Advice on walk-in wardrobe

merzy03

Hi afcai & newbbi79, would also like to have a look at your WIW. Can email me? [email protected]

Also, any of your WIW is just outside the toilet? Think I also have the same concerns as Jasmine, will there be mositure problem...anyone has experience to share?

scobido

i had purchased the ximula system. still thinkg whether i shld do a wiw...

merzy
i feel that there is definitely gg to hv mositure n clothes will feel a bit damp... + need to maintain the area of the wiw lei...really reconsidering...but of cos it will be nice lo

yewkim77

hi afcai, received your mail liao. thanks for sharing. your glass panel got colour one izit? me never see before leh. sua ku hor hehe...

afcai

Hi alien,
heee no wonder yr nickname is alien(fr outer space...,oops just joking if any offend, dun take to heart)

yup, we choose pink and light blue for the sliding door. there are various light colors - green, champange, white, silver, brown etc.

melodywi

Hi afcai,

me also interested in doing a built in closet..wondering if yours is just want I wanted? hehe

mind sharing with me the pics? And also how much did u spend on it?

schnauzie

some frens told me that using a WIW is not v good coz the clothes get v dusty. is it true? anyone can advise?

godzillaoh

aloha schnauzie!

just sharing my 2cents...

yeah, i had the same tots as u. cos my FH is allergic to dust bigtime and also unless ur clothes packing skills is realli good, i tink its better to add a frosted looking door to keep all that clutter behind the door. I saw a pretty good example of the wardrobe at J**ps showroom. I got a pretty big room, so most prob gotta do a WIW... all not confirmed yet i guess...

have u gotton any id yet? me still waiting for quotes bigtime! went to IMM last week to "sweep" some of the IDs..

I just gotton my EA in Anchorvale.
havent collect keys yet but alreadi so excited! ahhahah...

kris916

I've just registered myself and am interested in yr topics regarding WIW. Could you all send a copy of yr WIW to my email address: [email protected]

I'm going to renovate my 4-rm in Sengkang soon...so would like some advice. My WIW would be connected to the toilet as well...so would like to see if there's anything else I can take note.

Thanks in advance! =)

godzillaoh

aloha alien!

sorri for the late reply! been reallli busy lately.. heheheh... din log on for 3days liaooo.. ahahhahaha... yeap, but i tink for ur case, i tink its best to go to those ID that are more creative in design then functionality lar(depends on u). afterall u are getting ideas and u got the contractor to do it... they will give u ur layout plan with the revised changes to the rooms, like hacking walls, adding granite flrs, platform... blah blah blah.. its FOC no obligations but if u wan the 3d drawings, i tink gotta to commit to their services liaoooo... but i tink at least for me, i can visualise how the place is gotta look like if they show u certain materials to use in the space...

i tok to u on MSN again! hahahaha.. eh i went to eat The rice t***** just now! hahahahha.. dammm full! lucky i smart.. ahhahah ate little rice.. eat until fulll.....

we ate two baskets of crackers ok! ahhahahahah...

did u go to the showcase in suntec? remmeber to bring along ur layout plan and see what they have in store for ur layoutplan.. hehehe

kxbc

Hi, just for your information for those who are concerned about humidity problems in your WIW. Turn to today's Straits Times pg 23 of the main section. Look at the bottom right corner.

There is an ad for a dehumidifier which claims it can keep your WIW dry. Not sure if it works though. I not related to that company hor. Just happen to know a lot of you are concerned about humidity and thought this may be helpful. But for this thing to work effectively, I guess you need the WIW to be enclosed by a door or something like that.

Have a good day.

godzillaoh

aloha kxbc!

thanks for pointing out the ad!
for us, we plan to place sliding doors lar.... all tat dust and moisture.. eee.. hehehehe..

you have hse done up alreadi?

Hey sgblingff! which part of spore ur new flat is?

plumbee

Hi Afcai, can you share your photo with me? Thanks, [email protected]

Im considering converting the wardrobe right outside the toilet into a WIW instead of ripping the whole wardrobe away as its such a waste.

Has anyone of you done something like that before? My idea is to remove the doors of the wardrobe but some of you are having sliding doors for WIW. Makes me wonder if my idea is not feasible, may attract dust? any advices?

thanks a bunch

kxbc

Hello godzilla,

Nope, I don't have a WIW due to dust and moisture concerns. Mine is the normal kind.

But since I saw the ad, thought that maybe it can help you all in addressing the moisture concerns.

godzillaoh

aloha!

KXBC, thanks 4 the reply.
i also intendin to do a normal kind. cos i got a big area, hence we gonna do a bigger study area than the WIW.

Plumbee, me and FH jus had a discussion on the WIW w/wo doors last week.... and this is our some points taken into consideration abt sliding doors. 2cents.

1. sliding doors provides privacy and clutter look free. cos i wont want pple comin in to see everything in my wardrobe and also, when we are busy sometimes, i tink its frustrating to see once in a while, clutter in the wardrobe, GOOSH!! hahaha... so i rather do sliding doors.

2. We have no kids yet.. but we do tink alittle bit further...Sliding doors prevent young kids from running to the room and pulling stuff here and there. Just in case also lar. for the future, kids can run in and start to mess things inside.

