ridhwan82

for mitsubishi

MUX20TV (QTY:1
MS-A10VD (QTY:3 )
price: $1,953.00

i think so or slightly more expensive i think this is a promo price

loonaldo

Hi Ridz,

I was at GC Tampines. They selling the Toshiba RAS-3M20UAX4 (QTY:1 )
RAS-M10NKDX (QTY:3 )
at $1899. Bracket $125. 15A Power Point $189 (i think). The salesman said this config can cool all 3 rooms simultaneously with 8.5A with no problem. To add $60 for Armatek insulation. You think price is okay? Where can get cheaper?

cookie13

Hey ridz, u r realli a guru! Thanks for taking time to answer. Sorry to ask a stupid question: When u state QTY:1 or QTY:2 what does it mean huh?
I will consider Daikin/Carrier,how abt mitsubishi? which one is easy to maintain and less energy consuming?

ridhwan82

hi D3,

i would say that the price would be okay, but you can scout around first try HonX TaY replace the X with g and the Y with r . c o m . s g

and find their location they have several branches.

or even with "s e r v e" " c o o l" . c o m . s g

swap the words above

ridhwan82

hi cookie,

well that means its the quantity of the equipment for example take the daikin for example okie?

Daikin
MA45EV1 (QTY:1 ) (this is the condenser model number and you would need 1 of this)
FT25DVM (QTY:2 ) (flatmate series) (this is the indoor unit model number and you would need 2 of these cos system 2 mah)
Price : $1,365.00

and mitsubishi also can consider.

for energy savings thats a bit hard with non inverter as energy saving ones are the inverter yeah.

but if you look straight they are identical in terms of performance. the only difference now would be the brand name as well as the features that is offered by the respective brands. you might want to go to their respective websites to look at what these models have to offer like mitsubisbi might be offering the easy clean feature and daikin would offer just the nice flat panel look and some filter thingy. carrier im not too sure should be the filter also or something like that yeah?

cookie13

Oh, now I get it liao...thanks so much for your valuable advice. Will definitely go and do my homework.

ridhwan82

hi cookie,

just fuond out for you for carrier that model is not the millenium series but its the Pure Dew series which features silver nano.

this is the catalogue http://www.carrier.com.sg/Download/Carrier%20Pure%20Dew%20MultiSplit.pdf

for daikin its the flatmate series

and for panasonic its

Dual Split:CS-C9EKZW x 2

One-unit operation
8,320 Btu/h
2.44 kW (at 240V)

Two-unit operation
16,600 Btu/h
4.88 kW (at 240V)

Supersonic Air Purifying System
SUPER Alleru-Buster Filter
Auto Refreshing DEO
Odour-Removing Function
Removable, Washable Panel
Quiet Mode
Powerful Mode
Soft Dry Operation Mode
Wide & Long Airflow Vane
Airflow Direction Control (Up & Down)
Manual Horizontal Airflow Direction Control
Automatic Operation Mode (Cooling)
24-Hour ON&OFF Real Setting Timer
LCD Wireless Remote Controller
Random Auto Restart (32 Restart Patterns)
Blue Fin Condenser
Long Piping -- 15m
Top-Panel Maintenance Access

and sanyo cant get much information though oops.

ridhwan82

hi cookie,

you can go to honX taY
(replace the X with a G and the Y with a R) . c o m . s g and then look at the contact us. there is one at IMM which you can go and have a look. no worries they wun pressure to go and buy one just ask arounbd. can look for grace she is there most of the time.

please dun bother about Best ALL (reverse the order of the two words) not very honest in my opinion lah.

tingshen

Hi guys, does any of you use Panasonic AC Robot or Oxygen Shower model? It only come in single split unit. Any idea how much does it cost?

nadainn

Hi Ridz,

I'm staying in a 3rm flat with 1 bedroom knocked down to be the living room and study area. So left with 1 bedroom.

I'm lookig for a system 2. Wat's the btu range i should look for, especially for my study and living room area. Was thinking of placing 1 unit between this 2 areas.

Will 9Kbtu MBR and perhaps 12Kbtu for the living room be sufficient?

