Airasia (BUDGET AIRLINE)

oppzien

Planning to go on a short hols to bankok frm 23jun-26jun. so far i've check a few airlines and airasia seems to be the cheapest.
But there are some terms which i do not understand.
when i went into e booking system, there are these Vfare, Ufare, Lfare, Pfare etc w different pricing. what does tt means? also there are terms like guestweb, guest which are making me confuse.
if there's anyone who have made bookings via airasia pls kindly explain it?
Also is there any reminders on the things i have to take note while travelling via airasia?
I understand it is impossible to expect much frm budget airlines but i just want to be more prepared before I go 4 the trip (i've tried surfing around the web hoping to find out more but so far i had not gather much info).
Thanks for any help available.

sixth_sense

Maybe u want to try Tiger Airways or Valuair.
My last trip to Bangkok was with Tiger airways n it is ok.
Met a passenger from Austrlia while coming back from Bangkok n he told me that his flight back to Singapore from bangkok was cancelled...

oppzien

hi sixth sense,
yup i've check both tiger airways n valuair but they are more expensive. (most prob due to sch hols)...

hi oppzien,

I had taken Air Asia twice this year to Bangkok. The trips were great. But you have to bear in mind that it's free seating! Meaning, no seat numbers will be allocated.
If you have any doubt, you might like to visit their office at Peninsular Plaza.

hoppinghippos

I took air asia to sabah previously and one thing to note is if you're flying to/fro senai, see when the plane returns. If it returns late, (last flight in to senai), about 10-11pm, you will have a transport prob getting back to s'pore and may need to spend the nite at the deserted airport, cuz there's only shuttle bus to the transit lounge in JB which doesn't have a connecting bus to s'pore (last bus would have left by the time you arrive there). Only way is to take taxi if you don't wanna stay overnite. Just to share my experience!

oppzien

hi hoppinghippos,
you mean we'll take bus frm sg-m'sia before we can take e flights? meaning there's no direct flight frm sg?
oh btw wad are the terms such as Vfare, Ufare, Lfare, Pfare, guestweb etc on the booking system?

hoshi5

any comments on airasia? is it good and reliable?...

appreciate any comments for those who have travelled with airasia before..

snowysoul

My friend has tried all budget airlines and AirAsia is the worst according to her....

As for myself..i onli travel by Value Air b4 and i would say is very good.

hoshi5

Hi snowysoul, any idea why airasia is the worst?..
if it's the inflight-crew service, i dun mind since it's juz a short duration to BKK...
But wat abt the check-in procedures?..

hoshi5

Hi interrace,

Read thru some of the past postings tat airasia doesn't link to bangkok airport. Must take a bus or something like tat to reach the airport. Is that true?

also, since it's free seating, must we check-in very early? or normal 2 hrs in advance?

did u exceed ur luggage limit?... r they very strict?....

thanks in advance...

snowysoul

Heard the leg space very small...free seating...people rush like hell to get seats...no space to put hand luggage....strict luggage for sure....

My friend said that the air ventilation is horrible..very stuffy...but u may want to give it a try.....

My friend always travel on budget but she swear she will never take AirAsia again...

I travelled on Air Asia twice to Bangkok this year. I must say that, yes, the leg space is very small and yes, it's free seating! There is no free meal on board... need to pay! Even for kopi or tea.

Recently, I took ValuAir to Hong Kong. I must say that it's much more better than Air Asia. Leg space is roomy. Allocated seats (don't have to rush in to get seats). One meal was provided on board.

But then again, travelling to Bangkok is just like 2 hours... so it's still quite okie to take Air Asia. Afterall, what we are getting is what we are paying.

aquarius_888

I travelled on Air Asia to BKK once and my god! The ventilation is really bad...I saw mosquitoes flying here and there and I mean not few but MANY mosquitoes. Scary.

