Aircon - System 3 non inverter Mitsubishi vs Toshiba

ckclass

Got a quote from Gaix Cxxx $2020 for Mitsubishi System 3 and about $1830 for Toshiba System 3.

Prices include installation, but exclude stainless steel bracket.

Are these prices competitive? Any place where can get better prices?

My heart is telling my to go with Mitsubishi, however with Toshiba, its possible to 'upgrade' the blower fan unit (additional 120 per unit) to one with a plasma-ion filter - supposed give cleaner air output and remove bacteria, etc.

Any comments?

I know that Mitsubishi air con has pretty quiet compressor and reliable, plus it has a 3 tick energy saving rating from NEA. But don't know much about Toshiba's aircons.

irenep

I got my toshiba sys 3 for only $1568 (include 5% GST+2 time installation+$120 service voucher)fm Allbest (IMM).. think their mitsubishi starmex is abt $1800 .. can't remember the actual price that he quote me...

If not u can also get fm Hong Ta* @ IMM also.. think their price is $1388+5% GST but this 1 only 1 time installation, u got to top up abt $80 for additional trip.

Hi Astrogirl,

I got Mit Starmex System 3 inverter. Very happy with it. Got inverter since my usage justified for it

ckclass

the quote is got is for Mitsubishi System 3 Easy Clean, not sure if it is the same as Starmex. This easy clean is supposedly their new range; dunno whether replacing the older starmex.

astrogirl

Sunnyday, is ur starmex the one which will help save abt 30% electricity compared to normal aircons? I mean the one which is advertised on tv by Jack Neo issit? How much you bought for system 3 & where u bought? how many types of starmex are there in the market? only 1 type? Thank you.

ckclass

Astrogirl,

In simple understandable description:

Advantages of the inverter technology:

You reach much faster the comfort temperature you want

The start-up time is reduced by 1/3

You save a lot of energy and also money : 30% less power consumption

Avoids cycling of the compressor meaning that there are no voltage peaks

The energy consumption cost is reduced by 1/3 (compared to normal on/off units)

No temperature fluctuations

ckclass

On average, inverter cost 800 - 1000 more.

If you divide the additional cost of 5 years, 1 year extra = 800/5 = 160 per year.

Every month only 13. If you use aircon significantly, I am sure with inverter technology, you can save 13 per month on your PUB bills.

Plus the compressor of inverter units supposedly have a longer life span, coz the compressor don't start stop start stop.

astrogirl

Sunnyday, how much did you pay for your Mitsubishi System 3 inverter air-con? I just called up 2 shops and they both told me $2700. Toshiba would be $2500. Can get cheaper elsewhere?

astrogirl

Actually i dunno if i shld get inverter not. cos it'll be my new home. only me & hubby living. no child yet. so usign aircon in masterbedroom mostly. the other two rooms mayb once a while when got guests or when doing some work in the study room.

Hi Astrogirl,

around 2.8k, a special price from our friend. Inclusive of 2 trips plus we got the best insulation. My brother in law is the supplier and advised us to get the best which is more ex than the normal type. Sorry I dunno how to explain.

Hi Astrogirl,

sorry, I dunno if about the types of Starmex available in the market. My place is a resale with limited electrical loading so I could only get Mit or Fujitsu.

I don't know what's the latest as I didnt do much research on it due to the limitation but we got the latest and fix up by our friend.

long_bean

I Just got my Toshiba sys3 inverter from ALL BE?T at IMM.(Already compared with all sellers in Singapore)
GO look for Mr Roy, he will make sure you got a good installer to install your air-con and explain to you the pros & cons.

old_timer

Yesterday newspaper, KAISOON aircon. Mit sys 3 1770 with bracket all in. Toshiba is at 1520 with bracket. tel no is 64817482. anybody try this co before

cecilialim

i got one system 3 (non inverter) and system one (non inverter) for 3K, includes installation, steel bracket, piping etc etc... all inclusive la... no other cocts.. interested can PM me for contact...

vvbbb

guys,

Which shop pay instalment plan for aircon? Do we actually pay more than those shops that do not hv instalment plan?
Trying to strecth our money to the max hehehe...

