Advice on Honeymoon - Hokkaido

hushbear

hi brides08, my itinery is those photostated copy. if u keen, u can call them up, i think they'll be more than happy to fax to u...

s__h

Hi hushy,

i been there 2x...once in central and south, the other towards west side...both seld driving.

Whatever the places your tour agency goes are the common onces that should visit eg...otaru canal, glass museum, fox farm, bear farm, their native village, cheese and ice cream factory etc

brides08

Hi husky, no convenient to fax to me & their websites are "down" so thot u gals can email me. But is ok, mayb will pay them a visit tis wkend.

Hi S&H, would it be very boring to go Hokkaido for 7days cos I hv frens telling me i so boring to stay so many days there etc....

s__h

Hi brides08,

boring ?!

What do you want to see in Hokkaido?

hokkaid is so big...can move from places to places. many tour agency spend at least 7D5N there

Hokkaido is known for its landscape, delicious sea food...great if u likes japanese food.

i ate their uni (sea urchin) ..super cheap compare to here

lhy

can i check if SA Tours or PrimeTravel will be better in terms of Hokkaido winter packages? Thanks!

s__h

prime travel will be more expensive for sure but i trust that their hotel and food are better.

Also, they may visit some unique places that other agency that do not go to

U have to make the comparison yourself

brides08

I going more for sightseeing & the fresh seafood. hahahahha....

Well i saw the itinery aly, looks interesting with so many things & places to go.

kerenelu

waiwai,

Didn't see any boots at bata compasspoint. Anyway that outlet doesn't have varieties... dunno about other branches.. my friend say she got her boots from isetan and metro.. but i also didn't see any at metro compasspoint haha.. went timberland and aiyoh cannot leh, it cost around $299!!

kerenelu

My date of departure to hokkaido with dynasty is 3 dec.. itinerary is as follows:

Day 1: Nite flight with JAL
Day 2: Tokachigawa Hot Spring Resort (overnight)
Day 3: Ikeda Winery Castle, Sounkyo Gorge (overnight at Grand Sounkyo)
Day 4: Ice Pavilion, Asahikawa, Otokoyama Sake Brewery Museum, Sapporo City, Odori Park, Sapporo TV Tower, Tokeidai Clock Tower (overnight at Apa Sapporo)
Day 5: Otaru, Kitaichi Glass Complex, Otaru Orgel Doh, Ishiya Chocolate Factory, Lake Toya, Mount Showa (overnight at Kitazawa Spa Resort)
Day 6: Noboribetsu Jigoku-Dani Valley, Shiraoi Ainu Village, Chitose, Salmon Aquarium (overnight at Chitose Urben)
Day 7: Evening flight with JAL

kerenelu

michiko,

Me and hubby just got our winter wear from coldwear at plaza sing.. that day happened to have 50% discount for certain winterwear.. so we grabbed one each

Waterproof and can tahan less than 0 deg celsius. Mine cost about $90 after discount and my hubby's one about $80.

We have scarves and gloves already so no need to buy.. i have yet to get thermal wear, thermal packs, boots and socks.. headache ah!

irenepeh80

I am thinking of going to hokkaido end of oct this year. Any kind souls can tell me what is the weather like?

thank you

michiko

hi kk, wow..u got great deal.
yest went mustafa to see the winter wear..heard from a fren is very cheap there.. But variety is quite limited. My hubby managed to buy one at only $59. Din manage to find one for myself.
Bought thermal wear each.
bride08, below is my itinerary:
Day 1: Sg to Chitose
Day 2: Chitose - Otaru - Sapporo
visit Salmon Aquarium, Otaru Music Box Museum. Mt Moiwa
Day 3: Sapporo - Furano - Biei - Sounkyo
Visit white chocolate factory, Odori Park, Hokkaido Jingu, Japanese Hot spring bath
Day 4: Sounkyo - Asahikawa
Visit Sounkyo Gorge, Asahikawa zoo
Day 5: Asahikawa - Noboribetsu
Visit Shiraoi Ainu Village, Noboribetsu
Day 6: Boboribetsu - Sapporo
Visit Japan Beer factory, Nijo Fresh Seafood Market, Susukino Ramen Alley, shop at Tanuki Koji Shopping Arcade
Day 7: Sapporo
F&E shopping
Day 8: Shanghai
Free and Easy
Day 9: Shanghai

kerenelu

michiko,

Any idea how many sets of thermal wear to buy?? Very expensive leh!! They say no need to wear thermal pants.. just the thermal top will do.. true?

U must buy the the chocolate cookies from the factory!! Very nice!!!! Irresistible in fact heehee...

