AD Ang Pow advise needed!!!

crossie

Hi, my AD is on 6 Dec, any body can help me with the AP amount to set?

1) Jie Mei
2) Xiong Di
3) Open Door _ Gate Crash
4) Flower Girl and Page Boy
5) Boy opening car door

homama

1) Jie Mei - $8-10 angbao each from parent and in-law side each, self give S$38-50 (depending on how many sis/bro u have too)...
2) Xiong Di - same as above
3) Open Door Gate Crash - average ard $20 per sister can already, cos there's still angbao given separately from parent and in-law and extra from groom/bride
4) Flower Girl and Page Boy - $28 each
5) Boy opening car door - $28

most impt is within ur budget. jie mei and brother are afterall close friend of yours, they shld not and will not be after your angbao.

crossie

thanks mrs ho... was thinking of that initially but... my jie meis are working out some figures related to mu huby and me, such as like our unit no, our rom cert no...

so do you mean dun care what amt they asking for, just neg to the amt that we have prepared?

homama

u are referring to the gatecrash, right? ar well, it must of cos be reasonable lah.. ur hubby and brothers must have their ways to "fight" for the amount they want to give for the gatecrash.. no point the sisters ask for $8888, then u sure u want to entertain that? :p

crossie

haha... true also lahz... do you nean that for the gate crashing we just prepare an amount of average $20 per sister will be good?

homama

if u have more than 5 sisters, average ard 20-30 look good already.. not to forgot our two mothers will also give them angbao, plus u will additionally give ard $38 angbao.. it's almost $80 each for the sisters... imagine if u have 5 sisters = $400! which to me is considered a lot... cos there's too much of other little little costs for us to bear also... ;p

homama

unless u are marrying a super rich hubby, then u can perhaps bao a lot for the sisters and brothers.. if not, dun risk ur after-marriage life on bread.. this is my view..

crossie

that is why i am so concern now... worrying about a day happiness for them and months bread on us...
thanks anyway, guess already has an idea how it should be like, btw when is your AD?

homama

if they are good friends of our, they wont make us have bread after the wed...

my AD is in january 2011...

smilem

how about the auntie tat assist in tea cermony? how much angbao should we give?
is it we give or parents give to her?

crossie

haha mrs ho... mine is 'final stage' liao, left only seating arrangement and all the AP issues to be settled... only about 2 weeks more to go..

smilem > i think that auntie is normally relative of the couple if i am not wrong so my guess is just yi si yi si ok liao...

crossie

eh.. i'm not too sure either... but the auntie will be my mei po from hubby side so we are giving her about $68.. as for my side, wil be my auntie, looking at around $28

homama

think if really own relative, they wont take also... cos it's such a small issue... plus they are our eldery, dun think they will accept the money from us... but a yi shi yi shi, i think $28 is good enough.. :p

crossie

i agree with you, mrs ho.. but for my hubby side de, is also our mei po, the person who come to ti qing, gdl and also accompany my hubby on the AD to come in the morning. so was thinking to at least cover some transportation for her that's why the amy set at $68

crossie

for AD, my hubby cant fetch her after combing the hair. so the mei po will make her own way to my hubby house early in the morning lo...

crossie

erm... i heard from my grandma that it must be a pair... means if hubby not combing, i also cant comb, if nt the 1 who comb will be adult and the other still remains as kid?!!! Also my grandma added if parent didnt comb we also cant comb...

traditional!!! too much to follow...

crossie

aiya... i also duno much aby it, heard her mentioning something lydat.. anyway, my mum knows nothing abt it also... haha so.. GDL and AD, my grandma will be 'hosting' and my hubby, me and parent just follow instruction can liao.. haha

ahgirl_

hi all, other than givin AP for JM, XD, Driver, Open door, gate crash, do u all oso give to the helpers that help out at the recep area during banquet nite?
agar how much will u all give during gate crash?
cos im thinkin not to over budget too!
if give gate crash dun give them individually can ma?
they only get the gate crash money?
but then gate crash they will shared among themselves de rite the money?

chew_the_gum

Hi Happiness,

i'm also thinkig of whether should give to the wedding concierge , PG, VG, MUA..! And unsure how much to give as we've actually paid extra for them come early. (It cost us an additional of $400!each at $100!)

i'm also stuck at how much to give the XD, JM, FG & PB! we have 9pairs of XDJM & 4pair of FG&PB.
We have got them the attire to wear (Both Adults & Kids) and also giving them a treat before the AD. But till date, all stuffs were done by me & SO ourselves.. none has helped us with anything at all.. and i dont see their efforts or excitement for my wedding. esp with my JM..not even abt replying me a avail date to meet. nvr asked any questions abt the plan/wedding. really upset & frustrating lah, i still went through the process of looking up for the right materials to alter the skirts etc etc.

by the way, what do you meant by individually for gatecrash ang pao? Give 1 bigger amount for them split will do. On the otherhand, Bride will have to give them. And i think Parents have to give too? But for me, no..cos only 1 side got tea ceremony. So will not get SO parent to give bah..

rinacheong

hi caroline & happiness, actually i think give angpaos to ur means...
i did a spreadsheet of the angpaos expenditure & it was like $1.6k... of course there will be some adjustments depending on our cashflow nearer to AD. i did the spreadsheet so that i can have an estmate of the total amount on angpaos.
if u wan i can email u both the spreadsheet i did.

rinacheong

under
"tea ceremony", there are 4 blanks cos ive 2 younger sis, he has 2 younger bros, so we give them angpaos when they serve us tea.
Misc would be those younger cousins who serve us tea as well.

if u dun understand my spreadsheet let me know & i will explain.

chew_the_gum

hello Rina,

received! :) thanks alot and no worries i understand. it's pretty precise as you even indicate how many $2,$10 or $50 issued..haha :)

rinacheong

Hehe yeap!
So that I will have an idea how many notes to change & prepare for the angpaos!
Glad u found this useful..

ahgirl_

oh no!!! when i come to this page, it was too late for me to do anything cos my AD just over..
But after plus n minus we oso spent like 1K on ANgpows to all the XD, Driver, JM, Tea ceremony..
I hope both of ur ang pow will goes well... =)

fishoutofwater

hi, for jie mei, so isit a must for both sides (parents & in laws) to give ang bao? wat bout xiong di? then flower girl/page boy issit a must to have?

Can i know whats the current rate to give hongbao to various ppl involve in AD wedding as a gesture of token. dont think we shd give hotel banquet manager and staff ba since we are paying them for the wedding dinner package and they are paid salary by the hotel.

chew_the_gum

hi kitty_pretty_angel,
i doubt there is such thing as current rate. it all depends. if you have a tight budget and has a total of eg.20 bro&sis, you couldn't be giving like $68 per pax right?

for me i base on alot of factor. Sponsor clothes,their job scope, no. of bro & sis. i had quite alot of bro & sis altogether. if their job scope they need to run the extra mile, i gave abit more. but jie meis i gave lower cos they still have gatecrash. so its a matter of being fair for the guys la. cos for some jiemeis, they simply cut the groom's throat which i think is ridiculous.

and if their your good bro & sis, i dont think they mind abt the amt. they will be glad that they are part of it. but if they find that the amt is so impt, then i'm sorry. it also doesnt mean they will give you a big amt for their ang pao, right? so just give what is within your budget.

i only gave ang pao to the banquet mgr, in fact i gave 2, because the first one wasnt a big amt like $28?, but the mgr was so nice! so we decided to gave another one. :) i also gave my MUA a small token. also $28 i think. its just a tip for them.