A Venue for ROM ?

chlorin

hi sweetcute,
perhaps u can look in the messages posted abv for more details???

seashell

hi sweetpie

u can also check out Pasta Fresca Sailing Club at East Coast. The place is beautiful at night and can hold max 1000 pax. U can email to [email protected] for enquiry. Food is abt $30-$40 per pax.

Seashell

joanhon

Hi chlorin,

i am having the same problems as sweetcute...juz booked the ROM date but thought of changing to hotel instead. Can u send me the information of the hotel rendezvous and the procedures of changing of venue to [email protected]

Thanks a lot

shirsweetiepie

Will there a penalty charge, shld we booked the date, & then changed the venue for solemnization then???

Tks in advance!

chlorin

hi joanhon,
sori 4 the late reply, has just emailed u liao...

HI shirsweetiepie,
for any changes, its $15, so its better u made all changes at one shot & pay $15 rather than pay $15 for each change u made at different days...

joanhon

hi chlorin,

tks for your email..i have received it...

In factm, i have got a quotation from Hotel Rendezvous. But it is buffet lunch at 35+++ per pax...

chlorin

hi joanhon,
the menu for lunch & hi-tea is a difference of $10 becos of the items, and thats the standard price.

I played cheap & ordered the hi-tea as lunch for my guests, as the items are quite filling, with fried noodles, fried chix wings, fried carrot cake, assorted dim sum, mini sandwiches, spring rolls, assorted fruits. Thats more than enough & the dim sum was gone in the shortest time.

U can try to negotiate a lower price or exclude some items from the menu.
Either way, try to negotiate with them, i believe most of the hotels does leave some room for negotitaion..

def

Hi Chlorin ,

My ROM is next feb . But the day is fully booked ,

Need your help to see whether you have any contact on the grassroots leader who help those who solem . outside ROM premises .

def

chlorin

hi def,
i assume tat u need a JP to solemnize ur marriage outside ROM premise?
unfortunately i didn't keep the list of JP with me so maybe u can find the list somewhere in here or ask Chin Leng abt it?
hope tis helps...

et

Need some helps from u. I'm holding my solemnisation early next year and would like to have a meaning ful and memorable one which my hubby-to-be and I can have sweet memory down the road. Had checked out on cruise but there is a condition which i don't think we can fulfil ie to have at least 5 cabin bookings. Have anyone hold their ROM at botanic garden or Mt Faber or Jurong Hill or cable car b4? How's about zoo and bird park? Pls help.. If yes, how do I go about it? Do u have any other suggestions?

serene

hi...

i am currently looking out for places for hold the solemnisation. Hi Tea or lunch inclusive...
Have found one at the Alkaff Mansion... seems pretty far for guests... Anyone been there b4? is it nice? Or is there other similar places? any suggestions girls?

thanks.....

sakura

I am also looking out for places to hold my solemnisation - preferably outdoors. For alkaff mansion, how is the cost like?

I checked out other threads...seems Oaks Grill and Bar is quite a good choice too. Dun mind more suggestions too from the people here.

Thanks much!

tortoise

Hi Sakura,

Alkaff mansion charges $32+++ for the Hi-tea but they will advise you to set up a marquee in case of bad weather and that itself will cost $800. I think not worth it. If you add that $800 into the cost, you could easily get a hotel ballroom.

Me too, looking for a venue. Try emailing the hotels and they will be glad to send you their proposals. You can even fix appointment to go down and take a look.

shl

Has anyone had their ROM in Beaufort Sentosa ?
Any idea on the charges for lunch or high tea in a private function rm ?

blubysim

Want to know more info about Hotel Rendezvous.
My estimated budget less than $800 catering to abt 30-40pax. Is that possible? Please advise.
Thanx

V

viclin

I just attended one ROM reception few days agao, can check out the ROM package offer by Carlton Hotel, total package at $800.00+++ for 30 persons, either high tea or buffet lunch, package included of 1 nite stay in their premier room , breakfast + champagne...very worth it, you can choose to do your ceremony at swimming pool , they called it cabanas area...can call up the wedding consultant 6311 8183.

boo

hi viclin,
i attended one a few days ago at carlton hotel too, is urs the buffet or high tea? mayb we went to the same one haha...
hmm... do u think we know each other?

seabreeze

Hi Viclin and boo,

Was the food at Carlton hotel good? You had lunch or high-tea?

I spoke to the wedding consultant and find that everything seem quite good ... just concern abt the quality of the food only ... seem that lunch more worth it heehee ....

silver

I am planning to have outdoor wedding - rom + dinner together next yr too. Still sourcing for places - any recommendations??

If you gals are looking at ROM n tea reception, consider Republic of Singapore Yacht Club at West Coast Ferry Rd. Very nice place and they are charging $30+ per pax. You can visit their website at http://www.rsyc.org.sg/ I actually wanted to have mine there but for their outdoor the max is only 80pax....

Hello everyone,

After looking thru the threads, i still cannot decide where am i going to hold my ROM...

running out of ideas...

i have gone to seen The oaks n grill bar. I must compliment the event organizer for being so helpful...Their package is really value for money...
however, i dun quite like their 'garden'...
so must continue in search of my 'dream' place...

budget is a constraint here...

Anyone here with any recommendations??
Did hear about Mount Faber...Anyone know who can i call??

piyo

Hi Postpet2,

We went hunting around for a suitable ROM venue a few months back, & would like to share with u our experience. The ROM venue depends greatly on your preferences, food & budget. If u're looking at outdoor venues, u'll have to contend with the hot sun & possibly rain. Also, there may be distractions like insects & strong winds which may make your reception difficult. For us, we wanted an indoor area for comfort, yet we didn't want a typical enclosed function room as that would be too 'seminar' like. For ROM, our preference is somewhat a more open-concept, yet with the comfort of air-conditioning.

piyo

Oaks is quite okay with pricing except that u'll lose out on the exclusiveness of your event. The Bar won't be totally closed for your event, and that means u have to contend with people walking up & around when your reception is on. Also, the layout of the place is not very conducive for such a event, with all e pillars & table arrangements.

