Advice needed for Hakka tradition

sally

Both my hubby and I are Hakka. Can anyone tell me what are the customs and traditions. How much "pin jin" to give to the bride's family? What are the things I have to get ready before the wedding.
Thanks a lot in advance

hwey

Hakka, being a migratory group, are found in different parts of China. Their practices and customs are influenced by the "local" people dwelling in the place Hakka squat in. Thus, though Hakka, practices may differ.

For me, though I am Hakka, no one in my family, even my great grandmother, knows what are the Hakka wedding traditions. So, in the end, we adopted Hokkein (on my mum's side) and Cantonese (on my husband's side)custom.

doremon

Hi Hwey,

I am a Hokkien but as my parents don't know what are the hokkien wedding traditions. So appreciate if you can help to explain the hokkien tradition u have adopted on yr mum's side.

Thanks in advance!!

sally

Hi Hwey,
so how much pin jin is considered reasonable? Besides the pin jin, the groom has to give the bride's family tables too rite? How abt the xin bin or cakes? What are the other things that I have to get ready before the wedding?

hwey

Hi! I am not sure what was agreed on in the end cos my boss refused to grant me leave on my Guo Da Li day so I was in office, working. I think in the end, we got cakes, pig trotters, 2 bottles of liquor, and my mum return 2 bottles of orange juice, one basket of fruits, and some cakes. The details I'll ask her when I visit her next week.

As for Pin Jin, it is up to the groom side to give but usually the bride's family will not take all. When my sis got married, her hubby's family gave $2000 pinjin and my parents took $2000, return the rest to them.

My parents requested for 5 tables (though my relatives took up 10 tables). My mum said usually if the guy side give pin jin, the bride side will not ask for all the tables they need. Unless there is an agreement on both side that no pinjin will be given, the bride side will ask for all tables. Ang Pow from the tables given to bride side, bride's parents take.

sally

Hi Hwey,
ur parents took back $2000? My mum requested for only 3 tables plus the pin jin. My hubby haven't decided to give how much pin jin. How abt the si dian jin? Actually i don't know much but I just hope that nothing will go wrong.

hwey

Oh, sorry typo. They took $200 out of the $2000.

I don't know if it is a custom but when my cousin got married, his wife's parents ask for 15 tables and $6000 pin jin, took 100% of the $6K. They said it is TeoChew custom. My Teochew colleague's parents also ask for 25 tables.

hwey

Si Dian Jin is a Teo Chew tradition/custom. It is not a custom of other dialect groups, though recent years some dialect groups do that too. It depends on your in-laws. My sis's in-laws are TeoChew so they bought her Si Dian Jin. Mine didn't. Just a gold bangle for tea ceremony and a necklace as a gift.

V

vee kee

There is this shop that specialises in wedding customs and the traditional wedding "stuff" like bedside lamp, stickers etc at Jurong West. The gal there is called Clara, she is very helpful and prices at her shop is reasonable.

The address is :

Blk 506, Jurong West St 52, #01-180
Tel : 6566 0311/ 6566 0333

BTW, it is at the old Jurong West not the extension...

enid

any shop in town that specialises in wedding customs ?

I'm hakka and my hubby's hokkien. Anyone knows the tradition ?

sally

Vee Vee
How can I get to that shop at Jurong West? Any landmarks nearby?

Hwey,
think that we have decided not to have si dian jin because that is teochew tradition. I think his mum might give me a bangle or necklace. Reasonable? As for pin jin, haven't decided yet. Another idea where to get a good tailor for mum's dress?

mon

Hi Everbody,

Just wonder anyone know why one of the Hakka tradition is the daugher-in-law must buy a red japanese shoes for the mother in law?

