AHA Peeling Treatment

chuidy

Hi orosalind,

I wanted to try the Peeling Treatment too but when I visited the Summit Medical Clinic at Jurong East, the doctor told me to try the IPL and Laser Photo-rejuvenation instead. The results was pretty good and painless. My face is shinning and my complexion is definitely better.
If u are interested, I can help to get the contact no for u. U have to make an appt b4 u go, otherwise u may have to wait very long.

orosalind

Hi Cindy,

Sure, please. Thanks.

You can PM me.

chuidy

Hi Orosalind,

The Clinic details r as follows:

Summit Medical Clinic
Blk 134 Jurong East St 13
#01-307
Singapore 600134
Tel : 65673003

Hi Peachcooler,

If I'm not wrong, he is charging $300 per session and $1250 for a package of 5 sessions. I saw the result after the 2nd session after I washed my face.

gemgem

Hi Candy,

May I know if the Laser Photo-rejuvenation helps to lighten acne scar? Or it only smoothen the skin?

Beware not to do too much or too often AHA stuff... will make yr skin thin. My ex-colleague did too often and you can see her skin shine but fragile. Like the skin can tear.

bubble_bubble

Just happen to come into this thread by chance. I agree with missylan. Do be careful of AHA. It will erode off ur 1st skin layers and by exposing the 2nd skin layer, ur skin will look very smooth and nice. Of cos if you dont overdo it, you will still look very pretty.

malenaooi

Can't help noticing the debate on acne scars. The best doctor I have come across (and my friends all agree) for treatment of acne scars is at #01-08 Balestier Plaza. 62551153.

The doctor uses Cooltouch, microdermabrasion, subscion and collagen fillings to smoothen out the scars. The package for Cooltouch is about $1800.

margosia

Anyone every tried IPL? Any side effects? and must do for life time or not?

I asked around and the aesthetic surgeon downtown charged about 6-7k for 5 sessions? Is this about right price?

carolneo

Hi Margosia,

IPL works very well for me and no side effects. There are still continuous improvements after I stopped the treatment. The aesthetition told me that it normally will last for about 2-5 years.

U may try the IPL Beauty Secrets @ #03-05 Far East Shopping Centre. She is giving 50% off for 1st trial @ $90 only.

patlpt

One thing about the doctor at Summit. He is very pushy, more like a sales person than a doctor. But he's very eloquent and makes you feel really confident about what he can deliver.

I recommended a few friends there and all confirmed that the doctor pushed for IPL.

I went for 4 session of IPL there and I didn't really see much results, except that skin was more glowy.

margosia

Hi Carol and all,

Thanks for recommendation.

Has anyone tried IPL or photo rejuvenation at Dr Martin Huang (clinic is at the building across Taka--can't remember the name) or at Camden Medical Center (both are aesthetic surgeons)?

Since there have been reports of ill-effects of beauty treatments at beauty centers and those done at clinics, I am quite concerned abt getting the medical attn of those really trained in aesthetic cosmetology. But, of course their prices are pretty steep too.

Anyone tried any of the clinics mentioned above? Thanks.

a_k

I didnt know AHA will erode skin. I was recommended by my beautician to try a AHA program. she mention that i only need to do it twice & i should be able to see the result liao. i was quite tempted to do it on the next appt.. but seeing this now, i am confused. anyone try it before? is it becos of frequent usage of AHA treatment will be bad for skin but less frequent wont really harm??

lop7077

U may have new skin look after AHA peeling however u may end up having very sensetive skin and easily get outbreak.

tane

I know that sensitive skin is not suitable for AHA. One thing for sure is that after AHA treatment, sunblock is very important as the skin will be more sensitive and sunlight will hurt if there is no protection.

a_k

Hi Angel,

I am very scare of outbreak.

Jing Jing, in fact my skin is kind of sensitive but depend on what product i am using.

