Advise need for Tasmania

xin_xin

My FH & I have decide to go Tasmania for our Honeymoon. Any place is a muz to visit? We are going on Jan knowing tat it is summer there but do we still need to bring sweater there as heard tat it might be cold up the moutain area??

Is F&E better or with tour?? If F&E would it be a pro as we not intend to self-drive.

Any comment are welcome!

lazy_snake

Hi Xin Xin,

Glad to share my Tasmania experience with you.
For tasmania, the best season to visit is def during the summer season, as the weather won't be too cold and the day are also longer, so you have more time for sightseeing.
If you are not going to do self drive, I would recommend that it is still better to take up a group tour instead of F&E. Cause most of the day trip only covers place around Hobart and Launceston.

As for must place to visit, there are the 2main cities in Tasmania that you have to visit.
1. Hobart
*Salamanca Market - which only open every sat until 2 or 3pm. It is the must visit flea market if you visit Hobart. Selling mostly Australian made product.
*Cadbury Chocolate Factory - The biggest Chocolate factory in Australia N NZ.
*Port Arthur - Also one of the must vist site in Hobart. It is the former jail for convict for UK.
There are also many strawberries n cherries farm that you may want to visit as Jan is the season for Cherries.
2. Launceston
*Lavender Farm - The biggest lavender farm in the Australia. Jan is also the season for lavender flower. Once you are near the farm you can actually smell the lavender in the air.
*Seahorse farm - One of the world first seahorse museum in the world.
*Cataract Gorge - The wilderness in the city

Please do set aside 2days for Cradle Mt. The must visit place in Tasmania.

Hope my informations can help you in planning your honeymoon.

claire8

I think Dot Dot had said it all. If you still can squeeze out sometime, go for the Gordon River Cruise
(World Heritage area). Actually on top of all those beautiful places, what I love most is the wonderful fresh air there, it is reputedly the cleanest air in the world, and nearly every places there is tourist and eco-friendly. If only I hv 1 mth to spend there.....

chicklet

Hi ladies, I am also heading for Tasmania for my honeymoon! One whole week, self-drive. Can't wait to start my new life as Mrs... ;)

claire8

You may want to pay wineglass bay a visit as well.
But the climb up the viewing deck is not exactly easy though. Also if u still can squeeze some time can try the Gordon River Cruise.

suishi

searching for nice HM location....sounds great for tasmania.

Which travel agency is good for Tasmania trip? How much is the package?

Greatly appreicate if someone can advice me.

Thanks a million.

adelene

Hi suishi,

I will suggest you to do a self-drive. It is cheaper and you can get to more places. Locals are nice and helpful too.

fi_fi

me searching for Hm oso... may i noe wat's d weather like in Tas for late to early nov?

me interested in d package. can email me oso

adelene

Is it late oct to early nov?

Late spring. Weather is fine with occasional short shower. Hobart (South Tasmania) is cool, while LST (North Tas) is warmer.

I'm not on any package, hence can't advise on that.

adelene

Yap! Mine is under F&E.
Tassie is my first F&E trip. And I find it easy to self-drive. And we covered many areas in Tassie on our 11Days trip.

Total spending is $2.6K per person(including air-tickets,travel insurance, car, rental, accommodations, admission tickets, food & wine, souvenirs and stuff we brought home).
My friends who went on package spent abt $3K for all. Of cos, expenditure solely depends on individual.

ritz

Hi Blue Ginger, can you share which hotels you stayed in each location in your 11 days? I am planning for F&E and have headache which hotels to stay. Thanks

adelene

I din go there on HM, so those places I stayed were youth hostel. If you are there on HM, you may prefer to have B&B, esp Cradle moountain lodge and Freycineth Lodge are one of the best and most memorable stay for newly-weds. If you are on budget, youth hostel is equally fine and well-furnished. A lot of stuff are new.

You may wanna state which area you are targetting so that I can recommend you any. However, hotel is one of the most expensive, yet not so close to their culture.

melodygrac

Hi Blue Ginger!

Can give some advice on accomodation in Tas? Am visiting Hobart during May...

Now sourcing out for the rite accomodation.. seems tougher than other places in Aus.

Thankie!

reene29

This is my 1st post. Me and hubby are planning our first trip to Mel and Tas in Sept. It is gonna be a f&e and both of us don't drive.

