Advice on Visco-elastic foam mattress

kurch

Thinking to buy a visco-elastic foam mattress but I need some advices from you.
1. Is it ok to put a mattress protector on Visco-elastic foam mattress? Because I would like to protect the mattress from any stain, dirt, dust, water, etc. If it is no advisable then any advice to protect the mattress?
2. How easy to clean the visco-elastic foam mattress, especially stain.
3. Any special bedsheet for visco-elastic foam mattress?

Thank you in advance.

gnm

in our humid weather in singapore, wouldn't Visco-elastic foam mattress be very hot?

are you intending to sleep with aircon on everynite?

thomsonbride

A promoter at Carrefour told me that visco is pretty warm.

Is it true?

Interested in a King Koil's model but if it's that warm then i got to look for other models again.

kurch

I can say most everynite sleep with aircon but not at daytime. If visco will be warm/hot then how's about latex one? will it have same feeling? Thank you for your advice.

gnm

IMHO, i feel it is the same for both... cos made of rubber, sure hot wans...

if you are not sleeping in aircon all the time, dunno if it will be hot or not. but then again, there is a thick padding of cotton and other padding on top of the latex/visco layer... so might not be that bad.

Personally, a mattress is the next biggest investment next to your wardrobe for the bedroom, so rather not go for something that i feel might regret later ;)

if you really like the feel of the visco or the latex, by all means, go for it.

alleb

I am having a visco-elastic foam mattress, but mine is ard 5cm of the visco-elastic foam mattress on top of the spring mattress. It will be a bit hot without aircon, but as I on my aircon everytime i am in the room, so its not a problem to me. I really love my mattress, it is really comfy and u really feel u sink into the bed lor. What brand are u looking at? How much? Is it full mattress foam? Actually I am aimming at the one at Taka, i forgot the brand liao, its min $4k+

I feel its impt to get a good mattress that u like cos after a day's work, a good comfy sleep is impt to get ready for the next day

gnm

the one at Taka is Tempur... very expensive, and each time you sit or lie on it, it give you that sinking feeling 8p
not nice wans xp

alleb

ya! its that tempur. Beri expensive... the one i am having now is ard 1.4k and i already think it is quite ex liao

u dun like the feeling ah? But i love that sinking feeling leh... it take the body contour and weight so nicely and comfy that once i lie on it, i want to feel asleep staightaway... hahaha...

gnm

it is an aquired taste... both of us dun like that sinking feeling... so weird, sit/lie down, then got to wait for the sinking to complete before can actually relax... not me cuppa tea ;)

kurch

Wee, thanks for your input. I am still considering whether really worthed buying visco againts its price. Of course, I couldn't afford for tempur brand ... its price is killing for me. I like the hard mattress but my wife has diff taste. Hmmm, it is still difficult to choose.

kurch

Jasmine, how difficult do you maintain your visco one? Is it easy to clean if it has stain because my baby may pass the urine on it? :p

Currently, I have a spring mattress and I put a mattress protector so I only need to wash the protector.

alleb

Hi Iwan,

I don't have baby in the house, so I dun noe if it will stain a not, but I do have the mattress protector on my mattress

kurch

Thanks Jasmine, do u feel big different with and without mattress protector? Are u using normal bedsheet for your mattress?

alleb

Ermm..... I dun wan to dirty my mattress, so I always use the mattress protector, so that i would change a new protector every year.

I dun noe what u mean by normal bedsheet, i mean wat is normal and what is not normal???
Anyway, the height of my bed is 5cm higher than normal bed, i am using european brand bedsheet like hallmark in satin cotton which are bigger in size.

kurch

I meant a normal bedsheet is a bedsheet for a spring mattress. Anyway, I got your idea, I should choose the bigger size if I have 5cm higher one.

Anyway, what brand of your visco mattress? how long have you used it?

alleb

i think not all visco mattress are high. Like the Tempur brand, it is normal height I think. Normal height can use Sintex, Cosy bedsheets.

My mattress brand is dunlopillo.
Have used it for a year plus.

pasirris

I am now sleeping on Lady American Mattress which is also a subbrand of Dunlopillo. It has 4 inch of visco and another 8 inch of pocketed mattress, which mean that the visco sit on top of the pocketed spring mattress and I can treated it as 2 mattresses if I want to. It cost me about S$2599 and we like our mattress very much. We have a mattress protector on top of the visco to mattain the durability of the mattress.

blueblue

We bought a visco mattress from King-Koil. Very comfortable. Even my sis commented on that. She say no wonder my bb can sleep 3 hrs each time.

patriciafe

Has anyone heard of Bodipedic? QVC, (tv shopping channel),was selling visco elastic memory foam mattresses saturday, and the company is Bodipedic. Customer service couldn't tell me much about the company, the density of the foam, who makes the foam, nothing. did a search on the net, nothing. Help!! the price is wonderful, and i want to try it, but, without this info, i'm afraid to take a chance.

fretzie

I purchased this Mattress Topper over a year ago now and I still love it. It is very soft and adds the right amount of support for my aching back. Two things I am not happy about; the first is when you unroll it from the box it comes in; it has a terrible chemical odor. It does fade in about 3 weeks but can be strong for people with sensitivity to smells. It did fade and I would recommend dealing with it if you can. The second problem which isn't a real biggie is the color of the foam starts to turn yellow over time. Now, I don't know if it's because I sleep with an electric blanket all the time and it is adding to the color change but it is happening. But who really cares if it's being covered with sheets and blankets anyway right?

Over all I am very happy with the added comfort and for the price it is so worth it. Getting cozy in a warm foamy bed...ahhh nothing better.