I understand like what tane mentioned it is very impt to hv sunblock. that's my concern too cos my working area is kind of hot & i will need to expose to the sun... so making me more in dilemma whether I should go for it. The main reason I will interested in to remove the scars & lines which the beautician recommend also...

sensory

I have tried AHA treatment before , right up to 70%. Not much efect. Now going for Laser Photo-rejuvenation. Have only done one session. But effect last only two days. Am going for another session this week. Wondering those who tried a few sessions, how do U find the effect ?

sensory

I went for another LPR yestersday. I think it is good in lighting my small light scars. These are the left over ones after my acne was treated. Ya, used to have acne and super oily skin. But now, since my acne has gone, now should be targetting @ scars. After going for two treatments, looks quite OK to me.

btw, I did it @ specialists centre.

Seriously, the AHA does not have much effect in treatment my acne nor acne.

jacko_wacko

i did IPL (6 sessions) with Haach and my freckles which had been around since i was very young is almost gone! i'm very pleased and recommend to you girls. i just signed another 6 sessions but won't go for all at one go cos' i don't want all my freckles to go. hehe...what dilemma

yue_yue

Just to share with you my bad experience with IPL. I went to a beauty salon for facial and the sales person pushed me a package for IPL and gurantee that my pimpls scare will go away.
So i signed up a package of abt 1200++ on the spot.
After going for the treatment my skin looked very red and sore. The reddness will only go away after 3-4 days. Not only did my scars remains, my pimples were aggrivated by the IPL and got worse.
My face was worse than before. I thought that my pimples worsen bec of the weather, so i went to a doctor for antibiotic.
After my skin got abit better, I went for the IPL again and my skin break out the next day.
I though i was disfigured for life until i met my doctor and went through a series of micro dermabrasion.
MY advice for all of you is not to do IPL, microdermabrasion etc at beauty salon etc. Go to a clinic as the beautician or so called dermalogist might not have the sufficient medical knowledge on skin. My doc told me that to have a beautician doin AHA on you might cause your face to burn and have scars
Go to a doctor, at least they wont risk their medical cert to ruin your face. So i wasted my $$ and never went bk to the stupid place again. Besides that place is so called highly recommaned by TV ads anc commercial. Again its better to spend more on docs than those uncertified people

peachcooler

Hi yuer,

did you see any improvement after you did microdermabrasion?

where is the clinic/doc u did microdermabrasion?
& how much did u pay for it.. me oso interested to do microdermabrasion!

zann

i don't recommend AHA peeling, the skin will become sensitive or even red easily eventually.

Microbrasion is good for removing scars on cheeks predominantly I heard. Peeling is not good as it make skin excessively sensitive and reddens easily, Although Initial Results usu is quite good. Best is speak to a doc really

zann

Microbrasion i dunno leh but strongly advise anyone against chemical peeling. Cause your skin to become sensitive and red some period later!! Your skin will become so thin...if kena sunburn worse..so a no no for chemical peeling!

yunn

yeah! never go 4 chemical peel, very dangerous, worse ur condition oni, although seems like very good after d peel, but 2-3 weeks later results r gone & u'll regret cz lead 2 hypersensitive skin!

Microdermabrasin oso no gd, d machine uses diamond powder 2 peel of ur top layer of skin, oso make ur skin texture thin & thin. jz imagine, ur deep skin layer expose 2 environment such as sun, dirt... wow, ur skin cant tahan la...

don b desperate 2 get rid of marks til use d wrong methods. let ur skin breath naturally & marks will b healed in no time. don bother abt them so much then u'll find it missing fr ur scene.

tk care!

lilacz

Has anyone done cooltouch by Dr David Loh at Balestier?Did a search on yahoo about cooltouch laser and his webiste is the only one i found quite informative.Would like to find out if anyone has good experience at this clinic?

jimbean

I am considering taking cooltouch or smoothbeam for removing my reddish acne scars and smooth the pitted holes. I searched the web and found these two clinics providing cooltouch or smoothbeam in singapore:

Deep skin therapy
www.cooltouch.xxx.sg (substitute xxx with com)
and

The sloane clinic
http://www.sloaneclinic.com/english/philo.htm

both offering cooltouch and smoothbeam at around $600.

