Alaska Cruise

niuniu

Hi all, anyone been on a cruise in Alaska? Care to share? I'll be going there next month for my honeymoon..

sheron

i have been to Anchorage. it's a land tour thingy. u will have a beautiful time there coz the scenery is superb!
which cruse line?

i am planning a mediterrean (dun know how to spell) cruise for next yr. pls share with me your cruise line and the price. tkzzz

niuniu

are the stuff cheap over there? what u mean by tax-free? no GST/VAT thing? I'm going with Celebrity Cruise Line. They were having a promo last month & I manage to get it at S$2550 excluding taxes for 7-night cruise in Alaska from Seward to Vancouver on China Airlines. I think it's a very good deal. But taxes (sea & air) will costs another S$500-600.
I'll be extending another week at vancouver. Will explore canadian rockies also. U been there?

Care to share more of your land tour thing? I've look thru the shore excursions & omg! they are damn expensive leh. Think those shore excursions will coz us another $1-2k man! I hope to try their alaskan crab & salmon also. Heard it's really good.

We've set aside S$10k for this trip but looks like it's going to burst. Our 1st round of costs tracking is already almost $12k.
kao_cry.gif
How much did u spend on your last trip?

I'm planning to do an Alaska cruise for my honeymoon this coming August and I need suggestions/recommendations on which cruise line is better.. So far I'm considering between Celebrity and Royal Caribbean. But I heard there are still some other cruise lines that do Alaska cruise like Princess, Carnival and Holland America. Any comments are welcomed! Thanks =)

Hi NiuNiu,

Thanks for the comment! =) I've read ur earlier postings.. alaska cruise sure is expensive ya..after considering the taxes, gratuities, and spendings on board and excursions.. Which travel agent did u use? U were on summit rite? how's the food and the cabin? I heard that celebrity is mostly for retirees..wat do u think?

If i may ask, what made u choose celebrity? so far i've narrowed my choices to Royal caribbean, celebrity and Princess... So sorry for asking so many questions =P hope u dun mind...Thanks!

Oya, i noticed that ur email is niuniu2210. is ur bday on 22 Oct? =P if it is,then we haf the same bday...hee...

dreamdoll

hi NiuNiu,

Can I ask did you book ur Alaska honeymoon through a travel agency in S'pore or did you book online on your own? If you booked through a travel agency in Spore, which agency did you book it with? And actually, how much did you pay for your air tix and cruise trip?

niuniu

Hi Beary & dreamdoll,

You are right, my birthday is 22 Oct. So is you. So coincidence. Hee! Yup, we were with Celebrity Summit. We got the same advice as well that Royal Caribbean is for young adults/families whereas Celebrity more for retirees coz more luxurious. As for Princess, it's the same as Royal Caribbean.

We prefer Celebrity coz we want less noise from kids especially since retirees seldom bring kids along. Moreover, Celebrity only can accommodate 1950 passengers compared to 2500 for Royal Caribbean. That means less crowded, less noisy. But Celebrity is more expensive so we were hesitating whether to spend another few hundreds. Then Celebrity got a promo for last min cruisers so we were lucky enough to go with our preferred choice at a cheaper rate. We took inside cabin which is slightly bigger than Star Cruise Virgo. Food is fantastic. Service is superb, so good that we gave extra gratuities than the recommended amount.

Yup, we want a hassle-free honeymoon so we pay a local agent to arrange everything for us, the cruise, the airfare, the hotel extension in canada, etc... So we paid a premium. Heard from some forum gals that they do all the arrangement a-la-carte themselves & managed to save about S$1k+. We booked with Dynasty Travel. The airfare & the cruise is bundled as a package. We paid S$2550 per pax after S$900 discount excluding taxes. Taxes (air + sea) amounts to almost S$1k for both of us. Just to let you know, we spent S$15k in all, incl shore excursions, souvenirs & all the expenses + tour in vancouver/canadian rockies.

dreamdoll

NiuNiu,

Celebrity sounds good!
Do you know how did the other forum gals manage to book a-la-carte?

Hmm, can I check how you managed to get S$900 discount?

