Advise needed on Renovation and ID!!

stress_man

Hi Astrogirl, i also notice that diff id company can have really wide range of quotations for the same items, i guess the diff is on the service, or maybe workmanship..I taken this standard package for a 4 rm at $16,888 which is much higher than other id, but too late already sign up..

fcc

Hi guys, I feel that my ID cum contractor is quite good. We are going to start renovation in Jan. So far, everythings is very good. He is quite a nice guy, keep finding ways for us to save cost and recommend us some rather good lobang as well. His design is very creative.

If you do need his contact, can email me @ [email protected]

got a very nice and reponsible contractor to recommend. Anyone interested can pm me. He's very experience and he very protective of the owners' flat from the workers.

Hi sunnyday,

Can I have the contact, company name and website of the contractor you are talking about?

old_timer

Hi, my quote is below, the actual is cheaper as i review alot, my place will be ready next week, if you are interested to see it sms me at 91793441 for timing. ID is DEEN: 81984205

4A Re-sale , Tampines 115 sq meters
Demolition works:
1. hack flr tiles of living, dining, 3rms and store rm $600
2. remove kitchen cabinet,sink and stove support FOC
3. hack existing flr tiles of kitchen and 2 toilets flr and walls $850
4. hack new entrance for common toilet $180
5. hack new entrance to wall of kitchen $180
6. hack wall of store to rm 3 $180
Mansory works:
1. lay 600x600 homogenous flr tiles to living, dining, 3 rms and store with skirting $3700
2. water proof membrane to 2 toilets and kitchen $250
3. lay homogenous tiles to kitchen and 2 toilets $850
4. lay ceremic tiles to 2 toilets and kitchen walls $3350
5. construct 50mm base for cabinets,washing machine and fridge $220
6. construct 6ft sink support with aluminium doors homo tiles $650
7. seal up existing kitchen, and store rm entrance $700
8. construct L-shape wall for new store (10.5ft) $600
9. Construct 8 ft width wall in hall $500
10. lay homogenous tiles to recess area ( 120 sq ft ) $480
11 construct new entrance wall to recess area with door frame $700
12 remove existing main door and frame and smoothen wall $300
13. new copper pipes for whole house $450
14. supply and install 2 pedestial toilet bowls $550
15 supply and install 2 wash basins $200
16. design and fabricate 30ft kitchen cabinet with postform top $2400
17.supply and install 2 bi-fold toilet doors $340
18. install stainless steel rubbish chute $200
19. install casement aluminium casement windows ( 166 sq ft) $1900
20. install new alu window grills $750
21. install 2 fixed toilet louvers $350
22. install new solid nyator door at store rm $200
23. install door frame at store rm $200
24 install alu grills at recess area $550
25. paint whole house $900
26. electrical rewiring to wholu house with new mlb $1850
27haulage and debris $400
28. supply cooker hood and hob FOC
29. supply 2 bowl stainless sink at sink support FOC
Total $25,530
discount $530
grand total $ 25K

10 years warranty on all wet work workmanship, 3 years for carpentry.

this was the first quote, actuual price is cheaper as alot of changes

cha_alex

My suggestion is dun go for package offered by id/contractor with disc here and there just to attract home owner, better to have a clear and detailed quotation....

stars03

For me and my hubby, we dun believe in ID..hence we actually coordinate our reno ourselves and source for sub-contractors to do the work like carpentery, flooring etc..This way we save $$ and can control the quality of the work..Here are some of our hm pics to share..We found out that most ID we went to, actually juz use the ideas we told them and draw them out accordingly which we felt is pointless to pay them for our ideas..
Juz our personal view..hence we set out to do the reno ourselves..

board-post.cgi

stars03

For me and my hubby, we dun believe in ID..hence we actually coordinate our reno ourselves and source for sub-contractors to do the work like carpentery, flooring etc..This way we save $$ and can control the quality of the work..Here are some of our hm pics to share..We found out that most ID we went to, actually juz use the ideas we told them and draw them out accordingly which we felt is pointless to pay them for our ideas..
Juz our personal view..hence we set out to do the reno ourselves..

