Aimin Acupuncture & Weight Loss Centre

floralim

cuz i tried so many western medic liao mah, so i thinking trying tcm lor tats y i tot aimin will one stone kills to birds for me :p

anahskur

hi all, i've been reading the thread of message b4 i posted any ..and..
it took me days to just finsih reading...
well..basically, i was looking for info abt Aimin b4 i signed up...
i think i'll give it a shot..i've like 26 kg to lose...boo hoo..put on a massive amount during pregnancy..

vienna: u joined amore?

tulipng

Hi cheesecake,

I've stop going to aimin for abt 1 mth liao, and i've started to take a bit of carb, suprisingly, my menses stop after last mth having 3times a mth! I did not take the hormone pills that doctor have prescribed to me. The hormone pill he gave me is Loette. Have you taken this hormone pills before? Do not know whether should I go to aimin next wk or not since the menses have stopped, but also scare that after accupunture, menses come again....what do you think?

paper

After reading this post, it seems that everyone has seen some results in Aimin.

I am 1.65m and weigh 65.3Kg. BMI 23.98. My ideal weigh is 55kg... which I had achieved before. Reason for weigh gain is sendantary lifestyle. More inputs than outputs.

I am seriously considering signing up. Can see a few ppl who had signed up recently. eg gentlegiant, May Lee etc.

I would like to know how is ur progess. I will also contribute regularly when I do sign up.

I would like to thank Dreamzz for giving so much detailed information and becos of your inputs, it had given me a lot of confidence in Aimin.

Keep it up.. =)

paper

I had signed up.. lost 1kg after the 2nd session...

seems like not much ... i feel very tired after the sessions.. and keeps on sleeping.

maybe slept too much the past fews days.. now can't sleep.. heehee..

For Dinner.. I can't stick to their vege only.. very.. bad.. = (

I really wish to lose weight soon

edksdid

hi paper, wow! u lost 1 kg after the 2nd session? tt's great.

i'm oso doing accupuncture slimming but not at aimin. ive so far done twice. today will be the 3rd session.

i think ive not lost any weight or inches yet leh. maybe becos i didnt weigh or measure myself.

the doc says after each session, shld at least be able to feel some loss. this's im not sure. i'll just keep going for a few more sessions and see any accumulated signigicant loss.

doc did mention tt i belong to those muscles type, not those flabby type, so it may take longer time for me.

i swim once a week, so i guess tts where my muscles come from.

i'm oso wondering when will i be able to lose weight?

alan_golfnut

"doc did mention tt i belong to those muscles type, not those flabby type, so it may take longer time for me"

Very interesting way they explained to you to account for the lack of progress! Considering the fact that you swim only once a week, and unless you're training like a competitive swimmer, there's way that you can acquire the kind of muscle content that they say you have. That's why weight is a highly inaccurate way of measuring whether you've lost fat or not. The way to do it is to measure percentage body fat. Then that will determine whether you're really making or not.

edksdid

no tts not what i'm trying to say. i'm not saying i'm muscular. if i'm i'll not be going for accupuncture to slim down. just tt my "fats" are not flabby, they're quite firm to the touch.

actually i'm having this problem. i've more male hormones than what a normal female shld be having. therefore sometimes i feel like i'm a man! no lah... just kidding. but tts also the reason why ive PCOS

ive taken my inches measurement yday before the 3rd session. let's see any changes. ive also weighed myself last sat at the swimming pool. will weigh again this sat coz i dun hv a weighing machine at home.

thinking of buying a digital one. not sure if it's worth it or just do w a normal one.

alan_golfnut

Actually, there's really no where of telling your fat level unless you have the appropriate measurements done with the right tools and by professionals. To be brutally honest, firmness is not a determinant of how fat you are as I've clients with high percentage body fat without the flabbiness. That being said, I'm not suggesting that you are like that too, cos honestly, there's no way to determine unless you've seen professionals, such as the guys at Changi General Hospital.

BTW, weight is definitely by no means a good way of measuring fatness. Weight of your body takes into account not only fat, but muscle mass, bone mass and body fluids. So for a really light person, it might mean that they have very little muscle mass and probably porous bones which leads to future osteoporosis. And it could also mean that they might have a far higher percentage body fat than a heavier person who is physically active and healthy.

