A Simple Wedding - Anyone

coxi07

wow.. ladies... i am having very similar problems!! saw your discussion, but there was so much to follow... so i might ask the same questions again... hope you don't mind.

I am a very modern, Christian bride. To fulfill the elders - our grandparents, we will be holding a banquet.

I won't have gate crash, only tea ceremonies at my fiance's grandparents' home and then for my family before the banquet at our hotel, in our suite's living room (Goodwood Park).

Our parents are modern too. So, we are equally lost at what to expect for traditions.

1. My grandma said must have GDL. But my parents are taking it easy. Leave it to us to decide. they said they will take whatever my fiance's side gives. My MIL said she also doesn't know. Probably 4-dian jin & cakes (teochew) and ang bao. Problem is... How much to give? And how to give since our parents are so modern? Can we just meet over a meal for my MIL to give?

2. We have a very restricted maximum number to tables. Just our close friends and immediate families up to grandparents are closed to max. In this case, we might not invite our parents' uncles and aunties... if that's the case, do we give them cakes? or we give only to those who will be invited?

3. On AD, he will come to my home to fetch me... no fanfare - no gatecrash (lucky him)... and then to his grandparents' place and his mother's home. in this case... do we need children to open door?? we do not have.. erm children!! haha.. my fiance said he wants to open his own door. I asked my parents.. they said.. don't know! haha... it should be ok right?

4. i am having sit-down chinese 8-course dinner. how can i maximise my time for interaction with guests? if i don't do yum seng... ok right? also, i'll do wedding dance at second march-in..

5. do you think i can replace table shots with something else?? any suggestions? i'd like more time with my guests...

oopsie.. turned out longer than expected... haha... i am trying to simplify everything...

thanks...!!

harbingerg

hi everyone!
im super new to this forum thing, so juz a shoutout to say 'hello' to all sg brides

im getting married Nov 2010, and have some questions to ask... sorry if its repeated somewhere else, but im having a headache from the barrage of information! :p

- when is a gd time to start REALLY planning? (i.e. looking at venues, invite cards, etc)
im currently studying a MSc as well as doing full-time job, so will grad end of 2010 (*vomit blood liao*). i would like to plan as much as possible when i have time, but right now most price plans are until mid-2010 or so.

- we're pretty tight on budget, abt 10k? is it really possible to hold one within this budget, that includes a tea ceremony, ROM and simple dinner?? it doesnt have to be a banquet, but we'd like it to be a good alternative lah...

- i've checked out country clubs (love the scenery!) cos i've heard they're gd for budget weddings (and dun seem too shabby!) but the dinner packages are just as hefty, min like 6-7K for dinner. if so, then i'm left with like 4k for ROM and bridal gown, makeup etc.... not that die die must fit into a 10k budget, but just working out the sums heehee...

whilst i understand that wedding is a once-in-a-lifetime affair (this statement is a killer!! whoever came up with this is a marketing genius, just like 'Diamonds r forever'...) i really dun wish to empty out lifetime savings for this one day, since we all know got like house lah, baby lah, possible loss of job (touch wood!!) hahaa....

thanks guys for ur help!

coxi07

han bl....

It is possible to do a nice wedding for that budget. Just have a minimalist theme that promotes a joyous and celebratory ambience.

I have some recommendations.

- I recommend you Precious Moments Bridal for their affordable & nicey bridal gowns & make up etc... my package did not include photography, so i can't tell u how much they charge for a full package.Discuss with them. They are really nice people. Mine costs less than $2K for everything. Too many to list.

- For dinners... there's no need to hold yours at hotels or country clubs.

Hold at restaurants. There are many nice restaurants that do not charge sky high rates for celebrations like that. It's also good to hold at restaurants such as Restaurant 1827 etc. And you could opt to serve Butler Style buffet instead. This promotes maximum interaction wtih your guests. Keep your guest numbers down too. This can help you keep your costs down.

- You can also do lunch instead of dinner. Or just have a few tables for private dining with very close family members & friends. Or a poolside wedding party at one of the hotels - can be quite affordable too.

- For photography, if you are on budget, there's a whole list of good & inexpensive ones. I think David from Foto-U is good too. But, photography is really subjective, so do browse their profiles.

Check out affordable photogs:
http://www.tsangstudios.com/rates.html (Kenneth)
http://www.foto-u.com/Home.html (David)

If you are not particular about videography, you can get a friend to help. Just borrow a handycam. My friend knows a videographer who charges cheaply. But I lost the link and she's on maternity leave. So, if I do have info, i could post it here for u.

