All looking for Condo

limko

Hi Mummy,

Starville is located very near to Kembangan MRT at Lengkong Tiga. It will be TOP Dec 2005 which is end of the year and you can view its showflat at a plot of land right behind Kembangan MRT. HTHS.

_orange_

limko, thanks. will check my pm later.

I think starville is wonderful. Don't worry. We hve decided not to take it because (1) my FH sold his flat so we need an urgent place to stay in. starville will not be ready until dec which is way too off for us. (2) nearby coffeeshops are quite far away. my FFIL will be staying with us so we need to be near coffeeshops to help him kill his boredom. (3) Its nxt to expressway (4) It is a huge development.

We have decided that a small development is more suitable for us.

Hi Mummy, Palm Haven is in Kovan area.

Between FH and I, we are considering the following projects because of its pros but its cons listed are also weighing us down. A very difficult decision. My gut feel is asking me to take Palm Haven though

(1) Moonstone Residences

Pros
====
- The MC is lower; about $220-250 a month
- It has a nice size balcony. Can play mahjong there
- It is near Orchard. Less than 10mins drive away
- Quiet environment
- Near coffeeshops
- 24 hours security at guardhouse.
- more than 100 carpark lots for 90+ units. Ample carpark lots outside development also.
- next to a river, my FH loves fishing
- Near school like St Anthony's School
- the masterbedroom has a full length window with huge planter which can be converted to be a mini balcony.

Cons
====
- Perpertual heavy traffic (Bendeemeer road going to upp serangoon)
- It is surrounded by old and dirty buildings. An old office building is looking directly at the pool
- The agent may not want to meet our asking price. $670k for a 3br is too expensive based on the existing going rate.
- the bus stop going towards orchard is 10 mins walk away

(2) Palm Haven

Pros
====
-Upmarket neighbourhood (Kovan community)
- Gives me a resort feel, everyday. Balinese style.
- Near coffeeshops, market, NTUC & Kovan MRT
- Only 34 units staying in this development. Very cosy feel.
- May be able to get a penthouse at a good price. Can use the roof terrace for private bbq or mahjong session.

Cons
====
- No security guard but there's a control in every unit which can unlock the front gate for guests
- Exactly 34 carpark lots available. Guests have to park in the neighbourhood.
- High MC-about $370 a month though Capitaland will subsidise for 5 years.

Any comments?

limko

Hi Orange, can't seem to PM you. I think you disable that function. I can tell you that it cost 600K plus. Hope you find a home soon! Too bad we can't be neighbours.

Wah, I can't help you decide on the apartment. It is a tough decision.

seahorse

Hi Orange,
the parc haven units are brand new. unit no is 14. its near whampoa market side. not blocked by calarasi either. $599k is 2nd floor but 7-8 floor quite affordable at $620k (before discount of 12%)...something like that. not too ex right? for unit no 13 price is a bit higher. but maintenance for this condo is expensive at $300 per month...

idono

I've disappeared for a while. Am taking my time sourcing for a extended family hse. So a 4+1 or 5 bedroom will be ideal for me.

Visited Goldhill Villa by CDL. Its the 1st time I visit semi-D development but I was a bit disappointed wif the layout. Makes the hse v. small. Is the Goldhill Condo nearby too?

The other development I hope to take a look is Glentrees, by Capitaland I think. Anyone been there?

qhl

hi liz/Orange,

Yup, there are loads of Indian 'expatriates' around the area - but this is only on Sundays. Other days, not that bad. CSR (City Square residences) is located in the fringe of Little India. Anyway, with security guards & fences, you are not likely to meet 'those' types in your facility.

Sorry to put a downer, but probably you should be more concerned with the mini red light district at Petain Road. CDL selling concept to of public park there - but I dun see how families will want to enjoy the park with 'ah peks' & 'IE' milling around waiting for their turn.

On the pros side, it's freehold - not many freehold condos in the area. That's reason euf for me.

My parents bought a unit there (will be close to me next time). $650K++ for a 1200sq ft is way cheap!! I have been staying in this area for a few years now, pretty immune to the sight. If I can stay in the hdb for so long, I guess they can adapt to a condo there lah.

FYI, the marketing agent told me that the reason why price so low is partly cos cdl want to replicate the success of the Sail@Marina - so purposely make price lower during preview launch. If response is good, they will increase the price. Apparently, this is what happened at the Sail.