We are planning to spend 5days in Tas (i know this isn't enuf). Have been reading all threads about Tas and realise that there is so much to see. But given that we have only 5 days what wld be the best places that i should cover.

We are planning to arrive into Launcheston from Mel. Have read that some members recommend Backtrack Trassie Tours. Do this pple do personal tours for me and hubby.

Thanking everyone in advance.

Btw, how is the weather in Sept?

jklim4642

Blue Ginger, when did u go tas? 2.6k PAX for 11 days is cheap. b'coz just the airport tax itself in australia is S$200++. thus, air ticket PAX is abt 1k. car rental for 11 days is not cheap either. i did a research and budget analysis earlier and it comes up to at least 7-8k for 2 PAX (and is not luxury kind of HM either)

adelene

Grac,
I stayed at YHA, Hobart. Located near the wharf (near salamanca market), city hall and a shopping mall area. Very convenient, in fact all in walking distance. Might not be cozy if your are there for honeymoon, but you can get a room @ A$50 for 2. Otherwise, get a B&B.

Actually, don't find it difficult to get accommodation in Tassie. The only town that is tough is Bicheno.

Diamond,
is it cheap? I went last Oct. That time petrol increased, Australia A'port tax oso gone up. We took Thrify (S$450 for 11day), Flight is abt S$1.1K. Accommodation and car (include petrol) took up most of our expense.

Weather in Oct is cool in the day, cold at night. However, I got sun-burn at LST. No lavendar during Sept to Oct.

chicklet

Hi Reene29, Launceston is a very sleepy town. I found it kinda boring. Hobart is beautiful and the weekend market was interesting. My hubby said it reminded him of San Francisco.

If you're into nature and walks, don't miss the Cradle Mountain Lodge. I know of two other couples who went for their honeymoon as well, and they still remember it fondly after ten years. They're redone some of their rooms, the King Billy Suite is NICE (outdoor jacuzzi, fireplace, HUGE bathroom, etc). If you need more info, MSN me at [email protected]. Cheers.

bluegrapes

Hi Reene29, I agree with chicklet, Hobart is a nicer town. Cradle Mountain is lovely and you are surrounded by wild wombat and kangaroos while trekking. I was there 4 years bac. Would definitely return to Cradle Mountain to spend more time there

lilostitch12

Hello Mi Mi,

I am also planning to go Tasmania in Nov. There is no direct flight from SG to Tas. You have to take a connecting flight from Melbourne to Tas. You can try Qantas which will give you the flight routes from SG-Mel-Tas.

Alternatively, you can book your own flight to Melbourne and a separate domestic flight (e.g. virginblue) to Tas. This is wat i will do. There is a current promo with Emirates and tickets inclusive of taxes to Mel is only $422. Connecting flights from Mel to Tas is abt $150 both ways. So total airfare is less than $600..

Hotels (3-4 stars) type is about $2000 for 10 days. (shared between 2 pax is about $1000/pax)

So airfare + accommodation will come up to abt $1,600 per pax... Dont need a budget for 6K.

kerenelu

Hi Hi ladies,

Any worries about going to australia due to H1N1 thingy going on? i am hesitating now whether to go tassie this early dec... hmmm...

Like lilostitch, i have done some research. Getting SQ tickets to-fro melbourne and then booked the domestic flights separately.

Lilostich, like tat no problem in connecting the flights right, if all timings noted properly during booking?

lilostitch12

Hello KK,

I think H1N1 is also very prevalent in SG now. It has become a global thingy aldy. Our health minister also just announced that the chances of getting the H1N1 strain is 1 in 2 of flu cases. So the risk is really indifferent staying in Spore vs travelling! So why not do it while fares are cheap : ) Dont hesitate lah.. Just go.. I can share my itinerary with you if u are keen..

I think SQ tickets are still expensive even during their promo as compared to other airlines. U may like to monitor promo airfares esp now tat Natas fair is coming.

Regarding the connecting flight, I guess it would be safe if you have at least 2.5 hours waiting time.

