Air-con

celia

Just a note of advice, pls select the brand of aircon that you are considering carefully, cos at the end of the day, if anything goes wrong, u suffer.....not the one who sold the set to u.
If u r looking for system 3 or 4 with inverter, daikin would be a better choice, cos it is engery saving, up to 70%.
If looking for system 3 without the inverter, national or samsung would be the choice.
sometime its not the price but the workmanship that counts. Maybe u can check this company, Coolblues airconditioning, they do not charge for so called extra piping.
u can call steven 96855802, i am sure he would be able to advise u appropriately on your needs.
bw, they also do electrical wiring....
Just check them out cos the workmanship is good.

goosen

Hi Unhappy

I am new to this forum, and have just read your msg, that was posted back in May02. I hope u have found out why your air con is not cold. If not, I may have an explanation for it……

Back when I was in the poly, I had a part time job as a relief driver for an air con company. My team and I saw a worker from another air con company trying to unload the compressor unit from the back of a lorry. As the compressor was very heavy the guy had quite a problem moving it.

Then it happened….the worker tilted the compressor laying it flat on the floor, and lifted it upright again, landing the compressor upside down. When my Air con project manager saw it,I over heard him saying “Ah base lah, the compressor useless already” from what he explained to the guys, that there’s some liquid inside a tube in the compressor that is used to cool the air, and by turning the compressor upside down (180 degrees)while trying to unload it, the liquid has been displaced from the original position, making the compressor useless.

That’s what I heard, but there maybe other different reasons as well......

jady

i was quoted $2900 for fuji electric system 3 but is 2 units of 12k BTU in 2 rms & another in living rm is 18k BTU. price incl installation.is this expensive?is this model gd?

mr query

Hi I have a Daikin aircon and apparently the compressor keeps producing water. Just wondering if anyone have similar problem and how do you resolve it?

lg

I went for LG System 4 Inverter Gold at $3499.
It's the only brand that gives 5 years FULL warranty for both compressor and blower. Forget about popular brand like Daikin, Mit etc. Nowadays, they are made in Thailand, Malaysia etc. Warranty Period is the consumer's best guarantee, not branding!

agnes

Hi Goosen,

Me, like unhappy, bought a system 4 from All Best and my air-cond is also not cold. Can you imagine, in a room with air con set at 18 deg whole nite & wake up sweating in the morning. I've called the service centre a few times and they have sent men to check the systems twice. Now we have to call the Agent. I hope the problem can be resolv soon, or my husband will bring them to case.

et

hi LG,

i am planning to get the LG S4 gold as well.

But how is it? There are people who advised me to get the better known ones like mitsubishi etc for reliability.

But they are quite a bit more expensive?

Is the LG unit working fine for you? Can it cool the living/dining area? What if all 4 are turned on, still cool?

What about noise level?

Would appreciate some 1st hand experiences!

ET

p/s mine is a 5 room at 110sqm.

lg

Hi ET,

I only got the trunking installed for my 5 rm flat, so I cannot comment on the performance yet. But I do know that inverter system is much quieter than its non-inverter counterpart. I was enticed by its 5 years full warranty frankly. Hope everything goes well. Fingers crossed.

jj

Hi ppl,
I got some cool info abt inverter and non-inverter unit. This is how it goes...
Each Unit takes around 2A
i.e. 4 units take 8A. The higher u take the more u pay. The inverter circuitry restrict the current flow to 4A. It is also used to prevent the Air-Con unit to switch off completely when the thermostat reading is reached. Which means more energy saving.

So if ppl switch on all the way one unit, inverter no use since only we are toking only 2A. If switching on more than 2 for long hours...u will see the difference. Maybe try asking ur air con contractor abt this...see whether they got smoke u or not..!!

