Amore Fitness at Woodlands Civic Centre

Hey all,

Have anyone joined or check out the new Amore Fitness at Woodlands Civic Centre? Is it any good?

Me planning to join but would like to hear some feedback first

greenie

hi PPG!

ME! ME!!! i am a member there...

the class room there is big & nice & not to mention its
new.gif

i usually go 4 the HILO class there... like it very much! wat else u wanna noe?

Do your join the day time aerobics class or the evening one? What is most impt to me is the class size --> Are the classes crowded like those held in Orchard/Tiong Bahru branches? Do they have power yoga as well?

I rather shy mah... so afraid to join big classes

Do they have gym & shower facilities as well?

Sorry if thats alot of questions but I am thinking if going down soon to join up so can start fighting against the fats

okeanosmao

PPG,

civic centre not as crowded as orchard areas. more spacious to do aerobics. no gym but shower facilites for power package holders.
schedules wise, u can refer to their website.

coco,

nbr go to their spa service b4.

greenie

hi PPG,

as okean posted above, i find it more comfortable to exercise here coz there r more aunties ard.. some how i feel better! hehehe

dependg on wat class u go to, certain classes r very packed, eg, the KB class on sat mornings... sure packed!

they hv shower facilities 4 power pkg holders but no gym... thus i took up the aerobics pkg.

coco, me oso nvr went to the spa svc b4 but the ambience is nice.

maomao, u still in amore? thot u stopped after ur wedding... wat classes do u go to? i usually go to HiLO on sats, 11am.

Huh? I thot they have a gym there or going to right? Anyway sounds good enough to me becos crowds always intimidate me. And I plan to join the wkday day-time classes anyway

Me also interested in their spa svc - will reckee reckee first

greenie

hi maomao,

u signed up 4 a long pkg tt time huh? so wasted! why now u dun wanna go? go lah, wdl branch not as far 4 u rite? dun waste it... its hard to sell it since the membership is non-transferable.

hi PPG,
not all the branches hv gyms. and this one dun hv lor. i find it so wasted... if they had a gym, i will sign the power pkg deal, since they dun hv, i dun wanna waste my $$$.

babyg

Hi PPG,

Read from their website, the gym @ amore woodlands will be opened on 11 Feb, i.e this coming Wed.

Oh the gym is opening very soon... then I might as well wait until the gym is open liao then sign up for the power package. Like that more "wu hua".

Just like what starz said - more aunties - so me won't easily feel intimidated

greenie

hi PPG & babyG,

i went to the aerobics class tdy & is so happy to learnt tt their gym is opening next week!

PPG, advise u to wait 4 a while 1st, coz they might hv promotions in conjunction wif their gym' opening!

i enjoyed tdy's session thoroughly!!!

I just realise that 1 trip to the gym counts as 1 session off the total no. of session we have on our package!!!

So seems more worthwhile to take the basic aerobics package since I don't live that faraway from Woodlands after all.

metta

I also live in Woodlands! Went to check out Amore last week. Is the gym open already?

isn't the UOB Ladies' Card offering free entry to the aerobics class? Maybe u don't have to take up their package after all. I think basic package doesn't allow u to take up their yoga and pilates classes (those highlighted in yellow on their schedules).

greenie

hi PPG,

yes, its true tt 1 session to gym is considered a session... thus its always better to go gym b4 or after ur class.
so hv u signed up already?

u sign up 4 the aerobics basic pkg if u dun wanna use their gym. owise u hv to sign up the power pkg.

hi metta, not sure if their gym is opened yet. last wk when i went there, they said it will b opened this week.

yes, UOB ladies card offers free entry twice a mth. but muz book 1 wk in advance. u may use this priviledge to chk out the gym 1st.

as the priviledge only allows u to visit them twice a mth, it is not enuff if u wanna keep fit, thus muz sign up for their pkg lor.
its all up to personal preference.

metta

Hi starz,

didn't know that it's only twice a mth with the ladies' card. Thx for the info!