My flight will reach Mel 8am, and my flight to Launceston departs at 1pm. So its very safe for me.. In fact its a long wait.. haha

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

i checked out emirates.. only $1300++ for 2 pax.. but SQ need $2600 leh! Twice of emirates :p

So think i may try emirates lor

Oh which means if i reach melbourne airport at 7 am, it is safer to plan a connecting flight after 9.30 am?

true true.. i agree with u on the waiting time

hey so which airline u taking to melbourne then?

By the way, can share with me your itinerary? Just PM me will do

Curious to know the hotels u plan to stay too..

So far, what i planned is that i will stay at riverfront motel at hobart, port arthur villa at port arthur, wintersun motel at bicheno, strahan village at strahan, cradle mountain wilderness village at cradle mountain, adina place at launceston..

lilostitch12

hi kk,

Yeah.. SQ is expensive..I think Emirates has the best deal to Melb so far. I will be flying by Emirates too.. I got it during a joint promo between Emirates and DBS and its abt $400+ per pax only.

I think 2.5 - 3hrs waiting time shd be enough ba. Unless your 1st flight kena delayed by alot then "jiat lad" aldy : P

I will not be gg one complete round of tas. Giving up the western side entirely cos seems like nothing much to do there. I will fly in to Launceston n leave from Hobart.

Have not decided on where to stay in Launceston yet. But I will be staying at cradle mt highlanders cottage, Piermont retreat in Swansea, Stewarts bay lodge in Port Arthur and Somerset on Salamanca in Hobart. Then i return to Melb stay for another 4 days before flying back SG.

Hey KK, do u have a map of tas? If not, u can go natas fair, then visit the australia tourism booth and pick up the maps..Then its easier to facilitate planning..

My current condition of my itinerary still messy messy wor.. hahha I clean it up liao then PM u k?

kerenelu

Hi lilo,

ohh u booked so long ago? heehee.. my friend just told me that promo yesterday, but over already right?

what i gathered from friend also same thing.. west side nothing much and he went that time, the weather not too good so can't see cradle mountain at all. Hmmm, but i thought i am going there now and not going the second time, so should visit the west too lor...

i heard highlanders is good.. oh i checked out port arthur stewards bay too but seems much more expensive than port arthur villas and parson bay... hobart somerset is great!! but expensive! haha.. u know somerset on pier looks so good on the website!

Oh so u driving great ocean road as well? That was my honeymoon place in year 2003 :p i missed it!

i do have the tourism guide which they dun send via snail mail anymore sigh.. ya dropping by natas fair to pick up more info.

So for ur rental of car? i am getting from hertz.. got from them when i went adelaide last year june. They kept upgrading my car from toyota aurion to ford territory haha..

No worries on the itinerary
i haven't had a very complete plan yet too :p

lilostitch12

Oh, I booked the air tickets abt a month ago. But the promo is for travel period between 15 Sept to Nov. When do u intend to fly?

Yup yup.. I actually booked cradle mt highlanders due to good comments from tripadvisor.com Apparently, most of the accommodation in cradle mt are expensive. The highlanders looks cosy and reasonably priced. That why we choose to stay there.

There will be 4 of us travelling together, so the costs of apartment will be shared. I wanted to stay at Somerset at the Pier but the room configuration is not suitable for 2 couples.. haha... The apartments are having a promo now and has 25% off in celebration of Ascott 25 years anniversary.

I have not done much research on car rental yet. But i saw some v good deals on car rental during the last Natas fair.. heee

kerenelu

hi lilo,

i am in teaching so i can only fly end nov - dec period lor.. most likely its early dec

u have also booked all your accomodation already? Need to book early? That time i went adelaide in june.. winter period so no worries then.

Oh yes, cradle mt accomodation very expensive.

oh when the promo over? I should take a look too

lilostitch12

hello KK,

I see. I am actually flying in late November. U can try checking whether the promo is still available. visit www.emirates.com/dbs/sg

I have not booked all the accomodation yet. Basically only Cradle mt and Somerset. I booked early for Cradle mt because they only have abt 3 units of cottages suitable for 2 couples and its easily booked up. As for somerset, i book early to enjoy the 25% disc. haha kiasu hor?

kerenelu

hi lilo,

good lah, something to look forward to heehee...

not like me, still dingdong dingdong.. maybe will only take action in september haha..

lilostitch12

yeah.. totally agree with ya.. Something to look forward to makes stressful days more bearable...