If you're thinking of a weighing scale, a normal scale is really good enough. Digital is good for ease of reading, and the decimal points. But really, there's no point splitting hair over decimal points or even a kilo of your weight cos a person's weight can fluctuate by 1-2kg even within a given day.

edksdid

hi i know what u mean. and i do understand what u've said. i'm definitely not someone whom u'll call me crazy if i said i need to slim down.

my bmi is 31. so i think it's abt time i do something abt it.

of course not depending solely on accupuncture. i try to be careful on my diet too as i really hv not much time for exercise except for tt weekly swim.

so whether i'm firm or flabby, i know i'm still fat and need to do something quickly.

alan_golfnut

Hi edksd, am not suggesting that you're crazy, it's just that people's self-image nowadays have been so warped by what they hear from ads as well as sales pitches, and there're worrying concerns of the negative impact. Good that you wanna do it to get healthy! Actually, a lot of people think that 'exercise' has to be a dedicated time to do specifically move. It doesn't have to be so. You can get off the bus a couple of stops earlier and walk briskly home, climb the stairs rather than using the lift, use appropriately sized/weighted bottles as weight while watching TV, etc. As long as your activity raises your heart rate, your caloric expenditure will increase, and hence expending the fat reserves.

edksdid

with a bmi of 31, i'm definitely not one of those whose self image is warped by what they hear from ads, etc.

so i know what i'm doing.

yes of course, what i mean is besides all the simple daily exercise, swimming weekly is the only exercise i specifically dedicated time for.

paper

Now is an update.

1st Treatment: 64.7kg
2nd Treatment: 64.2Kg
3rd Treatment: 63.7 Kg
4th Treatment: 63.7 Kg
5th Treatment: 63.6 Kg
6th Treatment: 62.3 Kg
7th Treatment: 62.1 Kg

Notice for 6th Treatment, the decrease is 1.1kg. That is becos after 5th treatment, I started to eat 2eggs OR 1 small packet of choco milk for Breafast. Chix Salad or Tuna Salad. And also jog for almost everday.. can be 6 or 7 times. I had snacks thru out my diet.. chocos and bisuits.. cos I am easily stressed out, but carbo like rice, noodles, bread, staple food so called, I don't touch.

1st 3 treatments are done in the same week, subsequently, 2 times a week.

This week, not convenient to go.

Alan, glad to see you here. =)

Can I ask you. At the rate I am going. Is it healthy? Is the weight loss too slow?

And also I jogged for 2.4Km every time taking about 17mins. OK?

I have very big calves, fat arms.... The slimmest part is my face.

My ideal weight is 55kg.

alan_golfnut

paper: No lah, dun worry too much about 'ideal weight'. I mean, what is ideal? Everyone's different cos of bone density, fat mass, muscle mass. Frankly, the BMI thing is a big joke cos all sportspeople fail it although they have low fat percentage. Best thing to do is to measure your % body fat.

Regarding how fast you jog, the good gauge (without the aid of a heart rate monitor) is to jog at a speed where you find SOME difficulty in carrying out a conversation.

Dun cut out carbo altogether, it's a really misunderstood notion, no thanks to Atkins. We need carbo to sustain our daily activities cos they're the more readily available source of fuel. Take complex carbs like wholemeal bread, pasta, brown rice, etc. The carbs are released slower to the body, thus ensuring that it's being utilised more efficiently.

paper

I just came back from a run... after stop running for one week.

Sally, wat is your diet plan like?

I am really quite sad.. cos i tried alot of ways to lose weight..

I did try to eat sandwiches( whole mean bread) before for lunches and then jog and carries light weight in the evening.. but doesn't work..

I also joined the gym , but do in my own pace.. also doesn't work..

I really came to a stage when I think all the "control Diet and exercise regularly" do not work for me.. =(

So I went to Aimin... at least its helping me a bit.

I am thinking of my life after Aimin and hope Alan or Sally can give me some pointers.

