A Venue for ROM ?

coven

hi joanne,
finally got ur date!

hasnt called lina yet ... will give her a call these 2 days!

btw, hv u checkout any of the BS yet? i went to lezen today... like wat i saw. nice and simple wg. package within budget but too bad la ... still too early to confirm on one ... anyway, :p i'm supposed to look ard :p

maiden78

hi coven,
thanks! my FH jus book david loh to solemnize for us on that day.. he sound v friendly! but me still haven confirm place leh.. stil deciding e place hehe..

me haven try e BS cos like wat u say, not intending to customary so early..me quite interested in whitelink cos their gown look v elegant n unique.. n i like sexy ones! hehe..

i wil call lina within this few days to get a trial.. wanna meet her together?

maiden78

hi ino,

haven gone to allure yet.. wil try tis weekend.. i went DY yest n found e type of toga dress i wanted.. quite affordable also.. round $149.. wil stil shop around some more then decide. btw, is it necessary to wear white or cream cos i sort of like the maroon color toga instead

wats ur dress like?

hi twinklestar,
pass by carlton yest.. v nice embience so u wil def hav a memorable rom!

coven

hi joanne,
we just confirm the venue today. noble hse. and hee ... we chged the date to 01/01/2004.

OK!! do let mi know when u're mtg lina! PM mi k?

chomecc

wow.. seems like i have not been in here for some time... something wrg with my modem.. now using hubby's pc.. hehe..

jiawen: which photos u wan to c??

Coven: Hey i had my rom at amara.. nice food... nice ambience..
i must strongly receommend..

>> hey if u r interested.. i can recommend my make up artist.. quite like what she has done for me .. think she can give u gers a trial before the actual thing.. think its set hair n make up...

>> n n n.. if u all wan a videographer.. i can recommend a reasonable n gd one.. :p

coven

hi chommecc!
yes please!! do recommend mi ur makeup artist!!
.. oh .. hee .. and her charges too!

as for the venue, already decided on Noble House. food is very good. his parents found the food great too. and .. most of all, its valued for money ... ala carte buffet. usually buffet food can be quite cheapskate .. not this one!!

:/ i hv my unhappiness with amara. they might hv nice food and ambience but i dont tolerate inefficiency (esp when u're in singapore). Promised to send mi the quotes with the menus within the 2 days when i made the call. till now ... more than 5days already. plus, i emailed them too. no response. the only response i received was a call from them on the following day to confirm my email address.

ingenue78

hi joanne,
if it's ROM, i feel that there's no "right' colour to wear. i think it's impt to wear a colour that you are comfortable in. A confident bride is a pretty bride. ;-)

As for me, i am ROM-ing in my wedding gown. My customary and ROM is on the same day. Have already booked David Loh as my JP. hehe.
My Banquet is about 2 days later...got a gold coloured EG and a purple CS...

actually u can also check out "Empire" or "The wedding present" I think they have got ROM packages as well.

maiden78

hi coven,

hav been busy workng for pass ew days.. wil call lina tom.. do u rem how much she charge for trial? anyway, y e change in date? is it bcos of auspicious date or something? by e way, oni 2 days away e previous date n somemore e date more meaningful hor?

hi chommec,
can i check wif u how much is e package for amara?

hi ino,
thanks for e advice! think wil go try e maroon one tis weekend. actaully i would love to hold rom n customary together but haven got house yet so gotta rom to apply for flat.. staying wif in-law wil b impossible cos future MIL already specify tat all her children should buy their own place after married! hehe.. wow, ur wedding is jus round e corner.. mus b very excited now rite?

PS:eek:h ya gals, any good n value for $ facial to intro?

coven

hi joanne,
trial ahh.. not sure either.
hee ... the chg in date .. nothing to do with auspiciousness .. its more of coz the buffet lunch is only avail on wkends and PH lor .. and nobody has to take leave. easier also.

a day difference is ok with mi. coz he asked mi to be his gf on 31 dec, just half an hr before the turn of 1 jan.

doremon

Hi joanne,

For Lina, the trial is FOC, only need to pay the transportation charges.

