A Simple Wedding - Anyone

gracelourdes

wahaha...thks felicia..

i really get a clearer idea of how it's going to be like now...

tell u ah...u seriously look like snow white loh...so pretty...

bethany

haha thanks thanks Grace, aiyo i fatty snow white sia.. hahaha..

Don't worry about the tea ceremony, just a small and fast event with close relatives.. your friends won't be too interested to know that de, haha..

but remember to prepare a list of couples you need to serve tea to, because for our case, we left that to my mil and we thought she would have discussed with all the relatives involved in advance, but indeed she didn't..so most of the relatives got not idea about what is going to happen. luckily my mil kept a name list in her handbag so she just helped to call out the names.. it can get quite messy potentially i think.. haha.. And the worst thing is, we didnt even know if we need to kneel down or not.. so we just stand there only.. haha all these things better settle before the wedding.. later parents not happy that we never kneel down how sia.. haha.. and get someone standby by you to help keep the angbaos and gifts you collected during tea ceremony also, you wont have enough hands for that.. haha..

stay happy and be a beautiful bride on your big day =)

kitty_princess

hi grace! long time never come to this thread.

thx felicia for the tips!! actually i'm planning to have tea ceremony before solemnization.. should be ok right? cos we can check in early at 10am.. after that solemnisation outside the banquet room.. then once the guests have seated, will proceed to march in..

bethany

Hey Meow,

yup i had that thought before so at least i will have it settled before all the guests come in.. but the only problem with that plan is, how are you going to address your in-laws and relatives then.. i had that headache before before solemnization, we are not man and wife yet so if i serve tea, i got to call my in-laws uncle and aunty, which sounds a bit funny to me lah, haha so in the end we had it right after solemnization.. just my 2 cents...

kitty_princess

hi felicia, agree with u on the adressing part.. but i feel should be alright to address them as ma and pa even before solemnization.. cos it's just a custom thing.. hope by then nobody will notice..haa.

bethany

haha yes of course, as long as they are okay and you two are okay, why not.. for my case i think my parents in laws quite traditional so i decided to go for solemnization first.. in the end up to now think sometimes when my mil tell me something about my fil, she still says "uncle say blah blah blah" instead of "father say blah blah blah".. haha.. so no need to be so restricted as long as everyone is happy.. haha..

superwoman_cqy

hello all.. Mine will be a simple wedding too this nov.. its solemnization first at 11am afterwhich will be lunch and then tea ceremony :p I just want to mingle with my guests and enjoy my wedding to the fullest

Felicia.. a very informative website you have there :p

bethany

Pinjin? that should already be settled before the wedding right?

I meant I read from the forum everyone settle pinjin when they do guo da li thingy that time..i did not have guo da li at all, but my in laws did came to my place a few days before the actual wedding, just to past that pinjin angbao to my parents.. it is meant for my parents so this can be settled ealier before the actual wedding..

tea ceremony that time we only serve tea liao then get small angbao from relatives.. that's it.. hope i am not confusing you more, haha..

gracelourdes

hehehe...i guess that's my situation as well...it's strange though...my mum wants to waive off the GDL but not the distribution of wedding cakes to relatives (not that it's a substantial amt though also)...

so i guess giving the pin jin earlier would definitely solve the prob...if not, it would be super weird rite? but then, the prob is, my in-laws r not in s'pore...they would only be in s'pore on my AD...would it be more appropriate for them to start the whole ceremony (i'm not having the gatecrashing ceremony also) by giving my parents the pin jin?

bethany

I see.. Maybe can let your hubby bring the cakes to your place before your AD so your mother can distribute to relatives first?

As for your pinjin, i am sure your in laws will have at least 15 minutes time with your parents before on your AD day itself, before you start everything, they can just sit down together and settle the pinjin, cuz i think traditionally this should not be done in front of the relatives and guests right.. so maybe while you are doing your makeup, your parents and in laws can just settle it on their own lor.. cuz after your in laws give the pinjin, your parents also have to return certain amount mah, not nice to "exchange" angbaos in front of others right...just my 2 cents.. haha

ongfion

Hi gals..

