krex

hi littlemay,

i can vaguely remember a few:
- Brown Bear Search
- ATV Expedition
- Sled Dog Adventure
- Totem Tour at Ketchican
- Rafting / Float Trip
- Whale Watching at Juneau (we booked this when we docked as it was a last min decision)

land tour was booked with celebrity so that there's continuity. It may be more ex but the coach and train they use is really first class. accommodation was superb also!!

niuniu

Hi littlemay,

I do still login once in while. If you need info, can email me at [email protected]. I'm sure beary has enjoyed herself very much. I hope I have been of help to her.

Hey beary, care to share some of your experience? Btw, how much did you spend? Hope it is within budget.

1. We normally hang around the sun deck to admire the glacier views, eat while trying to catch whales as there are commentaries by the crew on board to give info. If grew tired trying to catch the whales, then dozed off. Hee!:p We also attended the various programs organised by the cruise director and his team. It was fun because the cruise director happens to be a Filipino. & us being 1 of the 6 chinese families/couples on board the ship of about 2,000 people, we naturally became the centre of attention. Of course we also did our part as Singaporeans to sell our country/culture and encouraged the audience to visit this little red dot. We are still in email contact with 2 other families (1 is a chinese family migrated to texas and another a retired couple from NY). Yes, basically what trex has shared. She is also right to say we do not have much time as day time is normally spent on tour excursions.

2. There are travel agents in SIN offering just cruise only and land tours only. As for domestic air-tixs, not that I know of. U can surf those canadian/US websites which I'm sure they have some good offers. We got ours through YVR airport website and we took Air Canada from Calgary to YVR.

3. Sorry dear, I extended at YVR so can't help much. But I can see quite a number of forumers extend at ANC to Denali on their own, ie. self-drive and stay B&B. Sure that can save quite a bit.

4. T-shirt and jeans are ok on board, except fine-dining. Shirt and pants for your hubby should be ok. Bring along a tie for formal nights. As for you, mid-length dress lah. Maybe a shawl and a brooch will do the trick. Those ladies at the fine-dining restuarants really dress up to their nines. I brought a gown.

So when are you planning to go for this cruise?

Hi NiuNiu,

Good to see you here! =) yup, u did help me a lot with ur advice so thanx again... the whole cruise experience was amazing. in total I spent about 15k for the trip, everything inclusive. Your advice on the budget was really accurate!

1. Same like NiuNiu n krex, we spent the days onboard lazing around the pool, eating, attending talks n shows, n shopping at the duty free shops. Oh and buying photos! Spent a fortune buying those photos taken by the ship's photographers everyday, the price is really a rip-off. But no choice, had to buy coz we wanted to remember the trip n the pics they took was really nice. And of course goin on excursions when the ship docked. Thumbs-up for the excursions. Celebrity really did a good job.

2. I used krisflyer miles too to redeem the SIN-YVR tickets. Bought the cruise package online from a Canadian travel agent coz it's a bit cheaper than buying from the cruise rep here n the land transfer from the YVR Airporter website.

3. I also extended at YVR and Victoria, but i heard the cruisetour by Celebrity is really good.

4. I brought gowns too for the formal nights. In total we had 2 formal nights and on both nights, everybody really dress up! I wore a knee length cocktail dress on the 1st formal night and felt a little underdressed. Hubby wore a suit n tie on both nights. basically we just followed the dress code they provided in the daily bulletin, i.e. casual, semi formal and formal.

Talking about this makes me itch to go back to Alaska!! sigh... We didn't have the chance to go bear watching due to the weather. so sad...

oohlahlah

Hi Niu Niu and Beary,
Great to have you all back! From the way you two describe the trip, I'm sure it was definitely a memorable experience. Actually I really do want to go on the Alaska cruise. Though its only Feb now, reading what all the forumers here wrote on the web, realy makes me want to go.
I would like to be able to go in July, but its really dependant on my hubby's work schedule, so we might not end up going to Alaska after all...