I'm looking at Carrier, Daikin and Mitsubishi. Are u able to advise on the model and est cost? Which model is easier for maintenance?

BTW, in your earlier thread, u have mentioned abt insultaion? Wat's the preferred model and cost?

nadainn

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Ridz,

Juz got a quote for inverter units from Mitsubishi & toshiba as follows:

1) mitsubishi hi
SCM802ZF (condenser)
Indoor unit model of 18k btu + 9k btu
@ $2535

2) toshiba inv 2
RAS3M23 (condenser)
Indoor unit model of 12kBTU + 9KBTU
@$2514

The above comes with
- K flex insulation
- 16mm drainage pipe
- brackets

Im interested with the mistubishi hi model, but dun seems to get details of the configuration, such as the condenser and indoor unit from internet. Is there such configuration, especailly on the indoor units, so far only see 12kbtu around.

BTW, do we need to specify tat we need stainless brackets? tot it's the requirement to have them.

Kindly advise if the quotes are reasonable.

doy_doy

Hi Ridz,

Desperately need your advice here :p

I need a casement aircon for my study room. I'm currently looking at Techno, Carrier & Sanyo. My hubby prefers Carrier 'coz it got remote control & it is the cheapest. Which brand would you recommend?

The top of our window is a push open one & the below is a sliding one. In my case, will we encounter any problem if we are to install a casement aircon? If i'm not wrong, the height of the sliding part is only 79cm.

Looking forward to your reply & millons of thank you in advance

acid

advice needed:

Is it normal installation is using:
pipe 14 and polyform

and better ones uses:
pipe 13 and rubber?

acid

that was told by my contractor who do not know anything about aircon.
anyway i went down to imm to check it out myself.
currently the shops is having 'free upgrade'to better insulation for the copper pipings and larger pvc water pipe. Some give freebies like vacum cleaner/rice cooker. And mostly give 3 years workmanship.

I bought from A-Star in the end Toshiba Sys 3 inverter for $2495:

- 5 years worksmanship
- Stainless less bracket
- insulation give brand Totaline (claim to be better)
- water piping give 16mm (normal only 13mm - smaller get chock easier)
- 2 times installation (1. to lay piping (so can paint), 2 for the coil itself)
- give rubber pad for outdoor unit to sit on the stainless stell bracket (claim it reduce vibration and not normally given)

gnm

did you request for armaflex insulation?

we asked for armaflex insulation and at 1/4 inch thickness

acid

A-flex when i pull it, the foam or rubber can be peeled off. and i noticed there is a lot of bubbles in the rubber.

imo, if they dare to give 5 yrs worksmanship, confirm they will use better grade of insulation ones.

gnm

i see
okay

cos all the insulation i see, they all have bubbles as well, and given the different grades and brands, these are the ones recommended

have a friend who knows a little about air-con, and he recommended armaflex, so we selectedt hat as well ;)

acid

oic, its just my observation that some brands really have lots of bubbles, while some lesser.

lets keep our fingers crossed that our aircon will last 10+ yrs ;p worry free

gnm

with good maintenance and moderate usage, it should last. Anyways, all the best to your air-con installation.

catz

Hi, I was wondering if anybody knows what is the best config for HDB exec maisonette? want to aircon the 3 bedrooms upstairs and 1 study rm and living area downstairs. Would Sys 4+1 be better or Sys 3+2?

ridhwan82

it depends on a lot of factors,.

1) dimensions of the respective areas
2) the usage patterns eg simultaneous operations of the respective rooms
3) running current of your apartment is there a limit of 11amps or 8.5 . check with hdb
4) choice of brands of air con etc
5) budget

catz

Hi ridz, wah.. so honoured to hv the guru reply

Well, the downstairs study and living area will barely be used so I think I can safely say occasional usage. Upstairs 3 bedrooms will more or less be running for the night (at the same time). As my apartment is 12 yrs, I'm thinking it's the lower ampage available.. and I will go for whatever aircon brand is OK. What are my viable options? Thanks so much in advance!

ridhwan82

hi catz,

no lah i am no guru lah just here to see if i can help you only yeah. try my best okie cannot guarantee ok.

here are my views in light of new information.

first things first you have to check with hdb to see how many outdoor units can you fix as in location. Though you are limited in terms of amphere for running current, you are not limited to the number of outdoor units you can place.

