Amara Singapore

michi

May be its just my luck. From day 1 i liaised with Anges, Afifah then to Violette. The service has been on and off, inflexible & double standard. How i wish they can fulfill my simple request without going thru complains.

CH, u didn see how arrogant she is & keep insisting the room has no problem when i don't have a place to makeup, while i was crying. This is something i cannot forget. Everytime i think of it, i still feel like crying.. seriously i'm still tearing now. I'm been affected very badly & emotionally.

I'm not going to let this incident off so easily, as she really don't deserve it. As least not for my case.

Hope everything will goes well for ur wedding next week, good luck.

missoct

MC Queen,

I understand your frustion with a bad coordinator.
But i just feel it is too "unprofessional" of you to post everything here like that.
do u know Amara can actually file legal action against it?

social websites nowadays ain't safe... better watch what we all post.

My wedding was held last month at Amara, my brother's wedding was at Amara 1 yr ago. Both handled by violette right from the stretch when she was just a Event excutive all the way till she's a manager now. All had went well and she was very accomodating to all request.

She was really a blessing to me compare to my bridal coordinator.. My bridal coordinator was really a Ass...and I hate it whenever i need to talk ot lias with her. And reply me really rude emails...What Violette sms was nothing compare to my Asshole bridal coordinator.

but all these bad encounters, i do not post it on the bridal shop forum. i ask BTB to email me if they want to know more.

i feel that will be fairer to the company...because the bad experiences comes from the person, not the company.

michi

Dotty, I'm just stating the fact on what i've been through. This is about the service & wedding team image. It's not just about one or two person.

I stating what has happened to me during my wedding and all the unpleasant stuff happening to me which made me really upset. This is a once in a life-time thing that has been bugging me and if you read my previous post, It does NOT just consist of negative comments.

Please don't judge over here, this is a place open for comments, good ones as well as bad ones.
If what you have experience is good then be it, comment on it. What I have experience for this once in a life time event is negative, so I reserve the right to feedback to all the members in this forum of my bad experience.

mingyi

MC Queen, i feel for you. can imagine what u went thru on ur AD.
Since what should not happen had already happened, there's no point dwelling on it and making yourself even terrible right?

As you said, a forum is a place which is open to the public to comment on anything be it good or bad so chill k.

To us, we feel that we are just doing our "due diligence" to pre-alert existing or potential couples about what we have experienced personally but to others we might be seen as smearing her reputation etc.

Just take it that we don't have the affinity with Amara and Violette.

So why not focus on your married life and move on?

dotty, thank you for your advice on the legal part. shall be more careful on whatever i post in the future.

michi

Thanks Mandy, haha yes i've been busy with my married life & enjoyed my honeymoon. That is why i only write my review weeks after wedding.

I feel that i owe a review here, at least to share my experience with the BTBS be it good or bad, happy or sad. I'm not someone who just pop in from no where nor a stranger in this thread. I've been chatting here since i signed up with Amara & my comments were positive. Only until recently nearer to my wedding then i encounted some issues, did not brought it up here as i do not wish to make things worse or to affect other BTBS.

Yes, this is a forum where we've freedom of speech. Same goes to the non construction replies, there's no right or wrong. But if only positive comments are allowed here, how are the service provider going to improve?

Same goes to Mandy, no point moaning on the memorable experience the coordinator has given you. You should concentrate on your wedding preparation & move on to the thread that u belong.

missoct

Hi Mandy,

glad u took the advise in a nice way..
My hubby fren last time post a comment on her facebook about a client and was sued!
She was complaining about the client and dunno which idiot went to inform the client...

so if want to complaint or ruin a reputution, do it discreetly...hahaha. :p

Protect our ass is more important. heheheh.

saturn

Have been a slient reader on this thread...
but this happy thread seemed to trigger some grumbles here....

Dear CH,
Do update us on your wedding! Lets see if u have any experience similar to poor thing MC Queen (michi).

My wedding was during Sept and luckily all went well for me...there wasn't much hipcups from Amara,but instead my own helpers were more cockup..hahaha!

My bridal room was also "upgraded" to a suite, but from MC Queen (michi)'s posted photo, mine is not the same as her...mine got microwave...can heat up the banquet food!

