Air-con

meg

Is there any difference between Fuji Air, Fujitsu and Fuji Electric air-cons? Are they all made in Japan?
How are they as compared to brands like Mitsubishi?
I can't decide which to install.

elmo2109

Hi meg, Fuji Air and Fujitsu are diff brands. I bought Fujitsu System 3 in Jan at $2225. Yep, made in Japan. Some plp told me that Fujitsu can be very noisy after a few months, but mine still ok lor. If you are not switching on ur air con for 24 hr a day, then no need to install Mit inverter air con. Dun waste money.

knowing

Hi ordos
I was told fujiair is made in Japan n has 10yrs warranty on its processor
maybe Fuji is made in china

jess

do we need to get air-con from authorised dealers? any difference in getting from shops who are not listed under authorised dealers?

hearsay

I was told that Fuji Electric is made in Japan whereas Fujiair is made in Taiwan.

corrie

I am using Fujitsu. It is made in Japan. This can be verified by the imprint on the blower where the model number is stated. the compressor is also made in Japan.

knowing

Hi Ordos
I will call Gain city n enquire
cos i was told by Gain city Fujiair is made in japan
but in the end i bought fm Allbest becos they dun charge for extra piping n they give me 2x installations :>

unhappy

hi knowing

beware of allbest, I am a victim of them and now in very angry mode. They have not turn up for 2 of the appointment and the whole installation takes 5 times. Now, one of my pipe is leaking and the other not cold any more. Have called them down yesterday but again never turn up. If you try to called their IMM office, you will hardly get them picking up the phone. I am going to raise some complains to CASE on that soon. Beware! :<

P/S: Have been trying to contact their manager, Teo Wee Wee, bt never get through to him, think the front staff are very clever to cover every problems.

knowing

Hi unhappy
I have placed deposit w them so most probably nt going to forfeit it...may i know who is the person u liaise w when u bought the aircon?
n u mean there's no warranty for leakin n aircon nt cold? Which brand of aircons u bought
why not try going down their shop to CONFRONT them
rather than calling

knowing

Hi Unhappy
i have called Allbest
they said they have warranty for pipes leaking
n aircon got noise or other problem
i told them abt yr problem, the lady in the office
said maybe nw v busi lack of workers
that's y got delay
try calling them again

dap

I got my aircon trunking done last sat. have not fixed the compressor and units. so far quite satisfied with the job done. My forum pal had his appointment pushed from 10:30am to 1 pm last sat. But Allbest team only came at 3pm. Mine came punctually at 10:30am as stipulated. so no complain.

However, i heard from my brother-in-law who also got them for their aircon that Allbest kept pushing the date to install the aircon units. He's quite mad as he needs to shift in soon. He told us must arrange earlier with them as he felt they might have given the units to others who paid more than us (on promotion prices). Not sure how true.

unhappy

Hi knowing and dap,

the person who sell their aircon to me is the manager Teo Wee Wee, and yes he is very helpful in explaining any details to me and recommending the config that best fit me, that's why I get the aircon from him immediately. (As I have servey a few of the shops, I feel that he is the most helpful.... who knows....)

The problem doesn't lie much with staff in AllBest, they are just acting like 'middle man', the actual aircon installation is sub-contract to another company who is also doing installation for several other companies like AllBest. That's what I heard from one of the installation guy, who is kind enough to let me know some of their 'insiders' news, when we wait together for his manager to clear the mess in calling people to my house. And we all miss our dinner waiting from 3pm. to 9.30 pm in my new house. (And some more when I called his manager, he dare to scold me!)

I have called them up immedately after I discover the problem. However, the appoinment they fix for me on Sat doesn't turn up anyone. And I just wait wait and try to call to call their showroom, which no one is answering the phone.

I finally catch hold of Teo Wee Wee this Monday, and get his promise to repair the problem by this coming Sat, will definitely share with you people so that you are aware of the tricks they play on customer. Now I just hope to settle every problems and pray hard I do not need to call them up again shortly.

I think it all depends on luck, you may be lucky with AllBest, but what I heard from that 'good' installation guy, they are getting a lot of complains, all because of the poor and tight scheduling of installation. How can you expect them to install all unit perfects if they are under pressure of time?

P/S: Anyone knows why aircon is not cold? (it is blowing hot air from outside flat) I suspect it is due to gas pipe leakage of poor installation.

unhappy

dap

Hi Unhappy

i can understand how you feel. I also got to know last sat that the installation is outsource to another company. i will definitely watch out for any problem that might incur. keep us posted of the development ok.

airconman

Hi Unhappy

I used to fix Aircon some yr ago. Is it all your units not cold or just one of your room got this problem. If you said leak, then all units will not gave you cold air in couple of days.

sien

Hi Airconman,

Can i just ask some opinion from you ? One of my aircon unit is blowing out stale smell (quite smelly but tolerable) when i first on it. After a while, like 10 mins, the smell will disappear and everything will be ok. I find this weird.