The number of outdoor units you can place however can be limited in cases where in say eg a normal 2,3,4 room flats where there is no service ledge and hence the approved location to place the outdoor unit (determined by hdb) is only one usually outside the window of the MBR. hence these home owners are limited to air con configurations that will have only max 1 outdoor unit to power the specified nos of indoor units as long as the operation does not consume more than running current of 8.5amps.

but in your case for mansionette i think hdb allows up to 2 locations on where you can fix outdoor unit provided each outdoor unit does not have a running current exceeding 8.5amps.but you have to check with hdb with this,

so in the case where yes you are able to fix 2 outdoor units then
As you mentioned that the 3bedrooms upstairs is running every night concurrently hence an inverter system 3 would be good as the usage is high.

as for your study and the living a system 2 or 3 as appropriate, then can get a non inverter system as it is slightly cheaper than an inverter system and since you dun swithc it on frequent hence its okie.

However IF YOU ARE ONLY ALLOWED to fix ONE outdoor unit then the option for you would be an inverter system 4(which mean you have to sacrice either the living or the study) 3 rooms + 1 (hall/study)

for this option if you run even one room upstairs chances are your hall will not be cold. and if you run your hall try not to operate even a single room upstairs.

but if the study area is the one that u choose to cool instead of the living and the study is relatively small then yeah its fine you can simultaneously operate even all 4 indoor units. depends on the outdoor unit capacity as well as the capacity needed for each room.

So in short you need to find out from your branch office whether your unit can place 2 outdoor units of air con and where are they?

then together with the dimensions and details of the rooms then we can calculate the btu needed and which air cons are suitable yeah>

there is a down side to this cos your flat is supplied total of 30 amps operation. if you attempt to operate all the 2 systems together ( in case if its allowed to fix 2 outdoor units) then the total running current will already be at 17.0amp and leaving you with a balance of 13amp to play with before the ELCB will trip.

cos total supplied to houses is 30 amps and its in denominations of 8.5 for each of those small circuit breakers.

hence if one small circuit breaker draws more than 8.5 it will cause it to trip. But if all of the small circuit breakers are running below 8.5amps but the total amps that is running from all the small circuit breakers exceed 30 amps the outside main circuit breaker will trip so its a delicate balance yeah.

kaishi

Hi there, someone pls advice or recommend me on the following a/c brand:

1. Panasonic
2. Toshiba
3. McQuay

Thinking to get a sys 2 & sys 3, but very confuse on which is better.

kaishi

ridhwan82

hi kaishi,

what are you looking for? as in inverter or non inverter. I think based on the list you probably are looking at non inverters am i right?

well each has its own features like panasonic i think would the Supersonice Super Alleru Buster filter that is claimed to trap dust faster and efficieently and it deactivates harmful organisms.

Toshiba would be i think the 6-1 filtration system that has bioenzyme filters, etc and some others.

well for macQuay basic air conditioning .

you have to see in this manner.

1) What is your usage patterns like?
like room 1 always oN? room 2. and etc and how many hours they operate each day. this will determine which air conditinioning tupes etc.

2) What are the dimensions of the rooms?

3) What are the features that you want like easy clean then its mitsubishi

4) What is the budget that you are most comfortable with?

Let me klnow then we can discuss yeah>

kaishi

Hi Ridz

Thanks for the quick response. Yup, looking at the non-inverter, got budget and a/c is not fully operate at 1 time. These brand are propose by the contractor except McQuay (parents' home using it).

Sys 2 actually using for living/dining to cool down the usual warm when we return home after work. As for sys 3, norm only on for 1 or 2 rooms.

Dimension is those standand 95sqm 4-rooms. Well, mit & daikin are not in the prefer list. budget wise so far being quote around $3k odd, so quite comfortable.

ridhwan82

hi kaishi,

i would reckon that you are staying i the newer generation flats where there is an air con ledge for you to place 2 outdoor units right and the current limitation is 11 amps.

based on the configuration i would think that a non inverter would suffice.