Ya, agree with you that it depends on personal pref. I'm not so much into exercise (lazy), only went once for aerobics and I could hardly keep up. Not to mention that I couldn't sync my arms and legs very well too! Quite hilarious, actually. Prefer yoga - do more stretching & it strengthens the limbs too!

crayon2512

I just called Amore up, the ladies'card members are entitled to use the aerobic class from 10am -6pm for weekdays and Anytime on weekends. We have to call exactly one week before to make appt for aerobics.
Its not as flexible as the California gym offer UOB card offer the other time.

greenie

hi metta & crayon,

yup, there is certain restrictions on the ladies card wif amore... but its to give priviledge to their members lah. anyway, i am more comfortable in amore as its a ladies gym & not as stressful as in california. when i went california, i feel like i am in a mad crazelike those pple... nvr like to visit there after a few times... and their sales staff very pushy!!!

metta,
my hands & leg got poor coordination too... very funnie at times when i cant follow...
but after a few times i am ok liao... still a bit "retarded" at times though but hv improved!

dotdotz

Hi Ladies, i signing up for the Amore packages. So can i just checked with you guys how is the shower and steam bath at Woodlands? Do they provide towels? How are the studios there? Packed? Thanks!

racherlle

Hi!!

I've tried the spa services at the Amore Day Spa.. not bad... signed up a massage package with them.. like the spa rooms and services are friendly too..

ducky

Anyone with 'personal trainer'? How was it? I tot of trying... they are having ' 3 session trials for $99' don't know is it good or not? Hope to get feedback from you gals...thanks!

chrysanne12

Hi duckyduck,

I too wanted the personal trainer sessions and I will most likely be signing up for it ard end of this mth. wat abt yourself?

anyway, for your inform, u can't take only the trial sessions alone, u have to take their power package together loh!

the total cost is abt $980+ if u decided to continue their 10 sessions of personal training after the trial

ducky

Hi chrysanne12,

I tot of signing next week or the following week cos do not have much time cos 2mth later is my wedding.And then can I take up the personal training itself plus the trial ( w/o the power package). Anyway it nice to have company... where do you live? cheers!

chrysanne12

Hi duckyduck,

hmm, i asked them that but they said it not possible, if u take trial means need the power package

anyway, if u don't take the trials and go immediately for the 10 personal trainings, u are not entitled to use the gym after your 1 hr personal training loh

i'm staying in sembawany, wat abt yourself?

ducky

Hi chrysanne12,

I will go down to ask then... By the way I stay in punggol! Get back to you then! cheers

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Hey Chrys ~ yo!!! How are u?? Going to sign up soon??? U know something? I changed my PT already. So can intro my PT to you hor cos she's based at Woodlands most of the time. but the only problem is, i think she's quite fully booked yah...

I'm still at Bugis..no change no change....

baby5556

hi chry,

me here ...seems like amore anyone has quietten alot leh...

hi duckduck, so u stay pgl??? thats great, join us at To all Punggol 21 residents...

chrysanne12

Hi ssmilezz and baby5556,

how are u gals, still faithfully exercise or not?

ssmilezz, why u changed your PT, she not gd ah?
okie, when i'm going 2 sign up time, ask u the new PT's name. anyway, is she fierce?
how is marriage preparations coming by?
Oh yeah, did u go for the EE already? (sorry ask so many questions,

baby5556, yeah i noticed the amore anyone thread has been quite loh! how is your new house so i guess your renovation completed already now spenting time arranging your big day ah?

baby5556

chry,

yea..me adapting to new plc now but gonna shifting back to mum's plc cos hb will be goin reservist...

ssmilezz...hihi

my big day aiyo... 5 mths away leh...nothing is done yet ..keee, dun mention eg or wg...nothing, nothing was done..

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Baby ~ yo yo! long time no hear from u..busy ah?? why nothing done for your AD yet?? No BS appointment yet meh?

Chrys ~ no lar, my old PT left Amore liao..so she handed me over to this new PT to take over hor..i think i like her better. Friendier and more approachable lor....

Yup, i still go every Mon + Thurs faithfully. Tonight got PT lor....when u intend to sign up?

EE ah? coming soon!!!! 2 weeks time..quite excited! heheee</font>

chrysanne12

Hi baby5556,

wow, i 1 yr b4 my AD already started preparing but still stress and anxious 1 wk b4 my AD. i think it will be gd u start your preparations, 5 mths will pass like a lightning leh!

Hi ssmilezz,

oh i see, that is why u got a new one PT ah!
anyway, i advise u to go for your EE with an open mind loh! don't expect anything. Don't be surprised to see some couples fighting loudly or some are extremely lovey-dovey....kekeke
this will be the best opportunity for u to talk your heart out with your FH, trust me even it means to hurt him....
come back and tell me your experience can?

bbi

just wondering who is interested to sign up a progrmme for yoga at Amore fitness @ Woodlands Civic Centre, tot of going but paisai cos i'm a beginner. heehee............. may take up the power package as they say can go for gym too on the day when Ihave lesson. If alone then i will just take the normal one cos i dunno how to use gym's stuff so paisai........

bbi

just wondering who is interested to sign up a progrmme for yoga at Amore fitness @ Woodlands Civic Centre, tot of going but paisai cos i'm a beginner. heehee............. may take up the power package as they say can go for gym too on the day when I have lesson. If alone then i will just take the normal one cos i dunno how to use gym's stuff so paisai........

binbin

hi shirlyn, dun worry abt the gym. there will usually be someone there to guide the firstimers..
and if not, u can always read the instructions on each machine and try it out with minimal weight first.
quite fun..

charmed_bebz

Hey ladies,

How much is Amore charging for the 12 lessons power package?? Does the price includes registration fee?? I'm staying in yishun so i thot would be convenient for me to go to the 1 at w'lands.