Normally aircon blow fresh smell like aircon smell ... but my after 6 mths of usuage got this problem. Called the coy and the repairman came down, he tried to clean the coil but still 'smelly' .. they just came down to do acid cleaning ... but i still can smell abit of the smell.

They keep saying it's normal, all aircon like that.. i don't believe. My hubby and my mum hse air con use so long liow also no such smelly smell ... so upset ... worse of all, my truckin is leaking .. at 2 pts ... sigh ... so sien leh ....
Wat's ur view ? Pls help.

airconman

To sien,

If I am the aircon guy, I will also say that because is either this few thing happen and I believe your aircon still under warranty, that why they won’t wish to do it.
1. leak may not cause smell, unless all freon use up and start vacuum your insulation that cause smell. ( but won’t be so smelling and cannot be so serious)
2. compressor leak oil cause by over charge or vacuum, the smell will be oil smell only.
I need to know is your air con cold?

slim

Hi !

I'm getting a 3+2 system. Is it true that longer the trunkings are, the less powserful will be the system to cool the rooms ?

jamesbon

Wondering if U guys are interested.

I am going to get a system 3 air-con(Mitsubishi inverter) and if anyone interested (be it if your reno is somewhere in September), we could get together and buy at the same shop so that everyone could get a BIG discount since we're buying in mass!

Don't really have to be Mitsubishi since most shop sell different brands.

Those of ya interested, email me at [email protected]

If you heard of any prefered shop, pls indicate in the email too.

(PS: I think we should set a deadline for this. Let say, those who are interested have until mid August to reply.)

sien

To airconman,

I hope u still visit this thread.

Yes my air con is still cold and yes it's still under warranty.

They have done a 'washing' of the blower (where there are many many many tiny vents parts) BUT the problem is still there.

I didn't ask them to come back again cos we not using that aircon often now but i think i better get it resolved before the warranty is up.

You have any clue wat's wrong with e air con ? So at least i can 'fire' back the technician and not let him bluff me ...

Thank very very much !

query

Just checking, currently, wat is the price for a System 3 Aircon?

I know Prices also depends on brands, so can anyone advise me the price that they are paying or getting quote for their aircon for System 3?

Thanks in advance?

milong

Query,
someone quote me Samsung sys 3 at $1900
with installation n warrenty
not sure this brand is durable anot?

manz

Why dun go for Mitsubishi System 3... now having promotion... can get $150 Robinson vouncher... =o)

mei

Hi Manz

Heard from friend that korea brand
are not as durable as Japananese brand

Any recommentation which brand/model to buy.
I m looking for system 3.
Also any idea any promo going on,
Thinking of getting from "Gain city" @suntec,
are they reliable.

manz

Allo all...
Mitsubishi is having promotion now...get system 3 will get $150 vouncher.... thats why 3 + 1 also $150... no vouncher for system 1... its available in all major air con supplier...=o)

Gain City is the same everywhere.... but do note that they will charge u more for extra trunking, normally will add up to abt $200~300....

need to know

seems that not many of u installing aircon at living room, I'm thinking should I install aircon at living room? and should I get a inverter or non-inverter? any suggestion?

need to know

mei

Manz do u know have any idea why
Gain City so special charge extra for trunking.

Heard that their workmanship is quite good.
It is true ?

How much is Mitsubishi - system 3 ?
suppose i don't want the $150 vouncher will
there be any deduction ?

manz

Hi Mei,
Im not sure abt the rebate.... u may have to ask the dealer yourself...

FYI... I bought a Sharp System 4 inverter yesterday, at a very special price of $3799... at ALL Best. The main reason whu I choose them is becos of the rubber trunking they are using

Gain's workmanship??? No comment... I have not deal with them yet.... but.... they are the only one around who charge for extra trunking &amp; non of my friends have use them b4... =o)

vous

air-con in living is nice to have if you have guests often. but it's usually a bigger unit and can consume more power.

invertor would be the right choice if you're the kind who simply cannot do without air-con, like i have a colleague who turns on air-con almost in the whole house everyday! if you're like that, then getting the invertor type will give you savings within a year or so. if you use it very sparingly, it maybe take much longer and might not be worth the investment. this is just projected costs lor...