:> By the way vote for the best Air-con unit
LG, Mitsubishi, Sanyo, National, Denki, What else...we got to share information and get the best deal!!!

jady

celia,hope u still in the forum. juz to chk with u did u engage coolblues to install yr aircon?

duckie

hi, all

did anyone sign up with Hong Seng AirCon in IMM, i saw that there were quite a few gd comments on them in another aircon thread.

however when i went to IMM, i realised there are 2 units of Hong Seng, one at #02-12 and #02-33, does anyone knows the difference between the 2 coz the prices quoted for the same model of air-con actually differs...

Duno which is the one that is reliable??

Can anyone help?

dwarf

considering of taking LG inverter system 4 as the price is the most attractive and all the rooms can be cooled up without affecting the coolness of any one room.

However, i'm wondering on the reliability and the noise level.

anyone can advise ?

newhome

Hi dwarf,

I'm using the LG system currently at my rented place..is a new set just fixed up for about 3 months.
The quality is lousy and I would advise you not to take up LG although it is cheaper by alot.
FYI, my upcoming new apt is going to fix up Daikin Inverter System.
Maybe u shd consider Daikin, Toshiba or Starmex Mit.

tomidia

Just got a Mitsubishi Electric Non electric system 3 at $2365 @ GainCity's promo last week. Came with a FREE 29" CTV or full 5 year warranty and 4 service vouchers; chose the warranty & vouchers. True enough warranty is still the most important as cheaper air cons are not reliable and u end up paying more on future repairs. Checking of installation works is the most important, once done improperly, u can say loss of $$$ liao, check the piping especially, must be cpmplete new, not used ones, some installers do that to save costs.

Anyway, GainCity offers good prices and good installation's workmanship. Go get 1 from them!

Just remember, reliability is most impt in Air con, brands like Toshiba, Sanyo and National, Inverters, grab the Mitsubishi StarMex.

Good Luck all Air con searchers.... =)

angie

Has anyone engaged Hong Seng Air-Con at IMM unit, #02-12 to install aircon at ur house? I have check a few air-con contractors including Gaincity, so far it seems for Mitshibishi StarMex System 4 Inverter, Hong Seng quotes seems to be cheapest.

I need to find out if their services and installation is good.

Pls provide me with feedback if you have engage Hong Seng before

clanbuster

Mitshibishi StarMex is very quiet
At first, i bought Sharp. It is quiet. (2 mths ago)
My brother using Dakin is also quiet.
But when my parents bought it Mitshibishi StarMex , it is the most (quietiest). Trust me.

okeanosmao

angie,

i bought mitshibishi starmex non-inverter from hong seng @imm. think its call mr slim.but i bought it frm the bigger shop, hong seng. i understand imm has 2 hong seng.
so far, their service is gd and cheap aircons oso.

lt

Hi Okeanosmao,
How much are they charging? Is the price only for one trip?

again

Okeanosmao

Thanks for the infor. At least I'm more rest assure now that u have given good feedback

LT, a guy, I spoke to, quoted me $3400 for Mitshibishi Inverter 4 System, all installation included.

Later, I will be dropping by Hong Seng to check out more details, will update u gals again

okeanosmao

LT,

they only comes once to install. so far, the aircon has not given any prob since it was install in may.
they are willingly to come down again if there is any prob w/o any charges..hong seng are pretty gd.
n for piping, they wont charge any xtras. i think gain city do charge for that.
bought mr slim for ard $2100, system 3. no hidden or xtra costs.

again,

i find that only hong seng is sincere in doing biz unlike other shops there.

edstacy

how do i contact hong seng, i want to get a mitsubishi starmex system 3 non inverter too.

can sms me at 90266040

anne

Hi edstacy,

I got my aircon done by Hong Seng too. Also go thru one of the Singaporebrides member who intro me to that sales person.
He is very helpful and he quoted me a good price for Daikin inverter systems.
U just quote my name to him when u give him a call. I already sms u his contact no. Ask for good price ya..need any help let me know.

anne

Hi Okeanosmao...

