Adultery - Can i claim 50% of his income every mth?

The standard of English used here is already so low and if we want to correct we will probably be spending half of the time correcting the English.

The wrong usage of "Irregardless" is quite wide and normally only people who are very "pure" in their usage of the English language would reject it. Mostly we treat it the "ir" as redundant. Actually its origin is probably traced to people who use double-negative for emphasis.

The other day I just learn a new word and it is

'antidisestablishmentarianism'

It is a valid word leh.. one of the longest word

Another word which is often wrong besides irregardless is "anyways". I have always heard people using "anyways" instead of "anyway" even on national radio.

haha, u say longest word i immediately think of "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious"... very infectious song!

oh another peeve... pple who use 'own' when they mean 'owe'... pple who use 'borrow me' when they mean 'lend me'

Pro, how about "Can I BORROW your phone?" when it should be "Can I use your phone?"

More and more people are using "Although" and "but" in the same sentence.

Too many examples.....

powderful07

Out of topic already...

"Anyways", can you lot please haul your respective "owe" big asses into your regular threads "irregardless" of where you belong to?

Don't make me "borrow" my Xue Di Zhi on you lot of peasants...

Oh yes... I can't stand the "borrow vs lend" error too. I borrow my phone to you... haha..

Doll,
Actually the "Although + but" part may not be that easy to understand unless your English is of a certain standard. But those who go thru Singapore's English education by right should not make this mistake, but there are lotsa "by left" people around...

Err... think we should be starting a "Proper English Usage" thread for this discussion if your wanna go indepth in case we kanna "humtung".

Cut and Paste from website: (just for fun)

So what exactly is the longest word in the world?

It all depends on your point of view, but here goes:

Officially the longest word is 'floccinaucinihilipilification' at 29 characters, meaning 'the act of estimating as worthless'.

Then there's 'antidisestablishmentarianism' at 28 letters, meaning 'opposition to the disestablishment of the Church of England'. It is often considered the longest word as it has an actual meaning instead of being created just to be long.

Unofficially the longest word is 'pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis' at 45 characters, meaning 'a lung disease'. It was created solely for the purpose of being the longest word, however, it does appear in a few dictionaries.

The longest place name is that of a hill in New Zealand at 85 characters:

TAUMATAWHAKATANGIHANGAKOAUAUOTAMATEATURIPU
KAKAPIKIMAUNGAHORONUKUPOKAIWHENUAKITANATAHU

The word with the most letters is a name of protein, as a name, it technically does not qualify as a word, but at 1913 characters, we just had to include it. Theoretically these names can contain an infinite amount of characters, but this one qualifies as it has actually been used in a medical journal.

methionylglutaminylarginyltyrosylglutamylserylleucyl phenylalanylalanylglutaminylleucyllysylglutamylarginyl lysylglutamylglycylalanylphenylalanylvalylprolylphenyl alanylvalylthreonylleucylglycylaspartylprolylglycylisol eucylglutamylglutaminylserylleucyllysylisoleucylaspartyl threonylleucylisoleucylglutamylalanylglycylalanylaspartyl alanylleucylglutamylleucylglycylisoleucylprolylphenyl alanylserylaspartylprolylleucylalanylaspartylglycylprolyl threonylisoleucylglutaminylasparaginylalanylthreonylleucyl arginylalanylphenylalanylalanylalanylglycylvalylthreonyl prolylalanylglutaminylcysteinylphenylalanylglutamyl methionylleucylalanylleucylisoleucylarginylglutaminyllysyl histidylprolylthreonylisoleucylprolylisoleucylglycylleucyl leucylmethionyltyrosylalanylasparaginylleucylvalylphenyl alanylasparaginyllysylglycylisoleucylaspartylglutamylphenyl alanyltyrosylalanylglutaminylcysteinylglutamyllysylvalyl glycylvalylaspartylserylvalylleucylvalylalanylaspartylvalyl prolylvalylglutaminylglutamylserylalanylprolylphenylalanyl arginylglutaminylalanylalanylleucylarginylhistidylasparaginyl valylalanylprolylisoleucylphenylalanylisoleucylcysteinyl prolylprolylaspartylalanylaspartylaspartylaspartylleucyl leucylarginylglutaminylisoleucylalanylseryltyrosylglycyl arginylglycyltyrosylthreonyltyrosylleucylleucylserylarginyl alanylglycylvalylthreonylglycylalanylglutamylasparaginyl arginylalanylalanylleucylprolylleucylasparaginylhistidyl leucylvalylalanyllysylleucyllysylglutamyltyrosylasparaginyl alanylalanylprolylprolylleucylglutaminylglycylphenylalanyl glycylisoleucylserylalanylprolylaspartylglutaminylvalyllysyl alanylalanylisoleucylaspartylalanylglycylalanylalanylglycyl alanylisoleucylserylglycylserylalanylisoleucylvalyllysylisol eucylisoleucylglutamylglutaminylhistidylasparaginylisoleucyl glutamylprolylglutamyllysylmethionylleucylalanylalanylleucyl lysylvalylphenylalanylvalylglutaminylprolylmethionyllysyl alanylalanylthreonylarginylserine

powderful07

Since you people cant understand simple English...