paopei

Last month 5 Sep I booked tickets to BKK through Airasia website ($299). After typed in my card number and click process, got message "gate error bla bla bla" I called their call centre in Malaysia to check and the staff confirm there is system error and deducted twice from my accounts. He told me to wait for 1 month for refund. Ok ... I'm thinking 1 month should be ok, just wait. But after 1 month there is no refund to my accounts. I called them twice, the staff cannot give me fixed date when to refund. I asked to talk with manager or Finance, they said"cannot connect me to them. The Finance will contact me" Ok ... I wait but nobody call me back. I am really fed up and called to them again, complained. Finally after waited for so long ... (I should claim my hp bill from them) got 1 lady from Refund department talked to me. The more I talked to her, the more angry I feel. She ask me to wait for 3 months cause lots of refund that has to be done. Normal is 1 month, but now got lots of refund to do so I must wait approximately 3 months. What the he** she is talking about? It is due to their own stupid system error and not my fault. Why I must wait for 3 months? I'm willing to wait for 1 month and now it's not enuff, must wait for 3 months now. So after 3 months later, what??? I must wait for 1 year??? THe customer service are damn lousy ... Now I really feel so angry, feel wanna exploded liao. What u all think? I will write email to STRAIT TIMES ... Can I go to CASE for help? Now it's not about moeny anymore. But about lousy service and proud staff in AIRASIA. I swear this is the first time and last time I take AIRASIA. Really apy peanut get big MONKEY

carndablues

go ahead, but do a google search on ryanair and michael o'leary, the king of budget airlines...just be glad that he doesn't own air asia, else he'll be calling you personally at 3:30am!!!

carndablues

haha! the reality is, the budget airlines work on a no frills system, even in the way they treat their staff and customers...you can't expect to pay cheap prices and expect better service which the likes of SIA or any of the other major airlines provide...your case, although unfortunate, will probably be treated like any of their other customer complaints, ie not much priority. i took ryanair once to france, they changed the flight 2 hours before boarding, to another small airport, but in germany!!! 60 miles from my original destination, and they refused to refund me my ticket, they only gave me one option, take another flight to my original destination, but i had to wait 6 more hours! i didn't even get an apology, nor did the other passengers affected...but the ticket only cost me 40 euros whereas a BA flight cost 120 euros...it's a give and take thing i guess...but please complain maybe asians are more sensitive about corporate face...but i doubt so...

paopei

I understand I pay cheap for the tickets and never expect good service from them. The problem is :why they need 3 months to refund? That is my money we are talking about and which century are we in now till need 3 months to refund?

tamarind

paopei,
Have you paid your credit card bill already ? If not, you can tell the bank that you dispute the charge by Air Asia. Just say that you don't remember incurring this charge, and ask them to provide proof of the charge. From my experience, the bank should remove the charge from the bill, and will take a couple of months to investigate. Air Asia would probably settle the refund if they are investigated by the bank.

paopei

Thanks for ur info, Tamarind. The problem is I used DebitCard not credit card. Stupid mistake ... I know!!! I will send email to Strait TImes, see what AirAsia reply ...

sweetypie

paopei,
suggest you go to their website and complain to the ceo himself, tony fernandez. maybe something fruitful will come out of it. all the best.

juz_dimp

i also believe airasia,though its kinda of cheap..the plane always delay by 2-3 hrs....
that time i go bkk ...the plane delays from 4+ till 7++pm

another incident is that i am waiting for my bf to come bk from bkk thr air asia ..suppose to reach singapore ard 8pm.however the flight delays again to 11pm. in the end i waited for the airport for 3hrs plus...
want to go hm also cannot..else waste trip

wat to do..u want cheap price..u have to endure their 'reasonable' service..
anyway going bkk only 2 hrs..close eyes and take a nap and you will reach..

sideache

Hi.. I have a problem with booking air tickets with airasia and wondering if anyone could help me here.
i paid through direct debit on the internet but due to a change of plans later, i called to ask if booking can be cancelled. the lady cancelled it (apparently) and sent me an email indicating i paid $0 but i checked my bank a/c later and the amt is still being credited. it was only when i called again that i realised the lady made a mistake cos flights once booked cannot be cancelled. she says she will check and get back to me but airasia is not exactly well know for their svc.
what else can i do to ensure i will get my money refunded?

