Air-con

rachely

HI XHZ,

I bought mine system inverter 4 at 3.2K, add 4 years extended warranty at 3.5+. By the way it's Toshiba

cloud0829

Hello, hearsay inverter is good in saving electrical cost, but the cost of maintenance, repair will cost higher. Is it true.

Starmex and Daikin, which is better? Any model to recommend.

ridhwan82

hi cloudie,

Well yes its true alright. cost of maintenance is higher.. they are using the r410a gas and this is more expensive than the normal r22 gas. well for repairs yes of course it will cost more cos of the use of more circuit boards for precise control processing.

As for either one i would say its preference.

I would go for daikin still though premium price.

But starmex have its pros too which is easy clean feature.

any models to recommend? that highly depends on the dimensions of the rooms that you need to cool, the capacity required and of course usage patterns.

cutie_gal

Hi Ridz,

The dimensions are as follows:
Living Hall - 6300mm x 3250mm
MBR - 5379mm x 2900mm
BR1 - 3979mm x 2900mm
BR2 - 4000mm x 2900mm

Usage patterns:
My BR1 & 2 will be left empty unless got guests stay overnight
My hubby n I seldom on air-con unless weather is reali unbearable, which means our usage reali belong to the low type.

Any models to reco.
Pls help

cloud0829

Hi ridz, thanks for your advice.

Why your preference is daikin? In what way it is better than starmex? How much is the price difference among the two? besides Starmex and Daikin, any other brands we can look out for?

My flat is 121 square meters, but I only need it for MBR and 2 bedrooms. HTB and I still not sure to get inverter or non.

elchwong

Hi ridz,

Any comments on Toshiba Sys 3 non inverter but wif air purifier? Cnnt rmb the exact model...will only be using 1 unit occasionally in MBR...electrical bill for using a non inverter n inverter air con shld nt have too much diff rite?

Where can I get cheap aircons wif gd n reliable installation n service? Will be collecting my keys in 4th qtr tis yr but would like to place an order nw to 'escape' the 7% gst...

ridhwan82

hi elchwong,

well toshiba isnt too bad with their non inverter system. Why not consider others like mitsubishi or even panasonic and carrier?

Well actually there will be quite a big difference if you high usage. High usage using inverter will save a lot. BUt low usage using inverter will not save you a lot.

but since you are mentioning that you are using the MBR only so non inverter would be fine. of course if you a 'green' person it would be better to opt of inverter cos they are using r410a gas which is environmentally friendly.

where can get cheap aircons. probably can try hongtxr (replace x with a)

cleo2210

Can I just ask sthg. I notice that whenever my tenant on the aircon in the common room, my main bedroom's aircon trunking will feel wet even tot i did not on the aircon at the main bedrm. is it bcos theres leakage at the trunkg? i actually retrunk my aircon pipe b4 i move in 1 yr ago.

cheekybee

Hi anyone here bought aircons from Na*ural Cool (* replace with t)? If so, can you tell me some feedback about them in aspects of installation materials/workmanship and service? Really appreciate any advice. Thank you.

blue_ape

Can someone recommend reliable air-con man to clean my air-cons? need to clean it soon. what are the standard price for that service?

lavendery

Just bought a Toshiba Invertor System 4 (RAS-4M30YACV) at $3460 (Class 1, guage22, 1/2 insulator, 16mm drainage piping with 1/4 insulator).

The Gain City salesman kept on asking me to take up the extended 5yrs warranty at $499. He kept saying that Invertor aircon will break down easily and the repairing cost is very expensive. Is the salesman trying to earn more money from us? Or its really true that Invertor aircon will really break down very often?

rachely

hi AMK,

I paid 3570 for my Toshiba inverter, same model, additional 499 for 5yrs warranty as the sales told us that the repair for inverter cause more, so in order to save from hassle in future, we just pay a bit more. We donno how true izzit, but okie lah, treat it like life insurance...haahaa

But I want to ask why your sys4 is 110 lesser than mine? We upgrade our insulation to ARMFLX 3/8" & Upgrade to 22 copper (same as yours)

We also get a free accura scale..when they finish installing my air-con they anyhow put the scale & I thought it's a junk box till my hubby went to see the house & saw the scale box & realise it's the damn gift....:p

Overall their service is prompt & efficient & reliable. I will give 9/10. 1 mark deduct for anyhow place our freebies. Haahaa

lavendery

I also don't know leh. This is what the IMM GainCity salesman quote me. Previously we went to AMK GainCity, the salesman there quote us $3579.

IMM GainCity will be more cheaper, compare to AMK GainCity. I think its becos IMM GainCity is competing with a few aircon shops beside them.

Initially the IMM GainCity saleman quote us Amaflex 3/8", but we want to upgrade to Amaflex 1/2" insulation. The reason is becos its invertor aircon, hence the pipping will be colder. So the insulation has to be thicker, thats why we insist to upgrade for 1/2" instead of 3/8".

