Advise need for Tasmania

kerenelu

hi lilo,

ya! just confirmed flight today with ctc yeh!!

Flying by sq on 30 nov lor.. and coming back 9 dec.. so 10 days in tassie

Ohhh mine end up $1900 for both pax. Online booking via SQ website is cheaper at $1800++. But got pending voucher with them so can't be helped, got to get from ctc and settle it once and for all

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

Any update on preparation? By the way, when is your flight?

I just booked my domestic flight and applied for visa

lilostitch12

hello KK,

sorry for the late reply as I just came back from holiday.

Wah... you very chop chop leh... Everything booked liao.
My departure flight is on 21 Nov and will be returning on 3 Dec. My domestic flight not booked yet wor. You booked the domestic flight from which airline?

kerenelu

hi lilo,

wow holiday!! where did u go?

i booked the domestic flight le from virgin blue
from the website u given me lor

its around S$380 for 2 pax. i get the one with chcked in luggage.

How about ur car? Getting from which company?

lilostitch12

hello KK,

I just came back from Perth for a short holiday. Good break from work.

You flying into Hobart or Launceston?
We shd be getting car from Avis. Cos only Avis got GPS hire service. Hertz dont have GPS. If u dont need GPS, then i shd think Hertz is better ba.. They always upgrade the car type one..

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

Wow, this year u travel australia twice? haha.. ya perth is good for a short trip cos flight is short

i am flying into hobart

yah lor i need GPS leh.. hertz confirmed no GPS as i emailed them already.. SIGH! But hertz is the most trusted brand leh.. avis can be trusted?
i dunno which company my friend got his when he went perth last dec.. he said pretty bad, so best to get hertz. i check with him again.

lilostitch12

hi kk,

haha.. actually i never thought of gg to Perth becos i had this impression tat Perth is a boring place. But i happened to bump into a jetstar promotion a few mths ago and the fares are unbelievable low.. $138 return incl taxes. I couldnt resist and booked immediately. That was when i made the silly mistake of purchasing the jetstar light tixs without a check in baggage.. haha... lucky it was a short trip so still can survive with hand-carry luggage...

yup.. we need a GPS also. So likely have to book from Avis. Avis is one of the big boys in car rental.. So it wont go too wrong ba... I shd be gg to Natas fair nearing the end of this mth to book the car.. Got v good promo fares if u book during the fair.. i was at the fair the last round and i remembered camry was only $38 per day.. But i understand tat car rental is cheap but the insurance is the expensive one..

For our perth trip, my fren me told the car he booked was $100 over but the insurance is $200 over.. so have to factor in insurance also.

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

My friend said he took from avis that time. He was being charged for GPS. But i thought GPS got to be paid lor so not a problem to me. Another thing is he said service not so good. Dunno whether its the lifestyle there, or their service really not good hahaha.. when i was in adelaide last year june, i remember hertz service was very good!

Perth city has nothing much rite? But going southwest it gets really beautiful
I am a aussie lover lah.. heehee.. yr 2000 i went sydney/gold coast. 2003 me and hubby went melbourne for honeymoon. 2004 we went perth and southwest. 2008 we went adelaide. So now we visiting tasmania
We kept signing for tour packages until first time we went F&E at adelaide. That experience made us love aussie even more so now we continue with self drive

yah lor, the insurance and other misc charges can kill manzzz! We went to adelaide kangaroo island, pick up the car, then sign up for the maximum insurance coverage and that was a few hundreds already. Then silly me, stayed in one location and there was no unlimited Km on kangaroo island. So everyday we drove in and out and incurred lots of mileage charges. Not forgetting petrol too haha.. Well, take it as a lesson

I checked out avis website and can actually tick the insurance to be included, but not sure whether its the maximum cover or not. If not, may have to upgrade over there.

Oh then really got to drop by at natas fair liao

Oh yes, have u visited this website? Can ask for tasmania detailed map
Very nice leh!

http://www.australianroadtrips.com/

lilostitch12

hi kk,

Is your fren upset by the service becos he was charged with the GPS? The GPS set is separately hired one wor.. so sure got hire charges.

Yeah i only stayed in Perth city for abt half a day and head straight to SouthWest.. I think Margaret river region is a v beautiful place..I like the coastal areas and the winery estates...No regrets even though i dont have time to visit the so called "must visit" wave rock and Pinanncles. haha...

Yap.. Hertz and Avis both has a booth in Natas fair.. Its easier to enquire directly from the representatives...

Thanks for the info on the maps

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

Think he was also upset with their work attitude lor

I really love southwest! Wanted to go again this year actually cos more convenient and flight shorter as it's my daughter's first trip abroad. But then me and hubby really dun wish to miss tasmania this time round as i have been planning for 3 yrs yet never go haha..

motoralong

Tasmania is an ideal honeymoon location. If planning a trip, do keep in mind that car rental services are not to be missed as with this you can enjoy a nice trip and visit places according to your preferences....you can also visit http://www.motoralong.com for more information about car rentals .

noamie08

One of the most spectacular things we've done in Tasmania is a flight over the South West national park which landed on a remote beach. Absolutely fantastic mountain scenery and landing on the beach was totally cool (as voted by the kids). You get these out of Hobart. I can't recall them being terribly pricey, we took it when we were on a fairly tight budget.