Thinking of planning a cruise also...

Hi NiuNiu,

such a coincidence that we share the same bday =P wow u spent a lot on the cruise!! I'm starting to think if it is worth it to spend that much on honeymoon =(

I got the info and pricing from Jetabout travel. wondering if dynasy is any cheaper...hmmm... coz the pricing that I get from Jetabout is all above 3k for a 7 nite cruise on summit/royal caribbean including airfares on china airlines. For the canadian rockies tour, did u take the tour from celebrity as well? how was it? I'm thinking of doing the same tour also, might as well rite since I dun think i'll be going back to canada again just for holidays...

niuniu

Hi dreamdoll, what I know from the other forum gals is that they booked the cruise with those US-based online cruise agents as they sometimes have discounts, then some buy air tickets online, some redeem their air mileage points, they stay in bed & breakfast rooms in anchorage whereas we stayed in 3* hotel near the convention centre where the coach pick us up to the port (journey about 4-5hrs), they will arrange their own coach/train transfer to the port. As for extension in vancouver, they stay in lodge/bed & breakfast type whereas we stayed in 3*/4* hotels downtown, they self-drive to the canadian rockies whereas we booked a tour (coach to Rockies & fly back to vancouver via domestic flight) with a reputable tour co in canada. By doing all those, they saved almost S$2k for 2 paxs. Since it's a honeymoon, we want it hassle-free. So gotta pay a bit more lor. But I admit we have paid too big a premium to the canadian tour co.

The discount of S$900 per pax is given by Celebrity Cruises for last min booking worldwide. So the local agent passed this saving to us. We booked on 25Jun for our trip on 5Aug. You can try this method as well but I'm not sure if there will be such promo again.

Hi Beary, if you have the budget, just go for it. It's worth the trip tho it's really expensive. If u want to save a bit, can go during beginning or end of the season, which is end May, Jun & Sep coz it will be a few hundreds cheaper. We were initally comtemplating this as well but hubby advised since going, must go during the main season (Jul & Aug) coz weather is the best & also the best opportunity to spot marine wildlife, since that few hundreds is only a fraction of the total costs. U are right. My hubby said try to cover as many places as possible within our means coz won't know if will ever visit these places again in this life. Just to let u know our exps again for your reference. Cruise + Airfare on CI package + air/sea taxes is S$6.5k. Shore excursions + gratuities + laundry ( gowns & suits for formal nites) is US$1.3k. Souvenirs about US$400. In fact we spent about S$10.5k. The rest of the S$5k we spent in vancouver. U can refer to the link below for further reference.

http://www.femalebridesonline.com/forums/showthread.php?s=20624d938f0d860aec47e719e0e3a6c6&threadid=10384&perpage=15&pagenumber=3

Think all the agents selling the cruise package charged the same price lah. We went with Dynasty coz I've used their service b4 for my trip to Australia & they have done a good job. This time is a big expenditure so we rather go with a local agent which is proven lor. They have been very good, hassle-free in the whole process.

Hi Niuniu,

May i ask if u took the excursions from Celebrity or with local Alaska tour companies? I was browsing thru celebrity's website and the pricing for the excursions are pretty exp, like a few hundred US$ for each excursions =( Did u manage to spot plenty of marine wildlife?

niuniu

Beary, we took shore excursions directly with Celebrity. Tho it's much more expensive, we save a lot of hassle. At least the Celebrity staff will personally lead us to the place to start the excursion tour. Service is very good. They are very attentive to your needs & very personalised too tho we can be the only couple for that tour.

We were quite lucky to spot ocras while we were suppposed to be looking for humpbacks. Of coz we also spotted a few humpbacks but they were alone each time whereas the ocras were in a group. from the live commentaries from the local tour guides, it's 2 females (probably the mothers) with 3 baby ocras. Was told that ocras seldom appear near Alaska area, more to Victoria area. So if u are extending at vancouver & if time permits, should sign up for an excursion tour.