Mine had better full length mirror but it's beside the toilet. so i choose to makeup near the bed with no mirror in front of me. When i m done, i just walk to the mirror to see lor..hahaha..
Mirror or no mirror is not the issue bah? Most important is your MUA can can a great job dolling u up

My bed also no roses / flowers decoration....So what? My gowns and accessories were all placed on the bed once i check in the room...hahaha! saved me the trouble to remove the flowers leh...hahaha!

i also paid my bills at the end of the wedding, so does many of my frens. it is actually the common practice for hotels...of coz if both groom & bride are so dead drunk, they will no choice but let u pay during check out lar...hahaha.

all the inflexible stuff that cannot be revised has already been inform to us before hand. it's not that they didn't inform bah...?

i also tried asking for cheap room from Violette, but i also failed....hahah,no problem ar, bcoz in the end i bought extra room stay from 1 of the forumer called BB Queen. Much cheaper, really!

I totally agreed with CH's saying that Amara is not 5-star hotel and so can't compare so much...want to compare, then compare with those low quality or worse hotel...

To be frank, even the most high class hotel can cock up lar... Most important is DUN BE BOTHER BY IT!
Wedding Day should be Happy! No matter how well u plan it, sure got some minor things cock up... Just hack it lar.. what happen has happen, dun let it bother u
u will feel nothing when it doesn't bother u.
The more u think, the more it bother u, the more negative u feel.
My hubby is a happy man.. coz everything he also dun care... cockup he also say never mind...hahaha! it's a good menatlity actually! at least u dun feel pissed easily

saturn

Here's how I makeup
No problem at all with the help of MUA ~
1822218.jpg

My banquet hall with the long long march-in

i like ~ all our guest can us clearly...ehhee!
1822219.jpg

Cocktail session
1822220.jpg

michi

Hi Jo, glad all went well for you. Oh, they also gave you a non bridal suite. For me, i was not been informed & it took me some time to find out what was happening. What i need was just a normal bridal suite with a decent dressing table & mirror. I need coordinator who can provide alternatives to solve my problem & not insisting the room is more expensive & better, i can't stand her attitude! When the front desk gave my bridal suite to other couple & kept us in the dark!

Perhaps different people have different expectation & also depends on the situation you are in. I only start to makeup at 6pm, with limited sunlight. I only have 1 mute mua, no assistant. She can't speak or hear, i can only communicate thru writing & the reflection from the mirror to see her expression (if she needs anything).

The rest will be up to your own judgement. Perhaps i'm not so lucky compared to most of the brides here. This is also a good reminder to the btbs, in case similar problems happened again. Cheers

shannat

anyone changed their sharksfin soup to fish maw soup?? is it nice??? cos thinking to change off the sharksfin soup. n my coord mention can change to fish maw soup~

bb_queen

I have nine nights stay at Amara Singapore @ Tanjong Pagar for sale. To be used anyday so long as there is room available. Deluxe room. Breakfast not included. You can purchase one night or more. Per night is 160 nett but if you book a date before Mar 6 2012, it will be 150 nett.

Pls pm me for details. I would appreciate if you pm me rather than leave messages here because I seldom check the thread. Thanks.

sparkling_eyes

Was just informed that violette would be leaving the hotel for a new job! so sad.. she was really very efficient at replying my emails.. anyone has experience with other coordinators? Are they good?

triz21

Amara Singapore Hotel 05/2013 Wedding Lunch package to let go at a discount

Open dates subject to availability.

$768++ per table of 10.
Grand ballroom.
Minimum 25 tables.

Please email me at [email protected] for more details.

dyanna

Hi all~ Any BTB next year June?! I have decided to hold my AD in Amara! However, have yet to really decide on BS. Anyone chose Thomson?

I am actually quite a "lazy" bride. I chose Thomson because one of my friend was with them and i thought the photos came out pretty decent, gown seems ok too.. Any other recommendation?

Shanna, were you from Clementi ITE?