cecilialim

viv, of cos you pay more if you use instalment plan... courts best denki all these have instalment plan.... but take note the price for instalment is always higher than if you pay cash even though you have 0% credit card intalment plan....

liando, the contact is not with me now, later when i get it then i will email to you.... but hor, i not suppose to tell the price la... my group of friends all get from him, so he gave a very good price (as what he said) but i just came in to confirm...

cecilialim

ok kevin 9101 0197... easy going guy...now that my pipings already i haven't even pay a cent hehe... he say never mind wait til my aircon unit up...

jgal

Got my toshiba sys 3 non-invertor @ $1680..with class a rubber and also ... rubber for the drainage pipes..
2 time installations.
cos' my id say.. better to let them doing the hacking before proceeding with the tiling

Piping already done nice nice ....

iceblue27

hey ppl, need advise i not familiar wif the aircon.
would like to find out wat's the rubber for? the hollow part is for the metal thg,it is jus for installation purpose rite?

cos i wen to see aircon. i forgot wat brand(start wif A) is tt rubbet but its a class A.

iceblue27

hey ppl, need advise i not familiar wif the aircon.
would like to find out wat's the rubber for? the hollow part is for the metal thg,it is jus for installation purpose rite?

cos i wen to see aircon. i forgot wat brand(start wif A, shld b armaflex) is tt rubbet but its a class A.

iceblue27

hi Jgal, is ur toshiba the latest model?

any ppl using non inverter Toshiba system 3? how is it?

my id quoting me 1700 for toshiba, sayin the latest model, its promo price by their contractor.

tempting. but dint survey on tt. al along mind was abt mitsubishi

jgal

icerainbow... definitely your id has overprive the aircon..
kongtar @ imm is charging $1580 NI toshiba sys 3 :p
Mine aircon man is charging $1600.. latest model

Another quotation i got is $1680 :p .. $1700 def too much liao.

i chose my aircon man because he is using good materials. 0.5inch class 1 insulator and insulation for drainage pipes also. :p and also he come down 3 trips. 1 to discuss the aircon piping with my id . 2nd to do the piping.. before the reno starts. 3rd to install the item :p

you need to plan the piping before you start renovation else.. pipes will run everywhere in the house .. ugly :p

jgal

remember dont get frm "<anything> best <anything> " stores at imm.. their piping suck..will leak.
will regret if you use them..

iceblue27

hi Jgal , the price he told us is for the latest model. hmm so stil ex by $100 ah.
so u using the toshiba daiseikin also?

ur aircon man is intro by ur id?hmm cos we think let id settle tght betr.

if i nd ur aircon guy can intro?

i wil try ask for this price frm my id, see wat he say

jgal

harlow :p
really depends on your id.. my id got no problem if i engage my own aircon man , plumber etc.. they will co-ordinate for me no less..
if you go thru id, normally, they will take a cut. alot of merchant told us NOT to bring our id to their shop.. else cannot give cut-thoat price :p

see low.. you pm if you need help.. where is your lovenest

iceblue27

pplz im jus curious abt the mit a/c it is highly publised as energy saving. for current users wats ur comments? true?

iceblue27

hi Jgal

ur aircon u alrdy install liao?or jus purchase?
cos tdy i went GC for 2nd look,thinkg quite impos u got daiseikin, unles ur aircon guy really got gd lobang. is urs the UK series new model? cos tt price closer.

daiseikin GC sellin at $2079 for sys 3 non inverter

iceblue27

hi irene, u ment tt the price at hongta* is not the final pric ah? mus add anth $80 ?

any1 who recently hav a/c done by them?pls advise me ASAP whet now its still the same?

hw is their service now?tdy i went over the sales lady is frenly, hmm hp their workers r gd too!

THANKS ALOT

jgal

Aircon installed today
paid $1630 for toshiba (NI) sys 3 with 3 x 9k btu blowers. All Daiseikin blowers (that's why need to pay another $30)

All pipings are insulated with class 1 rubber, including drainage pipes. Everything concealed nice nice

summerice

I saw some of you went to ALLBEST....me too. Some of their sales man is good with knowledge n very good customer service, plus they are CASTTRUST company. So we thought it will be the best choice to buy from them. We were wrong.