Hi NiuNiu,

Was wondering what clothes to pack for the cruise.. Is it very cold there? is winter wear necessary? how about for formal nights? Also, i read that celebrity does not allow jeans on board. My FH is a bit concerned coz he practically lives in jeans =P Thanks!

niuniu

Hey Beary, depending on when you go. The height of summer is mid Jul till early Aug where daylight is almost 20hrs & temp abt 19 degC. At night which is only abt 4hrs, will be abt 11 degC. Very comfy but still bring your cold wear along coz tho there can be sun, the winds are icy, probably blowing in from the glaciers. I was in a long-sleeve shirt & jeans with a trench coat, gloves & scarf when we went to the Mendenhall Glacier. Tho it was sunny & we feel hot, when the winds come, woooooow! It's icy cold!
kao_dizzy.gif

The formal nights are optional tho I recommend u to attend, for the experience. We were wearing jeans all the time on board the ship except during swimming & formal nights. We brought gowns & suits, which explains why we got laundry costs, to dry-clean & press b4 the dinner. But they do hv dress codes for certain areas eg. casino & theatre shows. So I suggest u bring some dresses & your hubby bring some casual pants like chinos. For men, polo Ts will be good. Just like my hubby. Keep your shorts & round-neck Ts for the sun deck.

Hi NiuNiu,

Thanks! =) I'm goin on 30 July. Am thinking of extending my stay at vancouver, maybe go to the rockies. Which tour company did u use in canada?

Hi NiuNiu,

Thanks so much for the info! =) u've been a great help... hope u don't mind if I ask u more questions everynow and then =P now still trying to finalize the cruise and plan the Canada itinerary..

Hi NiuNiu,

I hope ur still visiting this thread
Wanted to ask whether u went on the cruise only or the cruisetour. Tempted to add a 3N or 4N landtour before or after the cruise to denali/fairbank/anchorage and was told that for cruisetour, Princess is the best coz they have their own lodge and railcars.. Celebrity also have cruisetours and the price is abt the same as princess..confuse as to which to take...

Hi NiuNiu,

I hope ur still visiting this thread
Wanted to ask whether u went on the cruise only or the cruisetour. Tempted to add a 3N or 4N landtour before or after the cruise to denali/fairbank/anchorage and was told that for cruisetour, Princess is the best coz they have their own lodge and railcars.. Celebrity also have cruisetours and the price is abt the same as princess..confuse as to which to take...

niuniu

Hi Beary, we didn't take up the cruisetour to Denali/Fairbanks. We were contemplating where we should extend due to our limited leave days. Then we decided to extend to the Rockies. That's why we cruised southbound. But now kind of regret didn't extend to Denali coz during our cruise, we met many people on board who told us about their wonderful experience at Denali. This elderly couple, in their 70s, told us they enjoyed the rafting so much. Wow! So if you have the time & budget, it's worth to extend to Denali. I know Carnival does both pre & post cruisetours to Denali/Fairbanks & Rockies. If I didn't remember wrongly, the total package for both extensions comes up to about S$5k+ excluding all the taxes, fees, etc. For Celebrity, not that I know of that they do both pre & post, only pre OR post. As for Princess, I can't help much info as I didn't do much research then. Apologies. But I know Princess is more established so I'm not surprised they might have more resources. Celebrity is a new company, about few years in the market. Their older sister is Royal Carribean.

Hi NiuNiu,

Thanks for replying
I don't really wanna go with Carnival coz they're more kids-oriented. Been doin some research and Celebrity always comes up the best in all the ships reviews. But for cruisetour accomodation and itinerary, Princess is definitely the best. So confused
I'm very inclined to go with Celebrity coz u've been on it and have good experience, so at least i know somebody with real exp
The cruisetour itinerary for Celebrity really sucks tho.. they only ferry the guest to the destination and u have to do all the exploring urself..

niuniu

Hi Beary, Carnival is more kids-focused? Well, I was told is more for late teens & young adults. Activites more outdoor. I don't think Celebrity's cruisetours are really that bad lah, maybe not comparable to Princess's yet. Princess should be 1 of the best in terms of land tours coz I saw a lot of Princess & Holland America's coaches around Anchorage. At least you don't see Royal Carribean/Celebrity coaches tho.
But also bcoz they have been in the market since the 80s so more established. Maybe you can write to Celebrity for more details. Think from their website can't see much. Or you can arrange for the tour extension on your own. I read that some forumers they drive to Denali & stay at B&Bs. Sure save quite a sum, I think.