You peeps are out of context accordingly to my floccinaucinihilipilification.
Stop adopting a antidisestablishmentarianism attitude and get back to your own thread before I curse you lot with pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis...which can only be cured with methionylglutaminylarginyltyrosylglutamylserylleucyl phenylalanylalanylglutaminylleucyllysylglutamylarginyl lysylglutamylglycylalanylphenylalanylvalylprolylphenyl alanylvalylthreonylleucylglycylaspartylprolylglycylisol eucylglutamylglutaminylserylleucyllysylisoleucylaspartyl threonylleucylisoleucylglutamylalanylglycylalanylaspartyl alanylleucylglutamylleucylglycylisoleucylprolylphenyl alanylserylaspartylprolylleucylalanylaspartylglycylprolyl threonylisoleucylglutaminylasparaginylalanylthreonylleucyl arginylalanylphenylalanylalanylalanylglycylvalylthreonyl prolylalanylglutaminylcysteinylphenylalanylglutamyl methionylleucylalanylleucylisoleucylarginylglutaminyllysyl histidylprolylthreonylisoleucylprolylisoleucylglycylleucyl leucylmethionyltyrosylalanylasparaginylleucylvalylphenyl alanylasparaginyllysylglycylisoleucylaspartylglutamylphenyl alanyltyrosylalanylglutaminylcysteinylglutamyllysylvalyl glycylvalylaspartylserylvalylleucylvalylalanylaspartylvalyl prolylvalylglutaminylglutamylserylalanylprolylphenylalanyl arginylglutaminylalanylalanylleucylarginylhistidylasparaginyl valylalanylprolylisoleucylphenylalanylisoleucylcysteinyl prolylprolylaspartylalanylaspartylaspartylaspartylleucyl leucylarginylglutaminylisoleucylalanylseryltyrosylglycyl arginylglycyltyrosylthreonyltyrosylleucylleucylserylarginyl alanylglycylvalylthreonylglycylalanylglutamylasparaginyl arginylalanylalanylleucylprolylleucylasparaginylhistidyl leucylvalylalanyllysylleucyllysylglutamyltyrosylasparaginyl alanylalanylprolylprolylleucylglutaminylglycylphenylalanyl glycylisoleucylserylalanylprolylaspartylglutaminylvalyllysyl alanylalanylisoleucylaspartylalanylglycylalanylalanylglycyl alanylisoleucylserylglycylserylalanylisoleucylvalyllysylisol eucylisoleucylglutamylglutaminylhistidylasparaginylisoleucyl glutamylprolylglutamyllysylmethionylleucylalanylalanylleucyl lysylvalylphenylalanylvalylglutaminylprolylmethionyllysyl alanylalanylthreonylarginylserine

PS: Whew...thank god for whoever invented "cut and paste"...

of cos not lah! there's no real need to correct pple's english... just point out from time to time becos some of the words are used often in professional terms... particularly words like 'irregardless' which incidentally doesn't clear spell-check.

Nothing wrong but it's just funny lah hahaha she's probably too busy thinking how she can dig more money at this point if she falls under scenario 2

seems like someone of the similar traits are posting similarily, but this time he or she claims to be the one who will kena wack 50% instead!

hhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...............are these 2 of the same calibre? zzz

dilemma10

Well we had our problems and were ironing out e differences.. thou things were already bad at then.. his gf juz happened to hasten e process of us splitting up..

powderful07

So the problems already were there...and it didn't happen BECOS of the GF then...
So keep the GF out of the equation on your marriage split with your husband. She didn't caused it; even though she might have accelerate the process.

Seriously, then ain't your actions to sue your husband for adultery a bit on the spiteful side?
You are just doing this cos you can't bear to see him having a better life without you?

