Advice for PLus Size brides

plus16

I'm a size 16-18. Getting ready for ROM in November. Any advice from like sized brides for the following:
a.bridal boutiques in S'pore and JB (cos fiance is from JB) who specialise in gowns for plus size
b. JB wedding venues
c. Any other "must knows" for big brides cos i'm clueless and lost.
Been window shopping. Most bridal shops seems so "unfriendly" to big people. : ) Helppppp girls!!

fat

Hello Mei Ong,

Im from the "Size 18 brides" thread. The gals & myself are all mostly bride to be and some already had their AD wedding too.

If you are jus looking for a ROM dress than maybe you can try Allure Charix who cater plus size gowns & dresses.

But if you are looking for package including for your ROM & Wedding day, than most of the bridal shop can MTM the gowns that you like.

Feel free to go to our thread.....the rest of the gals can provide you with more info. I'll post the link here......
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/156277.html?1107997228

Hope to see you there soon !!!!

sereneli

Hi Mei Ong

For your size, you may want to try Arthur Yen @ Robinson City Hall too. They have up to size 18 for ROM gowns.

I am also from the Size 18 thread. Do join us there!

may_lee

howdie everyone.. i m planning for ROM & Flat this Dec and then.. wedding dinner next Dec 2006.. but i m very loss.. dono where to start.. scared the time is tight.. and i m fat. 70kg!! and 160cm. whats the fastest way to lose weight?? i wanna be a pretty bride.. =(
any bridal studios offer nice gowns for fat woman?

sierra

Hi May,

If budget allows, try to go for MTM, cos cutting is important. I would suggest the following:

- Wedding present
- Dang

The rest of the bridal shops, I feel that they are usually restricted to certain styles...which may not be suitable to you, so shop around and see who u are comfy with.

I'm also trying to lose weight...cross fingers!

crayola

hi.

me too plus size bride 16-18.

read from the forum Jawn, JLC seems quite good for us plus size. any one who signed up with them? what are their packages like? budget a bit tight about 3.5k for packages.

soupie

esther, i was previously with JLC.... i'm abt size 14.. and my experience with them has been good.

i'm not a pretty bride.. but they've made me look very radiant that day esp. the makeup artist (according to pple who saw me that day..keke)

JLC would be able to provide u a package based on ur budget

gemgal79

Hi, I am also a plus size bride here, anyone heard of Fame boutique. I was told they cater to my size but have doubts on them coz they located at Yishun area, hdb type of shop

sereneli

Hi Carol,

Fame Bridal is used by one of the fellow member in Size 18 thread. You may want to direct your questions to her.....Nick is Jany

kellie

Dear All radiant brides,

I am a size 14 gal, and i have sign up with In Wedding. Any comments on that shop

can i side track abit? rather than finding a BS to suite your plus size, have you all considered seriously changing your diet and going exercise to fit a dream dress and look better in photos? i am very big sized and weigh like 80+kg and i had lost abt 10 kg from a slimming centre.. after that, which is now, i am under a personal trainer to help me lose more weight. indeed i am spending more money but it makes me feel good when i imagine me being slimmer rather than what i am now....

just my 2 cents worth..

emmasharapova

er.. arthur yen have large sizes? i've always thought that their sizes are really small.. am still looking for a size 14-16 ROM dress.. headache... sigh.. help!!!

hi emma,

i am 175 and now weigh 71- 72kg. i just started my training abt 1 mth ago and of cos will not see significant results. so far, i had lost abt 1.5kg from the personal trainer.

hartxx

Hi just check if you great people can help me , I searching for many Bridal shop for my wedding and quite like Bridal concept after reviewing the postive comment..

Does any one know how they charge for the package for additional photos taken? Or anything to look for..? which photograhper are better?

cottoncandy7681

Hi Lester,
me also a plus size bride.hihi.
i am from Bridal Concept.
so far veri fantastic with their services,my gown is MTM.Have u visit BC yet?

emmasharapova

minssy.. since you're so tall, you should look quite slim now alreadi right? lost even more weight since training?
your husband muz be v tall also?

alexislim

Hi gals, I am also plus size (14) bride and went to quite many BS to search for big nice OTR gowns. I don't trust too much on MTM gowns after hearing some friends who shared their bad experiences on their MTM gowns. Recently, I took up package at Precious Moment Bridal at Upper Thomson. Find them very comfortable as they are not pushy with us. Also, I know they have different designs and choices in their big gowns collection which I found myself quite happy with. Just my 2 cents worth

hi alexis,

i went to jean yip. please note that u will see results on the below.....

1) go for treatments and watch your diet closely.
2) slimming centres help in water retention only. if you expect actual fat lost, its minimum. yes they claim their machines does help etc etc but its really minimum.
3) if you are not fat and is very toned, i doubt u need to go to a slimming centre.
4) honestly i heard alot on marie france & expressions and it doesnt work. so dun waste your money there...

alexislim

Hi minssy

thanks... yeah, very sad cos I actually went for marie france last year and they used cold wrapped on me after the machine treatment. but even i'm discipline on my diet, after completing 10 sessions i see no results. I'm not toned at all but flabby. I did lost some pounds lately as I started jogging and eat very very little. I think i weigh about 78kg now. Must shed off more before wedding.

hi alexis,

i did cold wrap & machine in jean yip too. i lost 12kg in 3 mths and i only went 16 or 18 sessions. hahhaha!