Btw, have you booked your cruise already? Many travel fairs now so it's a good time to maybe conclude your booking.

Hi Niu Niu,

I hope you still visit this thread..hee..I finally settled all the bookings for the cruise with Celebrity. Had to go during the peak season tho, coz of FH's work schedule. So expensive =( heart pain..anyway, I was wondering whether you can advise me on which excursion to take at each port..coz I received the excursion list and it's just soooo longgg!! so many things to see and do in so little time...

niuniu

Hi Beary,

Congrats! U'll definitely enjoy the trip. When are you going? Jul? Aug? How's your itinerary? Any extension? I'm still having very fond memories of the trip, in details. We didn't go for many shore excursions coz it's soooo expensive. We went on a marine wildlife cruise with salmon lunch. We love the excitement of 'chasing' after whales at sea.:p The salmon is fantastic. It's so fresh. They BBQed w/o any sauce but still tasted so good. As I recall, I'll salivating now. Hee! My hubby loves land wildlife so we sign up for it. We also visited Mendenhall Glacier, lovely place. We tried the horse carriage ride in Ketchikan. No big deal tho. Just tour around the city. Think you do the walking on your own. Should have tried the dog-sledding. If your budget permits, take the helicopter to 1 of the glaciers. It's awesome & beautiful, from the many feedback of the cruisers. We didn't sign up due to budget constraint.

Feel free to ask me. I'll try my best to give as much info as possible...

Hi NiuNiu,

Glad to see u back here =D I'm taking the end of july till early august cruise. Itinerary-wise it's the hubbard glacier one, start and end in Vancouver. It's more expensive than the south/northbound that ends in anchorage, but we dun want the hassle of flying back from anchorage. so no choice =(

I so agree with you. the excursions are so exp!!! I'm thinking of taking those that u took. the mendenhall glacier, the whale-watching cruise and the salmon cookout. Was thinking of the helicopter ride with dog-sleeding too, but dun think can afford it. It cost more than US$400 per person!!! way too exp... I'm interested in the bear-watching excursion too, but a bit hesitant coz they cant guarantee any bear sightings. what do you think? how about the lumberjack show? is it worth watching?

actually, how long does the ship dock in each port? coz i saw in their website that sometimes it can be as long a whole day or as short as 3 hrs. how can we go for excursions if it's only 3 hrs i wonder..

how's the onboard experience, e.g. food & entertaiment?

Thanx so much niuniu!!

niuniu

Hi Beary, think the 2 itineraries are the same right? Whether it's a round trip or northbound/southbound. Hubbard Glacier is fantastic. We were very lucky then coz when we were there, it was already past the mid of summer (meaning most of the glacier ice have fallen off), hence the ship was able to go very near to the glacier, just 200m away as it's not dangerous. Was told we were 1 of the nearest away from the glacier. But downside I guess, is we saw less ice falling off the glacier.

Try dog-sledding. Everyone says It's worth it. As for bear-watching, suggest that you KIV until on board the ship where you can check with the counter staff whether there are any recent bear sightings. That's what we did. Their advice was don't risk then coz many cruisers feedback that there was no bear in sight for the last 1 month. So we dropped the idea. We caught the lumberjack show in vancouver when we went to Grouse Mt. So not sure about the 1 in Alaska.

Those that dock along side for about 8-10hrs, then it's possible to take the excursion tours. For those that anchor for 2-3hrs, there's nothing much you can do. We just continued with our own activities on board.

Food is fantastic, even the buffet spread is much better than Star Cruise. Entertainment is world-class but provided you are into ang-moh style of cabaret shows.

Hi Niuniu,

From what I understand the roundtrip covers less area than the northbound/southbound coz they have to u-turn back to vancouver. the north/south itinerary covers more area on the way to anchorage.