- Keep your itinerary simple too. E.g. do everything at the restaurant - tea ceremony etc. Then you do not even need a transportation - cost saving again.
A cab ride or two cost only $50 + at most in Singapore!

Useful website:
http://woyaojiehunle.blogspot.com

Hope it helps!

coxi07

oh.. alternatively, you could also hold your wedding at the Burkill Hill (i think it's how it's called) at botanical gardens...

suggestion:
- fetch bride
- proceed to burkill hill
- walk down the aisle
- solemnise (ROM)
- walk out of the place
- proceed for a tea reception: buffet is good (you can have affordable and really good buffet.. e.g. from Marmalade Pantry)
- Eat, drink, be merry
- End of wedding

This will be simple enough for you and i don't think that will burst your budget. You can still have a once-in-a-lifetime moment.
Who says you need to spend a lot for this moment. Important thing is, you both must enjoy and be happy.

The other place you can try is Bacchus Boathouse, near Fullerton Hotel. They are also a wine bar or distributor. So, you can work out a drinks list with them. Also try Friends @ Jelita / Serangoon.

mille0702

Hi Cindy,
Mine also a small wedding with our immediate family members & close friends with sit down lunch at Shangri-la Hotel.
We also dont have gate-crashing.We will not want "yum seng".We will used "cheers" & toast with all the friends & thats it.
How many tables you have?

mille0702

Cakes only give to bride's side relatives & those friends whom you wont be inviting to your wedding,but yet you want them to know you're getting married.

coxi07

hi michelle.. i see.. i'll be having max 35 tables. but if we let them know we are getting married but not inviting them, isn't that offending?

harbingerg

wah thanks for the info cin! very helpful, i feel quite relieved now. might need to have chinese dinner cos my future FIL wants one haha, whereas my side don't need one (say only, who knows last min change mind hee).

coxi07

true.. chinese dinner.. then have at restaurants with small number of tables lor. ;)

oh.. once nice place for chinese food - esp the roasted crispy skin chicken.. is Hilltop Restaurant in Bukit Batok. It's some Civil Service Club, i think. the place is not nice, but the food is commendable at reasonable prices. ;)

by the way.. how did you change your nickname???

harbingerg

haha i went to profile, n edited my name!

wondering abt gown now...its still early la but i have specific requirements like not too low-cut and cover left shoulder...hope to have a toga-like gown then, but im short and scared toga/off-shoulder will go out of style LOL

coxi07

hey! my outdoor gown is a toga style gown! haha... it has a sash flowing from the right shoulder too. i love it.

i wanted to wear it for my solemnisation but my bridal studio, Precious Moments said it is outdoor gown.. so may not look presentable for solemnisation. cos outdoor gown's used for photo-taking in water, mud etc. haha..

but i think toga/off-shoulders are nice and more unique. many gowns are either tube or mandarin colour halter.

my own wedding gown is a princessy spagh strapped ball gown. ^^ it has a low-v neckline.. but i love the corset-style back. lovely!

mille0702

Hi Cin,
If you dont want to invite those friends,but u afraid that you give them the cakes & let them know that u are getting married & didnt invite them for your wedding banquet.U can tell them urs is a cozy wedding,only family members & close friends.When you told them,small & cozy,they will get ur hints & know that u wont invite too many guests.

xiaodingtang

I would like to check how is the budget like for a simple wedding dinner? As im planning my AD end of next yr but kind of lost

1) Restaurant - table for about 10-12tables
2) Photoshoot/Makeup/Hairdo/Gown - Bridal or DIY better?

dandelion16

Hi Snoopy Dog, I am having ROM this Oct, AD next year so also looking out for budget places and thought abt Qianxi. Can you share what made u decide on the one at Farrer Park? The service or food better there?

kelle

Hi Wendy,I browse through the forum abt Qianxi's comments n went through their website. Before deciding Qianxi, I collected many quotes from hotels n restaurants, comparing this n tat. Feel that is really a hassle, as I m looking really for a budget n my miniumum tables is around 10 (nt many places can accomodate tis).. N Qianxi can do this..

N Torrence (Qianxi sales director) served mi n my hubby when we go down n take a look. (b4 going down, somehow already decide there is my venue). Torrence is nt so pushy as others n the place there made me feel comfortable, a feeling in the start... Maybe tat the reason I chose there.. As food wise, I nt so worry as the serving there is big n nt so bad..

Hope it helps..

thiasy

My wedding considered a simple one. Only having a church wedding, followed by a wedding lunch.

To cut costs, I took up a JB package for my pre wedding(which is practically half price) with quite good quality.