Thanks so much for all your info! If I really do go, I will definitely go with Celebrity Cruise and probably extend with a 4D3N canadian rockies tour (changed my mind about anchorage).
As for the gown... hee hee....I don't think I can fit into my evening gown now! I've put on weight since my wedding more than a year ago. :p
Hope to hear more stories from you and maybe can share with me some photos too!

oohlahlah

Hi Beary, Niu Niu and Krex,

I have one other question... (pardon me...). Actually its from my husband.
You mean there are designated Formal nights and everyone has to dressed up formally? Are there other restaurants we can eat at other than the fine dining restaurants or do everyone on the ship has to eat at the fine restaurants and dressed up formally on those nights?
And do we get to sit at our own table with just to 2 of us or do we have to mingle around? We prefer to have our own time alone.

Sorry have never been on a cruise other than Virgo and I remembered that there are several restaurants that we can eat at. And even at the restaurants, we can even wear shorts and tees in.

Hi littlemay,

July and August is a good time to go to Alaska. I sure hope you n hubby will be able to go
I posted some of the Alaska photos in my wedding website at www.jimmyvania.com if you're interested.

There are several restaurants onboard where you can have your dinner at. The main dining room is where they serve fine-dining type of food and where you will need to dress following the daily dress code. But on days when you don't feel like dressing up, you can always eat at the buffet restaurant, poolside restaurant, etc, where there's relatively no dress code.

You will be assigned fixed seats and a server in the main dining room for the whole duration of the cruise. Most of the tables are large and meant to be shared with other people. Like you, I also prefer to be alone..hee..so in my reservation I indicated my request for a table of 2 since we're on honeymoon and we got it. They even prepared a delicious cake for us which was served on the 1st formal nights. Several of the servers and the maitre'd came to our table with the cake and sang "Happy Honeymoon". A very nice gesture I think..

oohlahlah

Hi Beary,
Thanks for sharing your photos! Wah...you even have your own wedding website...very nicely done.

I remember seeing your wedding photo posted on this website before.
Any trips planned for this year?

Hi littlemay,

Thanx
ur too kind.. nope, haven't planned any trips for this year. Gotta save some $$$ first :p

oohlahlah

Ya, the alaska cruise surely cost a bomb! :p
If I finally book my trip, I will find out more details from you gals. Its really dependant on my husband's schedule.
May to June, I will go West Coast USA or Spain.
July to Aug, I will go to Alaska.
Aug to Oct, West Coast USA or Spain.
Nov/Dec, Maldives...

krex

little, for those tours from the cruise, better to book in advance as they get booked out quite fast. as most of them are quite exclusive to celebrity and due to time constraint, you'd prob want to book and make sure u get the tour since u dun get much time on land.

but for juneau, we felt that there were many tour operators doing dolphin/whale watch, so we just walked around and went with the cheapest. we also had extra time on land that day too.

honey0236

HEY GUYS.
Have you guys seen the newspapers?
There's a travel agency having a promotion right now on SilverSea cruises to alaska!!
One for One promotion!

i have booked with them before for my travel, and i am pretty excited bout this promotion. heard its till sept..
I think i will give them a call later to enquire.

anyone who wants their contact, email me at [email protected].
that company is called Worldwide Honey Tours by the way.

tiramisu91

tis thread has been stop for a while. Just wondering any tips/advice for trip to alaska? me planning my HM for next august. thanks

kitty_ng

Hi, anyone can recommend any agencies for alaska tour? Not gg for HM as i already booked my Swiss trip for end of this yr. I'm looking at next yr too

mooncloud

hi... i am also interested in gg to alaska for my HM.. seems like most of the pple in this thread dun come in anymore... Did u do any research? I am considering between celebrity and royal carribean. Not sure abt princess...

sleepyskies

Hi Christie,

I went to Alaska in 04 with my family and we took the royal carribean cruise (it was a 7-day cruise in summer, with stopovers at 3 ports of call). The docking is at Vancouver. A totally thumbs-up experience with them..good food, service and rooms!
Had so much fun that I intend to go back again for my honeymoon (maybe a different part of alaska now). Hehe.

