Aircon - System 3 non inverter Mitsubishi vs Toshiba

summerice

JGal,

already paid deposit...so no choice lor....just hope that all will be well.

If we ever change house again....we will never go to them again n not intro to other ppl.

twinnie07

I got Mitsuibishi System 3 Non-inverter from N@tur@l Cool. Service v good. PM me if u wanna the contacts

loonaldo

Hi Loveme,

Yah, can tell what price for the Mit? Also, any reason why you did not consider others like Tos & Daikin.

jgal

hi loveMe... i heard frm my friend who use natur-al co-l, they gave him the wrong compressor. A smaller compressor with lower capacity. And also they didnt cover his pipes with rubber. And the piping flow backwards at part of the house. *argh* ... not sure if they are really tat good. Or my fren is really that suay.

dixie_125

Hi JGal,

Mind if you give me the contacts of your air-con man?

My contractor is quoting me NI toshiba system 3 for $1750, higher as compared to yours.

jgal

no problem.. but do note that copper price went up and toshiba change blower model... so you may not get the same quote as me.

Kelvin 91010197

pebby2811

recently, i boght a Mitsubishi Sys 1 aircon for my MBR rm. However, it doesn't seem to be cool nor circulating the cool air at all (even a/f turning it on for 1-2 hrs)? did any1 experience this b/f?

pebby2811

actually i called Mitsubishi Electric, they say nothing wrong with the aircon n mention whether the aircon is cool is vy subjective ... still trying to work out a solution with the aircon company which i bought fr ..Thks JGal.

jgal

huh?
.... you can ask them to come down and check. Maybe you didnt use the approriate mode for cooling.. In any case, check your pipes.. and see that there is no leakage etc.
BTW, what temp u put it to? have you check the temp. after hours of switching on?

Normally, shld be able to feel

ridhwan82

hi pebby,

have you checked whether your indoor unit is not undersized for your room?

maybe you can place a room thermomether and measure the temperature after say an hour to see where is room temperature see whether there is any change in temperature and how much?

summerice

Maybe u can check if the compressor is running and check if the trunking has any condensation. If nothing wrong with the above and no matter what mode or how low u tune it to n it is still not cold after 30mins then i think u better ask them to come down n check. Maybe during installation the pipe is choke or bended too much. OR can it be they forget to charge in refrigerant? You can call the installer to come down n check. how long have u buy it?

Maybe like what ridz say you room is bigger so it become undersize and u will only get cooling effect when u stand near the fan coil outlet other places in the rm is only normal but better then no air con on.

pebby2811

Hi JGal, I've tried setting at 22degree & 16 degree Super Cool ... but still not cool. I've asked the Mitsubishi to come down twice but they say nothing wrong with their aircon. The aircon company says the pipe installation is alrite too. My relative came over to my place n they dun find the air-con cold. Seem like it might take quite awhile to resolve this issue with Mit n the aircon company. Thks

Hi Ridz, I m also wondering whther it's undersize for my MBR which is a new home. Do u know where i can purchase a room thermometer ...will try doing a test on it. Thks

pebby2811

Hi Summerlce, I hve arranged for Mit n the aircon company to come down for a check .... hope they will help to resolve this issue in a win-win situation. I will check with the installer. Thks for yr advise

ridhwan82

hi pebby,

what is the dimensions of the room and also what si teh model of that indoor unit let me know then i calculate for you see if its undersized

jgal

yeah.. you let us know the size of your mbr ? .. normally.. 9000btu will do for mbr.. unless your is super big.. did you hack any walls to enlarge the room?

if it's because of the size of blower, you need to ask the aircon company to help you change for free esp if they are the ones that recommended you the configuration.

ridhwan82

the easiest is as follows
For a quick estimation, we can use the rule of thumb:
Area (Length x Width) X 65 = BTU/hr
E.g. Room size 10ft X 10ft = 100ft2 X 65 = 6,500BTU/hr.

if its in metres

you take Length (in M) x Breadth (in M) then multiply by 0.2 , then you mutiply by 3412 then you will get the required BTU but this is the basic calculating

pebby2811

Hi Ridz, my MBR room size is 3000mm (9ft) by 5100mm (15.3ft).. and my fancoil is placed above the windows. Thanks!