So ngam that our aircon installer also from the same company. I bought the aircon fr Hong Seng, but Tampines branch. One of the bride here intro the guy to me. He is very very helpful.
Really thanks alot..save me alot of headache.

clanbuster

Guy and ladies REMEMBER,

Remember to ask for discharge out piping for bigger diameter. My uncle used to be do maintain for air con. He know nowsdays all air con will leak because the discharge choke. If no choke = no repair = no money for them.

Some will gave u free and some charge extra S$100 to S$150. For those who want to hide your aircon piping, this is a must.

irvine

is the below Daikin non-inverter system 4 reasonable?

To supply material, equipment and labour to install DAIKIN System 4,
Model MA56 x 01 condenser unit
FCU FT25 x 03 (9000 btu/h)
FCU FT50 x 01 (18000 btu/h)
Cost ;$2700

winnie

my aircon was only recently installed and yesterday we on it for the 2nd time to test it...and there was a foul smell coming from the unit in the living room...can I know what is this caused by?

whalau

hi angelia,

think it should be your sharp has a plasmacluster ion features...not a plasma display and an ion feature....

blurry

Hi Anne,
Can you let me know what was your quote for DAikin System 4 (Inverter)? I got one quote for S$3500. Is this reasonable?

anne

Hi Blurry,

Mine was Daikin Inverter Sys-3, 2 bedroom and 1 hall. Which is 2x9000btu and 1x18000btu.
I done up everything at $2800.
U can try to call the guy that quoted me. He is very helpful and sincere. After all he is very responsible and honest. I also bought my ceiling fan from him.
Give me a try at 67857382 look for Ben.
Just quote my name Anne that bought Daikin Inverter and installed recently..he shd know.
If u need me to talk to him, write to me then

fates

Hello clanbuster....what is discharge out piping? What does it looks like?

Hello aiyoyo....I bought the Sharp PlasmaCluster aircon (3 + 1). Very nice but have not on and try.

ttay

Anne is right. Anyone who wan to get aircon had to go to BEN at HONG SENG(TAMPINES). You will not regret. You will find his quote e best. I spent abt 1/2hr talking to him. V nice guy. Finally sign up wif him. I oso pulled my brother n dad in so tat I can get a better price. DUN WASTE YR TIME ON OTHER AIRCON SHOP LIAO. Trust me..he's e best. I tried Gain city, best, allbest, twincity,....All e price quoted n.g.

Juz call his no. at 67857382 n look for Ben. The price he quoted on e phone w/o bargaining will make u go down to tampines n make downpayment.

Ben said National is having sales till end of tis mth. I bot a System 3(9000btu ea) n a Single split 18000btu. V satisfied...dun hav to worry liao cos he will liase wif my reno contractor.

anne

Hi ttay,

Yea right..u also satisfied with the service provided by Ben.
As for me, I did the same too few months ago..when trying to search around gain city, allbest, twncity and so on..they r too commercialise and just wanted to get us to sign up with them.

I got Ben's contact from one of the bride here. Indeed is was a good deal and I'm very satisfied with the arrangement and installation workmanship. If u haven't installed your National aircon, tell Ben that u wanted Ah Leong (the group that done up Anne's house) for installation.
They r very experience and good in service.

Good luck..

bookworm

need some advice. I wanted a mit starmex but it seems like it is not suitable for my place. our new place is 5 room executive and starmex invertor has only system 4?

any advice.

jul

Hi bookworm

I haven't checked out the Starmex Inverter yet. How many BTUs is it? What's the price?

I did see this Fujitsu Invertor. It's 36,000 BTU, so can have 9 BTU for 3 bedrooms & 24,000 BTU for living & dining. Wah.. blow till siao
Costs abt $3.7k+.

bookworm

I did not check the price cos cannot be use at my place. Anyway i am not so good with air con, what is BTU ? i mena for living room, how many BTU must we use? and is it better to instal 1 or 2 aircon in the living room ?

anyone has an 5 room exe, care to share with me which air-con u use?

mmm

hi bookworm, if your air-con ledge is big enough, why not consider 2 seperate air-con units? That should be enough to air-con your 5-room exec flat..u can choose starmex inverter system 2 and 3 to make up 5 aircon outlet unit.