Good idea about KIV-ing the bear-watching. Will do that so as not to waste $ =) how many days did u spend in vancouver? i'm thinking of spending about 4 days in vancouver and 2 in victoria. do u think that's enough? how did you get around the city? wanted to rent a car but ppl said its not necessary and parking is very diff there...

glad to hear the food & entertainment is superb. really looking forward to the experience

niuniu

Hi Beary, which ship are you going with? Summit?

We extended 4 days in YVR & a 3D2N to Rockies. That 4 days were spent quite leisurely. We spent the whole day at Stanley Park after we disembark from the ship. Evening was spent walking along Robson St, see-look & makan. Next day we took Grayline tour to Grouse Mt, Capilano Bridge, Salmon Hatchery. Then evening we went to the Lookout to check out the city night scenes. Next day set off for our Rockies trip. We stopped by Whistler for 4 hours for sightseeing & shopping then continue our way to Banff. The tour ended the next evening at Calgary where we spent a night and also met up a colleague for supper who is stationed there. The next day we had a short walk around Calgary city before taking a domestic flight back to YVR. After checking in, we spent the rest of the day walking around Gastown. The next day we went to catch some IMAX shows at Canada Place before taking the train to Chinatown and spent the rest of the day there. The next day we took a last walk around the city and have breakfast before going to the airport. Regret not spending time at Victoria to catch the whales. Heard it's better coz they use much smaller boats so that you can have a close encounter with the whales. Isn't it nice?

My hubby's colleague just came back last week from an Alaska/Rockies trip with Royal Carribean. Their pics are different from us. Less sun, cloudy. They saw or rather heard lots of ice falling off Hubbard Glacier. Can't see clearly coz too far, 2 miles away. Not safe to go too near. Heard the waves are very high when the ice came crashing into the sea. Can feel the currents also tho it's a big ship. But they saw something which we didn't. A thin layer of ice at the sea level, slowly cracking & melting. A different sight which we missed since we went in Aug...

HI Niu Niu,

We're going on board Infinity.

Thanx for sharing with me ur itinerary
It's a really good reference for me to plan my trip! I'm also goin with Grayline tour to Grouse Mt & Cap bridge and maybe take another package to Whistler. Actually is there anything to see in Whistler considering its summer? Also, we're thinking of taking the tour from Pacific Coach to Victoria. May I know which tour did u take for the Rockies trip?

I'm very excited about the trip after hearing so many good comments from u
I hope I'll be able to see all those wonderful things that you saw, like getting up close to the glaciers..

niuniu

Hi beary, we went with Brewster www.brewster.ca They are 1 of the leading inland tour operators in Canada. But coz of that, you will expect premium price. We also feel heartpain before the trip. But after that, no regrets! We were even generous with our tips coz of their superb service. In fact my hubby made a special request to the driver/tour guide to see the Grizzly coz we didn't get to see any in Alaska. Know what? he specially went to get info about bear-sighting & guess what? We found a few Grizzlys and he 'chased' after them in our tour bus while we screamed in excitement. Haha! What a fantastic way to end our Rockies tour!
My hubby's colleague also went with Brewster after all their research. They also 'complained' the price but it's worth every cent.

We only went to Whistler village/town, not the mountains. Our Rockies tour bus guide was kind enough to let us roam around Whistler, rather than waste time going with him to pick up other people from hotels in Whistler. He really took very good care of us coz I guess they seldom see tourists from SIN. Knowing we love to see many places, he dropped us there for a few hours before making a U-turn to pick us up again.
Oh, we love him. Felt not many people knows SIN so all other tourists were very curious about Singaporeans. We were pretty busy sharing with them our culture with those ang mohs. They were also amazed that we speak good English, just like many cruisers on board. I really wonder what people in other parts of the world think of us, Singaporeans. Very chee-na in 3rd world country?? :p

Which hotel will you be staying at in YVR? Suggest you don't book your land tour now. Reach there then book coz might have some discounts which they give to guests of certain hotels. We got 10% discount.

Hey beary, know what? I love sharing info with you coz I'll be able to reminisce the good times I had for my honeymoon last year. Thanks for giving me a chance.

