Adelaide

88username88

oh. last time I rent from Hertz, i pick up from the airport, rent 1 day, and then pick up the next car from their city location. (Why i wanna do that is to siam the recovery charge!)

You can return the car in any of their branch,
for eg u can rent from Hertz Adelaide airport and return it at Hertz Adelaide city. If u rent for 4 days or more, u can even return in Hertz Melbourne!

Oh, The river cruise not expensive la. cheap cheap only, i can't rem how much, comes with free Tea and some cakes or something like that, once u reach there, they have a few river boats, just pop in and ask how much? etc, they even let u explore inside, u can ask around and take the one that you think is the best loh. Overall i think they are very friendly leh...

u can msn me? if u have more questions? coz i keep forgetting to log in and check?

haha. ok la. i just explore ard loh. but one place i didnt go to is flinders ranges only..

jee25

I will msn you if I have more questions. I believe that will happen when the dates of my holidays are nearer. Tks.

worry

Can anyone tell me where to find a cheap day tour company that goes to Kangaroo Island for ONE day (not the overnight stay) that is less than $207AUD?

tyikkim

Hi S, you did not mention if you will be doing a self-drive during your visit to ADL. Anyhow, if you are, the major tour company that does the KI tour only charges AUD182 per Adult if you join the tour from Cape Jervis.

jee25

Hiya S and ben

I hope you had a great time at Adelaide. Pls do share your experiences with us. It would be really be helpful to me... many many thanks.

summerice

Hi not sure if this thread is still active.

I am planning to go there for Honeymoon. I notice that package tour to adelaide is only like 4days 2 nights. I dont really like the way they eat up our time. Anyone planning to go this march? Anyone book everything online?

jee25

Hiya Summerlce

I'm planning to go there end of March myself. Apparently there is an event(not sure what event) in Adelaide in March -ending on the 25th. So a lot of apartmetns and hotels are booked or is having surchages for that period of time. I have not booked anything yet. Still finding a place to stay -one that is the right price and still have vacancy.I tot one of the travel agency have a 6days 4 nites package? Not sure which one though.

summerice

hi Jee25

thanks for the info, i will check it out. So are u planning F&E or taking tour package? What places are u going?

jee25

I will probably be going F&E - after asking around. Places to go - still have not decided yet. Finding accomodation first -a lot of apartments are already fully booked. So when are you going?

summerice

Hmmmm will have to check on the event u mention...if all the accom are fully book then i guess we will have to go after that. Not sure yet have to discuss with my hb, see if he wants to change plan.

88username88

avoid that stupid adelaide 500 racing one. cant rem when. i cant' book accom on that day have to sleep in the car! i park at the airport viewing area there and sleep.. hehe

jee25

I don't think its the racing event. Its the police game - something like that and it ends on the 27th March.

B, wanted to ask you about Oxford Terrace.
For the 1 bedroom apartment-
1) How much did it cost you per nite?
2) Is it very near the central market, Rundle Mall?
3) How big is it? Like a normal hotel room?
4) Is the kitchen functional? Can be used or for show only?
5) Was it clean? Any housekeeping service?
6) Does it come with a bath tub?

Any other comment about it? Sorry for asking you a lot of questions lah but need to know and better ask form someone who's been there. Tks.

jee25

I found out about it when I was looking for apartments. Most of them were fully booked before the 25th March and in a few websites, it stated that ther is this police games event. I didn't know about this too. Mayb its a new event? If you want to be sure, check aouth australia's website or call the Australian embassy.

tesoro

I was studying in adelaide for around 2 years.Actually, i think that Kangaroo Island is such a rip-off.It's obviously a place for tourists only.A lot of locals have never been there before.My humble opinion here:
1) Semaphore Beach.Not commercialised at all.Very beautiful sand and crystal clear water.great for honeymooners. If u can, try to rent a place at Semaphore Beach.BUT you need a car to get around.

2)Glenelg. Take the tram from the city, Victoria Square. For the more happening beach, a lot of shops. Yummylicious fish and chips.

3)Port Adelaide. There is a Sunday Morning Bazaar.Interesting place. But no public transport there. Need to drive there

4)Habourtown.Sale and CHEAP stuff.

