Amara Singapore

jenopc

haro Latte..

angry larr.. i write so much to u yet nvr rcv.. never mind.. i m so angry tat i can spill it all out again.. hahaha... check yr email..

anyway im unhappy wif amara.. but dun wana complain openly.. tats why i PM u...

0212bride

Hi o_O

replied ur email alrdy. I agree with u mann. Lousy customer service!

I thought i found a great venue and keep enthusing abt my packages to ppl who planning to ROM/marry. But since then I stopped telling my frens and colleags abt Amara packages.

lancerguy

Just got a reply from them,seems they have revised their prices for 2008 with +++, what is this? no more nett price liao. sianz.

0212bride

yup its not a brand name town area hotel. if it was charging +++ when i was looking for venues i probably would chosen another place.

lancer, are the price lists for 2008 out alrdy? prolly they were trying to release the prices to early birds who r enquiring but due to the then impending GST hike, they put +++ first?

cyril_tan

I'm trying to hold my wedding this coming Nov 2007. Quite impressed by the ballroom but just would like what some of you have bargained for your package?

I got the $710/$775 nett brochure.

Just wondering if anyone would like to share with me?

Thanks and have a nice day!

beautifulpeople

Hi everyone, i am new here.

i signed my package with them in aug 2006 during the wedding show for 800nett per table but did not manage to get much peaks from them. can someone share how to get some good deals from them?

0212bride

Hi beautifulpeople

i signed up same time as u (during bridal fair) so the perks shld be as those stated in the package. They are not so generous with perks ya? I did bargain for extra nite stay at the bridal suite cos i signed up the ROM package at the bridal show too. Did you receive any email from Amara informing u of price increase due to GST hike?

Hi Cyril
I'm not sure what's in ur package cos i signed up earlier (and supposedly) than you. Maybe you can list yours then the forumers can tell you if they received anything more

0212bride

Hi o_O

Guess what I pressed P and now she didn't even reply those template email reply. Really angry cos its v inconvenient for me to call her during office hr, somemore i work till 8ish daily. How i wish i can call up and give her a pc of my mind.

jenopc

Hi Latte

It's so frustrating to meet wif such poor service! I've PM u K's email add. Why don't you just email her directly and tell her that you have no choice but to get her contacts from me, and follow my cue just so that you can have a justification for your contract.

Same like you, it's v inconvenient for me to make the calls during work hours. There are also other colleagues seated close to me, so its embarressing. So they all noe abt this case now... nvm... it is now embarressing for Amara instead.

No point speakg to P or giving her a pc of yr mind. If she is pro-active and someone concerned abt criticism, all these wudn't hv happened.

Yap i found a VG from another BTB... damn good px. U need let me noe. My ROM wise.. well i've alrdy chosen a dress for the dae.. its a lacy bubble short dress.. so cute.. keke.. wish i had pic to show u.. mayb i shall draw it and scan to u... other from that, noting much i need to do abt the dae itself...

btw, i forgot, wen's yr AD huh...

0212bride

Hi o_O

Rec'ed ur PM but and hv K's DID but no email addy leh.. can pls let me hv it?

take a pic of ur bubble dress then can send to me lor

I dun hv a VG at ROM. Enlisted a gf to help but her videocam spoilt at the very last min. My AD PG & VG settled alrdy. All from the BS. My AD 2 Dec

babe_belle

Pretty Ladies,

GOOD NEWS!!!

I've received an email from Michelle that Amara will absorb the increase in GST so the package rate will remain.

jenopc

Hi Belle

ya i've also juz seen their email.

actually me and Latte not quite happy tru tis experience of chasing them for an answer alrdy. dun tok abt wads their legal ppl doing... but these service frontline ppl are not positioning themselves anywhere near service excellence.

i oso find it difficult to swallow their words "will absorb the increase in GST". to me, in the first freaking place, their nt supposed to put it tru at all... i'd rather hear "will not be passing tru this increase".

wasssuupppp man...

0212bride

Hi o_O & Belle

Ya lor wasted our brain cells for the past 2 mths. Not to say like what o_O mentioned, we didnt hv a good experience trying to tell Amara, or rather, the coord, to stick to our contract price.