_orange_

Hi seahorse, if you can get 7-8floor at 620k (before 12% discount), that’s very good! Can you introduce the agent to me ? I’m interested. But the maintenance is quite high. Hmm..

Hi QHL, out of curiousity, since you stay ard that area, are there a lot of Indians staying there? I guess not since the government impose a min quantity of each race in a single block. But I think when it comes to condo, it may be different. I dunno. Just my gut feel. If I’m an Indian expatriate, I may choose to live there because of its proximity to ‘home’ – Little India. I had a lot of Indian colleagues but most of them stay ard my office in Balestier. So far haven’t heard anyone staying in Kitchener road.

Ya. I heard a lot about the success stories of the Sail too. Heard that someone bought a $1 million 3 br sea facing, high floor unit and sold it 3 months later, reaping a profit of $100,000. cool huh.

In fact, blue horizon is also using the same gimmick now.

qhl

hi Orange,

It really dpd on your luck. I'm staying on the fringe of LI - so I dun get the expat type a lot. There are more Indian families here than I've seen elsewhere, but my row (hdb) is mainly chinese....opp is mainly Indian families.

But the type of Indians you get is different lor....it's more working class. Frankly, I dun think those higher class Indians will want to live here cos the expats seem quite different from Singaporeans lor.

Sorry, I'm not being racist - just how I see it. I hope I never offend anyone.

As for type of neighbours, Indians are not that scary lah. Chinese/others also got scary characters....this is definitely a person person thing.

Dun foresee myself moving out from this area cos I invested a lot of energy & money renovating my house. Once I close the door behind me, it's my piece of heaven - and I forget about the world outside :D

seahorse

hi orange. i went to the showflat but did not get any contact from agent. Markted by Knight frank tho...see if the showflat is open again this weekend?

_orange_

hi seahorse, you sure it's 620k before 12% discount?? for 3br on 7/8 floor? that's $545k per 3br unit!! too cheap to be real leh. i go check out this weekend.

very stressed now. we need to make a decision by this weekend. we're at our wit's end.

forest

hi Idono,
just read that u ve visited Goldenhill Villas?? Is the layout so bad? Actually, i've passed by the villas when I visited Goldenhill Park.. N the semi-d look so beautiful! Goldenhill Park is like diagonally opposite to Goldenhill Villas.. So, u probably would have passed by the place already...

hi orange,
wow.. u ve to make ur tough decision by this wkend!! actually, i do know of a knight frank agent.. u may wanna contact him when u visit parc haven this wkend? not sure if its ok to list his details here.. but since your pm function is not activated.. think i shall just leave it here so u can contact him... his name is kelvin 9841-3233...

btw, i know that he's currently handling the One Oxley Rise condo at orchard area... did any1 visit the showflat for this project?? its located opp to Le Meridien...

idono

Hi forest,

My opinion lar. The place is made to a long rectangular shape. So hv the feeling its "squeezed" at the sides. Otherwise, I dun get the feel tht its 3600sq ft. But the master bedroom is pretty spacious.

Anyway, I visited another nice little 45-unit development at pasir ris call bluwaters. Its really VERY nice. Just besides the sea. The penthse units will definitely attract me. 2700sq ft, freehold, only below 900k. UNFORTUNATELY, all the 6 penthses are the 1st to sell out. The unique feature is tht its on the 4th story, the 5th story is only a bedroom + open air roof top tht comes wif its own personal pool + jacuzzi!!! I can imagine skinny dipping..haha

forest

hi idono,
ohh... now i understand why... personally, i would prefer a squarish shape anytime!!! just makes the place seems much more spacious...

bluwaters?? who is the developer? wow... the roof top sounds really cool!!! kekeke... good for marriage man!!!

seahorse

oh no.. ORANGE, i think i typed too fast. it should be $620000 and another 2% off coz 620K must the price AFTER 10% discount... but do check it out anyway, i think its quite a good buy...i will consider it....

_orange_

seahorse, okay!! i'll go today

bluwaters penthouse sounds so cool! like living in Banyan Tree everyday.