Thank you very very much. =)

alan_golfnut

paper: Actually, if you're getting help with planning your dietary habit and workouts, it'll definitely work, unless there're underlying health problems. I guess the key word you mentioned there is "my own pace". I see a lot of women in the gym who try their hand with the machines, but don't do it right, so hence there's no effect. Unfortunately, the whole thing is a science and therefore, it's not always so easy to DIY. Also, you gotta give yourself time. People expect to see instand results when they eat healthy and exercise. Ads can promise you instant loss, but it's a gimmick to get people to buy products.

paper

Joeyjoe,

its like ant's bite and then numbness.. most impt dun be over bothered about it... the physician will try to talk to you to distract you.. so just enjoy the talk. then try to medidate or sleep in that half hour.. concentrate on breathing.. its okie.. =)

Alan, thank you very much!!. =)
Another question.. if most of my diet are salad and I still jog about 2.4km.. is it unhealthy?

noinah

My BMI is above 30. I have started yoga/pilates for a start as I cant run for nuts even on a threadmill and I pant heavily. Anyone tried Reductil before and how effective is the weight loss in 1 month? Care to share ur experience?

alan_golfnut

noinah: Just start off nice and slow with a brisk walk, go at a pace where it makes you pant just a little. You don't have to jump in straight away with a run. It's about intensity, not the type of exercise.

With medically prescribed pills, they are generally effective, but do a search on the forum, and you can read about the negative effects it has on people, so beware.

edksdid

hi noinah, i've tried reductil. in fact i've tried all methods of slimming. i must say reductil is the only effective one. effective for as long as u keep taking it, once u stop, it bounces back again.

initially i only used it to kick start losing some weight so tt i can be more motivated. but in the end i depended on it solely which is bad. i decided to stop taking it becos somehow it seems to jumble up my period. my period starts to get irregular although some doc told me reductil helps induce it. alamak.

noinah

Hi Alan. Tks for the tips. I have signed up wif Amore and have been attending their Pilates classes so far. Hope to be able to adapt to the gym there and shed some weight.

Hi Edksd. I have also tried all kinds of slimming but to no avail. I was put on hormonal tablets for almost 2 yrs coz of some irregular menstrual cycle and thus gained abt 13kg which I'm unable to shed it off till now no matter wat i try. Doc has also prescribed Reductil to me and I'm taking it for 2nd day. Doc has advised me to take for 1 month and see if there are any changes.

Hopefully wif Reductil & some exercise, I am able to shed some weight before my wedding in Dec 05.

alan_golfnut

noinah: No worries at all! Hmm.. better check with your doc whether it's safe to exercise and take the pills or not, cos some people do get heart palpitations. Aiyo, you got 5 months before you wedding, plenty of time to shed some weight!
Keep working out, you'll be ok! Remember, just be patient, nothing happens overnight.

noinah

Hi Alan.. Yup, doc did advised me abt the palpitations.. I seem to have it the first day and I called up the doc.. He advised me dat i shd take the tablet after breakfast.. When I tried dat, I felt ok.. He asked me to go very slow wif my exercise so right now i go for only pilates/yoga and for the gym i juz use the cycling machine.. I got abt only 20 more weeks to shed the extra weight.. Gotta see how it goes..

alan_golfnut

Hi noi! Good to hear that you're watching yourself. *thumbs up* It's great that you're watching what you eat as well as starting an active lifestyle as well, cos when you come off the pill, at least you can sustain the loss. And once your new lifestyle takes hold, you'll start enjoying it. Good luck!

edksdid

hi alan lee,

can u explain to me why as u exercise, instead of losing the kilos, u'll start putting on? i rem i ever read abt something like this somewhere saying the muscles are heavier than fats.

hi paper, how's ur progess now?

alan_golfnut

Keep track of your percentage body fat, or check the fit of your clothes to make sure that you're putting on muscle mass and not fat.

nutty

Alan, you often said check on the fitting of your clothes. if it still fits then you are putting on muscle and not fats even if the weight increases. However, if you gain muscle mass, wont the arms and thighs and hips will also become bigger cos its bulkier? So wont the clothes will be tighter?

paper

My Progress:

8th Treatment: 61.7
9th Treatment: 62.0
10th Treatment: 61.4
11th Treatment: 61.2
12th Treatment: 60.6
13th Treatment: 61.5
14th Treatment: 60.2

Okay, overall there is some weight loss. But it is very slow. I do admit that I am really not that strict on my diet and also feel sad most of the time.

My bf is very good. He motivates me. And we always run 2.4km, at least twice a week. But sometimes i am so unhappy and grumby to run. Cos I am really quite deprived from food. So sometimes I will sneak to eat some food when he is not around.. but of cos without carbo. Yes, I am wrong, but I am so unhappy esp my work is stressful and busy.