Not too sure about other cruise providers as it was my mom who single-handedly organized the entire holiday. But she did mentioned that we (family of 4pax) had a good deal coz we signed up separately for their local tours after the alaska cruise (spent ard 2wks in vancouver after the cruise). The local tours includes 4/5day trip to Canadian rockies (which you can visit after the cruise since you are there already), day trip to Seattle etc. These separate local tours are supposedly so much cheaper than the packages from SG (my mom chose to forgo close to 2k deposit here and to book with their local tours)..the food & accommodation provided on the local tours were good too. Value for money! We also had time to do some local sightseeing on our own.

Hope this helps abit..gd luck with planning for your honeymoon!

mooncloud

Oooo... that sounds good. I was thinking of going with their cruisetours though. Becoz i am pretty lazy to arrange the separate local tours. Did your mum do the arrangement there or did she book everything back in singapore? Its kind of a dilemma for me now because i'm torn between saving money (i think going on the cruisetour will definitely cost more)and saving the hassle (coz its a honeymoon, i dun really want to stress over trip details. Esp after the wedding prep).

Any suggestions? I haf been looking around at websites but find it so stressful to do everything individually. That's y i considered the cruisetour. And any idea when is a good time to book for the cruises for 2010? I am juz worried after i book there will be discounts. Coz cruises drop in price nearer the date but plane tickets increase in price.

Also, any idea if a balcony room is worthwhile? My FH will probably be catching up on his sleep there. So i figured i can slack in the balcony while he snooze. But well... the price is wow... so not sure wat is best.

Sorry to ask so many qns. Hope someone can help. Thanks!

sleepyskies

I am not too sure what you mean by the cruisetours coz the cruise we went on was a 7-day cruise and at each port of call (where the ship docks and the guests can disembark to explore the place), there are different activities/tours you can signed up for. You will get to choose and sign up for the activities/tours on the cruise before it docks at each destination. Costs of the activities/tours shld be included but sometimes you will have to top-up.

The local tours I mentioned happened after the cruisetour..coz we didnt want to go all the way just for the alaska cruise so we spent 2wks in vancouver after finishing the cruise. Since we are there, might as well take the opportunity to visit more places in Canada. All in all, it was a ~3wks holiday for us.
As for the arrangements, my mom settled everything from singapore. She liaised with the other travel agency directly and settled all the local tours arrangements before we went over.

Cant advise you on when to book the cruise for 2010 though. You might want to wait for Natas fair?

Our rooms onboard the cruise were not the balcony view type..but we opted for the ones with a window (which are pretty ex too). I think the window-room is good enough. We went in Summer (ard Jun, if rem correctly) and it was freezing! Weather towards the last part of the cruise was warmer but quite erratic still. The wind is very strong so I doubt you can slack in the balcony. Hehe. Anyway, if you really want to slack while your hubs catches up on his sleep, you can always find another spot in the ship and settle down with a good book. That was what me and my sis did..oh, and certain areas provide free flow of food e.g. pizza so you wont go hungry!
If you want to enjoy the cold sea breeze and views, there are plenty of places onboard to slack..dont have to pay for the balcony which is ex and you probably wont stay long out there too. But then again..you might want to enjoy the sea breeze and views in the privacy of your room. Do consider the cost before deciding! Just my 2cents.. Oh, I have some photos of the trip in my Facebook, do let me know if you are interested to view them.

mooncloud

Ooo... i am very interested to view them. U want to add me? [email protected]... hmmm... their cruisetours include a 6 day tour section (i thinking of doing inland alaska to denali and fairbanks etc) and another 7 night cruise. Plan to cover alaska this trip and keep vancouver for another time. Coz my hubby cannot take so much leave.