Anybody tried cooltouch or smoothbeam in these two clinics before? the doctors experienced? was the results gd?? Thanks~!

junec

Jimbean

I've tried cooltouch at Dr Loh's clinic, the deep skin theraphy one. He is a very friendly doctor and has been using cooltouch for quite long already. Results was good but not it does not perform miracles. It just offers improvements. But I have to say I'm a little addicted coz it makes the skin more radiant and firmer too. I think u can go from 1 session only then decide if you want to do again. He offers good discount if u r a regular.

jimbean

Hi junec

So do u think i should go for the IPL or Cooltouch(at Dr Loh's clinic) to remove my red acne scars & pit holes? Or Aramis laser(which i read is very gd for curing of scars) at sloane clinic.

Sloane clinic has an on-going scars treatment program which consists of 5 sessions Aramis Laser Rejuvenation, 5-time Microdermabrasion, 5-time LED Photomodulation Light, 5-time collagen whitening facial wraps which costs $3500.(But full payment has to be made in the first treatment...which is alot of $$$$$)

Dr Loh's clinic charges for the Cooltouch is $600 & Microderm is $80. 5 times of (Cooltouch + Microderm) = $3400. (i email them to ask whether they have any package & they don't have)

So it seems the sloane clinic package is more attractive? Any advice? I'm more inclined to go to Dr Loh after what u said abt ur experience.

Thanks~!

junec

Jimbean

I've been going to Dr Loh's office for more than a year. I've establish a good doctor/Patient relationship with Dr Loh and with the staff. I like the place so I'm really bias. When it comes to all these facial treatments, I prefer to go on a trail and error method. I once paid for a course of Microdermabrasion at DermaRX, only to find that my skin is sensitive and cannot endure the treatment. I broke out really badly and demanded for a refund. I got it but at a major lost coz of the way the calculate the pricing. Anyway, my point is, you never know if a treatment is suiatble for you so if you commit too much u might be taking a risk.

I get special discount whenever I go to Dr Loh's office coz he is a real softy. Just ask and he will give, at least that's my experience. But I don't know if he's like that with other patients. But since you are considering spending $3500, why don't u go for a consultation ($80) and sees what Dr Loh says. See can get discount or not. It is a very friendly environment and no pressure. U say I recommend lor, see got help or not. He knows I'm a regular in SG Brides forum and has even join in this forum before.

Good luck.

jimbean

Thanks junec for ur advice...it really helps~!
Think i'll book an appointment with them by this wk. Btw how much did Dr Loh charge u for the cooltouch & ipl?
P.S I'm a guy(very worried abt my complexion cos it makes me so inferior) btw...so i think he might laugh at me for coming to a Brides forum...haha

junec

Jimbean

Dr Loh got a lot of male patient, saw them while I was there. He won't laugh lah. I can't review the price here but I can tell u it is a major discount!

Most important is that you must be comfortable with your doctor. Our condition is not those that can go away guickly or completely, only can aim for imrpovements. I just watched the last episode of SWAN and one of the girl on the show had acne scar. The Doctor did CO2 laser which burns off the first layer of skin. CO2 is a more effective and more drastic treatment for depressed scar but there is a lot of down time. Even after the CO2, her face is still pitted but looks better. The doctor on the program said that CO2 can only improve the condition by 40% to 70%. So go seek your treatment with realistic expectations or you'll be dissapointed.