For my lunch, I am most of the times disciplined, because I am very busy, so I do not have much time for lunch and so no time to enjoy "better, tasty" food.. heehee.

I have only 6 sessions to try to reach my target of 55kg.. hehee.. and I am going to BKK next week. So I think I will try to at least go back to shape before I go back to Aimin.

I am still flabby... despite jogging and swimming regularly. I think I need to do some weight lifting, when my weight is at my ideal.

kao_cry.gif

My bf says I shouldn't feel so sad that I can't eat, but must focus on my target... but to me... food has been my way of emotions.. I happy, I eat, I sad, I eat..

alan_golfnut

Nutty: I tell you hor, I dunno who started and is still continuing to perpetuate the myth that muscle make you bulky.. oh hang on, that actress! ;) But seriously, it's not true that muscles make you bulky, cos women simply do not have enuff of the necessary hormone to get big like women fear.

paper: Jus curious, why would you be deprived of food? When you go on a very low calorie diet (eg. liquid diets), you're in essence starving yourself, and the body's metabolism slows right down. And when you eat, the body will horde the calories and store them as fat. So that's another common myth that's busted.
But seriously, if you manage your portions into smaller ones, you'll find it easier to eat healthy and wisely. Def need to start on weight liftng to get those fat burners (ie. muscles) fired up. Think about it: if you have low muscle content, then you won't be burning fats at a faster rate (ie. higher metabolism), so what's the point of doing cardio? Good luck!

kaybe

Hi, I've just joined Aimin & went for my 1st session yesterday. Didn't realise their diet is so strict....only vege for dinner...I cannot tahan yesterday so i sneaked in some chicken in my salad last night.

Paper,
Your results very encouraging leh. U've lost total of 4.5kg already!Did u really manage to stay away fm all the naughty food?

paper

Alan, Thank you for your advice.. I think I will start my weight lifting soon..
= )

Kaybe,
As I said earlier" I do admit that I am really not that strict on my diet "

I do eat salad and vege.. and toufu.. but sometimes.. i just eat bisuits and chocolates and ice-cream..and fried stuffs hheehee.. of cos once in a while.. i eat them to de-stress.but if you do eat the naughty food.. rem.. the next meal.. must be clean and fresh.

Do keep us informed of ur progress as well.. okie.. =) Jia you!!!

kaybe

Paper: Thanks for your encouragement. I lost 0.9kg by my 2nd session! but i'm terrified tat would all come back today, my 3rd session. Keeping all the goodies & carbo away was hard...was so hungry last night tat i drank a cup of low fat milk even though it was a no no. Haiz....Will update u again.
U continue to work hard to ya! Cheers.

alan_golfnut

Gosh, why would low-fat milk be a no-no? It's actually very important for women to have an intake of calcium, and milk has that and more. And not all carbs are bad, just stay off the refined stuff. Carbs gives the body the essential energy to function.

edksdid

hi alan, i'm having hormones imbalance, more male hormones in me
therefore i think it's quite easy for me to bulk up.

i went for my 14th accupuncture session yday. i've not lost any kilos. put on a little 0.x (less than 1 kg).

i just eat as per normal and go for my swim as per normal. although there's no weight loss at all, i feel tt my clothes "are getting bigger"

quite happy abt it but at the same time worried why no weight loss seen like what paper has achieved.

paper, do u go for ur accupuncture once or twice a week?

alan_golfnut

edksd: Dun worry abt the 'bulking' up bit, because women are smaller boned, it's hardly noticeable, and it'd never be as much hormones as a man cos else... well, you'd start sprouting male organs!
Dun worry abt no loss of weight either. The fact that your clothese are getting looser is a good sign, that you've prob lost fat without loss of muscle (which is what you'd want). Loss of weight in the form of fat is good, loss of weight in the form of muscle is bad.

kaybe

Paper: How's your progress to date?

