AIRCON-TOSHIBA INVERTER

mail lum

can i check with you... is it normal to have water around the condensation unit outside the house? is that leakage or condensation?

i notice it every morning, after switching on the aircon for the whole night...

freesia09

Hi, mail lum

Cld the water be from the outlet for the air con water pipe? I remember i have a pipe from my toilet to the aircon ledge. Understand that the aircon person will connect the water pipe to this pipe so that water from the aircon can flow out? maybe you can check with Gain City??

bel

Am also intending to buy a Toshiba inverter sys 4 but have been dissuaded from quite a number of air-con companies as they said it's spoils easily and it costs a lot to repair in the long run, even topping of gas. Some also mentioned that it does not cut down electricity bills. Can I just checked with all those who are using it, how true are the statements?

jen

Hi Anne

I only used it for less than 2 months and with the recent increase in electricity tariffs, so would not be able to tell. Will let u all know later.

serrich

Bel,

I think you have to be more discernful also...
Some companies will not promote Toshiba cos they do not earn as much commission as compared to other brands...

I also got my Toshiba system 3. My house still under reno so I have not tried.. Can't give much comments on the product itself.

This aircon contractor is my reno contractor's fren so what I heard from him is that they dun earn much for Toshiba. Inverter 3 itself costs them abt 2.3-2.4k (around that range, can't really remember)...

hope that this helps....

freesia09

Hi, Bel

My cousin also bought a Toshiba inverter system 1-2 years ago. She told me that the aircon is still working well and her utilities bill is pretty low. She turn on her aircon for her room throughout the night, occasionally for the living room and her bill is only abt $70 per mth. Not bad rite? Hw, she and her husband are hardly at home during weekdays as they are both working so i guess that also contribute to the low bill.

Also, like what serrich mention, we have to be careful abt what the sales people tell us. I hear different stories from different shops. Better to get feedback from existing users.

bel

Jen, Serrich, freesia09,

Thanks for the feedback..have signed up with gain city last night at the expo..finally decided on the Toshiba inverter sys 4..they are giving away a free 20" tv...but we didn't take it..

bel

Hi greymonster,

I paid $4050, inclusive of unlimited trunking and piping and I'm actually taking the new UK series..nothing different from the slightly older model except for the zeolite filter. The slightly older model is cheaper by a few hundreds and I think it comes with a $100 taka voucher. Look for Derrick at the Expo now. He's experienced and very patient. We actually managed to persuade him to come down to our house to discuss with our designer how to run the trunking before the actual installation. Usually they charge $80 for an extra visit.

anne

Hi Jin,

Later on if u r comfy with the amount of your electricity bill..do share with me ya !!
I will look for Ben somewhere around July..now still too early to book him

freesia09

Hi, everyone

I hv started using my Toshiba Inverter System 4 liao. Very happy that the big unit is able to cool down my entire living and dining areas, including kitchen 'cos i hv an open kitchen concept.
The condenser is also very quiet! Only thing is b'cos i hv an open kitchen concept (hence a big area), the aircon took some time to cool down the whole place on a hot afternoon...may need abt 30 minutes.

neojckw

Hi anyone have any contact for toshiba system 4 inverter??? looking high and low for a repliable air con contractor. would appreciate if anyone can testify for one.

neojckw

Hi all, just been quoted by AllBe*t in IMM for Toshiba Inverter system 4 for 3622.5 all Inclusive.

Anyone had deal with them before? How is their service???

emcee

I was quoted 3350(excl GST) by them 2 weeks ago... i understand thatit's still at this price wor...

edwinyik

i juz bought sys 4 fr gaincity at imm for 3550 inc gst unlimited truck.but never opt for the extended 5 yr warranty need to paid 393 extra for tat. should i buy it? is there a need?
can advice mi.

p2me1a

we got quoted about $3340 (inc gst) for a system 4 toshiba inverter at h*ng t*r at imm. seems to be the cheapest from the numbers above... unlimited trunking too... anyone got from HT before? service how???

i have a fren who got from allb*st. he had a very bad experience with them, installation got problem, and follow-yup also got problem. so my fren recommending that we dun go to them. we went to their showroom at imm and spoke to the guy - does not seem to know his stuff well. so *shrug*...

pst

emcee

Hi pst

Expo having a fair now.... they are having a booth there too... it might be cheaper in fair...

p2me1a

thanks host,

the guy told us have fair - but same price (as what he quote us - he say that's the promo price), and then got free gift of a ceiling fan or dvd player... (only if u pay upfront. if pay by installment no free gift) ...

pst

emcee

Hi pst

i got mine at the last fair. I pay 3299 nett... but no free gift....

Better ask properly, that time only for mit not for toshiba

p2me1a

hi host,

thanks for the advice.
will ask properly...

so you got from HT as well? install already? how's the service and installation?

so you chose toshiba over mit? we're choosing between these two and can't really make up our minds... share your thought process?

pst

emcee

yeah i got from ht and the pipng was installed already. The workmanship was not bad for the team. You may wish to know that HT got many teams of installer so it depends on your luck too lor...

the reason i choose tobshiba over mit is because of
1)higher btu
2)have sensor to detect environment temp to increase/decrease temp automaticlly
3)able to detecet constant temp within room then reduce temp(if forgot to off aircon when to work)
4)finally ... got DC start up so it would take too much of the electricity at the start

but i bad things is that the air refrigerant is r410 which quite ex at this moment.. could be 2 to 3 time compared.

excalibur

I'm considering Toshiba too, though not the inverter ones...
Dunno if this is sales talk, but I was told that even though the R410 is more ex, it doesn't need top up as often as the others.

emcee

hi Alan

it's true one way or another....

