AIRCON-TOSHIBA INVERTER

triston

HI ALL,
ME JUST GOT A TOSHIBA INVERTER SYS 4,34000 btu,THINK ITS CALLED I-SMART.
TAKING STOCK ONLY 2MTHS LATER,SO ANYONE
OUT THERE HAVE ANY EXPERIENCE OUT TO SHARE WITH ME,MAYBE IF REALLY NO GOOD, I CAN STILL CHANGE COS
HAVEN PAY THE FULL AMT.
THE SALESMAN TOLD ME THAT THE SINGLE UNIT(24000btu) FOR MY 5-ROOM FLAT IS ABLE TO COOL
MY LIVING, DON NEED 2 FAN COIL OR 2 COMPRESSOR COS POWER IS DEPENDS ON THE BTUs,
IS IT TRUE???

laser

hi Triston,

Can you let me know the contact number of your contractor? I am currently looking for another one to do my air con. The previous one workmanship cannot make it.

jen

Hi Triston,

Hv u installed yr Toshiba Inverter yet? How is it? I'm also installing one soon with system 3.

triston

me just going to collect my keys this
coming week, so aircon installation will be slightly delayed.

Will let you know again, but by that time you may have installed it ardy. who knows, maybe you have to let me know if its good...
hee....

jen

Hi Triston,
Will be installing the aircon later today (7 Apr). Will let you know how is it after maybe 1 week.

me also considering to buy sys 3, toshiba inverter. may i know where did you purchase the aircon? from Gain city?? i find that their pricing seems to be higher.....

jen

The contractors are installing my air con now. If they do a good job do you all want the contact?
By the way, the price was very reasonable. I paid only $2600 (incl GST, dismantle old set and installing) for a Toshiba I-Smart Sys 3 (made in Japan somemore!)

kenny

Hi, are u sure its made in Japan, heard from gain city only the compressor is made in Japan, the spilt unit is made in Thailand.

hi jen,

yah, i want the contact leh.... me go check Gain city, like a bit ex leh...

Let me know hor...

eos

ask gain city, they said tos inverter's compressor is frm japan and the fan coil is frm thailand...

jen which contractor did u used? is the aircon sys 3?

GC selling at abt 3K for tos inverter sys3...

jen

Got it from Hong Seng in Tampines (Tel 67857382). You can find it in the business listing. Look for Ben. Said Mr Chia recommended you.

I had checked. The compressor is printed 'Made in Japan' but no indication on the blower.

Set the temp to 23 degree C last night. Nearly froze to death. Really cool and relatively quiet.

Overall, seems quite a good set. Cheaper than Starmex ($2900 with $150 Robinson Voucher), workmanship not too bad. Can buy. Or do you all want to wait a bit longer, so that I can trial it more??

mango

Gain City does have very good workmanship when they installed Air con. I am using the Toshiba Invertor. A lot of my neighbours are using it too and we can see at one glance the workmanship differences between Gain City and other companies - by looking at the wiring near the compressor.

abrinas

I bought my toshiba inverter sys 3 fm Gain City for $3240 incl 5 years warranty. Yet to install 'cos not moving into my new hse yet. Issit ex?

eos

hi jen, is there any extended warranty for ur tos AC? does $2600 includes everything (installation, pipping etc)?

am considering tos inverter sys3 & mits starmex sys3...

experience

I bought my toshiba inverter and has been using for one and a half year. Realised that it leaks, not sure if it's gotto do with the aircon pipe or the aircon itself. It is very quiet.

jen

Hi eos,
The BTU is 23500. Not sure what you want to know about the fan coil.
The warranty is 5 years on the compressor and 1 year for the fan coil. Hong Seng also gives 1 year warranty on the installation.
The installation includes removing my old multi-split and installing the new set with new piping. No extra cost. Most shops that I had asked quote more than $3k for any inverter system. Hong Seng was the first to go below $3k. Quite happy with the set so far (day 2). Let's see how it goes in the future.........

jen

Yes. The pipes are copper, with black insulator (insulflex brand). Have you check out the price yet? By the way, the newer fan-coil is the UKCV series (eg. RAS-M10UKCV). My was the YKCV series, may be why it was cheaper.... but there was only 1 difference (new one have Zeolite filters for the M10UKCV series), so should not be too much difference.