Just curious, cos my husband's mum reqest for one.

joanne

Hi Mon,

Is that a Hakka tradition ? Never heard before though I’m a hakka. My MIL, a teochew, never ask from us. What she asked is those standard ones like tea set, oil lamps. Anyway, she is a very easy-going person lor.

watchgalore

I'm also a Hakka, since my parents don know much abt it, they went ard asking.

ending up following some of cantonese (since my huizhou hakka is in guangdong) tradition, also ended with some teochew (eg 12 invitation card)(husband is teochew), must give slippers to both in-laws, must have suckling pig....and many more !! (what a headache)

regret asking anyone. so my advice is, if both of you are not "pan dang" & if parents of both sides are easy going, then try to cut down on everthing & don't ask ard too much...too many "san gu liu po" will mess up everything.

a colleague's parents knew everything, & did everything "right" for the wedding but the marriage din turn out well.

another friend did nothing, only gave oranges & angpao to the sisters, but the couple is still happily married.

don't stress yourself over unnecessary "tradition" when you don't even know wat they mean.
enjoy yourself is the most impt thing

wormie

errr i only know if the girl is a hakka the guy side must buy a suckling pig .... the rest i not too sure liao

hi all brides-to-be..

i'm hakka and my hubby is hokkien. found out all these things and would like to share these info with all the hakka brides out there!!
these are the things i asked my mum to get for me, although my GDL is only in oct.

1 baby bath tub
1 face basin
1 potty
2 pairs of chopsticks
2 bowls
2 spoons
2 bedlamps
2 bedroom slippers/clogs
2 towels
2 toothbrush & toothpaste
1 sewing box (12 color threads, measurement tape, scissors. NO NEEDLES INSIDE!! BUY UR OWN NEEDLES AFTER THE WEDDING) (12 colors to represent colorful life "tuo zi tuo cai", black/white thread to represent "bai tuo tao lao")
1 RULER (supposedly to measure ur life together)
1 teaset for serving tea @ PIL's place, that has to be returned to the bride after use (2 longan, 2 red dates, 2 lotus seed to be placed in the tea set. on actual day jus ask MIL to put in somemore to make the drink, for the new couple to serve tea to the parents/elders/relatives)
1 fan to be used when leaving frm parent's home to groom's place (to ward off evil)

GDL stuff for hakka brides..
2 liquor (return 2 orange juice)
16/18 oranges (return 8/9 oranges)
wedding cakes/pastries (ask for how many you need and return 2 boxes)
pork leg cans (optional)
2 abalone, mushrooms, scallop, fatt choy (need not return)
jewellery (optional) (this issue is quite subjective..see whether ur MIL mentioned that she's giving you or not) (my MIL bought me a bracelet which we went to choose together and she'll give me on actual day when i serve her tea)
pin jing ($$ depending on how much you want) (for my case, my MIL giving me 10 tables so pin jing dun need to take so much, but at least enough to cover the things my mum got for me which costs her $200..which i've listed above.)

bride's father has to carry a red umbrella (normal one or even those free umbrella will do...need not buy those with lace) to shelter her to the car. AS THE BRIDE ENTERS THE CAR...PLEASE DO NOT TURN BACK TO LOOK AT THE MOTHER!! supposedly to mean that the bride has to look ahead to a good future.

switch on the bedlamps & house lights the night before the wedding...so that on the actual day dun have to go to the new home to switch them on. jus need to go to both parents' home and check-in hotel by 2pm to rest.

bridal car issue...(any dialect)
not suppose to use bride's father's/elder brother's car as the wedding car!! either use groom's side or borrow frm friend or rent.
(all along wanted to use my dad's car...happened that the hairdresser told my mum..and that's how we found out) (in ancient time, supposedly to mean that the bride's family is so poor that they can't afford to hire helpers that they've to carry the bridal sedan themselves)

missed out..
usually GDL is abt 2 weeks b4 the wedding..
so MIL must give together with the cakes, oranges, liquor, etc...the invitation cards for ur relatives.
invitation cards for friends, associates can be mailed/given 1 mth b4 the wedding day.

whistle

hi cheers,

thanks for the detailed info..

do u happen to know wat is the rationale for getting all those clogs/potty/wash basin etc for? my mum say now modern times no need such things, instead she will get me some kitchen appliances! but if these items have meaning, i may ask my mum to follow.. hehehe

questy

Hi to all,
I'm also a hakka, and the list cheers had made is very similar to what my grandma suggested. The suckling pig is also a must, but must return head and tail to groom (i think so). My grandma also said to buy towels or cloth for the "Ah Yi" at groom side, yet to cmf on tat.