The accura scale is for what ah? The salesman never mention about free gift. Maybe thats why ours is cheaper :p

cutie_gal

**Pls advise if this price is reasonable**
I jus bought a Toshiba sys 3 & a single split air-con(non-inverter). Was being charged $3,100. Is it expensive?

nastrix

Need some advice.

My vendor is giving me this:

Drainage pipe, grey Top 13mm Bottom 16mm
Black C01 Nysles Insulation.

I'm using the system4, inverter. Pls advice. Thanks.

jasz_24

Interested in getting the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries inverter aircon. Hope to know if it is worth investing in it and how is the performance of the aircon if anyone has use it before.... thanks....

cloud0829

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries is from China, better not get it. Initially someone from Gain City also try to promote us this brand, but after some research we decided not to take risk.

cutie_gal

I would strongly recommend Toshiba. My ID reco me this brand and I also gather feedback from ppl using this brand and so far no prob and they like it. This brand has this special feature that when u actually off ur air-con, the fins of the air-con dun close immed but allow the fan coil to dry before closing up the fin and this lessen the formation of moulds inside the coil.
Mit air-con no doubt is gd but I personally feel we are paying for the brand.
If u gals interested, I can reco u my air-con contractor. He gave us a lot of useful advice like where to place our air-con unit, the pro & cons, gd service

bopeep

Dear all, my ID has gotten his aircon contractor to quote for my new house: Mitsubishi Inverter

Masterbedroom: 11k
Bedroom1: 9k
Bedroom2: 9k
Living1: 13k
Living2: can't remember! haven't received the actual quote.

5 aircon units and 2 compressors. as ours is a 2nd hand place, we'll be redoing all the trunking and piping. including hacking and replastering, it's costing us $7.5k.

is this reasonable? pls advise! thanks!

bopeep

Got the figures wrong...

System 2: 18k (Living) + 13k (MBR)
System 3: 18k (Living) + 13k (Bedrm1) + 13k (Bedrm2)

With 3/4" insulation, total cost is $7k.

ariesta

hi all, sorry to butt in like this but i hav just won a mitsubishi electric inverter system 4 air-con (MXY-4A38VA model). Looking to sell it asap. any interested party pls sms mi at 93666883.
Pros: cheap. (tink retail is selling at 3K, but will be selling at 2.5k)
inverter (saves ur electricity bill)
very limited sound (i also use star-mex, system 3, no sound)

Cons: NO installation -->need to found installer. But shld be ok if u hav contractor/ID designer

http://www.c@@lserve.com.sg/htmdocs/products/products_details.asp?id=1434
(pls replace the @@ with oo from the c@@lserve, as in cool)

mooo

Hi, can someone pls adv me which aircon brand is strongly recommended, cool + quite + energy saving, and most important where to buy?? My selection will be either sys-2 or sys-3. TKS.

hatemenot

hihi, anybody still using casement window unit?
thinking of just getting one for bedroom.

which brand is good? there's 2 brands with casement. Carrier and sanyo.. anybody can help? thanks!

naivesg

Hi, can comment for single split 9000 Mitsubishi Electric $750 is it reasonable?

Which is better and more reliable? Mitsubishi Electric or Mitsubishi Heavy Industrial?

ryanon123

Pls get an inverter air-con unit. The normal unit uses R-22 gas cylinder which is not environmental friendly. Very soon, R-22 gas will be banned in many countries. This is what is going to happen soon to the marine industry. The ships are soon not going to use the R-22 gas cylinders because of many issues with environment. Maybe next time you need service, the service man will not be able to supply you any R-22 gas if that happens to be spoilt.

Just like the precedent R-11 and R-12. They will be banned lor.

winningeleven

don't scare me leh...i have decide to install 2 set of system 2 (one inverter and one normal )or maybe 1 sys 3 inverter + i single spilt for my new home...like dat spending the extra on inverter also don't worth it since 2 of my bedrooms are seldom ON.

They shouldn't banned the gas...should banned the normal air con first mah..

winningeleven

Anyone using Fujitsu aircon??? me getting this soon. Will like to know whetehr it is problematic? noisy? how about the after sale service and it maintenance etc..

whiteboxer

Hi Ridz,

Need help urgently. I need to install a system 2 by next week. Still cannot decide whether to get Inverter or not.

1) Usage : 8-10hours everyday in Master room , requires at least 12k btu and 2-3 hrs (2-3 times a week)and 8k btu

For such cases, do you recommend inverter or a non inverter will do the job as inverter will not save that much? Actually, plan to get Daikin MA56EV1 as it has low consumption compared to Mitsubishi Non-Inverter.

Any suggestion?

Any feedbacks are welcome.

bestacid

Ridz,

If you are using it for 8 - 10 hours a day, it is a better investment to install an inverter. You will save more in the long run although you need to pay more first. I install my aircon from Aircon Installation Singapore and so far so good i am quite pleased with them.