does this cost??
i am sooooo interested. however currently i am in the 2nd stage of my slimming. i went down from Obese to slighty overweight. Should i wait till i reach acceptable weight? before i go for body sculptoring

northgal

Melisa, you may call any of the following branches to inquire the price.

Bugis Junction - 6336 6822
Orchard - 6732 1822
Civic - 6892 1822
Bugis Village - 6337 7333
Amara 6223 3822
East point 6781 1822
Heartland Mall 6285 1822
Toa Payoh 6258 2822

I think power package price is about the following, not sure the exact.

(1) 12 lessons, 3 mths - $180
(2) 24 lessons, 3 mthss - around $240, nt sure.
(3) unlimited , 3 mths - around $330, nt sure.