Summerlce n JGal, will keep u guys posted a/f the joint inspection this coming Sat.

janton

Can anyone comment is this model ok? reliable? choosing non-invertor as seldom on the aircon.

Panasonic CU-3C20EKH / 3 X CS-C9EKZW

CU-3C20EKH (QTY:1 )
Category : System 3
Description : 2.5 hp Condenser Unit
Is suitable for HDB : Yes
Capacity BTU/hr : 20500
Cooling Kw : 6Kw
Power Supply : 230V / 1ph / 50 Hz
Running Current : 8.3A
Power Consumption : 1.92Kw
Dimension : 651H X 893W X 345D
Weight : 66Kg
Liquid Pipe Size : 6.35mm
Gas Pipe Size : 9.52mm
Compressor Type : Rotary
Refrigerant : R22

CS-C9EKZW (QTY:3 )
Category : Wall Mounted
Description : 1 hp Condenser Unit
Is suitable for HDB : Yes
Capacity BTU/hr : 9210
Power Supply : 240V
Running Current : 3.4A
Power Consumption : 785W
Dimension : 280H X 799W X 183D
Weight : 8Kg
Control : Wireless Remote Control
EER : 11.7

pebby2811

Hi Ridz, JGal n Summerlce
Mitsubishi and G*in C*ty came down for a 2nd joint inspection on Sat, they both say nothing wrong with the aricon. The Mit pple did now want to discuss as in how long does it take for the air-con to cool ...and says whther airc-con can be cold is a questionable thing. At times, it might take longer or even 4 hrs to cool the room... wonder why they r selling their energy saving brands if it takes so long to cool a rm. Will pursue to cancel the Extended Warranty and Service contract with G*in C*ty as for a airc-con to function in that manner is totally unacceptable.

jgal

i think the gain city guy did a wrong calculation for you..
he shld give you the 18btu setup.hmm..

summerice

wha liao they told u that? say sometimes longer as in 4hrs? u never tell them they crazy or what of coz we dont expect them to cool in like 5 secs lar but 10mins i think is long enough already.....unless we are in a desert. Call ur salesman and complain can?

Heng i never get their service contract.

Hi janice,
I think i did consider the model u are look at too, cant remember which one. It depends on u what u are looking for. coz no matter how good the aircon is i think ultimately is the installation man's skill good or not. Thats what i realise after my aircon being install. I think they should have a better installation of trunking methods.

acid

Hi Peppy2811, sad to hear your bad encounters.

Last weekend i nearly bought a mit heavy industry sys 3 inverter (promoted by a guy from ga_nc_ty), is yours also mit heavy industry or the common mit electric?

but in the end, we decided to buy back our original planned toshiba sys 3 inverter that is made in japan.

pebby2811

Hi acid, mine is the Mitsubishi Single Split (Non-Inverter) MS/MU-10 model. Initially, i also wanted to buy other brands like Panasonic but the G*in C*ty salesman told me Mitsubshi is better. should hve gone with Panasonic or Daikin brand than Mitsubishi air-con.

pebby2811

Hi Summerlcev n JGal, hve told G*in C*ty we are vy disappointed with our Mitsubishi aircon performance... my hubby and I wanted to ask G*in Ci*y to change the brand of aircon for us ... will talk to them once their retail manager comes back.

jgal

i think they undersize the blower.. shld not be problem with mit aircon.. so far you are the only one with this kind of problem leh..

anyway.. make sure they give you a bigger blower for whatever brand they chose.. I recomm toshiba.. cos' the internal still frm japan..

ridhwan82

sorry to reply so late.. been a little caught up with assignments and projects as well as marking!!!

anyway yeah mitsubishi heavy industries are manufactured in china from what i gather.. not too sure very true or not. The mitsubishi electric now are all made in thailand. even compressors some new batches come from thai.. again i dare not make confirmations.