then i put on 4 kg and then i went under a trainer in april and i lost back the 4kg. so now i am back to 70.

if you exercise, u must really do sufficient cardio. if you just jog without the right intensity and u dun eat right, you will also not see results.

no point eating very very little. if your body aint having the right food, it cant build muscles and you will also dun see yourself being smaller size..also, you will become haggered cos you are not eating enough! so the rule of thumb is: each day, you can only eat carbo the size of your fist. basically its only 2 slices of wholemeal bread and very very little rice in the noon. try not to eat carbo at nite. then eat alot of fruits & veges... drink appropriate amt of water.

its 4 mths to my wedding and i am trying to lose 4 more kg. its only 1 kg per mth and i guess i must continue to be more determined... u must also okie? if you need to rant more on the size issues, you are welcome to PM me in case we rattle on and flood this thread

alexislim

Hi minssy, thanks for sharing. You really said it right. I will have to be very careful with my strict diet lor before I turn haggered....

Oh yes, congratulations to you! And all the best to your slimming program. With your strong determination, you sure to make it to your idea weight

hi alexis,

oh yah. side effects of slimming too fast is haggered look and dropping hair. hope you will not face with such...

all the best to you too

hi cookies,

cant cos i did not pay for it

the cost is around 3+ to 4 grand. just dun be psychoed to try those high end ones.. just the basic of slim up, frizo wrap, hot blanket, suana, G5 will do.

__bride

Hello Ladies

Has anyone successfully lost weight through massage packages (such as JAMU, lymphatic drainage, etc)?

Comfortable in Size 14 ...

hi mist73,

i tried 10 sessions before. price is $380 but i need to buy ampoule so total cost was near to $600. it did not work on me. they will massage & the wrap for me. during that time, my fat particles were broken down so when i massage on my own, i can feel the balls of fats. they are supposed to be burnt off. however, 10 sessions were probably not enough but since i do not see results, i did not continue

qingqing

I am a plus sized gal oso leh .... dunno my BS will have my size a not a bit worried .... and dunno what cut should i wear ..... and shoes oso sigh ....

qingqing

I am a plus sized gal oso leh .... dunno my BS will have my size a not a bit worried .... and dunno what cut should i wear ..... and shoes oso sigh ....

qingqing

Jumbo, my bs is thomson wedding, hmmm for shoes cos i dunno where to find .... cos i tried gg shopping har i cant find the shoes like i like one .....

jumbo

theresa, thomson wedding is along tanjong pagar that stretch right? i'm not very sure abt the shop cos i'm with the shop opposite urs.. but shouldn;t have any problem if u have ur wedding gown mtm.. or ask the designer to bring out all plus size gown for u to try??

maybe u would like to look thro wedding magazine and get idea of wat kind of shoes u like and custom make it.. recently i've custom made a pair of shoes which i found from the magazine..

everything can be solve.. dun worry.. btw, when's your rom and AD?

qingqing

Jumbo mine AD is May 06 but i kang cheong cos remember i am plus size therefore a bit scare .... and my rom i am not sure yet cos i just applied balloting flats from HDB if it comes early i will rom early if not my rom will be on my AD during dinner time

jumbo

oh.. still got long way to go for u to search the bs.. why hurry leh.. i'm plus size gal too.. had my rom last year dec.. wedding will be on end of Oct this year.. now busy preparin for ad too.. we have applied flat from hdb under balloting exercise for a few times liao.. but no luck.. We dun wanna bother abt flat so much.. dun wanna let flat affect our decision on getting marry.. keke.. wat actually make u gan cheong now?? the design of the gown or wat??

qingqing

Jumbo is not that loh ... I have sign up with thomson wedding liao and my fitting is in oct leh .... so i scare no size for me leh .... sigh ....

josephine_68

Hello, I'm new here. For the past few mths I've been here once in a while to read the postings. I'm nowhere near getting married (coz we dun have the $) but I guess it's never too early to plan. My weight problem will never go away. Becoz me & my bf loves to eat. My job requires me to stand 10 hrs a day & at the end of the day, my feet are just aching too badly to do anything. So I guess I'll just stay this way. :/

jumbo

therese, wat are u giving for your wg? mtm or otr? cos if mtm, u shouldn't get too worry cos ur designer will help u to cover up your flaws.. but if u are choosing gown for ps... try to talk to the designer and see whether he/she can help u find any plus size gown.. but i think u shouldn't worry so much lah.. can i know roughly wat's ur size? for me, i'm size 18/20.. for dorothy perking's top..

hi jo, nice to know u here.. when's ur big day?? wat do you do that have to make u stand 10 hrs a day?

sereneli

hi gals!

Theresa, don't worry too much, if it really doesn't put you at ease, maybe you can call thomson wedding and ask if they have any gowns your size to try OTR? If not, just do some homework as to wat type of gowns you like and get them to MTM for you.

Hi Jo, no worries about being big cos Big can also be happy and pretty bride!

Amah aka jumbo : u guardian angel of this thread eh...kekeke

jumbo

ser, good thing u are here too.. no lah.. very free in the office and can't use msn as frequent as last time.. so come to the thread lor.. u are guru liao leh.. and me... 2 more months and will become guru too.. keke.. :p

jumbo

doi, where got old?? u still newly wed leh.. still honeymoon stage.. keke.. well.. should try to help the new girls here.. especially big girls.. like us..