Advice needed for Hakka tradition

kite~

Hi chong,

for my case, my parents want a roasted pig but wil receive ang bao to present it by MIL and this ang bao wil be given during Guo Da Li.

On AD wedding, MIL will give my mum real pig legs and mum shall return some oranges n other items.

I m also confused tats y wrote down n follow their instruction is easier.

Like now, out of e blue, my mum wanted cans of pig legs, so its better to jot down.

kite~

just wondering is the cakes for GDL and cakes for relatives are separate case?

Cos my mum requested for 10 boxes of cakes from MIL fro GDL.

And my mum requested another 16 boxes of cakes just solely for relatives n frens.

any idea? thanks.

poupie

hi kite,
I am March hakka bride (my hubby and I are all Hakkas
) and I went thru almost a full tradition stuffs...

My mom requested 30 boxes of cakes (all the same type) to distribute to relatives and some for our family. But you (the bride) are not supposed to eat these CAKEs (I think she said it will cause bad luck or something like that ...).

The cans of pork legs are given to my family during GDL.... i think it is an appreciation to my family to bring me up.

The Full Figured Roast Pig Must be return together with me when I go back for tea ceremony during my AD (in the old days, it is on the third day). It signifies "Full acceptance" and purity from your parent-in-laws. Then, my family return the head and the tail and in the centre place a Red package consist of a men's pants with Ang Bao and some good luck charms.. it means in return, our marriage are blessed and lots of fortune!

Hope it helps.

kite~

hi poupie,

oic which means the cakes i cant eat. how abt my family members? can they eat?

aiya my mum at 1st requested 10 boxes of cakes for GDL. my GDL in dec. Then now she wanted another extra 10 boxes of cakes n thought my hubby n i paying for her.

in that case, since she wants another extra 10 boxes, might as well requested 20 boxes for GDL rite? still not late since GDL in dec. but not sure nice anot.

poupie

hi kite,
family members are ok to eat. Actually, our GDL cakes are the old custom biscuit, called the 4-season biscuits. And I love to eat them if I can!...can see, cannot eat..

for my mum, she is ok to get all during GDL because it is a "gift" from your hubby and parent-in law (to older folks, they just want to see that your HB is sincere...).

kite~

Hi poupie,

thanks. my case settled liao. My mum requested total 20 boxes of cakes from MIL and she is fine with it.

sunshine_fung

seen quite a few posted on Hakka Traditions. What about Hokkien tradtion? I will be having mine in September this year. I have try searching about Hokkien tradition but fail misery as cannot find any about it.
I am Hakka and my fiance is Hokkien so naturally we will try to follw Hokkien tradition as close as possible. Please help.

min_min

Hi kite,

me too: hubby hokkien; me hakka. I don't know much about guo da li, and reading from the postings, it seems so complicated.

If in this case, how do we follow? Hokkien/Hakka? If possible, let me know all the details can? Thks a lot!

kite~

hi huimin,

actually my hubby n i dont know much. its our parents we discuss and end up wanting the items. its better to consult both side parents n let them meet up for GDL discussion

dottyback

agree! old folks r the 1s whose more particular abt such traditional stuffs...n dats irritating 2 mi actually during my time haha

i'm oso a hakka..my husband a hokkien n turns out my mum is the 1 whose more fulla crap than my in laws...so i insisted on having it the simplest way wifout mi having 2 do a single thing :p

dolphin48

HI all

I'm also a hakka and hubby is Teo Chew...
But I think my mum will follow more of Teo Chew cos we not familiar with Hakka tradition and my mum is a Teo Chew.

Just want to ask, is it a must for the Roast Pig? My mum requests not to have it at all as my grandmother is a strict vegetarian and in place for mandarin oranges, the long feng candles and pin jin and that's all. No need cakes or whatsoever.... Is this common?

kite~

hi Daphne,

My mum actually request for a roasted pig. it means virgin.....However, we didnt ask for a real pig, but a red ang bao to replace the roasted pig.

Basically, long feng candles, pin jin n cakes, wines/hard liquor, oranges are the most basic items.

mocca_pooh

i'm a hakka n hubby is hokkien ... due to not familiar with hakkan tradition, then mum is hokkien, we do most of the things the hokkien ways plus a bit mixture of hakka ...

i went to the jurong west shop to buy the things n we ask the lady there on some of the traditions .. find quite similar to what cheers posted.

maybe can check with her

think there's another similar shop somewhere in bt timah too

hope this helps

karengoh21

im a hokkien and my FH is a hakka.. anyone has this combi or know wat shld the custom be for all the procedures (from an chuan, GDL, rite thru to AD customery)... Would really appreciate if someone can help..

cincin

Both hubby and I are hakka....Anybody heard of AD need to give elder brother ang pow?
When the wedding cake must be given to relative?during GDL or when we are delivering the invitation cards? Please help, im really confused abt many many things.

min_min

Hi All! Havent been in here for some time.