Hmmm... strong wind ah? Then i will think abt it again. Coz i will gg around mid may to early july. I wanted the privacy actually. My hubby dun bother much. But yah.. very ex. Think can save 1-2k if i don't take the balcony.

Do they have it on NATAS? i was thinking of gg to their individual representive office in singapore to compare between prices. Not sure to book thru local travel agent or thru them direct.

Anyway, really thanks for ur help. The thread has been so quiet for a long time. Not been able to understand much abt alaska. Just planning blindly. So really appreciate ur help.

sleepyskies

Have added you on facebook, feel free to browse my pics (didnt upload all though).

For the areas we went to in Alaska (Junea, Ketchikan..), it was very windy along the course. But if you are going to a different area, it might not be so windy. Perhaps can check with the travel agent?
While onboard, we avoided staying out too much as it was really cold! Just spend some time taking pics on the 1st day and then we ran for shelter. hehe. But like I said, the weather turned warmer towards the end..didnt even need a jacket at the last port! :p

If you really like the privacy and since it sounds like you will be spending quite a fair bit of time onboard, you might want to just splurge on the balcony. Its a once-in-a-lifetime kind of thing I guess. Hehe. My mom was also considering getting rooms with balcony but we decided against it since we have 2 rms in total..will rack up the costs. :p Do check out the weather and see if its worthwhile to get the balcony!

Oops..not sure if Natas have it. Was just a suggestion off my mind.. sorry. But no harm checking out the travel fairs I guess. My mom is busy atm..will check with her if she still rem how we booked the cruise back then. Hehe.

No problem gal..just hope my limited infor will be of some help to you.

mooncloud

hihi... i've added u! u got so beautiful photos!!! now make me so tempted to go vancouver. But hubby say we at most can only go there abt 6 days. Say no pt. Sigh..

Yup.. i predict we will be spending a bit of time onboard. Coz we are the lazy kind of couple. I expect a lot of time in the room. We even plan to call in breakfast to the room most of the time. So still thinking abt the balcony. Hmm.. probably really got to check out on the weather. Hopefully it turns warmer by the time we are there.

i think the ports of call for alaska shld be the same as yours.. Now juz so tempted by ur photos. Cant't wait for next yr to come. Think i shall heed ur advice and take a look at the travel fairs. Who noes i might pick up a good deal. Any info at all is of great help. At least i can consider the options available. Dun want to spend so much then later regret missing out on stuff... Like wat u say.. once in a lifetime... Dun think i got the luxury to go back there anytime soon. By then i think the glaciers disappearing already. haha...

sleepyskies

Hey, glad you like the photos.
Ahh..6 days to spare for Vancouver? Seems rather tight but I supposed you can still explore ard..like I said, since you are there already might as well spend more time.

Hehe. I am also a lazy person..which explains why I spend a large amt of time sleeping in my room and sitting ard in their many lounges reading my book. :p

Yep..do check out the travel fairs and their offers. Maybe they will have special promotions..esp in times like this. hehe. I wanted to check with my mom on the local tours she signed up for..but she went HK for the wkend.
Hopefully she still rems the travel agency and have their contact. If so, you can try liaising with them and see what local tours they offer that can fit into your 6 free days (you might be able to go a few places in the 6days).

mooncloud

Oooo.. if she still has them tat will be great! Wow.. ur mum is quite happening ya? Seems like she enjoys travelling a lot. My mum dun even bother to plan anything. Haha...

Yah.. we prob will only be spending abt 2 weeks in total for the honeymoon. Since 7 will be for the cruise, only left with abt 6-7 for the land tour portion. I doubt my hubby can get the leave. Have to fit into his work schedule. Mine shld most likely be able to arrange. Which is y we cannot decide whether shld we just explore more of alaska this time round and leave vancouver for later... the prob is.. dunno when else can we visit vancouver. Got to be years later i think. Sigh...

Yupyup... i think i will also spend a lot of time lazing abt. We decided to haf a lazy honeymoon. To recover frm all the wedding stress. Going there to get back our rest and relax.