Hi Niu Niu,

Wow!! I'm so impressed to hear ur story about brewster! The service is really good.. really love the part about chasing the grizzly! i love bears, so i can imagine how exciting it must be to be able to see it up close..will visit their website to see if they have any tours that is suitable for us...

The Whistler tour that I'm interested in also features a few hours in the Whislter village. Is it nice in summer, as in is there anything to see/do? coz i've heard its more like a ski resort..so was thinking whether it's worth it to pay hundreds of $ to go there...

I know what ur talking about when u say ang mohs are amazed about singaporeans!! i've been on a few tours to europe with trafalgar, and all the ang moh fellow travellers were so surprised we speak english! They all thought SIN is part of china! isnt it amazing tat for such a developed country, SIN is actually not known in the west...

I'll be staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Will take ur suggestion and ask the hotel whether there's disc if we book the land tour from them..

Thanx so much niu niu!! ur such a great help! i love hearing ur stories

niuniu

Hey Beary, we were staying in Holiday Inn Downtown also, but after we came back from Calgary. Before that, we stayed with Empire Landmark. It's the tallest hotel in YVR and guess what? We managed to get 1 on the 36th floor. So you can imagine how we loved the view. We planned for that coz it's nearer to go Stanley Park from Empire Landmark. In fact, we walked there. But took a bus back coz tired liao. We visited the Aquarium also coz my hubby wanna catch the Beluga whales, not seeing enough whales in Alaska.:p As for Holiday Inn, we chose that so that it's nearer to go Gastown, Chinatown, Canada Place, etc.. We didn't go Granville Island tho. Will you be going?

Grayline offered 10% discounts to certain hotel partners then & Holiday Inn was 1 of them. It's also a pick-up point so you don't have to travel to another hotel to board the coach. Good choice!

Hi Niu Niu,

Yup, I'm planning to go to Granville island coz it sounds pretty charming. Thanx for the info about the discounts offered by the hotel for the land tour part!

mintee

Hi all, any idea which are the more reputable agencies in Singapore that sell Alaska cruise packages? Thanks!

Hi mintee,

I didn't get the Alaska cruise package from singapore. Instead I got the cruise portion from a travel agent in Vancouver coz the price is slightly cheaper. So only got the airticket from singapore. If you stick to those big agencies should be reputable..or if u already know which cruiseline u wanna take, u can contact their rep office in sg. they can provide you with packages too =)

seaotter

Just to share, for honeymoon, my hubby and I went on a 16 days Alaska Cruise + Canadian Rockies Package Tour on 6-21 June 2006 with Super Travel (Beach Road Concourse), a group of us 22 Singaporeans flew to Anchorage with our S'pore guide, accompanying us throughout the whole tour.

We boarded cruise at Whittier pier, southbound towards Vancouver, and stop by ports everyday cos most of these towns mainly coastal, inaccessible through roads. 7 days onboard Carnival Spirit Cruise, the interior stateroom was adequately spacious and comfy, Carnival Spirit was fun, they made a video of your whole 7days trip, capture ur exact experience and sell it at a cost of US$29.90, (u may even see urself in it!) The cruise parked right in front, so near, of Harvard Glacier one morn, made announcement for all pax to go to deck! Thundering and caving blocks of glacier ice was exciting. Cruising along, naturalist on board Carnival will inform us of approaching whales and dolphins, u'll see us and all eager pax on deck with binoculars, the cruise initially at high speed even slowed down to a pause to allow us more time in viewing.

Carnival even keep tracks of all birthdays, anniversaries of their pax on board, announced tat there were 17 honeymooners (they got the info thro travel agency). Nightly, in the fine dining room, we hear bday songs, anniversaries and honeymoon song? Very soon, was our turn, the waitress tied our arms together, presented a cake with a candle, got my tour group to sing and danced along! omg, not only us, our tourmates all had great fun too! did i mention tat we had fixed a waitress everyday attached to us, only serving about 5 tables and even remembered us by names! It's summer in Alaska so the weather at every port was great, very sunny, 14-18 degC yet cooling.