As for my AD, I have chosen Ilford images (AD + VG = $1300)

Can look at http://www.ilfordimages.com

antzc

Can you tell me how you convince ur parents not to invite ur relatives but juz close frens and immediate family? I had a hard time trying to convince my mum. Wanted to invite just immediate family, close frens and colleagues only.

Can anyone share with me the tips to go abt convincing parents on not inviting relatives? Thanks a zillion!!

katrise

Hihi!

It's nice to know that there are other brides who are doing things simple. Originally, my parents also said they don't need to exchange money or gifts. However, my mum went to chat with our neighour and all of a sudden, she wants money, gifts and cakes!

I am at a loss for words!!!

yatani

My wedding will be in Botanical Garden Burkill Hall..tea ceremony followed by ROM.and dinner receptions..Im catering buffet at Burkill itself, so eveythin will take place in BH..

buffet is cheaper..abt $20 per pax..But renting the place is not cheap thou..

Luckily both our parents wan hassle free..no GDL, no gatecrash, no an chuan..no nid banquet..jus tea ceremony..and a wedding wif close frens n relatives..abt 160pax

my PS is oni abt $1k..got a package from taiwan..jus photos and basics stuff with lots of goodies..maybe jus get a gown from retail shops..hehe..DIY deco..photographer is own fren..

At first, my mum aso said she dun wan $$.. but after talking to someone she ask for "pin jing"...lol..

bibi12

I just had my simple wedding on 16th of Jan 2010.
I had my wedding dinner held at Vanda Hall at Pasir Ris chalet. I only invite immediate family and frds. Its not a big hall but can squeeze in 10 tables...;p

I wanna a simple dinner but my father very demanding makes me super angry. Can you imagine he say wanna invite 16 tables of his relatives n friends. Is my wedding y he go n make things so complicated for me. My n my HTB dun intend to invite so many ppl. just want a simple dinner but my father go n invite so many ppl. Haiz. Cannot stand him.

puffygal

I also wan my wedding lunch to be just immediate family and close frens. No gatecrash (HTB dont wan), no yum seng (We both see no point), probably just one march in. Colleagues already know..but we will say its gg to be a private wedding lunch. Have told parents we wanted a private one and have negotiated with few tables of their frens minus those long distance relatives...phew.

Still in progress of planning though.

senorita

i want a simple wedding too... probably tea ceremony, followed by the wedding dinner with close relatives and friends. that's all... at most 10 tables.

kohbros

Hi Rita,

I was looking at the Art House Blue room too

can i ask if to compare blue room and Gallery which look nicer?
Can i also check how much you pay for the catering and is the food any good? I will be doing church wedding noon cum lunch buffet. do they provide any tables to eat as well?
not doing banquet too so maybe my PIL quite sian la.
so should i suggest maybe do a simple dinner at restaurant few tables for the relative at night?
Pls help

angie_lee

The preparation for ROM already drives me crazy~~ cannot imaging we still need to plan for the next year wedding dinner, OMG ~~

jcls

Although mine is a banquet, I do away with gatecrash etc. No jiemei but just 2 friends to help me. My only
Worry is that the photographer has no
Pixs to take. Sigh. Also, my friends all have more fun and elaborated wedding... But mine's pretty quiet. Don't know good or bad.

inmydream

Hi jcls,

Me too! i will not have any jiemei, best man, gatecrash. Only tea ceremony. Simple banquet. No slideshow, singing or long speeches! Is having no entertainment too much for guests? But my FIL likes yum seng, think i won't be able to siam this one.

inmydream

Hi puffygal,

I like your idea of only having 1 march in. Does that mean you only wear 1 gown for the night? Maybe can get discount from BS if don't need evening gown!

ellevonny

Hi Guys! New to SG brides and stumble across this. i'm also not having a so-called actual day too. Cos we both are quite modern and no parents involved. So no exchange of gifts, wedding invitations, gate crash, brothers or sisters?? bridesmaid?

So technically it's really between us. We limit ourselves to only 15 guests max and not dinner or lunch. Just a high-tea reception.

But planning is already quite a nightmare. The search for photographer and videographer is ... a lot of work. And when I finally got it settled last week. I've nothing much to worry. gown and everything can settle 2 months before the ROM. =)

I think my HTB friends will be the entertainment for the event. They are a bunch of quirky people, very fun to hang out with. =) Hopefully everything will be fine. =)

thomasjack

How to make your wedding simple :

- Pick an off date or time
- Rent the village hall
- Cut off guest list
- Get your wedding dress on ebay
- Make everyone the photographer