Advice on ANG POW BOX

juneoesque

Hello all! I'm required to help my aunt do up a nice ang pow box for her wedding banquet. Any ideas? Seen any nice wedding ang pow box or done one before? I need lotsa help and ideas! thanks!!

lovely2005

Hi June,

I hv a pic, taken during my fren wedding.
Hope will be useful to u.

298965.jpg

Hi June

I have done one up myself for my upcoming wedding. The red box was bought in Bangkok & other materials are local.

299200.jpg

ppp

Hi Renee,

Just wanna to check with u the yellow things behind "thank you" tag is it yellow rose petal??

dabee

hi gals:
i DIY mine too. i just used a A4 ppr box, cut a slit at the side then wrapped up the entire box with gold color wrapper. the decor was white/cream silk roses... very simple. i bought silk roses from the house of lim from holland v shopping centre then glue 3 to 4 roses on at one side of my box. i wanted to wrapped up the entire box so that it wun not hv any opening to excess except the hole to slot in hong bao. of cos the slot should not be too big too.

dabee

hi jumbo
i would try to upload here tonight.

i also come across very nice done up boxes at esplande 2nd level. the one selling papers n crafts stuffs... very nice materials for handy craft too.

matsu

I find the A4 size box a bit too big 4 my ROM banquet so i bought a suitable size box @ Daiso (IMM) for juz $2. And wrapped it up myself ;>

jumbo

dabee, u like dog huh?? I used to scared of them but now no scare liao.. cos hubby's house also keep dog, in fact, i've learn to like dog when i know him.. keke..

ur ang pow box has simple design huh... it looks nice...
thanks for the pic, dabee
kao_kiss.gif

dabee

matsu:
ya sure that would be nice too. i think simple n nice can liao. that time near my wedding i do not hv much time to do something elaborate, wanted to buy initally but cant find n really expensive. i think it would be a waste just to use for one night n throw away. i dun hv space to store it. so i just anyhow wrap and glad that it turn out nice. another wedding diner, me n hubby just happily tearing it off to get those hong bao out. hee hee...

hi jumbo
u are most welcome. ya i love dogs. i hv a maltese (nice white backside right hee hee) and a eng cocker. when i was takin this pic my maltese refuse to move his backside, hence i just snap my box with his backside. he is really cute.

kittyhello

Hi Dabee,

My girl (maltese) also the same will put her butt very near to the item when she saw me taking some digital shot ... her buttock basically like 'glue' on the floor ... & i hv to exert some strength just to push her buttock away
hahaha

btw where u got the silk rose ? how much ? we r doing our ang bao box too ... trying our best .... hope to do something rather than always buying for our wedding - feel different

dabee

kittyhello: wow u got maltese gal gal. how old? my male maltese going 8 yr old next mth. ya loh, my maltese kind of ga lan n stubborn leh. i dun wan to do something, then he will purpose go n do. when i scold my cocker for urine at the wrong place my maltese after that will go n pee at that spot. angry!!!! he always testing my patient..... but he is really old and cute. i love him very much.

the silk rose i bought from house of lim at holland shopping centre. cant remember how much. a box of 12 pcs for about $12 to $15 in a long rectangular transparent box.. there are also other colors like red, orange, red, purple....that was about a year ago leh. dont know still have or not.

piepie02

Some pix of my ang pow box. Done up at zero cost. Its a shoe box, wrapping paper from metro, and the bears were freebies in goodies bag when I attended a wedding show.

300390.jpg
300391.jpg

Hi June

Got the flower fr Concourse.. There are several florists which all sell silk flowers. U shd be able to find one tt u like

selphie

I have one question relating to Ang bao box, anyone had like 2? One for all guests and another smaller one for late comers? Or how do most brides solve the latecomers' ang baos issue after the banquest commences?