The day came for the 1st installation, i went up to wait for the installer....they came late, i dont mind that, but both the installer behave as if the are the boss. Walk into my masterbed rm and then start telling me where i should put my fan coil. Didnt ask me where i want. Thats not what the sales man told us. I know some company they like to tell save material so we have already check with the salesman b4 we buy, he say dont worry we will run the way u want it.

When i told the installer the position they suggest cannot be done as i have bed n cabinet there. Finally they ask me where i want to put them....so i told them the location (which we had check with the salesman previously is it feasible and he said yes), and how i want the trunking to be run......immediately they say cannot (to make my story short), and after that then say if u want it this way we have to join pipe lar blah blah blah or pipe cannot bend lar blah blah blah, when i ask them why u say can a while ago now say cannot. They keep giving me different execuses, refuse to explain to me some issue also. When finally i ask them how they propose to run the truking they say told u already, but the point is the have so many different execuses how am i going to know how they will run if i were to say o.k go ahead.

The make me feel like a fool, like i dont know a thing. Finally they say after so long u still cannot decide how u want the trunking to be run (it take less then an hr with all the talking, they call it long), then they say today we cannot do we have to go already...u arrange again another day. i even have to try n make them stay by saying why not u run the other 2 rms which the location are confirm so i have more time to consider for the masterbed rm, which i will tell u later. Again many different execuses...say o.k then later say cannot we have to go.....and they even tell me that it is this boss who ask them to go.....

I am very angry, call up the salesman when the installer are leaving and tell him i want to cancel n ask for a refund. Both me n my hubby took leave for the installation which end up not done. we went down to the shop and demand compensation....the only thing they offer is sorry and we will arrange for friendly installer to go up again, the salesman told us that if this time still cannot they will refund us.

The point is our leave are wasted n i got so angry early in the morning with 2 idiots.
Now i am worried that the after sales will be lousy also. Now we no longer trust CASETRUST company, no difference from any other company.

jgal

Summerice I think you are very lucky to havent got the trunking done in the way you dun like.

During the next installation, it will be better if you ask your contractor if you have 1 to go down with you also. Then this idiots wont try to fool you. Communicate with your ID/contractor first.

But please be there to supervise the trunking, my friend has his pipe not connected.*urgh*

summerice

JGal,

The trunking is done already....this time round we told the installer we want to run it through the toilet n out...they say no problem.

Happy that we didnt give in to pressure from the previous installer. Regret, i should have scolded them, but at that point i thought if they r the one fitting it, then no point arque with them.

My hubby said that its good they left...and he told me that if we meet ppl like that again we just tell them to leave no need them to do.

Anyway this is our house n we dont have to ans to anyone is the project it delay.

jgal

summerice .. congrats.. that's the problem abt engaging all-best. they sub out the job. So you dun know who will be doing the work for you.

summerice

JGal,

My hubby ask them is it they sub out, the salesman say no. They have 15 technicians.

But hor, even if the installer is friendly i see the way they push the pipe through the wall holes, i told my hubby copper pipe are soft easy to bend how they know bended or not. So no one will know coz it is inside the black rubber thing. Plus they leave all the pipes connection outside the air con ledge, some not seal up. so in the end will trap dust.

I told my hubby once install the air con we must on to c will choke or not....my hubby say how good the air con what brand also no use if the installer no good. Also true.

jgal

Yes. It does not really matter if your aircon is of good brand or not. If the piping is not done probably, you will waste a lot of electricity.

The other time when my aircon man come to install, we see them bend the pipes using some some spanner etc. So it not as soft as you think. ;)

It has to been cover so that they does not trap water.
All the pipes shld be protected by the rubber so that the cool(outlet)/hot(inlet) air pipes does not affect each other.

Anyway, my advise is that dont go to all best. ;P

summerice

JGal,

Ur installer is good they use the pipe bender to bend the raduis so that it will have smooth flow...but u dont need that...

they use pure or almost pure copper pipe it is really easy to bend.

Last time my work got involve with bending of copper pipes so i know it can be bended with bare hands. unless those water pipe which is bigger and not pure copper, but air con one too small.