Hi reismion
u are rite, tho this issue shldn't happen in the first place, at least now 1 item down in our wedding prep!

babe_belle

Hi o_O & Latte,

When is your AD? Mine is on 6th October.
My mom is after me because she's worried as i'm not doing any preparation for my wedding.
Well, i've booked my PG and VG for my AD but we are suppose to meet up next month to decide which package i'm getting. My BS is in JB, City Square so going down this weekend to take a look. I'm still looking around for my make-up artist for my AD though. My hairstylist for my AD is recommending someone from M.A.C but i gotten see how much she's gonna charge for whole day make-up. Am i missing out anything?

jenopc

Hi Belle

my AD is 20Sept.

me & Latte will tell u there are alot of preps missing. haaa.. well dun fret. its juz tat im enjoyg the process of planning the whole ting. so subconciously will add in alot of To-Do items in the list.

btw how come yr MUA and Hairstylist (HS) different ppl? there are good ones around who can do both you noe. if u split, means extra cost, wun it?

i sugg u plan out yr whole dae's event first. den u'll noe wad is it tat u need to do and by wen..

babe_belle

Hi o_O,

My HS for my AD is someone i always go to.. He's quite good though, that's why i'm using him. He's not charging me but i'll be giving him a token sum. Any idea how much i should give? Actually i was thinking about $188 but i'm not sure if its too little. I understand he charges about $350 for a whole day event. So I'm still scouting around for my MUA.

Do you mind if you forward me a copy of your To-Do list for reference? Just totally lost and clueless. My FH is not helping much as he's always abroad on weekdays, will be back only on Sat and Sun so i got to do most of the planning.

0212bride

Hi Belle

My AD 02 Dec, so I'll be waiting to hear how u and o_O survive the mayhem.. haha! I agree with o_O, first ask yourself how u want the AD to be. That will be a good starting point on what you hv to prepare. Hmm which sets me thinking i hv to draw my list asap.

I also think that the "customary/traditional" aspects of the wedding prep can be a lot more stressful than it seems. Such as PJ, GDL, SDJ, no. of tables for bride's side etc. All boils down to communication w our parents as well as both bride and groom families. Can be tricky.

If you are like me, hv to settle hse reno also, then 2007 is really gonna b an eventful and busy year. To the extent I don't see myself NOT doing a single thing related to wedding/hse for the rest of the weekends. But I think I'll enjoy them

Brides usually are much more into the wedding prep and DETAILS than grooms, so fret not. Can always come to the forum for ideas and support

babe_belle

Latte,

What is PJ, GDL and SDJ?

I've waiting to complete my flat, should be getting it anytime mid-April. I would also love to renovate my house but too bad, we're on tight budget. Estimated costs of my reno is about $40k because we got to hack down everything and redo all the wiring...

jenopc

ya man.. wads PJ, GDL and SDJ? sooo cheem..

sure i can send my v raw version of list to you. it's a time plan for the whole dae's event basically. wads yr email add?

i hv another time plan charted out... do wad by wen.. but.. hee.. nt quite updated so far. will send it to u next time.

im also gg into reno actions now... but not so big scale like u guys. im moving in to FH's parent's house, so only doing up the room. but coz the way i design the room to be like a gallery, estimated cost is minimum $8k man.. *SWEAT*

0212bride

haha.. Pin Jin, Guo Da Li, Si Dian Jin (if teochew bride)

All need $ and having to balance both sets of parents' wishes.. i dread to come to it mann, might be caught in the middle. But there's no running away cos my parents alrdy said they want these traditional stuffs.

o_O, ur bedroom gonna b so spacious, can it up like a gallery? wow...

jenopc

keke oic...
we're both hokkiens, so my troubles are abit lesser.

ya my FH tore down walls and hence the space is actually room+store room+toilet... so tats how we can fit a plasma, computer, walk-in wardrobe and hang paintings...

babe_belle

o_O,

I can imagine your room very big. It's really going to look like a gallery especially since you plan to hang paintings.

Latte,
I'm also teochew. My parents are also expecting the same which is very troublesome and expensive. My FH's side are very simple, don't really expect much or nothing traditional. How i wish that everything was simpler so no need to worry. What's more, i'm clueless about the traditions for teochew and cantonese.

jenopc

Belle

me wana pick up acrylic on canvas painting, hopefully one dae i can hang my own paintings man. keke

I rmbr teochew brides gota rcv Si Dian Jin from the groom's family rite. for hokkien brides, my mum said groom only need to gime a pair of gold bangles - not bracelets hor - BANGLES.. OMG... yucks.

jenopc

i've emailed the chart to u..

hope it helps to give u a skeleton lar.. intend to set out every single detail and put names to "who do what".

den hor on that day it self, print out many many copies and pass it to all the helpers...

happybeingmi

Just had my wedding. What i wanna say is standard dropped a lot. food is not up to standard, service is bad. Think the food tasting comments are useless. Reminder for gals choosing there for wedding, the team need CONSTANT reminder so prepared to have an efficient team of helpers to check on them on your wedding banquet night.