What is your budget for the facial? I am with LEonard Darke and using the brightening skin facial at $68.00 per session after 20% discount. So far, the skin shown improvement and of course the product used was dermalogical.
Even Lina have commented my skin condition improved.

maiden78

hi doremon!

ya, i am considering leonard drake too! so u pay for package or oni per session? my budget is bout $70-$80 per session... im looking more into basic facial(e blackhead extraction type)n i don like those shops whereby im force to take package!! so how come u got 20% dis? can i follow u nex time? hehe... for skin brightening i wil wait til las mth b4 rom so can keep my face in tip top condition for make up..

i tried calling lina jus now but no ans.. gotta try again. v nice of her to foc for trial leh.. cos most pp always charge at least 1/2 e actaul price for trial.. she mus b v popular!

hi coven,
since doremon mention tat lina 's trial is foc.. im more determine to get her leh!

hehe.. i think most of us wil get rom dates that r memorable n meaningful in our lifes so i totally agree wif u! my current rom date originate from e date of our anniversary in lunar calender.. i was searching for a nice date till my head BIG BIG liao.. cos our original anni date, my mum say not auspicious! luckily this current date my mum happy with it! i mention to u b4 about my mum rite? HENG AH! hehe..

we jia you in our prep for our big day yah!

limy

I am new to this thread and would like to seek advice from all. I am looking for a place to hold my solomization in Sept 2005. We are expecting about 20 to 30(max) guest and are on very tight budget. Armara was out for us cos quite ex. Does anyone has any suggestion?
Thanks a lot!

yamiyogurt

hi limy,

u can consider Bboss @ Istana Park, their lunch menu is abt S$10 per person. but they might charge extra if u r holding ur soleminsation there as well.

Or u can book a chalet n then cater food? alternatively, u can hold it in a condo function room. :p

limy

Hi yami,

where can I find more information on Bboss? By the way where exactly is it?

I am holding my customary and solomization on the same day...so will go from my parents house to an outdoor site to solomize. Was thinking of doing it in my FH's hse but my parents and relative find it weird for them to have to go to groom's hse on customary day...so gotta find a neutral place...

To make matter worse, our budget is only $400 and below...
so most hotels cannot make it...

yamiyogurt

here's BBoss info/details:

Company Name : Bboss Brasserie Pte Ltd
Address : 31 Orchard Road ISTANA PARK Singapore 238888 [ MAP ]
Tel : 63392327
Fax : 63396757

seriously $400 will be a bit tight for outside venue....depending on how many guests u have. u can do it at the place u holding dinner. ask ur guest to come earlier for the soleminsation
or u can do it during the dinner itself.

limy

Thanks a lot Yami! I'll drop by this sat & discuss the details with them.

Due to the limited auspicious dates we were given, we had a hard time agreeing on the date we both liked and available to hold dinner in the hotel we want. So we decide to doing our solemnization and chinese ceremony on one day and dinner on another day...but according to the si fu, the dinner night itself is not suited for signing document...

I am thinking of other public places like botanic gardens where they don't charge fees...but there aren't much inform within the forum...

yamiyogurt

limy, no prob, we r here to share info.

i think botanic gardens might need to pay charges too....rental of parks. maybe u can visit the national parks website n see see.....

mooks

hi limy, the usage of bandstand in botanical gdns is foc. however, they are having construction along the path -rather unsightly. the other venue would be burkill hall, rental charge abt 3k. u can check the nat parks website for the rate.

limy

hi garden,

Hurrr...
bandstand renovation..

I didn't put burkill under consideration cos too ex...with that price can go hotels to have garden theme solemnization and still have $ left...but thanks for the info

I'll probably drop by botanic gardens this sat too and take a look...will check with them when revo will complete and if there are other alternatives....

ger11

im having my rom at 28/02/05
im planning of having my lunch buffet at carlton hotel, there will be ard 40pax.
anyone got any ideas of the quote?

im having my solemnise at Rom, then headed to the hotel, now im thinking of the transportation to the hotel.
pls help....

Hi Limy,
U might also consider St.Gregory's Brasserie & Courtyard at Grand Plaza Parkroyal hotel.
Per pax will cost $28.90, UOB credit card holder will entite to 20% discount.
Calculation of 20 pax, will be slightly out from your budget. But you can hold your solemnisation at the Hotel's mini waterfall.
Quite a nice place.

halia

Yeah, I just called up St Greg's as Jennifer suggested. Will prob pop by this weekend to take a look. The prices are cheap, but your guests will be sharing the buffet line with other patrons at the restaurant, thus not as exclusive. They serve Lunch on weekdays at 25+++ and Tunch on weekends at 22+++.
Question: Has anyone had their function at Halia restaurant at the Botanic Gardens? Would appreciate any comments/feedback!

pukka

Hi! I am a newbie here. Planning to have my solemnisation cum lunch in a garden or pool side view.Any reconmendations?Budget around $600 per table,est. of 20-30 tables.Btw, any suggestions on bridal boutique packages with affordable price? A bit rush as holding the wedding in coming march.

smileybride2be

Hi Pukka, m new too...just posted my first msg mins ago in another thread. Booked ROM package with Amara Hotel for onli S$999 (30pax) last week....u r inviting so many to ur solemnisation? Mine is on 3rd March =) When's urs? (Happy New Year)

crazygal

Hello Everyone, I'm new here, and realli happy to find this webpage.

I oso facing pblm of finding a nice plc for my ROM, hopefully i can find all the info i want.