Dont dingdong anymore lah.. Once u find a good deal on air ticket then dont hesistate liao. Book first, then things will flow in nicely. : )

kerenelu

hi lilo,

then i need to source for the date first heehee... my hubby is now liasing with ctc to check how much they quote for emirates. We still have a pending $700++ voucher with them which we could use..

Really looking forward
Due to H1N1, didn't travel in june this year, so this will be the big trip of the year

Hey, how about your plan for melbourne? Can share with me?
my initial thought was also to drop by melbourne since need to transit there anyway. Since its a nice place, why not?

lilostitch12

hello kk,

wow.. still got voucher ah.. Heee cool leh..can save alot. I think teaching is a v tedious and stressful job. I bet managing the parents' expectations is harder than managing the students.. You deserve a good quality break.

We will do Melb after we return from Tas cos apparently there are more shopping opportunities in Melb..
but we wont be driving in Melb so we will just take day tour package to great ocean road and probably Grampians Nat park and shopping
I will be staying at Somerset Gorden Place at Little Bourke St.

But you have been Melb for your honeymoon rite?

kerenelu

hi lilo,

yoo cos my hubby was under this specialist diploma course on resort management. Then supposed to have an overseas trip to macau and HK with ctc.. but end up H1N1 so not able to go in june. and deposit already paid. So got to spend it somehow this year lor haha.. before expire.

It is right that parents having expectations lor, but some parents are unreasonable lah :p somehow we have to provide quality customer service :p

Ya, have been to melbourne for honeymoon. Was on tour package then.. now think of it kind of regret haha.. should have done self drive. Would have experienced more

kerenelu

hi lilo,

For domestic flight to hobart, i am a bit blur.. did u choose bluesaver, jetsaver, etc? Which one really allows normal check in luggage?

lilostitch12

Helo KK,

For virgin blue, i think their default budget fares comes without checked in baggage unless u take the premium fare (i.e. the flexible type). If you take the budget fare (i.e."GO" fare or "Blue saver") you have to top up AUD$8 for the checked in baggage.

As for jetstar, the "jetsaver" fares includes a check in baggage (their jetsaver-light fares has no check in baggage)

Read the info on the baggage allowance for each fare type carefully before u book. Cos i also made a silly mistake and booked the wrong type of fare before. Haha

kerenelu

hi lilo,

So which one did u take? the more i read the more blur i become hahaa..

oh ya, if i take the one with AUD8 for luggage, that will be AUD72 for virgin blue. Without it, will be AUD64 lor.

lilostitch12

hello kk,

I have not booked my domestic flight yet. That one can wait later ba. Most impt is to confirm the int'l flight.

I will be booking directly from www.virginblue.com.au
On and off virginblue will have promotion also... (i.e. "Go fare" the cheapest fare type). I will wait for their sale first.

piglet81

not sure if you guys are aware... SIA A380 maiden flt to melbourne starts from 29 Sep. their sweet deals is only $1,714 (inclusive of taxes) for 2. I got mine from ASA travel fair last Sunday. Its $760 per pax (inclusive of tax).

kerenelu

Hi Li,

When are u flying?

My hubby asked ctc today and they quoted around $1780 for 2 pax flying. When i checked their website few days ago, its much more than this.. around $2600.

So my hubby now say fly SQ liao, dun fly emirates.

piglet81

i'm taking the maiden flt... 29 sep =)
Yea, was quite surprised when ASA quoted me this rate at the fair too... somemore A380 to and fro! we booked on the spot, and came back to check SQ website, its slightly ex, but still cheap for SQ flt =D

kerenelu

Hi Li,

Ya! That's why my hubby intend to take SQ now. Really slash the price till very low liao.. when i checked last week, it was really high at $2600++, double that of emirates. So now can take SQ le

piglet81

haha..now u can! they have 3 flts daily i think, and 1 of which is A380. dep SIN is 9pm, arr MEL is 6am. return daily flt is dep MEL 4pm, arr SIN about 10pm =)

lilostitch12

Hello KK,

so you manage to confirm the flight already? Are the prices still that cheap during school holidays? I check the prices during my travel dates is abt $910 per pax wor.

Hello Li, i think $1,714 for 2 pax is cheap for SQ flights. Good deal!