Can i attend the lessons at other branches if i signed up the package from w'lands branch?

binbin

hi sarieta, the 3 mths power package if i still rem correctly is $290 (girls, correct or not huh?). and yes u can go to lessons at any branches no matter where u signed up...

dotdotz

I'm a newbie who just signed up for the unlimited package...been to KB and HI/LO on sat... think it is really fantastic! But HI/LO is difficult to master coz she never start from basic steps, hard to catch...KB was still fine... so any recommendations for classes at Woodlands Civics branch?

charmed_bebz

Hi BinBin,

Thanks a lot!! 12 lessons for $290 is rather pricey man! Actually me now got 1 more lesson left at max studio at Level 3 Northpoint and I'm paying about $140 for 12 lessons. The reason I wanna change to Amore is because of the various locations which I can hop from 1 place to another.

greenie

binbin, u rem wrongly lah...

tt price u quote is for 2 lessons per wk lah. its equivalent to 24 sessions. 4 12 sessions, it abt $180+. Sarieta, u can call any branch to check. they r very friendly.

tt reminds me how long i nvr step into amore already....

charmed_bebz

Hey Starz,

Thanks. Yup. I'll call up and check.

Sumtimes this type of things need motivation lah... hheee...eehhehee. Me oso so long neva do any workout. Struggling to finish the last lesson!

greenie

hi sarieta,

yah, initially u need motivation, but after a while, u like the lessons so much tt u cant stop gog there! hahahaha...

Binbin was my gym kaki for a while... hehehe...

now i am busy doing my wedding preps, no time to go gym anymore, at least 4 now. but i promise to sign up again after my wedding! i love the HILO classes! and janice's HILO classes, if she is still teaching tt on sat morning.. miss her classes ah!!!!

Bin, nvm, i noe u pay 4 the pkg till u blur liao... kekekeke...

wawa

Just to share my experience with Amore Spa @ woodlands civic center...

I bought a one time facial treatment for my mum on mother's day. It is called something like anti-ageing or anti-wrinkle treatment..cant rem already. The service is not very good (the gals seem to be very lethargic...u will feel that the beautician is not putting enuff effort to squeeze all ur blackheads..) and the length of treatment is less than the given time on the brochure. well at the end of the session, my mum and I concluded that there is vast improvement aft the treatment. result is visibly seen.Lines are reduced and my mum's complexion is glowing. However, my mum complained that her vision was blurred once we stepped out of the civic plaza. at first i tot her eyes werent adjusted to the bright lights. but she complain her eyes were stringent. she couldn't even open her eyes and tears kept flowing down her cheeks. in the end, brought her to see our family doctor. Guess wat the doctor says....mostly likely the cotton pads used or their hands werent "too" clean during the treatment that resulted in teary red blood shot eyes......

Suppose to mean as a mother's day gift but end up paying more for consultation fee including 4 days of pain...

arctic_hare

Wawa, who attended to her? I also frequent amore day spa at woodlands. If not convenient to say here, you can PM me. Hope it's not my usual beautician.

wawa

Hi Cyn,

Sorry, I din make an effort to rem their names.. both are m'sians if i'm not wrong...in their 30s....

Frankly speaking i have tried their spa in Feb 04.. both my fren and i find their spa services were quite good ...tats y tempted to sigh up the facial for my mum...

Nevertheless, din expect something to happen like this...just hope that the readers here will be more careful with wat the beauticians are using to apply on their faces...maybe everytime when u are going for ur facial u can prompt them tat u are very particular abt cleaniness and make sure that they use clean cotton pads or wash their hand as part of the cleaning routine...

But come to think of it...now even if someone were to tell me that there's promo in Amore for facials I wun take it no matter how worthwhile it is (sorry not to scare u...just my personal feeling) and not to mention that their facials as compared to mkt rate are not that "average" either.

Hee..Once bitten , twice shy and THERE IS NO 3RD TIME!!!!