Hi, any BTB have intention to give up their wedding banquet for March 2013 on Sat i.e 2,9,16 or 23 March 2013? Mine was on 30 March 2013 but have to give up due to unforeseen circumstances.

jas01

Amara Singapore Hotel 08/Sep/2013 Wedding Dinner package to let go.

- Attendance: 200 persons (minimum guarantee)
- Package: S$978.00++ (S$1,151nett) per table on weekends from Fridays to Sundays
**Inclusive of S$50++ surcharge per table and function space has been blocked for you**
(If you have min: 25 tables surcharge will be waive off)

Please email me at [email protected] for more details.

jessgirl

hihi.. am actually considering to sign with Amara... my coordinator will be Xiaoyi if i take it up..
Anybody had encounters with her? she seems nice and quite prompt in replying my emails.

cancergal

Hi, I was shortlisting hotels recently and met up with Xiao Yi. She's is very detailed and prompt. I think they are having their wedding show soon. :)

Hi btb, the wedding show on 13 Jul was cancelled due to some reasons but we still go ahead to sign up with them. Xiao Yi is my coordinator too and hopefully able to deliver her best to us. Anyone have reviews on her?

Hi jessgirl, great to find someone who is Amara btb too. When is your AD? I also signed yesterday. Xiao Yi looked abit rush and I saw her holding 3/4 pink paper files on hand. I guessed she have a few more couples to attend after us. Did you signed up for the wedding workshop earlier on? I wished the workshop wasn't cancelled so I can taste their food and roughly gauge their standard.

jessgirl

Hi Clubbymouse, ytd when i met xiaoyi she seems to be in a rush too! hahaha..
ya, i did signed up for the wedding show but it was cancelled.. my AD is 30 Aug 2014. wad about yours?
I was disappointed it was cancelled leh, tot can try their standard.. now have to wait til food tasting..

Hi jessgirl, maybe she have arranged a few appointment back to back so that explained why she seems in a rush.
Yes, its a pity that it has been cancelled. Like you, I was hoping to try & judge the standard of food, see their lighting,
PA system and an overall feel of the ballroom during the wedding show. When I went down for 1st viewing, the
grand ballrooms was partition into meeting room hence I cannot see the actual size of the grand ballroom.
Do you know why it was cancelled? She told me was some overrun of event but I couldn't hear clearly over the phone.
My AD is 6 Dec 2014 so you will be ahead of me. I heard there is a new theme coming up, hopefully something nice.
The 4 current themes did not catch my attention actually, I was attracted by the the long march in and perks.

jessgirl

haha clubbymouse.. we signed for the same reasons lorrrr... the first viewing i saw the whole ballroom setup coz fortunately got a wedding going on.. the theme did not catch much of my
attention too! we shall wait and pray the newer themes are nicer.. hahah
i heard the same thing from xiaoyi also.. she mentioned their client need the functions so the wedding show had to be cancelled. =(
but i scare i cannot walk properly during the long march in..

Hi jessgirl, hopefully I am able to go down to see few different wedding setup before my AD.
Also, I do pray that the new theme will be nicer.
Why cannot walk properly? Are you planning to get a gown with long train?

bitbitpaws

hi there.. i booked Amara and with Xiaoyi as well. She is very efficient and accomodating so far. I heard good reviews from my friends who attended weddings there. Said the food is good.. especially the cod fish.
I had a look at the pictures of the new themes... i think only a few changes.. can't remember much too.

Hi bitbitpaws, congrats to you. When is your wedding? I am glad that you've mentioned that the food is good as that is what I am most worried about. My package doesn't come with cod fish and need to top up $60 per table for that dish(if I don't remember wrongly). Do you have the pictures for the new themes? Xiao yi did send me the pictures for the 4 old themes before I sign the package.

Hi madeliene, when did Xiao yi left? Oh no, that is definitely not a good news since I do not know if the replacement coordinator will as accomodating as her.

bitbitpaws

Hi bitbitpaws, congrats to you. When is your wedding? I am glad that you've mentioned that the food is good as that is what I am most worried about. My package doesn't come with cod fish and need to top up $60 per table for that dish(if I don't remember wrongly). Do you have the pictures for the new themes? Xiao yi did send me the pictures for the 4 old themes before I sign the package.