I'm not too sure about you...but if it was me; the first thing I would be focusing on is to reflect on how my marriage have gone off the rails and take note not to repeat the same mistakes again in my future relationships...and NOT focused on how to maximize the impact of my revenge just because I'm in a jealous and vengeance mood...

powderful,

I thought your advice would be to take note of how to cause the marriage to breakdown..

each breakdown is 50% of asset/income

A few breakdown of marriages, ts would be a very rich woman liao..

I know of an american friend who has 3 failed marriages - and unfortunately the law is powerful in US as well and he has to maintain 3 ex-wives/children.. He was made very poor even though he is highly paid

powderful07

SM,

Don't get you? What you mean how to cause the marriage to break down?

Do you mean take note of what cause the marriage to break down?

What's the moral of your fren's story?

If you failed once in a marriage; then it could be either parties fault...
Twice, maybe it's your fault and you'll learn...
But Thrice? Fcuk it...he deserves what he's getting...

powderful,

Well you don't get the sarcasm in the initial post about knowing how to cause the marriage to breakdown?

ha ha. You see, in this thread, she is asking for 50% of asset/income when divorce/annulled. So if she is smart, look for another victim and then knowing break the marriage, another 50%.. then another 50%.. pretty good way to earn money leh..

About my friends story. The moral is that, women can bankrupt a man through marriage.

For americans, divorce very common lah... re-marry and divorce again also very common.. I won't really fault him.. maybe he a bit stupid lor.. but who ask him to fall for one after another..

By the way, he got 3 ex-wife of different nationality: american, german, korean.. ha ha
fourth wife is from philippnes.. so far so good.

but cannot... if u re-marry, the 1st husband off the hook. tat's why the smarter ones get someone to poison the hubby and still get a lumpsum insurance payout.

powderful07

So des neh...Now I understand...

Aiyah...how to cause a marriage to break down needs to learn meh? Just behave like an arsehole after marriage can already...

It's not as if it's THAT HARD for SG women to break down a marriage...

PS : I'm contacting Osama shortly after posting this message to see if he can afford another person in his hiding place...

desune lah... des neh sounds abit tamil...

actually if really that bad then just find new identity new life and start over in another country... i dun believe anyone deserves to be given a free meal over a marriage breakdown. kids - yes, ladies beyond 40 who have given up career - yes... anything more is not reasonable even if the law requires so.

powderful07

Just for debate...

When was the Women's Chapter created?
And do you believe that it's time for a review or even (dare I say it...) removal of the Women's Chapter; given that gender equality is gaining momentum?

Your thoughts and comments please...
I would like to hear from the guys primarily...as the impact is more inclined towards us guys (if not entirely)...

but Women's comments are welcome as well...and I'll try to pretend to be interested :p

PS : trying to be ironic and sarcastic but not sexist...so don't come chasing me with your pitch forks...

1stly it's Charter... but then tomatoes, tomatoes... potatoes... anyway...

there's many archaic stuff that might be up for alteration. but unfortunately the powers that be, may take awhile to put them into effect...

just look at motor insurance... 2-door = sportscar. pay for more insurance... then insurance covers only the market value... when it should cover the Loan... similar to housing insurance. and that's just sad... in event of total wreck, they give u market value let's say 40k, but u still owe 55k... then LL.

Women's charter i dun have much to say for now, i only wanna say that it's meant to protect women who may not have the ability to protect and fend for themselves... unfortunately smart women use it as a weapon... pple can pretend all they want, end of the day they will know and will have to face their Maker and own conscience... i'm not so vindictive, if get caught in something, then just pay for mistake. if i am continually unendingly punished, then it's time to find a new life elsewhere

powderful07

Exactly...
and women who are not as "defenceless" as they made themselves out to be have no qualms about using it as a tool of revenge...

I believe that the Women's Charter (happy?) should be ammended to handle each case differently depending on the circumstances...
Women who are fully capable of supporting themselves shouldn't be entitled to any claims...and the length of the marriage should (is it?) also be used as a consideration factor...

Or even better, maybe we guys should come up with a Men's Charter (thought you'll get me, didn't you?!) to protect ourselves against unfaithful women as well...

Gender equality mah...Right?

as with most things... unless i can change it, i'll just work with it... LL anyway. so avoid the ones who are likely to be vengeful nomatter how good the sex is... there are still a good bunch of women out there who have good values/morals... just have to weed out the pretenders...

erm, dun need Men's charter lah... by proportion there are still more unfaithful men... so why give them the avenue to screw other women and screw their own wives?

Sm,
Hehe your friend is courageous too. He doesn't lose faith in marriages though he failed in 3 already. Some other men may have become gays in his shoes :p

"Can i get what the women get?"

Why don't you try getting whatever you set out to get and see what you really get, then come back and share with us?