For the hall however you want to place a ssytem 2 huh not a system 1 but with bigger capacity?

total budget is about 3k+

hmm.. then probably this could be the one for you.
(this is the one of the quotes tha6t i have not sure if its good for you. but its a system 3 and another ssytem 1)

system 3
mitsubishi electric non inverter with 9k blower each.
Easy clean also

Total : $1,953.00 (not sure if they still having the offer of $1860.00

MUX20TV (QTY:1 )
MS-A10VD (QTY:3 )

427125.jpg

System 1
mitsubish electric non inverter with 18k blower
Total : $1,365.00
This is the easy clean one
MU-A18VD (QTY:1 )
MS-A18VD (QTY:1 )
427126.jpg

Total for both system is (if the system 3 is on offer then its $3225
but if not on offer then its $3318)

i will look around for more okie?

ridhwan82

but i feel that if you can opt for a system 4 cos the hall will not be used simultaneously with any of the rooms right?

Like its either the rooms or just the hall right.

Then you can opt for a system 4 its even cheaper.

Daikin Flatmate series
MA56EV1 (QTY:1 ) outdoor unit
FT25DVM (QTY:3 ) for the 3 rooms 9k each
FT50BVM (QTY:1 ) for the hall 18k
$2,604.00
427130.jpg

ridhwan82

but iy you still want a ssytem 2 and system 3

sanyo?
$1,512.00

SAP-CM1823G (QTY:1 )
SAP-KM93GL (QTY:2 )

system 3
$2,005.50

SAP-CM2033G (QTY:1 )
SAP-KM93GL (QTY:3 )

total is about 3517. which is too close to an inverter system 4 which is even better.

Mitsubishi inverter system 4
MXY-4A28VA (QTY:1 )
MSXY-GA10VA (QTY:3 )
MSXY-GA22VA (QTY:1 )

$3,832.50 but prices can linger around $3.4 if you look around. and mind you this is inverter syste4 with easy clean and using R410A

catz

Hihi Ridz, thanks for your well-thought out response. I actually checked and I hv the high current allowance so I guess I can go for the recommended Sys 3 inv plus Sys 2 non-inv for downstairs? Thanks so much again.. u really are a guru and if u had a shop, I'd buy from u!! Hey, btw, how much would my requirements roughly cost if I wanted Mitsubishi? Need to budget lah.

kaishi

Yup, you're right, we have the air-con ledge. btw, we want a sys 2 b'cos our living & dining area are split into 2 zones, so hubby think that 2 fan coils will be more sufficient, so not looking for sys4. well, Daikin & Mitsubishi are out from our preference list. But I think will check it out on the Sanyo Brand. Thanks for all info.

ridhwan82

hi Catz,

so you checked is it higher current allowance. if that is the case as in hdb then you should be allowed only up to 11amps.

next, have you checked whether you are allowed to fix 2 outdoor units at your place? i presume yes as this is determined by hdb.

next would be come the case of how big are these areas.

This i would not be able to let you know as i have no idea what is the square feet or the square meters of the rooms.

for the upstairs i reckon it would be a typical system 3 based on a
12k btu for MBR + 9k but for room 2 and + 9k Btu for room 3.

Though this is subject to change when i have the dimensions of the rooms yeah? so im giving you this quote first

System 3 inverter the easy clean model
MXY-3A28VA (QTY:1 ) this is the outdoor unit (suject to change depending on the dimensions later)
MSXY-GA10VA (QTY:2 ) this is for room 2 and room 3 again subject to changes
MSXY-GA13VA (QTY:1 ) this would be for the MBR

Price is $2,908.50

As for the living and study room boy this is tough. if your living room need as big as 24000btu then im afraid that you would have to also opt for a system 3

reason because for non inverter they are not able to support combinations of say 9k btu + 24 k BTU unlike inverter where it is flexible.

hence if you hall requires more than 12000btu then you would have to opt for a system 3 non inverter with the combination of maybe 9 for study and +9+9 both for living area but it will sorta fall short a bit yeah. so with the dimensions would be great.

im quoting here just in case a system 3 non inverter mitsubishi easy clean model. (the non inverter and non inverter easy clean models look different even though they have the easy clean featyure okie just to let you know first