Oh my ice pavilion may be replaced by the zoo.. because since it is winter, no need to visit the ice pavilion i supposed :p

michiko

kk, i only bought one set. The one mustafa selling is long sleeve.. both shirt and pants. Think is $24.90 if i remember correctly. For me, i will wear the pants cos i very scare of cold! rrrrrrr.... i guess i will still wear a jean with the thermal wear inside. The thermal wear is tight fitting so shdnt be a problem. i thinking to buy another set, see whether can find a three quarter thermal pants. I also need to buy boots cos my fren said it will be very slippery during winter.

kerenelu

S&H,

I dunno leh.. once it is winter, the itinerary is changed from ice pavilion to the zoo..

michiko,

There is this "wintertime" shop at vivocity.. u may like to take a look.. my hubby popped by yesterday and bought gloves for me and himself. Leather ones.. not cheap though.. more than $30 each pair.. mine around $40+...

And my hubby said he saw boots and socks selling there too.. and the boots are from timberland.. so since they are sold at such shops, i think should be suitable ba..

Hey, do we need to cover the head and ears??

hanabiwaiwai

hi... just to share wat i wore during my trip last dec: thermal + fleece + jacket + ear cover + boots + wool socks + PVC gloves... most of the stuffs are from cold wear, boots from bata.

i brought 2 thermal top and 1 thermal pant for 7 days... since it is so cold, it is unlikely to sweat (think i sweat a bit while playing snow mobile haha)

kerenelu

waiwai,

i bought this thick padded waterproof jacket at coldwear that say can go below 0 deg.. in that case i still need a fleece sweater? Can i just replace the fleece sweater with normal G2000 knitted long sleeve top?

hanabiwaiwai

hi kk... for me, i am very scared of cold weather, so i chose to wear fleece. but think it is fine to wear knitted long sleeve top with jacket as long as u wear thermal inside...

kerenelu

waiwai,

Mine early dec.. hopefully not tooo cold for me!!

Going to look for ear muffs and hat next.. yet to buy thermal wear and heat pack.. socks and boots too.. sigh!

michiko

I went to cold wear over the weekend.. spent over $300+, bought 2 jackets, 4 pair of socks, 2 scarf, glove, 2 ski pants, 1 hat. most of the items i bought got 50% discount. I din buy the ear muffs as the hat is able to cover my ears.
Now only left boots to buy..yet to find a good one.

kerenelu

michiko,

Thanks for sharing.. i think i gotta find time to do some shopping soon.. so that i won't panic last minute

dreamer17

just book my hokkaido trip with CTC and hopefully can extend my stay at tokyo after the tour....

may i know what kind of cold weather clothes must we buy...i am goin to Hokkaido in mid dec...

btw...no need to bring lots of normal clothings right coz weather so cold our body also seldom perspire...

also besides cold wear in Plaza Sing, where can we purchase our winter clothes?...normally wat u guys wear over the thermal clothes?..eg jeans for bottom and knitted wear for top?

also if we buy now...will it be cheaper as compare we buy say in Novemember?

bluey

hi dreamer,

How much is ur package?

I looking for a package to hokkaido n extend at tokyo either in dec or jan.

The price for hokkaido during christmas is increasing at amazing rate.

dreamer17

i book my at 2493 including all discount and taxes...as i will be leaving in Dec...the extension of my air tic for my stay in tokyo, we will have to pay SGD75 for each and the hotel cost abt SGD200-300 per nite and transfer per way thru bus or train to tokyo city from narita is abt SGD100 and back to narita airport is another SGD100...therefore all in all i will need to fork out another SGD950 (excluding meal and buying things)for my 3D 2N extension in tokyo after my tour package...

the prices will increase during NATAS coz the group of all agency are fully book or they have more then 10 pax already...so after the grp is confirm, normally they dun give disocunt anymore and will be quite ex...u better book fast dun wait for NATAS...

unless the airline give the agency more tix on that particular date...if not the grp size will not be increase due to the peak season...

but if u go in Jan then i think not a problem

kerenelu

Hi dreamer,

Me going hokkaido too in early dec, but not extending my trip. So only 7 days there.

I intend to get some thermal wear to wear under long sleeve knitted tops from G2000. And on top of that, i will bring along a cashmere sweater too. And on top of tat, i have bought a thick waterproof layer from coldwear when they were having 50% discount. It comes with hood as well.

So one questions.. since my waterproof one has hood already, do i still need cap and ear muffs?

I also dunno how many thermal wear to buy.. michiko, 2 sets enough ah?

As for my long sleeve knitted tops, i guess i will bring for one per day.. can bring less?