Juz wondering, if during the AD, we don't follow any customs like those good timing things, what is the least procedure that we need to do? Like Guo Da Li, an chuang stuff....Find that these are really troublesome, but not sure if it is a must or some things can be omitted....

Sigh....should have juz opted for honeymoon wedding......

cincin

Hmmmm....can somebody help me with the question i have?
thanks so much, im so stress up over wedding planning.

everafter_03

Hi Cin,

I'm also an hakka. Not too sure about giving ang pow to the elder brother... However, the cakes & the invitation cards are distributed to your relatives when you Guo da li, usually about 2 to 3 wks before your AD wedding.

cincin

by then will it be too late to give out invitation cards?cos the date for guo da li is one week before the wedding given by the shifu. can the cake be given to relative when i give out invitation card abt 3week before...that mean the guo da li will be without the wedding cake.

rainnqq

This post was last updated pretty long ago.
I'm a hakka and my FH is hainan. That should mean, the GDL and AD custom should follow hainan instead of hakka is it?

berry_tay

I am hakka bride and I want to know what is the tradition for Guo Da Li, what should I get and what should my hubby get for me. As I am the 1st one to get marry so I dunno where should I start and how should I start.

Appreciate if anyone of u can help.

cactus_79

Hi, my mom's a hakka. When she got married to my dad like 30 years ago, my grandparents (both hakkas) wrote to the clan association for advice. You may want to seek them out. My mom maintains links with Char Yong Hui Guan (but not sure if this is the name of the Hakka clan association).

Most people (including my grandparents' generation) cannot remember their own wedding prep, cos these were dealt with by their own parents. So if you want the "proper" way, the clan association sohuld be able to help.

berry_tay

Oh okie thanks to you cactus_79. But then, I afraid once i ask those clan, si ka li they advise with lots of very tradition stuff then I really will faint liao leh, hehe....

thanks again ya

cactus_79

*Grin

I think if u r keen to follow tradition, then might as well, follow to the end. No point pick and choose right?

Or else, why don't you ask your elders in your family? Like your grandparents? Cos ultimately, your parents are likely to ask your grandparents or your older aunts/uncles. So if you seek their input, then it's more than half the battle won!

cactus_79

I see.... sorry... I'm not able to help cos my mom can't remember her own wedding cos all done by my granddad and my granddad has passed away. My mom cannot recall any particular tradition unique to Hakka.. perhaps cos Hakka in China used to lead a normadic lifestyle - always move from place to place. so pick up cultures from other dialect groups...

chendol

my mum is hakka too! she had a roasted pig from my dad, but my FH will not be providing that... i don't really see the significance also lah... and thought it's more a cantonese tradition anyhow.

Can you guys speak hakka? I can, cos brought up by my grandma.

snow_baby

hi twinkle.
just kpo- why ur FH not provide the roasted pig ?
its suppose to signify taht u are a "V" and pure leh...
me & HB both Hakka. we had a mid sized one.

joyous97

My mum is a hakka but during my wedding, everything is replaced by ang bao....

Too many traditions to follow...

Anyone here eat rei cha...I cook but my hubby does not know how to appreciate so I ended up cooking his dishes, which is peranakan dishes....

cactus_79

no. when the bride returns with the groom to her parents' home. but for simplicity and to save time, people may not care anymore.

my pig was delived by the seller not by groom to save trouble. and it was delivered early in the morning to fit our schedule.

pinky81

Cynthia Tan: I did try to tell my parents about getting the seller to deliver instead of the groom but she feels offended if we do it in this way. Sigh.. duno what is the difference also.

hello pinky
if that is the case, maybe get the smallest pig for convenience if deliver by groom?
Mine is the biggest one - cost $300 - 400 so no way the groom can deliver.

pinky81

Thanks Cynthia, I guess I have to get the right comfortable size for the groom to deliver.

Want to check with Hakka brides around too. Do you wear yellow gold jewellery with your wedding gown from your house to the groom house? To my mom, she say it is rather common practice but I do not find it this way. It's a mismatch to wear gold with bridal gown lor.

sangay

I don't know anything about hakka, but a dictionary on its own may not be enough to learn to speak.

Apart from any grammatical differences with mandarin, there may also be other things like tone sandhi for which you will need a proper reference.

rosemarie

I've been studying Mandarin by myself for a while. Anyways, after I become good at Mandarin, I plan to study Hakka, the language of my boyfriend. I guess I can communicate with him in English or Mandarin, but I think he would really appreciate it if I knew his mother tongue (not to mention that his parents probably know very little Mandarin and basically no English). However, I can find absolutely no resources for Hakka in English, and the materials that I find for Hakka all seem to be either in traditional Chinese (which is not what I am learning for now) or contain no text at all (in other words, all audio).

Are there any good resources I can study it through? How about some dictionaries they have for Mandarin, where they list the characters and their corresponding phonetic romanizations?

Although Hakka is just "on my hit list" for now, I just want to track down resources now, because they seem to be so far and few in between.