5)Handorf.Quaint.BUT pricey.Worth a visit though.

6)Victor Harbour. You can cross over to Granite Island.Might be able to join the night tour and see fairy penguins.

To sum it up, you don't need to spend $ on tours.Adelaide is pretty easy to get around.Just rent a car, with a map on hand, you are ready to go on an adventure!

Enjoy folks!!

tesoro

Oh,just one more note...
If you want to rent a car, try not to get from the big rental companies.They are too pricey.
There is one which is rather cheap. It's in the city.
It's called "Cheapest in the City"
you can check out the number in the local phone directory

summerice

hi tesoro

thanks for all the info. When u were there is there a police game event during march?

Oh u say its a rip off...so it is very ex. we dont want to go there n then left with no choice but to pay to enjoy.

tesoro

Hi SummerIce
I don't remember there is a police game event. Could it be Clipsal 500? It's a race.
I think there is another event in summer. Some sort of funfair.I cannot remember the name of that event though.
For Kangaroo Island, I heard from my landlady that it's nothing fantastic, BUT they have beautiful rocks.Personally, I don't believe in paying to look at rocks..hehe
BTW, how long u gonna stay in adelaide?

summerice

Hi tesoro

i am thinking of going there for 2wks...if the fair dont affect we will go around mid march. If not have to replan of a new place.

tesoro

besides staying in the city itself, u might want to consider staying in North Adelaide.There are service apartments available. Personally, I feel that staying in service apartments are better as you don't need to eat out every meal.It can be very expensive if you eat out for all the meals for 2 weeks.
North Adelaide is very near the city. Maybe 5-10min bus ride away.Just for your info...All the buses "terminate" at the city.So you don't really need to worry about losing your way if you want to take the public transport.
There is 1 place that is really cosy.Think it's called Wisteria Terrace.You can check it out on the net.It's a holiday terrace house.
Anyway, if you are going for 2 weeks, i suggest u rent a car and drive up to Great Ocean Road coz 2 weeks is too long for just adelaide. You can stop at some places which I think are pretty wonderful.
1) Nelson - a small fishing town.Think the population is around 300 people.
2) Port Fairy - small town too.sells nice craft on Sundays mornings.
3)Warrnambol (something like that)- the MOST exciting town..haha...
If you are going in March, the vineyards will not "look good" coz the summer is very hot and the greens have not "recovered" yet. But you can still go to Barossa Valley or McClaren Vale.Just to get a feel of the vineyards.
What I have suggested are not the usual tourist spots but i think they are too good to be missed out.

summerice

tesoro thanks for the info. we are thinking of going to victor harbour, KI and some other places not decided yet. We plan to explore 1 place like 2 or 3 days then move on.

Really 2wks is a lot...hehehe i thought it will be too rush.

tesoro

Some suggestion, for Victor Harbour, if u go in the morning, u just need to spend 1 night there and u can move on.
Glenlg and Handorf can be a 1 day affair. so basically, if u plan your itinerary carefully, u will be able to cover pretty much in 1 week.
I drove up to Great Ocean Road when I was there, the last stop was 12 Apostles. We took a leisue drive as our "lao-pok" car cannot take the "stress" of long distance. We took 3 days 2 nights. And we stopped at many towns.And personally, i find it interesting.
U shouldn't miss out on places like Mount Lofty too.
actually,for 2 weeks, u can even take an internal flight to tasmania. Very much cheaper than to fly from Singapore.I went tassie for 7 days and I covered quite a lot.
In fact, i know there are many pple who covered tasmania and Adelaide on a 2-week tour.but it'e better if you coordinate everything on your own and not to go with any tour package.

summerice

oh...how much did u spend...but i think ur cost will be much lower right coz u have student rate? i thought internal flights are ex?

oh but my hb dont want to drive....he say if drive then he cannot enjoy the scenery.

tesoro

there are no student rates for airfare or accommodation at all. u can check the budget airlines online.
there are 2 available
1)www.virginblue.com.au
2)www.jetstar.com.au

i paid around $300AUD for a round trip from adelaide to tassie.u can start checking it out fm now coz sometimes u might not be able to get the air tix if it's too last minute. oh..1 tip..u can check out during "Happy Hour" which is sydney's time 12pm -1pm..they have special rates everyday for some flights.
it's worth a check

hmm..if yr hubby dun want to drive, then u can take the day tours then.