How abt you? You were mentioning that you plan to go back to alaska for ur honeymoon. Any plans?

kriskris

hi, my AD is in 2010 and Alaska is 1 of the places considered for my honeymoon. Cannot realli get much info on Alaska since its a less common travel destination?

Can add me to facebook to view the pics? addy is [email protected]

thks a lot

sleepyskies

Christie - So sorry for my late reply!! Has been busy at work all wk..
Havent managed to get the contact from my mom..so sorry, will keep you posted I promise.
Oh yah, my mom is a travel fanatic..now that my elder sis and I are both working, she travels quite a bit with my dad and their yoga frens every yr. I think her liking for travel has rubbed off on me and my sis. hehe. And she's very good at planning...so naturally, we left it all to her. haha!

My AD is in 2010, either July/Nov..so honeymoon will probably be in 2011 coz I dont think me and bf want to go Alaska during yr end. We will probably go Japan (redeem our mileage too) for a short trip after our AD..then go for 'proper' honeymoon in 2011. Still long way to go.. :p

Hmmm. If you are thinking of exploring either Alaska or Vancouver with the remaining 6/7 days, I wld suggest Alaska since you are there already. Hehe. Vancouver seems a more likely travel destination in yrs to come..can go back for 2nd/3rd honeymoon. But Alaska...will probably be too ex to go back again. Just my opinion..if you cant see Vancouver in the near future too, then just go Alaska + Vancouver together.

Kristine - Sorry, I cldnt add you on facebook.. they cldnt seem to find your email add. Maybe you can add me instead '[email protected]'

mooncloud

Hihi! No worries abt getting the contact. No rush.. i got like 9 mths to wait for it.. Work more impt. I understand when work busy seriously got no time for others. Nowadaes i also manage to log in for a while near midnite man. While waiting for hair to dry..

Wah.. so nice man.. can go for 2 trips. How i wish i can also... but ya.. year end too cold for alaska. I shifted my AD earlier juz so i can go alaska. Wahaha... Originally wanted the AD in dec 2010.

Hmmm... think probably in tat case i will go with alaska then. Then next time i will juz focus on conquering other places. Haha... Feel more motivated to work when i daydream abt my holidays...

poseidon_gal

i am thinking of an alsaka trip in early or mid 2010..my AD in oct 09..but dont think i want to go alsaka in yr end... sleepyskies..if your mum still have the contacts..can PM me as well??? thanks alot..

sleepyskies

Hi Christie, so sorry for the delayed reply!! I have got the contact (for Vancouver local tours) from my mom.....finally. hehe. But couldnt send you a PM. Mind leaving your email add instead?
But since you are focusing on Alaska this time round, maybe you can keep the contact for when you visit Vancouver the next time (unless you managed to convince your hubs to take more leave for this trip)!

Poseidon gal - I have dropped you a PM. Hope it helps!

mooncloud

sleepyskies: hihi... my email add is [email protected]. Sorry.. these days been very busy as well... so seldom come on the forum. Thanks so much for ur help! Currently both of us so busy no time to think abt much. Tentative alaska.. but who noes maybe i will end up changing my mind again. haha.. fickle minded. Anyway, saw on facebook that u settled ur venue?

poseidon gal: i'm also gg mid 2010. Prob in mid to end june.

sleepyskies

Hi christie, I have dropped you an email!
No worries, I have been busy myself too..glad its finally the wkend! Time for a breather...and for you too!
Which other destinations are you looking at anyway? Its always good to talk abt wedding and honeymoon stuff to destress and relax. hehe. :p

mooncloud

Hi! I also dropped u an email. haha... Yah, finally got more time to rest and enjoy during the weekend... I am also looking at maldives actually. But tat cost a bomb as well... So far, only dreaming of alaska (either with or without vancouver) and maldives. 2 totally different places. haha....