There is wintertime at vivocity, eastpoint and other branches too. The one at vivocity is very big and my hubby say got boots too, which we need. U have boots already? Need to get woollen socks too.

bluey

hi dreamer,

i initially want to go with my friends during christmas season but now CTC tell me the price is 2600. So I still thinking. Maybe would go in Jan. I still think whether should I go natas or not.

btw dreamer your extension is confirmed or need to wait as I ask CTC, they tell me I need to wait till 2 weeks before the departure. Then i worry I would not be able to find a hotel.

bluey

kk,

I think u would need to have either cap or ear muff to cover your ears. coz i suppose that the hood would only cover your hair.

cczyan

Dear KK,
I saw nice boots at Far East Plaza, really nice at D&C. The one I saw is brown and has 2 straps at the side, 2-2.5 inch, the other one is rusty brown, no heels. Of cos the second one will be more comfortable for walking but depends on you. around $68.90 discounted to $50. not sure whether promo ends liao, but do check it out. =)

cczyan

i will be going to Hokkaido & Tokyo end Oct. Planned 11 days in all with 5D4N driving in Hokkaido and the rest in Tokyo. Have booked everything and will spend around $2600 for tickets, accommodation, car rental and disney entrance 2 day tickets.
Anyone same boat?

jonic

I'm going Hokkaido too in Dec with SA Tours. U all are starting to get ur winter wear already?

kerenelu

Hee,

Me and hubby went vivocity today and we bought the timberland boots already.. really ex! Mine was $199 and hubby's one was $299 at the same design. But hubby's one will be good investment because he can wear to work too.

Also bought 20 chemical warmers and we each bought 4 pairs of cashmere socks. Hope enough..

So far already spent $800 on winterwear.. yet to buy thermal wear.. the ones at wintertime pretty ex.. can be as expensive as $79 per set (top and bottom).

bluey

I just booked my trip to 7D5N hokkaido and extend two/three nites in tokyo.

Now looking for hotel in tokyo (range: below $200). Any recommendations?

Hi hee,
What accomndations are your staying in tokyo?

naughtyangel

hi all, I will be in hokkaido for abt 10days during CNY to see the snow festival. Also shooting my wedding photo with a bridal studio there. Will be there on a F&E trip. I have already book the air tickets but still checking out the hotel rates & availability during that time.

Below is my itinerary:
Day 1: Sg to Osaka
Day 2: Osaka - Chitose - Sapporo (fitting at bridal studio)
Day 3 & 4: F&E
Day 5: Photo shooting at Sapporo City
Day 6 & 7: F&E
Day 8: Select photos at bridal studio + F&E
Day 9 & 10: F&E
Day 11: Morning flight fm Chitosa - Osaka - Singapore

For those F&E days, i hope to visit Otaru Canal, Chocolate Factory, Beer Factory, Glass Factory, Sapporo City & of coz the Snow Festival.

Any1 here can advice me on where can i get the rail pass for 10 days trip??? I have check with CTC as i m getting my air tickets & accomadation fm them but they told me they only sell the rail pass for 3days & 5days.

pannie

Hi there.

I am thinking of going to Hokkaido for honeymoon. Wanted to get some advice from you gals.

When is the winter period of Hokkaido? Is it fun? Easy to do F&E package? And which agency is good with their Hokkaido tour and yet reasonable pricing.

Sorry to ask so much cause I really dunno what to expect from Hokkaido.

naughtyangel

Hi Ann,

Winter in Hakkaido will be fm dec - feb (i think). if u r planning for package tour, u might 1 2 consider CTC. I have join them for tour to Korea and Japan, and they r doing a good job.

For me, i am trying for F&E in Feb 2008. But it needs alot of planning. So if u r thinking of going in Dec, u have to start planning already...

BTW, i have also just check out the rail pass. If you are going for longer distance, better to take the Hokkaido JR Pass, if not for short distance travelling, it will be cheaper to take the Daily Pass (both on unlimited travel).

dreamer17

Hi bluey

i think if u intend to book for Jan departure then i advise u go for the NATAS fair...coz for Dec i believe most places are snap up unless airlines provide more seats...when i book in August...i was told that if book early in July will have up to 350 in discount so add up problem will be abt 2.1k include taxesi was also told that the latest will be 2 weeks before departure..but i have been pestering then every week for ans...coz i check at JAL website...still got seats available for my extension return date...

i think hotel booking shld nt be a problem coz there are lots of hotel in Tokyo just if u r particular on the hotel then mayb u have to worry abit...

hanabiwaiwai

hi... just sharing my 2 cents... last year when i booked hokkaido tour at NATAS and requested for extension in tokyo... too bad they later informed us that cannot extend as no more seats (ANA)... so gotta book early if u are going in dec. last time i have stayed in shinjuku washington hotel in tokyo, the room is rather small but it is about 10 min walk to shinjuku train station which is a main interchange.

if going hokkaido in winter, i think joining tour group is safer as the traffic could be affected due to snow... i also wanted to go F&E last year, but air tix + JR pass alone really not cheap

s__h

for self driving expereince, look at the NATAS section of the newspaper for a description by the journalist

libragal80

We are goin to Hokkaido for our honeymoon as well..
Can anyone advise us on the F & E package?
How u book the air tickets ? what is the price ?
We also intend to go Tokyo as well....

mabelchia1511

Anyone can advise me on the voltage of Hokkaido? is it the same as singapore? Also, if i can wear normal spots shoe during winter time, buying a boots for that few days is not really worth since i going early dec. Heard there is some kind of thing for anti slip to paste on the shoe, really?