MUX20TV (QTY:1 ) this is the outdoor unit
MS-A10VD (QTY:3 ) this is the indoor units

$1,953.00

So total would come to about $4861.50

this is picture of INVERTER EASY CLEAN
427285.jpg

thisis the picture of NON INVERTER EASY CLEAN
427286.jpg

ridhwan82

oh yeah these prices do not include the stainless steel bracket which typically costs about 100++ each and additional power point each can cost maybe 150 or so yeah

ridhwan82

hi kaishi,

another alternative would be this one.

panasonic both non inverter systems,

system 3
CU-3C20EKH (QTY:1 ) this is outdoor unit
CS-C9EKZW (QTY:3 ) this is indoor unit
Total : $1,974.00

System 2
CU-2C18EKH (QTY:1 )
CS-C9EKZW (QTY:2 )
$1,480.50

total price is about $3454.50

i would to just ask why are mit and daikin out of your prefenrence list? just wondering if it thast okay for you?

kaishi

Oh, both are out of list b'cos hubby don't like them, maybe due to his past experience witb them. so think tonight will go a/c window shopping.

Thanks for all the advice.

catz

hihi ridz, thanks so much.. well, heard tt for EM, it's ok to hv 2 outdoor unit since it's within the house itself (mounted inside the yard area).. so I guess I will go for Sys 3 inv for upstairs and then most prob Sys 2 downstairs.. as we don't really foresee using the living rm aircon very often. btw, where did u get your quote from? seems very attractive!! gotta make sure buy everything before GST goes up to 7% which i think will be after budget announcement in feb. :p

ridhwan82

hi catz,

yeah thats what i heard too. but to be sure yeah hahaha!!

well for that quote i got it online. typically this would form the basis price for comparison.
its from s e r v e c o o l . you reverse these two words and add a dot com dot sg at the back and voila okie?

criz

Hi there. anyone used Twin City Airconditioning Engineering as their air-con installer? Are they good for their installation workmanship?
Can someone pls advice us, thanks in advance.

Criz

pigcess

our ID quoted us $3,200 for 2 x System 2 (non-invertor). Can someone kindly advise if the quotation is reasonable? should we juz get a system 4 or system 3+1? we will use the aircons in MBR and study most of the time. thanks!
429973.jpg

silverx2c

hi ridz, need your help also

layout : www.starhub.net.sg/~bhloh/airCon.jpg

Appreciate if u can suggest what BTU I shld get for my layout as attached

1) What I had in mind is to get the Panasonic non-inverter system 3 (Panasonic > CU-3C20EKH / 3 X CS-C9EKZW) and thus each room will have 9000 BTU

- Do note of the string curtain inbetween the MBR and the Bedroom 3

2) Will have a single split non-inverter aircon in the living room
- looking @ 18000 BTU now? Is it enough?
- I just need cool not cold in the living room

thks in advance!!

ridhwan82

hi silverx2c,

Firstly,

I think there shouldnt be any problem with 3x9000btu for MBR, rm2 and rm3.

just that what is your usage going to be. is inverter also a choice for you?

what are your usage patterns like?

Secondly your living dining would suffice with an 18k btu.

Both the rooms and the living dining is a rough gauge. the best if you bring this floor plan down to an air con installer to have it confirmed once again.

silverx2c

nope i dun think i need an invertor
as only my mbr will be the one constantly on, the rest occassionally only

thks so much!!

ridhwan82

well you can look at it as that way. of course but there are others things to consider.

the reason why only on 1 room most of the time dun need inverter is that the price difference that you pay to get an inverter system is too high that the savings in terms of electricity consumption you get is too little to cover back technically the initial extra amount that you invested in the inverter system

A simple example would be like a difference between non inverter vs inverter is say 1000.

But in running one an inverter vs a non inverter you say about say $15 a month. (this to say that if you use inverter you save $15 in your utilities but you paid 100 extra to have it)(versus if you had saved that 1000 and gotten yourself a non inverter system but you have to pay 15 extra in your utilities.)

it would take you far too long to cover back that 1000 you paid upfront for inverter to save you electricity.