Hi madeliene, when did Xiao yi left? Oh no, that is definitely not a good news since I do not know if the replacement coordinator will as accomodating as her.
Hi... I don't have the pictures...
Also did not know that she left.. last I saw her was about a month ago. Clubbymouse..just hope that the replacement will be okay too... My AD is in May next year.

Hi bitbitpaws, I last saw her in July. Actually quite disappointed that she has left as one of the reason why we signed is we like her service & comfortable with her.

Hi junk_foodie, seem like quite a few coordinators left. Wondering who is still around and who are the replacements.

madeliene

Clubbymouse:I think she left abt a month ago when I was trying to look for her to make some payment. Till now I have yet to hear from the replacement yet n my AD is in jan'14. I agree that her service was great that's y we signed up too. Guess I'll have to contact them for the replacement if I still do not hear from them soon ;(

Hi madeliene, I think you should contact them to ask who is your replacement coordinator and request for a form to draw invitation cards from their supplier. I remembered Xiao Yi said that invitation card printing will happen 4 months before AD.

Trivium

I guess its just normal for hotel folks to move around the industry for learning and a higher compensation package. My fren who is working in the hotel line move every 2 years, there are just too many hotels here in this small country and lack of manpower!!
Nevertheless, Amara is a great hotel to hold your big day with a big reception area, especially so with the new shopping centre 100AM now !

zrhs

Hi ladies, any recent reviews of Armara Hotel ? I have shortlisted this hotel.
After reading the bridal suite issue and saw the photos, I think i am very concern on this issue. Bridal Suite is usually bigger with separate room and "living" room right? I dont want to have a cramp place...
Hope to see more recent reviews. TIA! :)

simplegal86

Hi, anyone got any comments on the ballroom if there is more than 32 tables?

Understand that if there is 32 tables the ballroom will be just a rectangular ballroom. however, if you have more than 32, they will open up the balloon beside the stage.

I thought it will be very weird.. its like the guests seated there is like "outcasted".

Gladly appreciate if there is any reviews on this. thanks!

zrhs

Hi, anyone got any comments on the ballroom if there is more than 32 tables?

Understand that if there is 32 tables the ballroom will be just a rectangular ballroom. however, if you have more than 32, they will open up the balloon beside the stage.

I thought it will be very weird.. its like the guests seated there is like "outcasted".

Gladly appreciate if there is any reviews on this. thanks!

It will be a L shaped ballroom if you more than 32 tables. I think similiar like Sheraton hotel ballroom. However They don't hv live feed so the tables at "ballroom" space will not be able to see your match in.. You check with ur photographers if they hv live feed services to overcome this. I like amara reception so big n spacious!

slpingstarz

Deciding between amara and rendezvous hotel ! One thing that attract me over amara is the lighting effects ! Uhoooo.
But the coordinator like abit ai mai ai mai lile tt :/ like sloppy sloppy kind. Makes me kind worry if we signed up with them ...

Deciding between amara and rendezvous hotel ! One thing that attract me over amara is the lighting effects ! Uhoooo.
But the coordinator like abit ai mai ai mai lile tt :/ like sloppy sloppy kind. Makes me kind worry if we signed up with them ...

Who is your coordinator? I signed up last year but my coordinator left and was replaced by Samuel Tan. So far we only keep our communication via email and he was quite prompt with the replies. I think both ballrooms for amara & rendezvous are similar, rectangular and long march in. Amara is slightly bigger and can hold up to 32 tables. Much depends on your table count and preferred location. How was the perks this year? I waited for wedding show to sign as they will throw in more things.

Welcome on board... This thread has been a little quiet. Hopefully more Amara BTB to come forward to share more information and experiences.

Cherry_Ant

Hi all, I am one of the those who sign up during the wedding show last Saturday and my coordinator is Samuel. I feel that he is very slow in getting back to me. My husband and I had been calling him several times with regards to the perks agreed during the show and the contract. He keep saying he will get back to us but we have not heard from him after calling him many times.
His attitude is kind of sloppish and dilly dally.
It makes us really worried about entrusting our Important Day in his hands. Can we ask for a refund and cancel the booking if we are not satisfied?