But yeah mitsubishi would be better bet. Or daikin i personally am for daikin in anyway they truly are the specialist in air conditioning.

as for your case pebby yeah they gave you undersized blower for that room.

IT IS true that a room generally takes about 3-4 hour to properly cool down just that typical singapore bedrooms are in the range that requires around 7000btu to slighlt below 9k btu to cool (for 2,3,4 room flats) hence the blower is able to cool the room faster cos its rated 9k but need to cool an area which with 7-8k is enough. thats the reason why we take it for granted that cooling in a bigger space is the same. that can be said true if the blower is significantly bigger like if you take a 12k to cool a 10k cooling needs yes. if its about the same like 12k blower cooling a 11.5k cooling need. then it will definitely need 3-4 hours to cool down.

But yeah it could be an option for you to swap brand of another air con in that case a daikin would be good. but i think you need to top up cos daikin prices are significantly higher by several hundreds.

but then again gain city i doubt they would give you a change of brand. maybe a change in blower size would be possible but to another brand.. you gotta check the terms of service that contract. then see if there is any clause that you can change or a loophole anywhere in the contract that gives you the authority to rescind it or some form of resolution.

whatever the case is i wish you the best yeah and let us know of the outcome okie?>

summerice

I thought Toshiba n carrier are the same. I heard from the salesman that the parts are the same coz carrier bought over by toshiba, thats why the casing is almost the same. Really Toshiba from Japan? Didnt hear about this when we source for air con.

Now every company wants to cost down, and many items are from china or thailand. I still feel that thailand will be safer as they are ealier then china. Many products from china they dont bother much about quality only price.

Initially we wanted to get a panasonic also..anyway the mitsubishi and panasonic sys 3 price are not very much different.

like what ridz says you have to check the spec properly...to c if it suits ur needs, cannot fully trust a salesman.

I dont think they will change the air con for u to another brand, most probably they can change the compressor to a higher capacity one.

jgal

yeah.. summerice .. toshiba and carrier is the same.. cos' i register my toshiba warranty under carrier website..

When the toshiba aircon arrive.. all the blowers were stated on the boxes to be shipped frm thailand.. However, i confirmed with my aircon man that the core is frm japan. If they bluff me.. i also cannot verify .. ha ha ha :p

slbjen

Abt Toshiba, it depends on the batch the shop is carrying.

I understand they will all be from Thailand and for the lucky few, shops that still have remaining stocks of the final Jap-made will get them.

That's what mt aircon contact told me.

summerice

hehehe i think now not possible to get japan made ones already. If it is japan made the price will be damn high and i dont think local will want to buy.

jgal

i think mine was the earlier stock.. but i am aware that the blowers are not japan-made.
Anyway, the aircon saleperson is quite responsive for queries etc.. that day i turn the temp too low.. 18 degrees and there was some 'condensing' in the toilet.. he also come down promptly to help me check it it is a leak..

So far... quite happy with his service.

edwinloh

hi fiona, i just bought toshiba non-inverter system 3 at All-Best, IMM. I can get you the sales agent that we got our aircond. He is quite a nice guy. My colleagues also bought his aircond there..

system 3 - non inverter for abt $1.6k if not mistaken.. i haven't install yet..since i have not shifted in.

danieltiger

hi summer,

i bought at all best at $1,875 (w/o bracket cause got aircon ledge). had first installation last week. 2nd installation will be next week

my id charghe 2199 bargain to 2150, my friend charge 2050 with all pipings chnge.. somermore, there's no way to tell piping ggod or no good lo
only by weighing only
bith price with piping

berries5588

Hi all...which brand system 3 would u recommend?
Some say daikin, mitsubishi, toshiba...
there're so many..i dunno which to pick!