eos

hi jen,

hows ur toshiba aircon, we got our keys n r making final decision for aircon, either toshiba inverter sys3 or starmex inverter sys3...

from the catelogue, it seems like starmex is quiter than toshiba... how do u find the toshiba ac? is it noisy?

is the toshiba inverter series called i-smart?

serrich

Hi eos,

May I know how much are you quoted for the Toshiba Inverter? Are you referring to system 3 i-smart inverter?

eos

hi serrich, our quote is @ home, think its abt 2.8 something K with 5 yr extended warranty, unlimited pipe length from gc @ exhibition which jus ended on sunday...

jen

Hi eos, sorry for the late reply. The connection was down since my last posting. The aircon is cold, quiet and working well, although the piping in the toilet does have condensation. Problably due to the moisture in the air. The filters tends to get dirty very fast. And it is hard to clean. I may need to buy new filters soon..........
Is your quote for UKCV or YKCV series? The UKCV is the newer set and may be more expensive. Overall, for me, I think it is a good buy at $2600. Not sure about your case.

sweetsuz

i have bought from twin city toshiba inverter system 4. the series is YKCV series. i was told that the trunking at the air-con ledge is rubber type and those inside the house is foam type. The cost of toshiba system 4 is $3880. cld anyone advise me whether the price is reasonable? i've already paid a $100 deposit.

jen

Sweetsuz,
I think it is a bit ex. Why don't you call Hong Seng for a quote? You can get their number in the business listing. Check out Tampines br and look for Ben. The reliability is not bad and their price is very competitive.

sweetsuz

jen,

thanks for the info but i've already placed a deposit with Twin City. Is there anyway I can recoup my $100?

i'll check out Hong Seng, if the price they quote is more than $100 less, then i'll consider to take them up.

freesia09

Hi, sweetsuz

Is yours the Toshiba Ismart Inverter System 4 with 34,000btu compressor? I got that recently from Gain City and i paid $3850 (plus $100 taka voucher) after some bargaining. I opted for the zero interest 12-mth instalment. If you pay w/o instalment, Gain City quoted me $3688 but with no voucher. Your quote seems ok if you are paying by instalment. Did they offer you any freebies? My hubby's colleague got the same model and she paid $4k+ for the aircon. That was 1 year ago though. Anyway, she said that the aircon is very good,..very cool and quiet

sweetsuz

Hi freesia09,

yes, mine is the toshiba inverter system 4 with 34K btu.

i was told that the price of the air-con is already less the amount of taka voucher. twin city didn't provide the option of instalment plan and i was not given any freebies.

thanks for your info. now i know that i was over-charged. will go back to twin city and bargain for lower prices.

btw, not too sure if i still can ask for lower price since i already paid a deposit?

mail lum

Hi freesia09 and sweetsuz,

Yours are good deals! We bought ours about 3 months back from Gain City and we paid about $4.2k. Mine includes unlimited trunking and 5-years extended warranty.

freesia09

Hi, sweetsuz and mail lum

Sweetsuz - oic. Since you hv already paid a deposit, it might be harder for you to get a discount. Maybe ask them to throw in freebies like vouchers or free servicing
Mine comes with unlimited trunking like mail lum. If yours arent the same, you can oso ask Twin City to throw in that for you. I heard extra trunking will cost quite abit!

mail lum - no lah, my deal is abt the same as yours
I also top up another $300+ to buy the 5-yr extended warranty. Hence, i oso paid abt $4.2K in total
How's the air-con? Is Gain City's worksmanship as good as they claim?

sweetsuz

hi freesia09,

mine is also unlimited trunking.
for gain city, they only do one-time installation. there's additional cost of if u require their workers to go down more than once which is necessary for me as i'm building a wardrobe across to hide the window to aircon ledge.

hmmm....nevetheless, i'll be going down to twin city this evening to get them to lower the price.

mail lum

hi Freesea09,

oic... for a moment, i feel cheated
. Anyway, i think their workmanship is good when i compare my installation with my neighbours'. They covered all the trunkings even outside the house (at the aircon ledge). I saw some of my neighbours' ones, the trunkings are left "open".... and i was told by a friend, that "xiao qiang" can enter the house through the pipings.