Thanks,
Selphie

el005

how you actually differentiate Guys side and Gals side Ang Pow..

will you write the name / no. behind the AP when ur reception gals rec. the AP from the guest on your behalf? I wonder if its too rude??

aurorin

Hi, just sharing my own DIY angbao box (ok.. more like angbao postbox). Not much deco needed cos it is quite striking on its own. An idea some might try if dun mind it being trifle bit unconventional..

312244.jpg

aurorin

Hi El, some friends did say that it is quite rude to write the name infront of the guests, but what you could do is get ur receptionist to suggest to the guest to write down their names on the angbao themselves? If they dun want then dun force?

My guests were mostly quite nice.. almost 80% wrote something on the angbao before they came, including their name and some well wishes. We are even going to save the angbaos and put them in a scrap book for momento rather than use the sign in book.

If you have to differentiate Guy and Girl side, its better to have two boxes i think. I only had one before we are footing the bill on our own and both side parents didnt want to take any share of the angbao. Really help save us the hassle.

starmoon

hi aurorin
wow, i must say even yr ang bao box so unique. it is very nice. you DIY? now can relax liao hor....going on honeymoon?

lovely2005

hi auroin,

saw ur lovely and unique ang bao box. May I know wat material did u use? U must hv spend alot of time do it.

aurorin

hey starmoon: hey.. hehe if u consider going to jalan besar's old shop buying a postbox as DIY.. all i did was just tie gold sash and superglue on some silk flowers kapo from one of my mom's flower arrangement on the part where the slot for newspaper is. heh heh only finish tt part the night before AD.

Honeymoon ah... next year lor.. this year no time.. i going off to states for training on sunday for 3 weeks

renee: thanks! didnt spend more than 1 hr actually those most of that hour was to think abt what to do with the postbox with my jie meis. The tying of sash and flowers only took less than 15mins. And it is a REAL metal postbox.. got it for $26 at jalan besar. Quite good, since no need to cut hole and just tied where to retrieve the letters compartment with wired roses to secure it & stick part of our invite (with our photos) on the slot where pple put their address

starmoon

hi aurorin
i oredi got mine so wun be getting it. it is very unique and nice lor but too bad i oredi got mine. didnt DIY as i'm not good with my hands. So got the asst where i bought the box to help me with the decor. wow, u bery busy hor....right after wedding go training liao....but shiok leh....go states....me nebber been there before. planning to go hawaii for honeymoon but will be next month cos hubby ganna reservist lor. where u plan to go for honeymoon?

aurorin

berry: got it from a corner 'wu jin' shop opp sungei road market along Jln besar. There are a couple of shops there. I think some Wu Jin shops (along balestier) might also have. There are different kinds as well.

PPP: that's a very nice box! Did you have fun making it?
My AD photos are not fully out yet. Will probably get them next week and by the time i load up could be next mth already.. in the meantime can chk out our photo website at http://www.flickr.com/photos/aurorin/ *heh*

starmoon: at least u had ur angbao box settled so quickly! I was still preparing it on the night before with help from my jie meis! Hahaha I also bad in DIY tt's why buy postbox mah.. no need to cut etc. I am going north carolina.. got hurricane warning siah.. i rather not go if i could. At least u dun have to wait longlong for ur honeymoon ah! I really wanna go japan for honeymoon.. sigh.. anyway all the best for ur AD ya? this mth also right??? WOW!!!

newbbi79

Hi aurorin,
can you send me the pics of your angpow box cos I am currently tinking of doing one for my wedding.
tks. My email is [email protected].

Dear PPP,
i love your angpow box! Its so shiny and eye catching....

newbbi79

Hi aurorin,
can you send me th epics of you rangpow box cos I am currently tinking of doing one for my wedding.
tks. My email is [email protected].

Dear PPP,
i love your angpow box! Its so shiny and eye catching....

starmoon

hi aurorin
thanks....me now oso waiting for DVD and pics. AD over liao....finally can take a good rest.....all the stress just for one BIG day in our life. all the best to u...btw, saw your picture frame at shirley's....very nice.