As long as the installation of the piping is done properly.... in the near future of 4~5 years shouldn't have this problem

p2me1a

hey host,
thanks for your feedback.

hey alan,
yeah we also considering Toshiba (inverter) but hesitating over the R410 too. but the sales guy at ht refused to commit how often he thinks will need to top up. he says it's not been used in the office long enough for them to know how many years then top up...

but yeah, technically, like host says, IF the installation is done well - then shouldn't need to top up so... *shrug* hehehe dunno lah...

pst

angelice

Halo,

Anyone heard of Tai Wah Aircon. Me got a quote from them, quite reasonable price but not sure about their worksmanship. Anyone can share the experiences? Thanks!

jojok

I also approach Tai Wah for their Toshiba aircon. Much cheaper than elsewhere. Hubby says its a big company. Have anyone got them to install b4? How is the workmanship?

aduhlene

I just got my Toshiba Inverter System 3 at $2300. Not intending to air-con the whole house cos my area is known to be pretty windy and cooling...

clueless_mei

I just bought my toshiba inverter system 4 for $3360 @ IMM... The sales person convinced me that they are using the top-notch PSB tested insulator and copper piping. Will be installing them this weekend.

sendoh82

i bought sys 3 toshiba inverter from bestt*ch (as recommended from that air con blog) dunno say got what ISO 9001 or smth. bought at $2310 with free voucher and a steamboat.

and found out that hon* ta* is not a official installer of toshiba air con. thats why i nvr buy from there.

clueless_mei

As posted in May, I bought my Toshiba system 4 aircon from IMM (from BT)..
When I bought it, I specified to the sales person that standard 2 installations are required and have fixed my 1st installation on a Saturday. So Saturday came and my hubby and I finalized the trunking of the pipes with the BT aircon guys… We left the place after inspecting the insulator and pipes.. When we went back to the place at 4plus, the guys actually installed the units up to the wall!!!!!

I was puzzled and asked them why they had installed the units up and their reply was that we were not clear! Apparently, the sales person did not communicate to the installation guys abt it!! And we requested for them to remove the unit and was turned down as the pipes were all done up…

My place was still doing wetworks at that time and the place is full of dust!! Why would anyone in the right frame of mind want to put up the units for the dusts to go into the units? As it was already done and there was nothing I can do but accept the situation.

As they did not manage to install on the 1st day, they arranged for another day to compete the installtion of the compressor and others.. On the morning of the 2nd installation I called the customer hotline and requested that the installation guys to bring masking tape and plastic to cover my units, the customer service assistance informed me that the guys have left the office and I requested for her to inform the guys as she should have the contact. They turned up and installed all the rest WITHOUT covering up the units…

I am very disappointed with the service attitude. And my advice to you guys out there will be to specify to both the sales person and the installation guys to avoid my situation.

nat_bleu

Y All BeXt so inconsistent wan? He told me he sell the Toshiba sys4 inverter to everyone at same price, i.e. $3,495 but seems like he quotes everyone a different price. I wld rather he take back that sentence & at least I wun tink he's dishonest. I can't find HongX Tar in IMM!! Shld b around the corner near All BeXt rite? But I went ystrday & the area is walled up & under reno. Anyone know where exactly HonX Tar is now? Thks!

afsding

i just ordered from allb**t @ imm 2 days ago and was quoted 2418 for system 3 with 23k btu condenser and 3 units of 10k btu fcu.. why mine so expensive..?
he told me their company is casetrust and sell to everyone same price..

criz

Hi Ding Ding, I think my sys 3 are much cheaper compared to yours, maybe around $2.2K (must go home and search the invoice). They also gave us upgraded materials & servicing vouchers.

Pricing very inconsistent, I even quoted $2.6K by Natural Cxxl.

afsding

hi criz.. where did u get from..? same shop as mine..? they gave me totaline class 1 and 16mm drain pipe and $120 servicing vouchers..

kaishi

nope, not from allb**t but from Twin City. I got from them sys 3 & single split too. don't know about pipe (must check with hubby) but was given class 0 (heard one grade up from class 1) and more vouchers. That time they have promotion so all materials upgraded.

redz_76

just bought a toshiba sys 2, very quiet and most importantly, cut electricity by more than half...very happy with it.

rachely

we just bought Toshiba Sys 4 invertor from GC at 3570 plus extended warranty at 499 for 4 years. From what i see, i guess we paid a bit higher than those bought from other shop, but i hope we make the correct decision as we do not wish to get any unnecessary pro durin & after installation as we believe they are reputable company, which they said so too.. :)

Also, during the explaination & sales, Alvin explain to us ways to operate a aircn & correct ways to shut down an air-con, which we both felt is rather educational.

saliva

Could you share with your the correct way and on-off the air-con? Thanks. Wow thought just on and just so easy.

calix

Hmm...what is the correct way to shut down an aircon? I normally just used the remote to off and before i go to work, i just switch off the main switch at my Master bedroom.

Anyway, i did not buy Toshiba the last time when i was searching for my aircon (i bought a Mitsubishi Electric) caused i read from (http://singapore-aircon.blogspot.com) and (www.nccc.gov.sg) it does not have any energy labels ticks for their inverter.

rachely

the salesman says Toshiba will go for the green label in next 2 years time, anyway, we bought it also because it's so call the pioneer in invertor system.

the education part is before off the air-con, switch the mode to fan mode so the compressor wouldn't triggle again (something like that lah..can't remember) for energy saving as well as to help to keep the compressor last longer.

when on the air-con, don't straight away switch to low temp, maintance at room temp to let the room slowly cool down & don't put at auto mode.

Frankly speaking, i can't remember the real pros & cons abt the way we should off & on the air-con, i don think it's the end of the world if we just off it or on it at low temp. But for sure, air-con will last longer if we do the way he says.

Maye you guys can find out from your dealer & can learn from each other.