But the aircon piping at the master bedroom is reaaaally ugly. We chose not to hide it behind the wardrobe just in case there are leakages in future... so it's all exposed throughout the room and it can be a real eye sore. but no choice lah.

eos

hi jen, thanks for the reply... we hv choosen mitsubishi instead... hv it a good choice...

hi mai lum, we understand wat u meant, we seen others unit with hugh n ugly trunking running ard the rm...
we wld hv those trunking running round our room too when we install aircon...

sweetsuz

yup yup....those ugly trunking.
u mean the trunking wld leak? oh dear....cos i'm also going to hide the trunking behind the false ceiling

btw, the gas pipe wld run above right? but wld the water pipe be installed together with the gas pipe, or it'll be installed at a lower level? cos water travels down and not up.

freesia09

sweetsuz - yalor, Gain City wanted to charge me another $80 for the extra trip. In the end, I trade in my voucher for the extra trip. Did you manage to get any further discount? In any case, i must say aircon prices have come down alot recently. It use to cost easily at least $4.5k to $5K to aircon the whole hse. We all hv gotten gd deals liao

mail lum - yeah, i know what you mean. nevermind lah, at least you dun hv to hack your wardrobe if the pipes really leak. I think i will prob hv those pipes exposed in my master bedroom as well..argh..

By the way, sud we hide the cold air pipes under the false ceiling? I know some people hide the cold air pipes under the false ceiling and just expose the water pipes. I wanted to hide cold air pipes but i heard there are instances where water condensation at the cold air pipes might happen. Is it true?

sweetsuz

hi freesia09,

no, i haven't bargain for the prices yet. the person whom i liase with is actually a site supervisor, so he's not at the shop most of the time. have called him up and he referred me to one of the shop assistant. will call her later to find out.

i thought the insulation wld prevent the cold air pipes from condensing?

freesia09

sweetsuz - oic. dunno leh. anyway, the aircon guy from gain city was telling me that the black rubber insulation that some companies are using are not so good. He said that no doubt the black rubber will protect against the sun but it does not really prevent the cold air pipes from condensing. I am confused 'cos different companies tell me different things.

Elle - I think not just for Toshiba inverter aircon but most inverter aircon will save you a substantial amt from your electrical bill as compared to a normal conventional aircon. Hw, i heard this is true only if you are a heavy aircon user. If not, the savings are not significant.

sweetsuz

freesia09,

i was told that the black rubber insulation is good for pipes outside the house cos it's water proof and therefore last longer. the normal insulation is not suitable to be put outside cos it'll get 'sandy' and the copper pipes wld be exposed.

the normal one, grey colour, wld be more suitable for the insides of the house, can't really remember wat's the reason behind.

mail lum

sorry, i'm not too sure about all the pipings... when you say the cold air and gas pipes, are you referring to those in the living room and other bedrooms? I know that for mine, all the other rooms' pipings are at the top, only the one in the master bedroom is just above the floor skirtings...

anne

Read thru your comment in this forum about your aircon contractor Hong Seng.
I spoke to Ben and did quoted recommendation by Mr Chia..I think shd be your hubby rite?
Can you share with me your electricity bill? As Ben advised me to find out from you

My e-mail: annechng@hotmail
Keep in touch ya !!

snowcat

I bought Toshiba inverter some months back. I dun find it energy saving, and after sometime even when I switch to 18 deg, still not very cold. Dunno if I should call GainCity to check it out.

dopline

hi snowcat,

u may want to ask them to check in there is a leak...

freesia09

Hi, snowcat

oh no..i oso got a Toshiba inverter. Which model did you get? Is it the I-smart System 4 too? If 18 deg still not cold, something must be wrong! Is it for your bedrooms or living dining area? I know for living-dining area, a 18,000 BTU blower may not be strong enuff to cool your room down, if the hall is longish. Anyway, think you better call Gain City to check since your aircon sud be still under warranty.