332765.jpg

332766.jpg

332767.jpg

332768.jpg

332769.jpg

332770.jpg

332771.jpg

stars03

Hi Aelic,
We did not buy the divider at the balcony..it was made by my carpenter who also made all the cabinets in our hm and all wood works lor

stars03

I am not sure as think he gave us a lump sum price as we did alot of carpentery works, like our kitchen, tv console..2 dividers, walk in wardrobe, cabinets in the toilets and study desk..so i cant tell u how much he charges for that dividers as i did 2... one at balcony n another in the entrance of my home

stars03

I am not sure as the figures r kept by my hubby. But our total reno cost is abt 30K+ as we did an entire overhual for our 21 yrs old hm

stars03

If u r interested, i can pass u his contacts n u can get him to quote for the things u wanna do..if u r interested, let m eknow yr email add

liando

thanks stars. thinking of buying a S-shape chair for my house also. hee. but can't find one which i really like. i like urs. hee.

stars03

Hey liando,
Go barang2 to see then..they shld be still selling it..it is available in 3 colours, my colour, red colour and kahki colour i think

liando

definitely will go there. i always tot tt barang2 sells woody kind of furniture only. ha ha. think i'm wrong..

maniac

Stars, how did u find the sub-contractors? Can you pass me your contacts? I just got my flat n now looking for contractors and ID but we have a tight budget. You can email me at [email protected] Thanks

honeybearz

Hi Stars,

We are currently sourcing out for sub-contractors as well. Can you email me you sub-contractors contact.

Many thanks in advanced.
Happy New year to you.

endaz

Hi Stars,
Can I kNow if you had sealed up your store room coz its seem that you have the same layout as my parents place? Do you have a walk in wardrobe done? We are thinking of redoing the whole house and having the store room hack to become a walk in wardrobe for them.

endaz

Hi Stars,
Thanks for the infor.. We are sourcing around for ID and waiting for their quote.Think we will forgo the walk-in wardrobe coz there are too many stuff to be stored in our flat. Think there wont be enough space.

cler

Dear Stars,

Hi, can you share your contractors with me? I am still consdiering whether to get contractors or ID. I am trying to cut down cost but at the same time is worried that I may not have time to coordinate all the reno work cos my fiance is always outstation :-(

Thanks & take care

Thanks so much.

starcom

Hi, would like to recommend my contractor with you.
He is not from any of the big ID companies, which have a lot of hidden cost to negotiate for. He is just any down to earth contractor.

His quotation is generally affordable, and reasonable. Not to mention his service altitude, which makes him more comfortable to work with.
Been to a few of his showhouses, workmanship is just as good comparing to the big names.

I am recommending him, becos he is responsible, enough to update you the progress of the work almost everyday. Haha, he even report to me that he is going overseas next week, so that we are advised to get some of the ideas he need us to buy before he leave. So that he can instruct his workers to do what is required.

Guys, if you are interested, let me know by dropping me an email at [email protected]

No obligation, it's just a quote. Does not mean you really have to let him to do it. If he is fully tied down, he will tell you straight, he won't hold on to you by giving false excuses.

Cheers....

daffier

I got a new 4rm flat at 85sqm and looking at doing e following:
homo tiles n skirting at living/dining, 3 bedrooms, store
15ft kit cabinet wi legs, 10ft solid table top
painting for whole hse
aluminium grilles for windows
platform at living room, master bedroom

around how much would be a reasonable price?

babystarlet

hi wendy cheong,if u wan,i can reco my ID to you.He's responsible and their workmanship is good.
My hse currently still under reno.
Do PM me.

menghaw

Hi Godzilla,

If i read all the messages above correctly, your home is design by A&D? I went into their website and pics looks good. Any good advice? Do you mind to share some photos of your home and also the ID contact #? many thanks!

email: [email protected]

kwlim

pls advise whether is it true tat most ID will charge $2000 for their 3D Pic. initially they will only do space planning and quotation. this $2000 is non-refundable?

if i wanted to compare the interior ideas of different companies, dun tell me i muz pay so many $2000 just to get the 3D pic.

regards

babystarlet

hi,jus my past experiences,many IDs will request u to put a deposit so that they can do the drawings for u.
in e end,many got to sign up with them.however,some IDs does give free drawings to tempt u.
my advise is ,look for IDs that are trustworthy,ask arnd from ur friends etc.

anyway my hse is now renovating,if u need my ID infor,can PM me.i be glad to share.

cutie_gal

Hi Babystarlet,

Can send with me ur ID contacts, me jus got a flat at the recent WIS, so sourcing for ID nw. But they say cheaper to get a contractor to do leh, wat's ur advice. I meet Irene (stylewedding)at the WIS also, her queue no in front of me. Both of us manage to get our ideal flat. Hee...