*dreaming*

elisam

hello
can i join the conversation?

i would like some views from you guys on buying a condominium for personal stay where 60-70% of condo is tenanted to expats. is that an advantage or a disadvantage?

i would also like to get some views on what constitutes a good balance to all of you? how many % loan will you go for? would you guys stretch to 80% or what is the ideal balance or what will you all choose to do for the cash loan balance?

thks everyone.

volare

Hi eli,

If you have more cash, you can opt for loans from standard chartered, uob or HSBC where they have loans where the current accounts earn the same interest as your housing loan. In that case you still obtain the maximum loan amount 80% but put your cash into the current account.
This is to maintain better liquidity.

roooller

btw side track, anyone know wat's the project at amk central next to ntuc?

still under construction, no sign around to tell wat's the name of the project and the developer.

Im now staying in a five room flat in Bedok, intending to purchase a condo around East area. any good recommendation on which condo is good for grab??? am looking for freehold with three bedroom. Its juz me hubby & my lil' baby (6mths).

im wondering is there any Value for money Condos?? no hurry coz wants the Best Offer

shymz

could i join in? i've seen the appt at parc haven (unit 14) but is it a bit noisy? esp coz it's facing the road.

does anyone have any comments? i'm esp worried abt the noise (light sleeper)

also, does anyone have any comments abt carissa park in pasir ris? been there a few times, and like the development, but it's not new (~3 yrs)

would appreciate it very much if anyone can give any advice

volare

Shymz,
If you're worried about the noise, make sure you ask whether the developer installed windows that insulate against road traffic noise. Standard double glazed windows are not effective against road traffic noise.

shymz

hi volare,

thanks for the advice... i think the windows are the std type

does anyone have any comments about ris grandeur in pasir ris? i'm currently looking for FH projects, and it seems that the developments in pasir ris are more affordable (coz maybe further away)

leo41142

Hi Shymz,

I went to Ris Grandeur Showflat last sunday and was rather impressed with the addtional balcony concept. Price consider reasonable for FH, if I can sell my house then most likely I will commited to Ris Granduer.
Have you been there ?

shymz

hi Teresa,

nope, not yet... will be going down this weekend. it's TOP will only be end of next year right? Are you familiar with the pasir ris area? Is it quiet? I'm looking for someplace more tranquil coz I'm a very light sleeper (worried about noise of traffic in the middle of the night)

leo41142

Hi Shymz,

Understand from the agent that they can TOP this year but I doubt so. My guess should be around early next year. Previously I used to stay at Elias road,, that's where the Condo is located.
The traffic is not so bad as it is small road and depend on the unit, level and facing you choose. Do you have an email where we can communicate directly. Would like to hear your view after your viewing this weekend.
where are you staying now ?

shymz

hi Teresa,

you can email me at [email protected]

it'll be good if they can TOP this year, coz my AD is in Sept. I'm currently staying at Upp Thomson (yup, it's far) but I think the condos in the east are more affordable

tubby

I'm new to this thread. I'm looking around for private property for myself. Do you have any suggestions for me?

My considerations :
- Small unit - Studio or 2 bedroom, size <90sq ft cos of budget constraint.
- possibly <$450k as I'm looking for small unit.
- freehold or 99 tenure not a problem.
- Able to move in this year.
- Condo with less than 300 units (like the quietness).
- full condo facilities not a must but will be a bonus.
- Prefer to be new condo or resale unit <5 yrs old.
- Not necessarily to be near town.

Also, anyone has any views on The Trumps? I viewed it recently, quite like the small setup and convenience.

Btw, where you do search for new condos besides the newspapers?

chilipadi

Hi Tubby,
I am considering selling my pte apt as I'm looking to upgrade to a bigger place. My current placemeets abt 80% of your criteria. Can you PM at [email protected] and I can give you more details if you're interested?

haven

My 2 cents worth :- beside considering convenience, sea view, facilities, price, etc, you may want to add in a new factor -> good school, esp for those who have kids or consider to have kids.

highlow

i am considering to get a unit of MeraPrime at Tiong Bahru.

No one seems to have mentioned anything about it. Has anyone seen this development before?

can't help but want to bitch about FEO. their developments really SUCK big time! i shld know after viewing so many of their new/old developments and also bought/stayed in 2. the first one we bought as new development. the finishing was a nightmare and we demanded a major overhaul and rebuild of almost everything including floor tiles. as such, our moving in was delayed by a year and we made them compensate us for the full-year's maintenance fee. anyhow, it was no choice that we bought our 2nd FEO property 'cos we wanted to stay in a particular area (the entire stretch belongs to FEO! damn!). as we are on the top floor..we have to endure very bad leakage problems. when it rains heavily..my kitchen wall turns into a mini waterfall *no kidding*. my living/dining ceiling also have watermarks due to the leakage from the roof. the contractors have tried to fix the problems several times but it keeps coming back every 1-2years. if i were ever lucky enough to get another place..i swear that it'll not be a FEO! so for those of you out there who are still searching for your dream home....do scrutinize every inch if you are checking out a FEO property! anyone heard of a good FEO development please let us know??!!!