chandra

Hi Sleepskies, Thanks for your great info on the alaska cruise..would u mind to add me in fb ([email protected])? i'm very interested to see ur pics because me n my hubby considering to go to alaska for HM as well. thanks a lot...

sleepyskies

Hi Chandra, so sorry for my late reply..has been busy with work so didnt check back here for the longest time. hehe. I have added you on facebook..feel free to view my pics.

chandra

Hi Sleepskies, thanks for adding me...I saw ur pics already...wow, the view is really amazing..really hope can have the chance to go there for our honeymoon

sleepyskies

Most welcome Chandra..glad you like the pics. Let us know if you are gg Alaska for your honeymoon.All the best to your honeymoon planning!!

poseidon_gal

went to natas fair and was told that the earliest time to go alasaka during 2010 is may~ early june..
Even by then need to go there via plane coz ice not yet melt finish =p

Think i will go most prob in late june/early july..hopefully can see all the wild animals..

xuanxuan

I just came back from Alaska and Canada last week.

Alaska is truly amazing, esp so if you like wildlife and pristine wilderness.

I had my 7 day cruise to Alaska on Holland America Line, roundtrip Vancouver. Visited ports of Ketchikan, Juneau and Skagway. Cruised Inside Passage, College Fjord and Tracy Arm.

Back in Vancouver, we embark on a tour to Canadian Rockies for 5 days. On the last day, we left the tour group and went North instead of returning to Vancouver.

Travelled by Greyhound from Golden to Fort McMurray in Alberta to see the Northern lights.

Cruises to Alaska is only from May to September and for Northern lights viewing, its usually September to March.

Alaska is a nice place. You'll love it.

little_bride

hi sleepyskies, can i add in FB to view ur fotos?

hi little ant, i wan to c northern lights! izzit everyday can c or by luck? can tell me more details on how to go?
but then, to go for cruise n to c northern lights together, onli can be done in sept?
u got any pics to share? esp the northern lights. hee :p

girls, izzit suitable to bring a 3,4 yr toddler for alaska? wonders which mth less cold?

idono

northern lights only can be seen in total darkness...hence if u wanna catch it, not possible during may-aug period as night time is almost non-existent. best time to catch it is end of yr.

and yes, luck plays a part. I've seen it a few times while my frens missed it totally.

but do note that easiest way to view it is total darkness...including ur surrounding light. sometimes northern light is very faint, so 1st timers might not know what it is. i expect if u're on a ship, the ship captain will inform you and switch off all the ship's external lights.

idono

oops, didnt notice ur post. u really need to go in the coldest mth to increase ur chance of seeing the northern lights.

my frens hv a "theory", they say usually on very clear sky night which is "cripsy cold" (ie extremely cold), u'll see the northern lights. not sure how true, but clear sky is a must. as for coldness, it is VERY COLD. full "armor", most ppl can only tahan 20min out there before they retreat indoors.

but try not to hv ur expectations too high. it will nvr look like what u see in photos. those photos are taken with exposures of 30sec and abv usually, so wht is dim & faint appears bright in photos.

most of northern lights i saw are v. faint, most 1st timers wont even notice it. out of the 4 times, only once, after standing 2hrs in the cold, with my toe numb did the lights decide to perform for me for 15minutes.... wonderous experience tho!

poseidon_gal

SQ does not fly to vancouver anymore. The nearest is san francisco.. Now i need to think of a way to get from san fran to vancouver to start my cruise..and if i intend to extend my trip to include land tour at anchorage then i need to think of a way to get from anchorage to san francisco...

sigh... very troublesome ..flying to there itself will take me more than 24 hrs liao..

mooncloud

not sure if anyone is still planning their alaskan trip.. juz to keep the thread going.. i am planning to book my trip for this june.. Prob going for a cruisetour with celebrity. Doing a 6 nites land tour frm fairbanks to anchorage then followed by the 7 day cruise ending with a city tour of vancouver... Now waiting for NATAS and crossing my fingers for a good promo...