hi whistle,

potty/baby bath tub/face basin are all for the baby to use..(meaning have children).
clogs can be replaced by bedroom slippers.
hakka must bathe with cypress leaves in the morning b4 wearing new undies and pyjamas, then do make-up.

hi questy,

suckling pig is not a must. but it signifies that the bride is a "virgin"...nowadays alot of "modern" woman huh...etc..etc.. also close one eye and have a suckling pig.
for my case, i'm the one who insisted that i want a suckling pig. when i start sourcing ard on where to buy one at a reasonable price..i'll update you pple too. coz my MIL got 1 for her DIL 2 yrs ago costs only $88...and my fren who got married earlier this yr, hers costs $300 (which her MIL asked her to pay!!)

yes..supposedly..hakka brides need to get for the unmarried/married groom's brother/SIL/sister/BIL. those double-happiness face towels (not those white double-happiness towel used in hair salon...but those with cheena flowers print..ah por/ah gong use type). though we've bought them..but i intend not to give them cos none of them will appreciate and 100% will not use it, probably they'll use it as a rag!!)

questy,

oops..forgot to mention abt the pig

my hubby's younger bro got married 2 yrs ago and when he went to fetch the bride in the morning..his mum told him to bring along the pig!! PLEASE DUN COMMIT THIS MISTAKE!! the girl's side was very angry and she said she wasn't informed when to bring it over..

in olden times..the pig is brought to the bride's house 3 days after the wedding when she gets to go home for the 1st time after the wedding. it signifies that her in-laws are satisfied with her that she's a virgin. nowadays, everything is chop-chop finished on the actual day.

when is 3 days later??
1st day - actual day
2nd day - still in the hotel room..with breakfast in bed..hehehhe
3rd day - honeymoon or back to work!!

actual day procedure
-groom depart for bride's house carrying only flower bouquet
-give angpow to the guy who opens the car door
-give angpow to jie-meis for letting him thru the main door
-give angpow to bride's grandparents
-go to room to recieve bride
-return to groom's place for tea ceremony
-change into teadress/cheongsum/kwa...mingle with guests/relatives for buffet
-return to bride's parents home for tea ceremony
-BRING ALONG THE PIG, 16 OR 18 ORANGES
-chop the pig into 3 parts (keep the centre meaty portion, return the head and the backside)
-REPLACE THE CENTRE PORTION WITH 8/9 ORANGES AND ANGPOW $8, PANTS WRAPPED IN RED PAPER (can be replaced with angpow $28 instead) means "da fu da gui"
-after buffet...return the pig to groom's side then can go to hotel and rest already!!

questy

Hi cheers,
Ha....! I didn't knw abt when to bring along the pig, yet to find out from grandma. i remember when my aunt got married, we got a feast on the pig while the adults chop up the pig to return the head and tail to hubby side.

The price of the pig depends on the size rgt? cos from what i knw $300 is pretty normal price for a big pig. How come ur friend has to pay for the pig? The MIL shld be the one to pay mah. I'm going to list down all the necessary things and let the adults do the talking, so as to avoid such situation. If this really happens to me, i'm going to nag at my FH so he's pay for it if he wants to marry me, he....! Other things can share costs, I feel tat these customry stuff has to be paid by my FH side, it's a return to my parents for bring me up.

Since FH is a one and only son, the towel could be omitted rgt? He...! I go find out more from grandma then tell u all k.

hi questy,

frm what i've sourced frm one shop.
the pig comes in S/M/L @ $68/$168/$268...

the reason why my friend had to pay was becoz they paid for the entire wedding themselves..their parents didn't chip in to help at all. her mum asked for a drangon/phoenix bangle and her MIL even asked her to pay for it...in the end she paid 1/2 of it to her and pretend abt the balance payment..haha!!

ask ur granny abt the cypress leaves (it looks like x'mas tree leaves)..hakka and some cantonese quite particular. i have this tree growing in my garden..one day a neighbour frm dunno where asked for a few leaves frm us and she gave as a angpow in return.

icechoco

usually how much do the parents take from the pin jin? hmm, i'm still in dilemma and undecisive stage. Should we follow FH's dialect group or follow the bride's side when things are given to the bride and vice versa?