3. Dust and bacteria. This is the most important factor that we've consider. I m not too sure how much the dehumidifier works, so i guess its still better to shut the doors.
also, my FH has realli sensitive nose, he will start sneezing if he sense dust here and there.. so i am quite concerned abt this...

So we did tot of the reasons y pple are keeping their WIW doorless? i guess, u can jus grab things at a go lar. no nid to pull the door here and there. looks good when ur wardrobe is clean and neat.

Also, at 1 glance u know what u wan to wear. 4 me, usually, i will pick my clothes to wear for the tomorrow on the nite bfore.
so no nid 2 rush here and there. hehehe

Feel free 2 comment on the tots we haf gather... this is jus personal opinion. hope it does trigger your tots...

afcai

Hi plumbee,
u got an email. Have a small closet with sliding tempered glass door just beside the toilet only.

pebsb

Hi, i need help!
Im thinking of having my WIW just outside my toilet, 2 parallel row left & right of toilet. There will be a curtain/sliding door at the end of the 2 row. I'm concern abt the humidity, smell coming from toilet. Shld I do doors for the wardrobes as well? Is it too much to have 2 sets of door (for wardrobe & entrance of WIW)?

Anyone who done their WIW outside the toilet, can share your experience? Advisable?

Really appreciate!

godzillaoh

Aloha Pebs!

Saw this article in Hom*&Deco* Mag...

Damp air encourages the growth of unsightly, smelly mould and mildew. Here's how to keep your bathroom dry:

- Open doors and windows to air bathroom right after your bath or shower. Leave shower screens or curtains open to ventilate the space.

- Place chunks of charcoal aroung the room in order to absorb moisture from the air. They also help with musty smells and unpleasant odours.

kao_babydust2.gif

pebsb

hi godzilla,

Thanks for the tip..but hor, if I open doors & windows to air bathroom after my bath/shower, wont the milddew travel out onto the passway and my clothes (since my wiw is just outside the toilet?)

Coz i read that to avoid getting yr clothes from turning yellow/smell, to close toilet door...

so abit contradictory?

godzillaoh

aloha Pebs,

The abovementioned works if we are talking abt opening the windows of ur MBR or bedrm and doors. Its to let the air ventilate. I would rather do that than close the bathroom door and let that steam inside. eeeewwwwww.

Also, we have doors for our WIW. Placing charcoal inside our wardrobe will help to absorb that moisture.

Let's just say u keep tat bathroom of urs closed after a bath, den probably, u just have to worry abt the milldew in ur bathroom. I saw another set of tips on keeping mildew out of sight frm H&D mag.

Here are some tips for gettin rid of mildew on your shower curtain:

- Dip it hsalt water bfore hanging it up. Mildew hates salt and will stay away.

- Rub it with lemon juice, especially the the mildew-prone parts. Let it dry in the sun and VOILA! its as good as new

- Wipe it with a vinegar soaked cloth on a flat surface and let the air to dry it.. Vinegar removes mould and musty smells.

pebsb

godzilla,

So u have doors for your WIW? how abt doors for yr wardrobe? WIW = area where the wardrobes is in. Is your WIW area just outside yr toilet?

I wonder if putting baking soda in wardrobe helps to absorb the moisture....

Im doing shower screen, so the curtain tips wont apply...but thanks for tips

slyvester

I am currently renovating my home and considering a WIW. Can anyone share with me your quotations via email: [email protected]? I understand they are calculated in psf...

Also, can anyone recommend a good and reliable WIW brand? Heard of Closetdesign.. Are they any good?

We would hope to, one shot, visit them all this weekend...

Thanks in advance for your advice...

bungy_jumper

If you are on a budget, then its still usable. Its cheap too.

However, dont expect ikea stuff to be durable. and they're not using solid wood either.

afcai

I guess the wood from Ikea are made of postform which is of lower quality. tough cheaper than made to measure type but it is advisable to invest more durable stuff than needed to spend more $$ in future.

milo66

hi does any1 of u have similar prob like mine? i have done up a WIW, after staying there a year, my MB ceiling has some white patches (ceiling is dark purple) guess shld be due to mould. how huh? thks

tarea

hi milo66,

ours also! our paint is off-white in color, if see carefully, can see patches of different color... think it's the mould..

but even the false wall we have in the living room also have them..

siow liao! how huh..

WIW, we got but thirsty hippo and just got a mini dehumidifer few mths ago..

milo66

hi tarea... aiyo u also facing the same prob as me.. at first i tot whether is it upstair leaking or wat but cant be cause its not toilet area. so far only my bedroom is like that. was jus telling hubby might as well paint the ceiing blue, then the patches can look like clouds.

i tried painting but no use, few days later will come back. act the patches can be wipe off by wet clothes but i think we need permanent solution to the prob!

the mini dehumidifier and thirsty hippo all i got but dunno got use or not. comptemplating repainting the ceiling cause really cannot tahan the patches

pebsb

hihi, for your WIW, did U guys do
i) wardrobe doors only
ii) wardrobe doors & door for entrance to WIW
iii) door for entrance to WIW only
iv) no doors at all

I'm concern about dust and humidity if I dont do any wardrobe doors...