binbin

hi bookworm, we hve an EA. what do u mean by 5-room exec huh? usually the term is just EA, it comes with 3 bedrooms and 1 study. and a big living/dining. same as yours?

you can get the MIT Starmex system 3 and system 2, like us, provided ur aircon ledge is big enough to hold 2 compressors, which shld be no prob. For EA, the living/dining usually quite spacious, u will most likely need 2 aircons units there. we have a 9000BTU and a 18000BTU for our living/dining.the rest of the rooms all 9000BTU.

think u have to settle this earlier before ur reno starts, coz will need to think how to run the ugly pipinh/trunking.

binbin

hi bookworm, how big is your floor area, 130m sq too? is it new flat? so when u said 5 room exec means it's the resale bigger ones huh?

i paid 5K plus for the sys 2 + sys 3, including all trunking and piping. got it through my ID's air con guy. we hacked down the study walls, so it's together with living/dining. had a 9000BTU blowing from the study room into the living/dining. and another 18000BTU in the living/dining itself. not sure if u know what i mean. so my 3 x 900BTU will go into my masterbed room, bedrm2 and bedrm3.

bookworm

yap, i think around there , yap new flat. no its around 2 -3 year old flat. not resale, its those D&B 5 room executive.., aiya, u know what i mean, those with 4 rooms and 1 living room type.

wow, so much ah 5k.
i am also thinking of starmex invertor , must check with my ID liao..sigh...

no $$ :eek:(

sabian

I am moving into my flat in Sembawang next May but I already placed a downpayment on on a Toshiba Inverter Sys 4 with 34000 BTU.

Chose Toshiba as I have 2 friends using Toshiba Inv. and went to test it. Cooled room rather quickly and my friends attributed it to the new refigerant Toshiba Inv uses. Although the refrigerant (R410) is more expensive as it is new, px shd come down in the near future as it becomes more common. (Japan already uses R410 in most of the aircon). As the Kyoto Protocol calls for a ban of the current refrigerant R22 in the near future, R410 will become the main refrigerant.

Costs $3900 with 5 yr warranty on parts,labour for compressor & 4 blowers.Although I did intend to go to Hong Seh or Prominent to but decided on Gain City as the former 2 only provide 1 yr warranty.Gain City's warranty is underwritten by AIG.

I got the deal at the last Home Maker @ Expo. They tend to give better deals at Exhibitions cos the competition, Gain City had a promo at Compass Point and the px there was still higher for a Toshiba Sys 4.

As for costs...I would urge would be buyers to take a little trouble to flip to the back of the brochures of whatever air-con they are eyeing and calculate the EER and see if they are really energy efficient. I calculated LG's EER (yes, I was keen on LG's for the 5 yr warranty) and it is a tad bit too low for my liking. You would be surprised at the wide range of EER even among inverters. All inverters are not equal.

An HDB room requires 9K BTU
Master Bedroom abt 12K-13K BTU
Hall abt 18K-22K BTU
If L-shaped hall can consider two 12K blowers.
Just make sure that your compressor can supply at least 30K BTU so if you use the Hall for guests(abt 20K BTU), at least 1 room can still use aircon.

For EER divide the cooling capacity (BTU) by the energy input. A yardstick would be between 10-11.

binbin

haha bookworm, coz ppl usually refers to them as EA.... so when u said 5 room exec i get confused. dun wanna mislead u so i asked for details loh. :p

hope u can get ur desired aircon soon.

sabian

Hi Bin Bin

i'm new here so got some qns to ask...why r u a junior member?
how issit some log in a as just s user name with no post number nor reg date? (like whalau)

yfchee

Has anyone purchased aircon from Hong Seng at IMM? How are their service? Is #02-12 or #02-33 more reliable?

snowycutie

hi elf,

maybe u would like to go hong seng in tampines. search for hong seng tampines using the search function n read through the comments. look for Ben, he is honest n friendly.