For hotels, most function rooms are fully-enclosed and private. If u dun mind the 'seminar' feeling, there's a lot of hotels (not along Orchard belt) that can give u a good bang for your buck.

For speciality restaurants, there's quite a few options, depending on the type of food & budget. U may have to deal with less exclusiveness as it's unlikely the entire restaurant will be blocked off for u. What u could do is to check out the private rooms or upper levels of the restaurants.

Mount Faber is an interesting place for ROM, but u have to remember that non-driving guests will have problems reaching your venue.

Hello piyo,

thanks for your kind advice...
i had tot of that initially and was thinking of compromising by holding the short ceremony in the open(some nice garden) or some sort, before proceeding for makan in the airconditioned place...that's y i had looked at oaks initally...cos they are able to do so...

currently, i had asked for quotes from Father Flanagan in Chijmes...anyone had heard or had theirs there??

The organiser say, it may be possible to have it outside their fountain area or perhaps on Chijmes ground....this sounds good leh..
but i've yet to see the place and talk to them further..
so wanna ask you ladies here...any experience with them??

silver

Hi postpet2,
Sorry never heard of father flanagan.

HI Piyo,
I am also in the mids of looking for location. Perahps you can share with us your findings. Any ideal outdoor you found?

piyo

Hi Silver & postpet2,

An ideal venue greatly depends on your preferences & your idea of ROM. So whether a place is gd or not is rather subjective.

As for holding the ceremony in an open space then moving into air-con for food, it's also an idea we've considered. However, u gotta be careful of wet weather. If it rains, your open area have to be sheltered. When it's sheltered, it has to be sheltered enough to prevent rain from coming in from the sides. Also, it may be a little dark & noisy during a heavy downpour, something I believe u wouldn't want on such an occasion. holding it indoors will be a safer bet as even if it pours, u have a decent quiet place to say your vows & sign the certificate in peace. It is the reasons why we went around hunting for hotel seminar rooms with open-concept. There's not many hotels with such an option, but u can always call every one up & ask if they had an open view seminar room. Perhaps at least a ceiling-to-floor window on 1 side of the room.

mexx

hi postpet2,

U might want to check out Viet Lang at Chijmes. It's a vietnamese restaurant. I got an ROM quote from them for set lunch at around $20+++. They have private function rooms to be used too i think the capacity for each is around 40-50. You can contact Vernette Tan at TEL: 6336 7618 FAX: 6766 0508 for more details.

I haven't tried the food there though... so dunno whether it's good.

silver

postpet2,
Ve you visited or spoken to the person in charge of Chijmes?

Has anyone here attended or planning your wedding at Chijmes Hall or Fort Canning? Any comments or feedback?

not yet..my previous suggestion of father flanagan has been shot down by my FH...
hehee....

Silver: i've attended a wedding at Chijmes hall...that was sometime ago at the main hall...
very very beautiful...the painted glass effect very nice...mine was a afternoon session..
some say nite also not too bad....

u thinking of having your wedding there...think they have a ruling to cater from their authorised caterers only...

silver

Hi postpet2,
I am actually considering Raffles Marina, chijmes, fort canning (but no reply from them yet), GCW and perhaps hotel poolside. Saw Chijmes's setting in one of the website very nice leh. Ya ve to rent the place and cater from their list of caterers otherwise there will be surcharge. One of the caterers is Kriston - I think their food not bad rite? Anyone ve tried b4?

My ideal is actually Raffles Marina but pretty concern if it rains, it will spoil everyone. Chijmes looks very nice, rather diff from usual hotels and with shelter so considering that too but ve yet to go down to take a look.

silver

postpet2,
Btw, the one you attended is buffet or usual set lunch? How you find the food?

Just one question, if you gals are been invited to Chijmes for wedding, how much ang bao will you give? Cos usually for outdoor people tends to think it's cheaper. So wondering does that applies to Chijmes too?

Hello Silver,

I attended a lunch church wedding...BTW, that was some time ago...

I gave a gift then...

normally, outdoor is like that lor...pple will tend to 'bao' a smaller packet...

silver

Hi postpet2,
Ya that's wat I realised that. But I am thinking of inviting close relative and close friends only. Hopefully they will be more zhi dong

How abt the rest of the gals here? Any similar experience?

marrying_at_chijmes

FYI, actually chijmes is not cheap. Rental is 2k+ and catering from the official caterers start from $24/person for standing cocktail reception. This is excluding floral decoration for the hall... All in all, expect to spend at least $5-6k for a church wedding/ROM.

Hello Silver,

Yeah...expensive place lah..Raffles hotel..

actually, over the weekend, i had talked to the WP. i told him that i dun want something elaborate..

so he suggested buffet at the martini bar(i think) and can use the small cosy area that faces the green.
not too bad idea...you can consider that too.

the buffet is about $49+++ i think...but got oysters, prawns..the usual lah

Have you got yours yet??

chomecc

I read thur this chat with interest.. i am going to get ROM this June and I will be having my solemnisation at Amara Hotel. I actually made enquires at Beaufort, Rasa, Carlton, fig leaf, changi beach club, york hotel etc. But the staff at Amara hotel is really very helpful and accomodating and the price is really good. They even give me a room for a night. I will really like to recommend Amara Hotel to make your ROM meaningful. In any case, if u need any details on the other locations, i can send it to u gers.