summerice

yup was thinking of that. we have a few options take a package tour which is like 3 or 4 days kind to fly over then after that extend our stay n join day tours. Or we can book everything on our own n fly there with or without day tours.

tesoro

if u intend to go in march, that should be the off-peak season.Should be easy to get day tours.Just go to the visitor centre in the city.and u can get tons of info from there.
the thing with package tour is that the tour becomes very "guided" and you cannot explore what you really want to see.
the choice is yours though...coz I m more of a backpacker kinda tourist and I like to explore on my own.I find package tour too restrictive,

summerice

Hi Jee25 & Tesoro,

I have made bookings already. Its true that they are having some kind of police events going on....only the main part of Adelaide is hard to find hotels, unless u want to pay a higher price. the rest of the place is o.k.

eminozy

hi there.
i lived in adelaide for 6 years. love every bit of it.,

1st off, The police thingy u talking about is THE POLICE TATOO. its police bands competition and Singapore force is one of the best there -they go there yearly and i know the conductor!

2nd Kangaroo Island is one of the last eco islands around and you can see so many wildlife its amazing.. the rocks u think is boring is called the REMARKABLES, they look like human and animals sculpture, wind erosion. They are indeed remarkable. When you are on kangaroo island and driving after hours, make sure u drive at 10km per hours..as kangaroos will jump over your cars and u see koalas walking on the track... No other place in Oz can u find this....easily. I know as i worked on the island for 3 months. Please do not run over the wildlife, we have enough roadkills as it is.

3rd. Adelaide is the city of festivals... you are bound to be in a party at all time. The jazz festivals and Womad is the most excitingh time to be at! I am an artist so I enjoy this

IF you are the sort of person who cant appreciate chill out time, impatient and are not kind to nature, this is not your place. Time sort of stand still in SOuth AUstralia. people are slow and happy.

Have fun for your honeymoon everyone.

Peace... am outta here.

summerice

Hi emilia

Thanks for letting me know the place better....hehehe i am an impatient person but i guess when i am on a holiday i dont mind the slow pace. We wont be driving...but will join the day tour when we reach there.

jee25

Hi summerice
I've also made my travel arrangements to adelaide. Will be going next week. Hope we will both have fun in Adelaide. Niway I'm juz going for 8 days. not that long. I'm still planning my itenary. hehehe..

Tks emilia for the info.Btw, I will be bringing my 2 years old daughter. Any place to recommend -aside from the zoo and clelaand wildlife park?

eminozy

cleeland is gorgeous... good choice.the beach is a good place to chill. zoo is alright. check out if they have any kids fest at the time u are going... Kangaroo island to see the nature and animals is good too. Adelaide actually appeal more to older mature people... kids wise... they are there to learn and appreciate nature i guess.. if you want crazy fun time it will be gold coast, but your daughter will be too young to remember anything!
good luck

jee25

Hi All. Juz came back from Adelaide. It gorgeous!!! HAd a fantastic time there. It's a bit pricey though... but nevertheless I strongly recommend people to holiday there. A goood place to recharge and relax.......

s__h

is S$134 per room per night for hotel considered expensive or cheap for a 4 to 5 star hotel?

fionaallen

hi Tesoro and Emilia
I am going to Adelaide for the outdoor photography shoot.

Any recommendations on some of the churches and vineyards for the shoot? Cos i will need to write in for approval even if it 's for such non-commercial
purposes.

Pls advise.

Thxs !!

I think Adelaide is one of the most scenic places I've been to in my overseas travels. The Holy Trinity Anglican Church is not only South Australia's oldest surviving church, it is also one of its more beautiful ones too

fretzie

hi, hoping to get to adelaide next year so have been busy looking at houses on the net. we would love to live near the beach, know glengl is nice but a bit out of our price range. like the look of christie beach, huntfield heights and hackham but not sure what the area is like. Only no Elizebeth in the north isn't very nice. Can anyone help?