Right nw, i'm really blur...hehe

I intend to hold my ROM in sept, is it too early to get ready cos i havent realli finalise the date?

newgirl

Hi Doris,
I'm new here too... will be holding my ROM in june...
i started preparing in late nov... haha oso kiasu.. but i tink if free now.. can start looking out so tat won be too rush lata...
I'll be holding mine @ amara... if u r interested, i can pass you the contacts..

crazygal

Hi smileybride

Juzt want to chk wif u, u saying tat amara quote u $999, wat is included in the package???

I sure will hv more than 30 pax...realli headache

newgirl

Hi crazygal,
I oso took the ROM package with Amara.. oso $999 package..
is for 30 pax buffet lunch, additional pax is $45 each. include a nite stay (w/o breakfast), 1 VIP carpark, waiver of corkage for sealed & duty paid hard liquor...free flow of soft drinks....
hope it's useful..: )

crazygal

Hi Newgirl,

So u are using their function rm or garden, etc???

Frankly speaking, I'm not the sure wats the max to spend for a ROM, hehe???

newgirl

Hi Crazygirl,
I'll be using their poolside garden..
I'll be having ard 40-50 guests... my est budget 4 the whole ROM is ard 3k - 4k.. (including wedding bands, make-up, dress etc...)

hmm.. oso wonder whether is too much or not? if can cut, even better.. sigh..

anyway, my cordinator(Amara) is Michelle...
u may wan to give her a call @ 68792573 to ask for their quotes...
She's a very friendly person

crazygal

thanks newgirl...

frankly speaking, i oso dunno leh....right nw plan is to ROM in sept..so i tink still gt time to search..hehe

bubbles_79

my rom is on 09.09.2005. we are now looking for a place that we can hold the soleminzation as well as offers lunch buffet for our guests. Our budget is about $25ppax(30 pax). Any one have any recommendation? Thanks..

moonlight00

Hi hi ^.^
Am new ard here...tinking of renting a yacht 4 mi rom....wondering if anione cares to share your contacts/experience with me (if any)? Hv actualli shortlisted Fantasy cruise but hv absolutely no idea if it'll b good. Anione with experience to share? Thanks loads! V(^o^)V

crazygal

hi jamie,

my budget is the same as u cos i will hv abt 70 pax, so if u manage to find one gd place, do let me noe, i'm still looking around. thanks

hamgu

Can anyone tell me the procedure for ROM?
Isit to get a date 1st or what?
Anyone of you planning to ROM and customary on the same day?

ublur

I will b having my rom at the Gazebo Lawn in Raffles hotel. Do check it out cos i personally find tt it's a very nice n romantic place.. hop down during the wkend esp if there's a solemisation taking place in the Lawn.. u all will sure love it...

qiqi09

Personally i'm also interested in a Outdoor Solemnisation... me thinking of holding my solemnisation in Dec. There is a few places i want to share with u all.

1. Goodwood park ($38-$40 per pax for hi-tea, $48-$55 per pax for lunch min 25 pax)
2. Marriot (Dinner $68.8 per pax min 80pax)
3. Trader Hotel $45 to $50 per pax min 100 pax
4. Carlton Hotel ($1120+++ max 30pax additional pax is $30)
5. Amara ($999nett-hightea, $1288nett-lunch, max 30pax, additional pax is $35-hightea, $45-lunch)

crazygal

hi qiqi09,

the places that u recommend all hv good comments, which oso makes me feel like choosing one of them to hold my solemnisation thr, but than its all nt within my budget cos i hv abt 70 pax after rough calculation, so it will add up to few Ks, which i feel is abit expensive for ROM.. :0)

do u hv any other recommendations??

qiqi09

Hi Crazygal,

I went to search the web again today n found one tat is relatively cheaper as compared.

It is at Stardus.... for a high tea, it is $28 per guest (stardus member) $31 (SDU member) and $34 for non-member.

qiqi09

Hi Crazygal,

I went to search the web again today n found one tat is relatively cheaper as compared.

It is at Stardus.... for a high tea, it is $28 per guest (stardus member) $31 (SDU member) and $34 for non-member.

crazygal

wow, non members will be $34...tats rather expensive to me...haha...

well, i'm tinking of holding my ROM in sept 05, so shld hv some more time to search around...

do kip me update of any great deals...thks

crazygal

Is it for 30pax???

hv anyone try Furama???

actually piglet, whats your budget for ROM??? And how many pax are u inviting???

qiqi09

i'm still not sure how many pple to invite.. think ard 2-3k for the rom including everything...

there is no max for furama

crazygal

well, same here...hehe...my budget ard thr too...well, for me, the dates are nt confirm yet, so i oso dun dare to realli prepare anything, at the moment, juz chk ard for good deals and look at all the infos on the good and bad...