A smoke-free Singapore?

stanzza

LOL~ I saw that in germany and thailand (airport I think).

Never been to Japan. Yeah, that's a good idea that can be adopted.

I wish we could talk about how to deal with animal abuse and terrorism, etc, instead of smoking, which is not a fraction as scary.

stanzza

Milo,

I hate haze, I hate vehicles that emit excessive smokes. I hate everything that pollute our air.

Those are banned as well. Yeah so why not? I bet Sg govt would ban haze if they could.

"wah...doll....u wanna deal with terroism ?

got CIA and FBI already. how u want to contribute ?"

Kent, I don't know if you can be forgiven for being stupid. You don't read news??? Many a time the authorities were tipped off by informants and man in the street on terrorist activities.

Stanzza, u can ban the haze meh? We really don't own the air. Policies can be pushed to improve the situation. Not the irrational emotions towards smokers. That doesn't contribute to improving the situation at all.

Complain and complain also no use one.

clark

doll...maybe not,

but either call me clark or superman.

i cannot forgive you for calling me kent.

(p/s if you insist on this, call me Mr. kent - manners lah)

why don't u get off your pulpit may? nobody owes you an explanation nor do they need to feel embarrassed for their indulgence. who cares what you think? how much is your pound of rats ass?

clark

wah say....tomasulu, dun mess with sambal belchan unless u have the stomach for it.

RED HOT !

Dun say superman never warn you !

kittenpie

hmmmm .... im still waiting for your witty come-back, tomalasu.

hey, where's it?

come on, im waiting...

i gave you face by responding to your comment addressed to me. you love to talk talk talk right? why dont you talk to me now?

"Doll, there is nothing to forgive... Stupidity is inborn."

Kent's stupidity isn't inborn but a result of degeneration caused by not using his brain.

Doll... how would you know? It could be inherited.

What can you expect when he bonds with his MIL in bed? MF has nothing better to do than dig crap.

too much cartoon. tsk tsk...

What kind of superman takes daily walk as exercise? from old folks home?

Milo, because no one is born stupid but many who appear stupid now is a result of being too lazy to use their brain.

clark

even though i am superman, i dun have to fly off everytime in my underwear right ?

When trouble calls, superman will answer.

Forrest Gump is my friend. He also say Chocolates ok but Milo is a definite NO NO ! Dun say superman never tell you.

kittenpie

yooohooo ... tomalasu .... where are you? do i have to get the pest buster to fumigate you from where you are hiding?

for the longest time i have been ignoring you ... you have been going around the threads saying things to no one in particular, probably thinking you are very witty or outrageous or something. sometimes you try to engage me, get my attention. but i dismissed you like the senile and garrulous old man you probably are.

but today, since you thought that you could be the hero here and be a (gay) knight in shining armour for smokers, i thought i could have a bit of fun with you putting a dent in your armour of shining crazy.

why dont you come out of your gutter now and spread a bit of your bubonic plague? let's have a verbal slam-dunk shall we, tomalasu you overaged asshole.

clark

hmmmm.....overaged asshole...that must be a result of drinking too much milo.

to summarize, Milo cause you to be fat, ugly and have an overaged asshole.

kittenpie

nothing wrong with Milo lah. except that he's got a mind as straight as an arrow and likes to argue about bohliao things. stop teasing him. he can't take it.

people with children - who sit near or at the designated smoking tables and thus try to impose their silly "niceties" on nearby smokers - are self-invited to get bashed, if you ask me.

in such circumstances, who the fcuk cares abt 'fresher air' and whatnots, when you think only non-smokers should be in the first priority.

as many as there are inconsiderate and selfish smokers elsewhere, people who hate smokers for their habit are also smugs to a certain extent.

clark

You are obviously someone who is not a parent or married.

If you are, speaking like this shows how immature and irresponsbile you can be. If you are not, u are just a overaged asshole.

You must drink a lot of milo too.

Sambal Belachan, i am sure u are going to have a field day with this clown. He / She is all yours !

stop acting like some smart-alec when you are obviously a blardy clown

superman? more like his asshole.

kittenpie

clark,

you dont make me sound like im crazy or what lah.

i dont hit at just anybody. i only hit at idiots and then only during moments when they are wrecked by their epileptic fits.

clark

between overaged asshole and Kryptonian asshole. i will choose the latter.

beware of my kryptonian farts. specially reserved for clowns like you who drink milo.

stanzza

"in such circumstances, who the fcuk cares abt 'fresher air' and whatnots, when you think only non-smokers should be in the first priority."

Precisely it is this sorta inconsiderate and bo chap mentality that a ban is warrant. Got to be controlled by govt.

all the unnecessary rage against smokers is going crazily nowhere.

i mean, wtf?

designated non-smoking zones outside commercial buildings and bus stops/taxi stands, designated smoking tables, ban on smoking in pubs/clubs/etc.

still kpkb because of a few black sheeps. hate smokers, my non-smoking children this and that.

wtf do you smart alecs want further?

stanzza

Clark

dun pollute the air we breath and intoxic us with your fart. Air is bad enough w the haze and cigarettes =p

clark

haha....roger that sir !

That's why i say only vios deserve it ! i will chumpo with milo and let vios 'have' it. i very considerate one. This is a special carbonated cocktail.

i call it Milo Poo Pi Pi.

Our attitudes clearly reflect who we are.

Intolerant, self-righteous..

and what is the continuous teasing about the Milo drink.

Such childish immature taunting that goes on and on.

As I have said my piece. The proposal is not practical.. not because of the economics but because making it more difficult or illegal won't stop smoking. Smoking is not at the same level as drugs - so let's be realistic.

I would see more and more restrictions and yes, even designated smoking areas - these should be enough.

We live in a city in which we are in close proximity - consideration on both sides are required - smokers and non-smokers.

kent/clark/clown/super-asshole

you are only looking like a fool when you try to post for the sake of stirring shit and drink it yourself, don't you get it

stanzza

"As I have said my piece. The proposal is not practical.. not because of the economics but because making it more difficult or illegal won't stop smoking."

SM, economic says whenever there is a demand, there would be a supply. Govt intervention such as ban would always result in a black market emerging for the goods.

What u say is known. Still, banning works to a great effect that's y all govt are still banning stuff.

You deny access to the product easily. Cigarettes would probably become much more expensive.

stanzza

And public policy is not all about money. It is different from business so put on a different cap. Ideally, govt would wanna implement policy that is of public benefit while generating revenue at the same time.

When they have to choose 1 outta 2, they choose public benefit. This is what's great abt Sg govt.

Stanzza,

So you wanna bet if government will ban cigarette for those born after 2000?

I say, NEVER. In in my life-time. Unless there is an alternative in the future.

So if it is not going to happen, you can wish all you can.. it will not be fulfilled.

Taxes on tobacco is useful revenue. Almost a billion dollars in 2010. This is more than 25% of the budget for healthcare.. And the negative impact? I mean smoking is already severely restricted - its impact curtailed - it is really a win-win situation right now..

If you ban it, the revenue is gone. Cigarettes will be much more expensive.. and it the profit will be for those who will smuggle them in.

kittenpie

there is such a thing called necessary evil and cigarettes are one of it.

yes, i agree with SM and doubt that there will ever be a ban. unless we can invent something to replace cigarettes in its addictiveness and poseur-appeal and i do not know what that could be