Ala Carte Renovation Home Owners...Come share your contacts!

chng

Starting this thread for home owners who did "ala carte" for their renovation, meaning to source for their own suppliers...etc

Grills and Windows: ??
Mansory/Flooring and Tiles: ??
Carpentry: ??
Plumbering: ??
...etc..

loafer

You are looking at one now
but unfortunately I have started any.

I do not intend to spend a fortune on renovation but would prefer to mix and match, and do somethings here and there.

fiona

Most of my reno would be done by my ID with a few items (or can say only 1 item) which my ID charged too high so would be using "outside" contractors. I found one ala-carte ceiling contractor thru surfing the websites. Already met him for a quote. Almost half the price of what my ID quoted me!

johncbh

i have started & now into the next 40% of "ala carte". The 1st dish I did is wet works for hall & kitchen and toilets, next sanitary & washbasins installations,hotcold pipings & lamination for rooms.
I must say its better to do it this way if you want to save cost & save any substandard by one ID that often do not do an honest job for your $. Its always good to access what u really want to renovate & do it in phases. True that its troublesome but its worth it in the long run given that u know what yr hse is made of.

fiona

hi D (spikey),

Yah, I meant false ceiling. Just a disclaimer, my reno has not started yet so I really can't comment on the workmanship. But the price is definitely cheaper than my ID. Hehe..

The contact is as follows :

Pin Pin Plaster Desgin & Decor
tel : 62838710
contact person : richard

ivanova

Hi Guys, pls help if you can, my brother is looking for a metal gate. I forgot about it after installating a new one and throw away my old gate ....SHXT....

If you are living in the EAST, going to fix on a new gate and throw away the old one, can i get it from you? HELP HELP

hjdd

Hi Tots,

Great! I also did "ala carte" for my renovation.
Some good, some sucks...

I would recommend you Painter & Solid table top (Cresto). Cheap & Steady.

Email me if u r interested...

chng

Hey HJDD,

What type of window girll did u use (Eg. Normal Aluminium or Aluminium powder coated, etc). How much psf? Care to share your contacts?

ariesta

***Dun Ala carte the reno....*** Stressed life for the next 2 months... =)

Tots: Window grilles, i did wrought iron (powder-coated) at $12persq_feet, rem to do ur own measurements as some suppliers may "blow" up the sq feet.... also windows grilles to be installed after painting....

paulinechong

interesting.. i always think painting is the last item on d list... cos i have seen how d contractors dirtied d walls when installing the window grills.. then end up, gotta ask d painters to come down to touch up d walls
(((

coyotefr

Hi Pauline, Painting works need to be done before the installation of window grilles. Reason being that once installation of window grilles are done, some areas may not be reached for painting. Thus, touch up is required after.

paulinechong

hi coyote :

so des ne.. but i think if the workers are skillful enough, those difficult areas can still be painted.. imagine, if u have to repaint like 3 yrs later, are u going to tear down d grilles and paint d walls? no right? painting will still be carried out right?

so, what i m trying to say is... painting should only be done after installation of grilles, if there are difficult areas to paint, perhaps those are places that are nt meant to be painted after all....

but nevermind la.. it is your house afterall.. do what you wan..kekeke

nas08

hi guys... going fr my 1st appt fr my em soon... looks like the reno cost is gonna be a nightmare. so any reliable contractor / reno co. at a reasonable price fr these 'few' things that i intend to do? if anyone can quote me a price wld be a plus! thks....

wrought iron gate
white alu window grills
wrought iron stairs
casement windows

built in wardrobe
kitchen cabinets

chng

Hi nas08,

I gotta an EA. Looking at similiar reno like what you written, execpt to include also hacking and changing of the flooring.Asked a few quotes and easily amounted to 40k plus.

nas08

hi tots,

ya, ea/em easily can touch 40-60k. my bro in law got some contacts in the reno biz so he is helping me out abit.

white horse is having a sale, i went down to the warehouse, looks genuine cos the tiles are from malaysia (got this psb or wat thing lah). so imho, maybe better than china ones. (dun flame me hor). i saw some tiles going fr as low as $2/psf. avg price abt $2.8-$3.8 psf. but my bil got say lah, tiles must check a few things.

hacking my flooring already cos $2k liao, so i thot maybe just parquet and lay over... still deciding tho.

magaz

Hi Cheers...
Thanks! Is his workmanship good? How much does he charge p.f.r? hehe..think I better call him..

tbkiang

Hi fiona, how is the workmanship of the ceiling work contractor? I oso intend to outsource my ceiling work cos my ID quote me very ex. Dunno whether he will mind if I use other ppl for ceiling work.
Btw, how much he charge psf for false ceiling?

fiona

Hi bk (tbkiang),
We have no complaints with regards to the ceiling contractor's workmanship. Even our ID (who initially was really unhappy that we cut his earnings) think his workmanship good.

But if really really want to complain, then there is a little area that is uneven at my kitchen boxup area which his man already came and rectify promptly. As for ceiling works, no complains.

We didn't get his psf quote. We only got a lumpsum quote which is $1k+ cheaper than our ID. So we "mai tu liao". I understand from another owner who is currently undergoing reno also that my ceiling contractor's quote is not the cheapest though.

tbkiang

thks fiona for the update, I am concern of workmanship and service and at least I know he is ok from your experience. Hey you know of another cheaper ceiling contractor, can share??

I just called up Richard and he told me around around $2.20++ psf depend on the floor area. Price still negotiable though, if do more floor area then cheaper loh. Sounds ok to me, will send my floor plan to him after my design is fixed.

Btw, anyone have any contacts for doing black galaxy kitchen top?

fiona

U r most welcome, tbkiang.
Hmm... the other lobang is actually recommended by my electrician. I can share with you my electrician's contact if you want. Just need your email. ^_^

tbkiang

ya sure fiona, PM me can liao, thx thx
. Your electrician oso not from your ID? How much does he charge?

fiona

Yah, my electrician is also not from ID. Cos ID charges too expensive... :p

I have sent you the PM.

tbkiang

Thks fiona, I using a main contractor. But felt that some of the items he charge to ex. I think he will be unhappy if I outsource the ceiling work, but if really that case, then I will go to look for another ID. Maybe u can recommend your ID to me.. haha

fiona

Oh... I didnt know contractor also will be expensive. Actually, I dont consider my ID cheap either. But I am betting on the price, hoping that the quality is good and no hiccups.

earthbaby

Hi Fiona,

Got the contact, many thanks! Just out of curiosity, is it the same Eric as recommended by House_mover in his other postings? Am really interested in getting him to do my new house cos its the best rate I've seen so far, however, am a bit concerned about his standard so best if there's more than one endorsement by his satisfied clients!