Went to towns of Sitka, Juneau, Skagway, Ketchikan and at every port there are many excursions to sign up, and quite expensive too, we went for Sitka Sea Otter Wildlife Quest US$114/pax and we saw so many otters, seals, sealions and chased after humpback whales too, great fun! In Juneau, we went to the Mendenhall Glacier and took the Mt Robert's Tramway. In Skagway, we took a train ride up mountain, US$99/pax, most excursions costs US$100+/pax! my tour mates went for a seaplane glacier trip cost them US$279/pax, so rich! Honeymoon in Alaska was a very enjoyable, memorable and fun trip, lots of beautiful nature and wildlife which we both really love, costs us a total of $14K+ for the entire trip.

mintee

Oh thanks Beary! I didn't know those cruise lines have rep office in S'pore! Do you know which lines have offices here and their addresses? Then mabbe I can drop by to get some brochures to better understand their ship and itinerary

seaotter ~ how much per pax did you pay for Super Travel's package alone (b4 adding in your land tour and tips)? I didn't know Super carry Alaska cruise package as well! Saw their ad today with a package "Canadian Rockies + Alaska" but didn't realise the Alaska is a cruise tour!
Thanks for the detailed description of your experience ! Sounds very interesting! Do u mind sharing with me how does your tour works in a group on the cruise? Do you have to dine with your tour grp everyday? Or is it free & easy on board the cruise and only tour together for the Canadian Rockies part of your trip?

mintee

Sorry Beary cld I add some more qn pls - how do u contact the Vancouver travel agent to book the cruise portion? Is it online? Do u mind sharing with me the url? And since u book the airtix separately, did you have to arrange for transfers and pre/post cruise accomodation as well? How did you do it? Thanks!!

Hi mintee,

Almost all the cruiselines have rep offices here. I know for sure Royal Carribean, Princess and Celebrity Cruises do. I can't remember their addreses..sorry...u can go to their respective website tho, it's listed there. That's how I got their addresses too to request for brochures. I would strongly recommend Celebrity
the pricing is a little bit more expensive but it's really like floating luxury hotel. Food was wonderful, from casual all-day dining to fine dining dinners and the service is topnotch. I did a lot of research online and getting advices from past cruisers before settling on Celebrity.

I used this travel agent www.cruiseshipcenters.com. All my transactions were done online and over the phone. They are very reliable and prompt. they have offices in Vancouver too, so not only an online agent. As for the airport transfer, I just took the airport shuttle from www.yvrairporter.com and they dropped me off and picked me up again from the hotel. I booked the accomodation myself too coz hubby is a platinum member in one of the hotel chains so we had privileges. But cruiseshipcentre can do all the arrangements for you if you want to. Hope that helps! =)

seaotter

Hi mintee, my hubby n i were thinking since it is our honeymoon, we decided to let the agency handle everything (kinda laid back), about $5.5K/pax, we paid the cruise tips thro agency too. the $3K balance we spent mainly on shore excursions n lunches n gifts n optional tour - columbian icefield in canadian rockies abt C$34/pax. u r right, it's free n easy on board the cruise (just take note of ur tour guide's room no. in case of emergency). However Empire dining room seats had been pre-arranged by cruise, can choose between early seating or late seating (for fine dining - menu changes everyday, lobster, alaskan king crab, scallops were served, dishes were so nicely "decorated" n garnished tat we took pictures b4 feasting on it), so by default we had been assigned together, i would recommend tat u choose the later slot, so tat u can spend more time on the ports b4 coming back onboard, buffet on Lido deck is catered anytime daily, we had lunch at the port of calls (had reindeer hotdog for the very 1st time, oh please, forget tat u hear me saying tis if u happen to be a vegetarian, heehee...) so as not to waste time even though it is catered on board.

My group got along quite well so we had a great time together on board. Most of us dine, watch performances, play Bingo, attend mini workshop together (workshop - folding cute towel animals, we find a different one in our room everday, done by stewards who made up the room). if u have read reviews online, it's true tat announcements are made when there are whales, dolphins approaching or upcoming events on board, also woke us up 6.30am one morning for the glacier view so if peace n quiet is wat u like, then tis cruise is not for u. generally on behalf of my group, i can safely say tat most of us dun mind (even like it) cos we dun wanna miss anything... call us "kiasu" singaporean but it is the tour of our lifetime so we really wanna enjoy, spend the most of our time awake, take in as much new, memorable and fun experiences since most of us wun be going back Alaska soon in the near future due to $$$, heehee...