If you got $, can also consult that Doctor at the other clinic u considering then u can compare. Before I settled on Dr Loh, I had consulted, Dr KB Lim(Gleneagles), Woffles Wu, Walter Tan(Raffles) & Prof Goh(NSC).

jimbean

Hi junec,
i've jus made an appointment with Dr Loh on thur. Really hope his treatments will improve my complexion & remove my red acne scars & holes. So what treatments did u do at Dr Loh & how was ur complexion then & now?

buffy74

hi Jimbean,

when is your appointment? have to gone to the appt? if so, how's everything? I'm also facing similar problem like u. I want to get rid of the scar on my cheeks. I'm very concious of them and it's affecting my confidence. Hope u'll share your experience with me. thanks

junec

Jimbean

I went to Dr Loh for pigmentation and acne problem. I went on a course of Accutane then on Cooltouch & IPL. My skin is manageable now with the mthly mild pimple, small ones not the deep and swollen onces like I use to have. My skin has also become less sensitive and I don't get eczema on my face anymore. I think I was using too many pimple treatment on my face and made my skin very sensitive. I think the cool touch and IPL have thicken my skin a little and made it less sensitive.

I still have pigmentation like freckles, acne scar from new acne, but they are very light compared to the past. I have a few depressed scars from acne which improved a little but I think I can live with them, coz to rid them I will need more drastic treatment which I'm not willing to go for.

I used to have to wear make up every waking hour coz I was very very self concious. Now I dare to go out without make up.

The reason I settled with Dr Loh is because I think the people in the clinic are helpful and friendly, I like going there.

How was your appointment?

jimbean

Hi Jamie L & junec,

jus went to my first cooltouch(doesn't remove red scars at all...tat's wat dr loh told me) appointment last thur. It was abit painful...esp when he zap at my nose....OUCH~!

Dr Loh said to remove my red acne scars(mine are really hideous red big patches)...need abt 1-3 sessions of IPL shld be ok.

Right now can c my holes getting better day by day...but is not drastic change lor...think cooltouch works by improving ur skin slowly instead of seeing the result immediately.

I read from his website tat IPL if used correctly...1 session of it will remove pigmentations & the 2nd session if the 1st is set too cautionly.

He also did to fillers for me to show wat it is like....& he did it FOC...hehe...then he gave me major DISCOUNT for my cooltouch & IPL treatments...BEST~!...maybe i'm still a student tat's y. This fri going down again for my first IPL to remove my red acne scars...really hope can say byebye to my red scars after this wk... :p

Junec; dr loh said he know who u r...& said tat ur hubby is a pilot ya.

junec

Jimbean

Ya, husband pilot.

See I knew he would give good discount. Solid right? Also alway very generous with free trial. I'v had a few free trials already. Some times he get new machine to try, his nurse will call me to go down and try. Good hor. I think he is also good because he experienced bad skin himself, know what I mean?

Good for you, I really hope it works.

buffy74

hi jimbean,

glad u r happy with the treatment, mean my scar got hope liao.

u mentioned the filler, but has Dr Loh use it on u yet? wats the cost like?

Seem like u have went for a few treatment liao. can u break down your cost to show me?

cos i really have no idea wat amount to come with, everything so expensive.

Does he charge for consultation? can i go with u the nex time? i know its a bit too much. but if u mind is ok.

regards
jamie

panggou

hi ladies, sorry to interupt, I have acne problem on my chin, normally, it is big and swollen. not sure if cooltouch can help. can i consult you on some questions:

is it a form of facial? Will the face turn so red after the treatment? is one session really $680? will it be able to curb acne outbreak?

I am really worried, hope to get more info from you.

junec

Winnie

Cooltouch is a form of laser treatment. It will help acne but only after multiple sessions. If you have one inflame pimple that u need to get rid of fast, go for cortisone injection from Doctor.

panggou

hi junec, does the injection hurt? i am very worried, i want to go for a good facial where they wont force us to buy this and that. not sure where to find

junec

Winnie

Sorry can't help u on the facial cos I don't go. Had very bad experience.

As for the injection, it is only for emergency if the swelling is too big and u have an event coming up like a wedding etc. I heard the injection is painful but really works. But not long term solution for acne as cortisone is a steriod which should not be use on long term basis.