babystarlet

contractors is good when u can coordinate by urself and u know wat kind of design and style u wan for ur new hse.
for me,we engage ID so that can have a designer feel
btw where ur new pl?congrats on gettn a new pl,at least 1 major issue is completed,heee
but of coz,my ID also can do renovations ,u can jus look for him,ask him for a quote and discuss with him wat concept u wan etc....
i had PM u his contacts

whoareyou

Hi all, I'm in the midst of renovation. Still keeping my fingers crossed that all goes well. I find the idea of putting a 'deposit' for a drawing annoying. I guess it is really up to you to decide if the ID is capable of producing such a great drawing/idea for your home that deserves payment.
It's almost like putting a deposit for a quotation.
Secondly, I've heard of IDs offering huge discounts if you put in a deposit immediately! This happens at Reno Fairs. Think about it, if he gives you an upfront discount, he'll probably want to earn it back other ways. e.g. halfway through the renovation, you discover you need to rebuild something in your home. You'll probably get the same ID to do it. He'll probably charge you a higher price.
Mind you, I've already added quite a few items to my original reno list. If my contractor isn't honest, he/she will markup by alot.

Case in point: I decided to change my windows after renovations started. My contractor said it is best to do it before plastering and painting or else it will be a mess when we do it later. She quoted me a price and then a discount a day later. I'm sure I could've done it cheaper if I looked around for quotes, but I didn't.

So, at the end of the day, I think honesty is the best thing to look out for in an ID/contractor. If he can suddenly give such a huge discount when you're about to walk away, then, he couldn't be that honest with his initial pricing.

Also, don't be pressured by discounts and 'today only prices'. Girls love these words and melt ever so quickly. [tic]

Case in point: I went shopping for lights. Finally, after a long day, this shop quoted us $680 for a batch of lights. We said we'll think about and come back. His next words were, "I give you a discount - $600. I just need to make my quota. I am not making much. If you come back later, I can't give you the same price." I felt uncomfortable with his attitude. Even his words sound very Ah Beng. But my wife persuaded me to take the offer. So we did and made a $300 deposit.
Sure enough, I tried calling the next day to confirm delivery date but couldn't get through the whole day. *panic* I drove back to the place the next day and when I walked in, the salesmans first words were, "Yes? What's your problem?" Anyway, I keep cool and said I'll self collect in four days. When I returned four days later, nobody bothered to serve me pushing me from one person to another. Finally, I managed to get my stuff. I wanted to check through all the lights, but, it would have taken an hour. So, I did random items check. After I brought it home, I check each item and found a chip on one of the glass lights and scratches on the cover of another plastic lamp.
The chip on the glass can be forgiven as it is small. The scratches on the plastic lamp can't because they definitely would have seen it. They probably gave it to me in hopes I wouldn't see it when I take delivery.

Again, the moral of the story is honesty. We got it 'cheaper' but at a price.

kwlim

yah, told the IDs that i will not pay $2000 for any 3D pictures and true enough some of them just MIA. Never mind lah, cos there are so many ID around also.

But there are also some who are willing to show pics after pics even b4 we sign so tat we are totally convinced. At least i see more sincerity in these people wanting business.

mm1069

hello everyone! just curious if you ask about the paper qualifications of your IDs besides their experience? Have met a few IDs - some learn on the job, some with diploma, one even got degree in ID. Does it matter?

0212bride

Hi Mei, I didn't think of asking ID for their qualifications. Tho I hv yet to look ard, but just think tt some (esp the QBE ones) will feel offended? Those with high qualifications or members of affiliated bodies might alrdy print it on their cards to justify their premiums? Nt sure abt this hopefully the more experienced members can enlighten me as well....

nichiyobi

If you are posting how good your ID or contractor do a good job to your home, I would greatly appreciate if you could share pics of your reno. This will benefit to all who keep this thread alive.

(Nowadays pics taken from HP also very good quality)

nightshade

I want to recommend my ID Kean from Homeguide. He's very creative, patient and will design the flat according to individual needs and fancy.

He's not pushy and does not charge for 3D diagrams and consultations.

Very satisifed with his work. My house and Kean is featured in the current issue 26 of CUBE magazine. Can check it out at borders. Look for Homeguide inside.

You can contact him at 96852503