For Canadian Rockies, it's the usual coach and checking in n out of hotels nightly, inclusive breakfasts and dinners. We were getting lazy after being so pampered on a 7 nights "moving hotel", no packing needed! Our favourite is the Columbian Icefield, walking on glacier ice and drinking the icy water tat flows down. we took 700 over photos in 16 days! we still felt tat nothing beats the experience, still not very satisfied with the photos as we felt it was much more beautiful than we are able to capture, maybe the other senses played great part on the whole (photo=only visual).

summer1979

I am so keen to go Alaska after so many wonderful feedback.

Care to share the places u guy been and price per pax?

When it the best time to go?

How many days is the best?

CHeers,Summer

oohlahlah

It has been really nice reading all your reviews and experiences. At first, I was not sure if I wanted to go on an Alaskan Cruise as I was afraid that I would be bored on the ship. (been on star cruise and hated it). But after great reviews from you and Niu Niu, I have decided to go with Celebrity Cruise since there are less kids and its more luxurious.

Hi Beary/Niu Niu (if you still log on to this thread)..

1. What do you normally do on the ship when the ship is crusing?
2. Do the travel agents in Singapore sell the cruise package, land transfers, and flight from Anchorage to Vancouver without the airtix from SIN to VCR? That's because my husband and I will be redeeming our krisflyer miles from SIN to Vancouver.
3. Anyone extended their trip in Achorage? Instead of extending to Rockies, I'm thinking of getting the Northbound cruise to Seward, and then extend in Anchorage for about 2-3nights, since this will probably be the only chance that we can stay overnight in Alaska.
4. Is it really necessary to wear gowns and suits to the restaurants on the cruise ship? I will probably just bring a short dress and heels while my husband, pants and shirt (at best!).

Hope to hear from you soon!

oohlahlah

One other question: Has anyone tried booking shore excursions with other operators instead of with the cruise ship?
Its so expensive with the cruise ship. Was thinking of dog sledding at Mendenhall Glacier...but its US$500 per pax!

mintee

hi littlemay, I think you can get answers to your qn 1 and 3 from celebrity's website. It's really very informative
As you are interested in extending to North Alaska, you can consider taking their cruisetours. SIN travel agents can sell the package without air tix, but as the promo package they carry is usually inclusive of the value for money air tix, I'm not sure how much the package without air tix will cost. Might be better for you to check the agent's pricing directly.

oohlahlah

Hi Mintee...those questions that I'm interested in are not in Celebrity website. I want some feedback from singaporeans on what they do onboard the ship. Besides, I'm interested in F&E in anchorage, and not on the cruisetours. Thanks,

krex

hi littlemay,

i went to alaska in jul 05 after my wedding. it was the perfect place for a honeymoon - relaxed and romantic, although it burnt a hole in our pockets. we spent about $10k+ in all (nose bleed). now to ans your qns:

1. lots of things to do. can swim in their pools, eat (free flow of food), watch movie and special performances, go gym, shop at duty free, etc. there's not a lot of free time on the ship actually coz' it docks in the morning and leaves in the evening. u spend the greater part of the day doing your land tours.

2. not sure about that. we bought the entire package. only thing not included is land tour, which u can book when u're on board the cruise.

3. yes, i think extending to anchorage is a smarter choice coz' we intend to tour canada on a separate trip. land tour with celebrity summit is very good. everything is first class, from travel to accommodation. scenery is also great, and is different from from the various port of calls while u're doing the cruise.

4. no need to wear gowns but i brought a simple one anyway. if u underdress, u'll just stick out like a sore thumb. jeans is ok...they're not that strict lah!

oohlahlah

Thanks Krex! That was very informative!

Do you remember which shore excursions did you book?
And did you book your anchorage tour with Celebrity as well or did you do F&E in Anchorage?