Hi audrey

Most budget airlines don't give refunds for cancellations. From what I've read (Airasia, Tiger, Jetstar etc), their fares are not refundable. However, you are usually allowed to change passenger names/dates/destinations for a fee. If you really can't go, and don't want to change dates, perhaps you'll have to find someone to buy the tix from you?

juz_dimp

alhana:
tat time i try to change name for tigerairways coz my partner cant make it for the trip but i tik tigerairways dun allow me to change name liao
it says only can postpone the trip to another date + subject to that date charges, with $30 per way administrative charges too.

In the end my partner just forgo the trip..not worth the changing as its more than the ticket price i have booked initially..
wat to do

budget man!!!

u pay for wat e service is.....

Hi Juz

If I remember correctly, not all fare types will allow passenger name changes. You must always read the terms and conditions carefully before booking anything. If you bought the tix at those special promo price (like those $1 offer), I won't be surprised if they're more stringent on the conditions. Even for full svc airlines...as long as they hv some promo with very low fares, those tix usually have different conditions from those sold at normal prices.

bloomiey

I faced problems getting refund too. I was suppose to make payment to Air Asia thru SAM machine, instead of choosing Air Asia, i accidentally click on JetStar Asia unknowingly. Then now asking for Jetstar for refund. Its almost been 1month, i chased after Post office but Post office says have to wait for JetStar. Every refund takes a long time. Now i have to fork out another huge amt for my air ticket again while waiting for refund.

blueroti

just realised airasia is not listed in changi aiport. does that mean they don't fly direct to changi airport and bangkok airport????
coz' if that's so, where are we suppose to board the flight?
i just booked the tickets to bangkok thinking that it'll be like the usual flights.

blueroti

thanks alhana and aquarius!

was so worried that i've to travel to JB to board my flight!

anyway saw alot of bad comments about airasia, just hope my trip there would be better...

pinkieangel

hey everyone here, i think not all budget airlines are bad. i have travelled on jetstar asia 2 bangkok and their service is quite gd.

rogerp

personally my experience with airasia to KL was great. Bought the tix to KL when they having $1.99 fare. No delays from the plane. The slight problem is getting to the airport, that that is alright. I be traveling to Penang Via JB again this Dec and the fare is half the price compare if i take it from Singapore. Cut COst.....

nyimoh

Tiger Airways is really bad!

No contact number to complain. Due to Tiger Airways technical error, I was charged twice for my online booking. Confirmation email was supposed to be sent to our email but no confirmation email was sent to my hotmail because Tiger Airways claim that their system always has problem with hotmail. Anyone encountered such problem of not receiving confirmation email sent to hotmail? Come on, it's Tiger Airways.

In order to get my refund, I need to fax to their HQ. No numbers to contact them. Can you believe it? Tiger Airways - the best budget airline in SINGAPORE..what a shame!!!

Tiger Airways customer service officer hangs up the phone once they are not able to resolve the problem. Seriously, i really wonder what kind of CSO training does Tiger Airways provide.

When asked if the problem has been brought up to higher authority, they claimed that they have faxed. But when requested to see the fax, they mentioned something else. Also, they claimed that they do not have the number to HQ, but another CSO said her higher authority managed to contact HQ - totally incoherent!

Even if it's budget, there should be some kind of standard that Tiger Airways should maintain!

When you book Tiger Airways, think thrice! Jetstar reccommended..even my peers said so..better service..

I flew with Airasia before, it is from Jakarta to Batam. Airasia may cost more in Indonesia as it is a more prefered airline over the indonesia owned airlines.

dankell

I would prefer Airasia for budget travel although I haven't tried any. As this one drew the least flake.

I will always try to take full fledged airlines for comfort, food and better service. The savings does not work out to be much after taking into account all the inconviennces like funny timings.

slackgal

My friend book Airasia for a trip to bangkok, but due to the riots the flight got canceled, and Airasia refuse to give her a refund. I think its damn outrageous loh. How can they not refund her when its not her fault at all. I dun think i'll ever fly with Airasia

jojo11

i took airasia to bangkok last year before cny... their airplanes are the newer ones.. and quite comfy...

andrianie

Took Tiger Airways to BKK last year, it went pretty well for us, although we were lucky to be the first few to go up (n the first few to arrive!). On our return trip, we were late so had separate seats along the isle, but since duration is so short, we didnt mind it.

As for Air Asia, will be gg on our trip to bali on 1st May 09. A change of date costs me additional $72, wow.