So far I'm quite pleased with mine:
1st-59.9
2nd-59
3rd-58.7
4th-58.3
Total loss: 1.6kg. Will be going for my 5th session tomorrow. Hopefully I've lost about 2kg.

youngmum

Hey all....hi bro Alan!!!! Been a loooong time man...see lotsa new people here. anyway....i didnt actually have time to read all the posts but I spotted one regarding clinical resort to weight loss...guess wat...i tried it last mth. Went to this doctor near my place. He prescibed me this appetite suppressant pills. It was fantastic I tell ya...I dun feel like eating unless I'm very hungry. Helped me stop snacking. I was full of energy...couldn't keep still. I even took stairs instead of lifts in sch (now me taking degree in NIE for 2 yrs) I thought I found my "magic pills" BUT....I got insomnia...couldn't sleep...for the next few days...I only slept at 2am every nite. Soon I fell ill....really2 ill. I had headaches...I can't stand noises....i was vomitting everything out. I had fever...I became weak for the next 2 weeks. I couln't play wif my son, I couldn't do my assignmts...I was a pathetic sickly woman i tell ya. Went back to the doc, he wanted to change the medication to reductil, supposed to burn the fats...i told him, it's ok...i'm stopping. I lost 2 kg in that week. I dun think it's worth it...think twice b4 u go to the clinic to get "magic pills". Exercise n food portion control is still the key....

paper

edksd,

I went twice a week,, I think it is good.. so that you will tell ur self to be good for these three days.. then u go for the apointment, after the appt... you tell urself another three more days to the next appt and be good girl.. heehe

Kaybe,
No updates yet.. =) I won't be going for the next one week, because I just came back from BKK, heehee.. so need some time to put myself back on track.. =) eat back the healthy food and also to exercise regularly, I think it is really to have the motivation and discipline..

Still working hard.

Vienna, I hope you are now feeling better... health is more impt... you take care.. do some light exercise.. =)

edksdid

hi paper, i went for my 14th session, the doc tells me to go once a wk instead of twice a week. she says normally after 10 sessions, they'll advise patients to come once a week instead. and slowly depending on the progress they'll advise to come twice a mth.

paper

edksd, they did not tell me to decrease the no. of times to go for accupunture per week. Maybe they think that you are making very good progress and so no need so intense? What is your weight now, may I ask?

edksdid

hi paper, dun ask me abt my weight. i've been to accupuncture for 14 times already. i've not lose any kilos as of last sat when i weighed. i dun think i'm going to ever lose any kilos in this lifetime.

but i can tell u hor... my bmi is 31.5. so u can go and imagine urself...

however after the accupuncture i do feel tt my clothes are looser esp ard the big fat arms and hips. waist a little bit only la. but basically i still look abt the same.

sigh... i'm so sian. i hate shopping for clothes. can someone tell me where to shop? when i get the size right, the arms are too tight or the boobs are too tight or the waist is too obvious, etc etc. just never able to get something tt fits everything right.

i'm having an inverted triangular body shape. meaning top heavier than bottom. but i think most girls are the opposite - bottom heavy. sigh..... problematic.

paper

edksd,

Are you disciplined in your diet? Becos I think the key is your diet and then the accupunture can help to increase the metabolism rate...

kaybe

Hi Paper,
By my 5th session, I'm 57.6kg (HURRAY!!). Tonight will be going for my 6th session...but i went for picnic during the weekend, ate more than usual. When I weigh myself this morn, like put back 1kg. Aiyoh so terrified to go for tonight's session!

edksd: Where's your accupuncture session? I heard tat for Ma Kuang sessions, most dun lose weight but get toned up instead. Don't be discouraged ya! Clothes getting losser seem like a very good sign!

tulipng

Hi Kaybe,
very motivated reading that you have lost weight after the 5th session. Actually i've been with aimin since januray this year, have dropped 9kg when i reach 16th session, but later, my period become irregular, came twice a mth, which makes me worried so doctor asked me to stop accupunture for a while, and slowly i took back carbo, till now hv put back 2kg, because i've fractured my leg last month and hv not been exercise for the past one month but keep on eating! Tomolo nite i'm going to accuptunture, left less than 15times for me to lost another 10kg! hopefully this round i'll success! Btw, which branch did you visited?

kaybe

Hi tulipng,
I re-scheduled my 6th session last min as my period came. I'm really happy to see the weight loss...hopefully will be able to lose more & not put it back!
Wow! u lost 9kg & only put back 2kg so far! tat's really great! Was it due to the weight loss tat caused your period to become irregular? & sorry to hear about your fractured leg

I go to the one at Temasek Tower. U?