hi lin,

is ur FH giving tables to ur side? if so, then take take a small amt of the pinjin as a token.
if no tables given to ur side, then can get more $$.
some parents take alot as they feel that's the only time that they can earn $$ when their daughter is married off. whereas some dun want pple to talk behind their back as if they're "selling" daughter, so they take a small amt.
it's subjective..ask ur mum to ask aunts/cousins who got married how much they take for pin jin.
for my case, my MIL giving 10 tables, so my mum ask for 2 pkts of $99 angbao, and will return her 1 pkt.
but the things that my mum requests frm my MIL, my MIL wants me & hubby to pay for it..long story...anyway i showed her my black face when MIL told me abt it.

kite~

is suckling pig a must for hakka bride? my mum insists to hv a one. can it replace by ang bao? what other stuffs are needed for hakka bride? thanks.

kite~

hi sugarbabe,

so for ur side, hv both parents discuss abt guo da li? both side parents wil discuss it at my house next mth.

sugarbabe

hi kite, my hubby frm malaysia so dun think they will be comin over, hubby will tok to my parents lo.. do we nid to get mei ren to come?? heehee

garfield77

Hi sugarbabe,
Me same as u, i'm hakka bride, hubby is cantonese.
My dad checked wif my aunt yesterday, she told him tat suckling pig is a must for hakka bride, "si dian jin" oso. Next sunbday my aunt will discuss abt "guo da li" wif my FH's side. Will update here once i noe wat r d items to prepare.

kite~

hi garfield,

ok keep us Hakka brides update.

Bcos my mum insisted on a suckling pig but dad find it troublesome, want to exchange for ang bao. not confirm anyway since my wedding end of tis yr.

garfield77

check from my aunt liao, guo da li items for hakka bride are very simple.
GDL stuff are:
1) wedding cakes/pastries known as xi bin (ask for how many you need and return 2 boxes, for my case we give xi bin to relatives only)
2) pork leg cans (for my relatives only together with the xi bin)
3) Si dian jin (Never heard before hor? but yes for hakka bride)
4) Pin jing (For my case, amount as a token eg $188 only coz FIL give 10 tables to my parents)

Other items like:
1) 2 bottles liquor (return 2 bottles orange juice)
2) 16 oranges (return 8 oranges)
3) Suckling pig. (For my case, my father listen to wat his sisters told him, so must have it)
Above 3 items are for groom to bring to bride's house on actual day.

kite~

hi garfield,

thanks for ur info n update. Seems like wat my mum told me is similar to urs. My mum insisted to hv a suckling pig to indicate virgin? but nowadays modern girls dont? hehe u get what i mean....so is it not so nice to hv a suckling pig since some arent?

btw just wondering for e pin jing, eg. $188, e bride usually need to return to the groom rite? wont take all rite? thanks.

garfield77

Hi kite,
Hahaha.......... Ya lor, quite true la for the maning of having suckling pig. My dad juz follow wat my aunts had told him. We will have small suckling pig, juz for "yi si yi si".
Yup pin jing my parents need to return some, so my FH will prepare more than tis amt & my parents juz take d said amt.
Si dian jin initially i oso tot is for teochew only. But my aunts say got leh, told by my granny when they got married 30+ yrs back, so should b correct gua. They oso did d same for their daughter's wedding, so my dad juz follow lor.

kite~

hi garfield,

well ok maybe like u, wil hv a small suckling pig but then quite ex rite? hv u source for any pricing yet?

hmm u know ah for pin jin, my dad said if my FH giving $1000, he wil take $500? is it too much? cos i dun wan ppl to hv an impression that my parents like selling away daughter. not so nice hor.

yup si dian jin i heard for all dialect groups, not special for any dialect.

garfield77

Hi Kite,
Actually don noe go where get suckling pig :p
Some more i may b changing my wedding date due to my Grandpa-in-law last sunday suddenly change his mind, wan us to change date coz he don like it. So now waiting my hotel co-ordinator reply us.

garfield77

Hi Kite,
Actually $500 is not really much, so don worry so much. Don forget ur parents may b will use back tis amt to give u back during tea ceremony. This is oso an amt to cover back wat they prepare for ur dowry thing.