i dun think rejecting the $150 voucher can get you lower price leh... :D but why dowan? you'll easily spend more than $150 at robinson's buying bedsheets and stuff!

gain city... i think the workmanship is at least okay to quite good, according to a fren who has many air-con savvy frens. BUT the extra you need to pay for trunking over 100ft is almost inevitable. the way flats are laid out these days, i doubt you can find a good way to run the trunking, i.e. no ugly trunking crawling all over your walls, without exceeding 100ft. it's just their way of pricing (or also known as 'hidden cost'). remember to factor it in before you compare prices.

need to know

Hi vous (vous),

Thanks for the info and suggestion. I think I'm not the kind that must on aircon all the time so I guess I will get non-inverter type...save up $1k to buy other stuff...so many things to buy

As for the living room, I would prefer to have one. the weather is so warm sometimes

Anyone using the Mitsubishi non-inverter system 4? izzit good? quiet?

regards
need to know

zesugal

hi need to know,

according to my friend contractor,he sd Mit non-inverter has a bigger compressor,unable to install from the master bedroom,have to do it from the kicthen.it's much dangerous and troublesome.mm...other than this,he didnt mention abt the function etc execpt it's cheaper than the inverter.

most likely im getting the Mit inverter sys 4 since i might have higher usage

need to know

Hi zesugal,

If you are expecting to use aircon very often, I recommend Mitsubishi or Toshiba. Both are quiet (both fancoil and compressor) and energy saving. I have friends who are using these models, they are all very happy with it. Very cool and reliable.

If not for that extra 1k, I would have going for the Mitsubishi inverter.

regards
need to know

manz

Sharp's system 4 invertor is going at $3699... Mit's system 4 invertor's is 26BTU, while Toshiba's sytem invertor's is 34BTU... go for Toshiba is cooling is wat u want.... Mits if $$$$ is your concern... I went for the Sharp's invertor. which is $400 cheaper than Mits' but having the same capability in the BTU. =o)

Hope that helps

rally

gain city uses their own technicians and supposedly does better installation (according to their sales person) they do charge extra for extra piping (confirm inevitable).

however if u are thinking about getting it now u can visit their booth at suntec city exhibition hall 402-403 and during this expo (some home &amp; decor expo) they will NOT charge for extra piping.

conventional air-con is more economical if u not using it all the time. ie. only at night when u sleep and invertors are better long run if u expect to use it more often.

brandwise sanyo, mits toshiba all abt the same according to the salesperson.

vincent

Gain city installers tried to push for more trunking to be used during installation. Stand firm or lose more money. Tat's my advice. Go for minimal trunking to be used.

nac

75 ft of trunking enough for new HDB 5 room flat? Anyone bought a system 3 (normal) Fujitsu Aircon recently? Where and at what price? Should I also get the extended warranty from Gain City (5 years on parts, transport etc) for S$277? Many thanks

cool

i went to gain city - suntec and was
quoted on system 3 aircon

Mitsubishi - S$2450 with $150 robinson voucher
Sanyo - S$2550 with $ 100 takashimaya voucher
fuji electric - S$2200
LG - $2000
Samsung - $ 1950

anyone know where to get cheaper on the
above price.

rally

hi cool,

did they advise on charges for extra piping?
im sure they would say at least 100 ft piping

cool

Hi rally, no leh he just give me this
price and include the 75ft piping.

Rally, is there other extra/hidden cost
i need to take note.

rally

hi cool,

was advised by gain city that most flat would need at least 100ft. so they would charge u for this extra later. comes out to be $200++

as some previous post mentioned, some other companies do not charge for extra trunking so u need to factor in these extra (hidden) costs when u make comparison.

h/w gain city is supposedly a reputable supplier with their own technicians and they dun sub-contract out like other companies so quality wise could be better during installation n after sales maintenance. i cannot verify this as i have yet to buy from them but also considering them at this moment.

they are having promo now at the expo in suntec where they waive extra trunking if u purchase at expo, should be on till end of this week.

query

I have jus check with a supplier! Currently for System 3, the price + installation is:-
1) LG - S$2100
2) Mit - S$2450
3) Sanyon - S$2650

What u all think of the price??? Now abit loss..... Dun noe which to buy!!

Anyone got the latest price for System 3 cos I heard tat there is a change in the price!

help

Hi All! Anyone can help to advise on which type/brand of aircon is good har for sys3? There is so many brands in the market!! Which one to choose??
Thks!

?

??

Is Invertor Aircon really more engry saving than the traditional one???

may

Not unless you turn on all aircons and for the whole day. It only saves engery if your consumption is high.