sweetbeng

Hillview Regency's interior not bad eh. Lakeholmz one also not bad. I went to both their showflats and actual units, didn't find any major defects. Can't comment on the long-term effects cos never stayed in any FEO developments b4.

personally..i would avoid hillview condos. reason being (1) over supply in that area - will affect subsequent resale value (2) heavy traffic - due to point no. 1. (3) location not great, especially if you don't drive. but if you really like that area and plan to stay long term..some of the condos like parc palais, merawoods have quite good quality finishing. CDL developments generally have better quality finishing.

if you are considering Blue Horizon or Caribbean..the finishing really suck! the latter especially not worth the price..'cos most of the seaview units have been snapped up and what's left are highly undesirable. moreover, it's not even a FH. location is quite good though - walking distance to harbourfront/MRT and short drive away from town.

hi tubby,

would you consider a unit at bt batok? i'm selling my place and it matches quite many of your requirements in terms of budget wise and it's bigger than what you are asking for! you can email me at [email protected] if you want to know more.

seahorse

anyone has condo for sale ? looking for District 12, 3 bedroom, 1200 sq ft and above, hopefully with pool. any suggestions ?

egamibao

Er Sweetbeng..I've been to Lakeholmz too and thought the place is lovely. But isn't it a CentrepointHome project, not FEO rite?

sweetbeng

ahger, yup, Lakeholmz is Centrepoint Homes. I keep thinking it's FEO becos they are near each other, and the design and workmanship for Lakeholmz and HR is similar.....

yoji

I would like to join in the conversation. I am planning to move back to Singapore from overseas(being staying overseas for a long time). Now debating and confuse with buying a condo or a HDB. Any advise from you gals why condo is a better choice for you all?

seahorse

Hi gal, depends on your location. If you are looking for town area, HDB flats can cost a lot too. If you want a larger home, then you might want a HDB. If you want to sell your hdb next time, thin about whether there will be buyers. There are a lot of pros and cons of HDB or pte. FH thinks that property market is low now so we should strive for pte. HDB at the area we are looking for is not very cheap and not very new....so makes more sense to buy pte, altho it may be smaller but comes with facilities.

seahorse

pte = private. sorry for the short form. Resale for HDB is confined by HDB valuation...probably will not lose too much money or may not even lose. (if anyone else thinks otherwise, do let me know...)..for pte property, if you buy it high like in year 2000, and still paying off your loan and you choose to sell now, in 2005, you might make a loss coz prices have fallen drastically. Remember to check out HDB past transaction prices and URA website for pte property prices.

yoji

Hi seahorse,
Thanks for your information.
Can I just clarify, when you mentioned pte - are you still referring to private condo or it does include private landed property?

I will also check out HDB past transcaction prices. Thanks.

However, HDB and CONDO maintenace fees seems to be a great differences as well huh in Singapore.

seahorse

yup. hdb conservancy charges are much less than Condo but if you do not mind no facilities and HDB restrictions, actually HDB is quite a good buy. Location is important too..New HDB flats are smaller and are further than town areas.If you buy resale, it might be quite expensive for e.g town areas like Whampoa where i am looking at, vs a private condo which is free hold in the same area. Private seems like a better deal. many things to think about before you commit.

yoji

Hi Seahorse,
WOW you mean a resale can be quite the same to a condo which is freehold in the same area... If so, why get a HDB if you really like that area right?

seahorse

not really the same but not really worth it. Old flats that i saw cost me $380k and they are 15-20 years old with a lease of 99 years, Condo i saw which is free hold and 10 year plus is $480k. There are other factors to consider but freehold seems to be more worth it. Unless you choose the newer estates like Sengkang or Sembawang i think the HDB costs $200k-$300k plus for 5 room.

yoji

Hi seahorse,
Thanks for your information. I will re-consider again.
I am thinking of either getting a CONDO or HDB in the east area like Bedok area myself.

seahorse

many options. 99, free hold, condo HDB resale or new etc. Have to list down your options and the maximum price you want to spend. Also go by feeling... have not found what i want yet!