avril

I dun think si dian jin is for hakka. My mum didnt ask for that, think my MIL only giving bracelet. But suckling pig is a must. My mum warned me if I no go and get, she will go and buy herself for us..hehehe..cos need to give relatives.
As suckling pigs, notice that Yishun Chong Pang hawker center, and Clementi's hawker center have stall selling it. Approx $268. I think both have those TV recommendation sticker.

bb_2

Hi everyone, me & FH are hakka. I have heard Tiong Bahru Roasted pig very nice too, can try try. (T): 6275 2555 Biggest should be at $268.

avril, i thk u r rite. my mom also didn't request si dian jin. Ladies, if my FH giving $1888 for pin jin and we r giving my parents 2-3 tables is that fine? All the expenses are pay by both of us. not sure is that fine or not.

tigerw

I am also a hakka bride. Suckling pig is a 'must-have' for all hakka bride and must be deliver to the bride house when the groom come and pick the bride.

Hi BB_2
Pin jin is only a token sum. Do ask your mum how much she wants for pin jin and you and your husband can gauge whether the sum you intent to give is enuf anot.I dun think your parents will make it too hard for you guys as they know whatever balance will contribute to covering the banquet dinner and the rest of the wedding expenses. So dun worry too much.

josie

hi all ,

I`m also a hakka bride to be in 2005

Surpraise to see so many of you here !!
My parent do not want roasted pig ...as my mum is a vegetarian ...heee hee
I actually suggested to my hubby to give $1888 for pin jin !!! isn`t ok for that amount ?

kite~

hi josie,

i also suggested $1888 pin jin. My hubby giving my parents 5 tables. shld be okie rite? then my parents will take abt $588??

garfield77

Hi Josie & kite,
The Amt of pin jin is varies, if ur hubby is able to affort giving tis amt, den should b ok. I told my hubby's aunt tat my parents only request for 10 boxes of xi bin & same qty of pig leg can, they said too less, should increase more. As for pin jin amt, my hubby oso consider to give $1688 (yet to confirm coz Guo da li is still so far away from now) & confirmed giving my parents 10 tables.

lilfeets

I am a Hakka Briede and so my husband is too! our wedding is in Nov 04.

My parents asked for si dian ji as well as suckling pig. Of course my mil gave them 10 tables for dinner and naturally alos, the cakes and Ping jin thiggie. Lots of other items for Guo Da Li and ang pow for my elder brother in-law to buy pants since he's unmarried.

So many things to learn only when one gets married =P

kite~

hi!

My wedding end of this yr 04. I m a hakka bride n hubby is hokkien.

Guo da li's date just fixed, wil be 3 weeks before AD wedding as Parent n PIL wanted it earlier.

anyway last week, my PIL came to my house to Ti qing. My hubby and i actually noted down as both side parents going through e items, much better in this way. things wont missed out or forgotten.

Here is the list for GDL (MIL giving):

1) 10 boxes of cakes - my mum no need return.

2) oranges - mum wil return some.

3) suckling pig - MIL wil replace it by ang baos. mum no need return.

4) Pin Jin - mum wil return some.

5) Si Dian Jin (For show only) - to show only on GDL to my parents n my relatives. after tat, wil return back to MIL. Cos on AD tea ceremony, MIL need it to put on for me.

6) Long Feng candle - Mum wil return the a pair of Feng candles and she wil keep the pair of Long candles for AD wedding.

7) 2 bottles of wines (cos my dad cant drink hard liquor, so take wines) - Mum wil return 2 bottles of orange squash (those glass kind, not plastic).

Here is the list for GDL(My MUM giving):

1) 4 Angbaos to my PIL and grand PIL (to present shoes).

2) Si Bin (a kind of biscuit)

3) Jie Bin (a kind of biscuit)

4) Red Dates

5) Dry wintermelon strips

6) Red Lamp

7) Tea pot

that's all. phew! really a long list. thats y we wrote down. it's better in this way!!! hehe after noting down, we read out loud to confirm everything. hehe

HTH

shchong

I'm also Hakka bride.

My parents insist on having the roasted pig to be delivered on Guo Da Li. All my cousins also got their roasted pigs on Guo Da Li, but what I am seeing here is that it should be sent on the actual day, then who is right?

So confused ... *blur*

Guo Da Li that day, none of my relatives coming so I can't understand why they want it to be sent on that day.