I came across this website by chance and thought it is quite informative ..
http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/index.html

Hope you gals will find it useful too.

My mum is ok to waive the Guo Da li thingie but wanna wedding cakes to be distributed as well. Any recommendation on where to order the cakes? or can just go to those HDB cake shops to order?

graceyong

ladies, if your parents say Waive the GDL list of things then good for you. But always be prepared that they may change last minute, when the news of their daughter getting married and people suggest to your mothers. But not to worry, they are shops out there that gather for this. The will prepare and pack everything for you that is require and you just pay and go. =)it is not that problem actually as long as you willing to spend on the $

As for the wedding cakes, you must ask clearly how many your mom wants so that the guy side can buy. There are 2 style now. One is you deliver the cakes yourself to relatives and the other is buy vouchers and the relatives pick them up themselves.

GradceLourdes, if you have the AN CHUAN, then the Pin Jin would have to to come before that. You can have an uncle/aunty (like your friends parents) to represent your in laws.

PIN JIN and Cakes (are part of the GDL) -> AN CHUAN (put the bed sheet on the new bed) -> AD

This is the process. Either that, or get your in laws to make one more trip down to Singapore. If it is too troublesome, then get a friends parents to do it (as they act as MEI REN). SO this is acceptable. Traditional, there would be a LADY to do this so this is something that is practise and not I just say say out of suggestions.

ongfion

Hi Jessie,

We will not be having any alcohol for our wedding luncheon .. mine is on 21 june.. if your AD is after mine, i can share with you my experience then.

I am wondering if there is a need to inform my guests prior or during the AD that no alcohol will be served so guests won't keep asking the banquet staff.
Anyone has any suggestion? :D

gracelourdes

felicia n graceyong, this is confusing...cos my PILs r not concerned abt such traditions n stuff...would it be weird if my hb handed the pinjin angbao to my parents directly instead?

yeah...these days for those with lesser relatives, a lot consider sending the cakes together with wedding invitation cards...however, for those with more relatives will usually consider giving cake cards or vouchers...

there's lots of cake vendors to consider:

1) www.kyo.com.sg
2) www.chozconfectionery.com.sg
3) www.sweetestmoments.com.sg
4) cake avenue

etc etc

bethany

err Grace, personal advice is, that depends on how traditional your parents are.. i will say cakes let your hubby pass to your parents, and explain to them that since your in laws are not in singapore, he will send the GDL things on behalf of them.. but for Pinyin, they will give to your parents once they are here lor..

cuz no i think pinjin must be handed to your parents by your in laws.. no matter whether they are concerned about tradition or not... unless your parents come and tell you that since your in laws are not here, let your hubby help with all these.. if not better play safe i think...

anyway i think what graceyong said is very true also as that is the tradition, and if your parents want it, your hubby might really have to get a friend's parents to help or let your in laws come down earlier before your AD lor.. I did not know that cuz my parents didn't ask for GDL.. so mine is only to pass pinjin to them 2 days before my wedding.. and no an chuan also...

gracelourdes

thks felicia for the advice...seriously have to tik abt it n tell my hb...

anyhow, just wondering...if i'm doing simple wedding like this, do u suppose if i do need a veil?

bethany

You are most welcome Grace..

Veil huh, how should I put it.. If let me choose again I will wear lor, but I must find those unique type.. if you are talking about those traditional ones, I think not really necessary.. to me those are really more for photoshooting, or for grand wedding and full gown with train.. Sometimes depends on the fabric, some can only make the bride look more mature only i think..

Look at these two photos, I am sure you will think that the one without veil looks better for a simple wedding right… sometimes I think it is just like wrapping a gift.. Traditionally we always put a ribbon, but sometimes without ribbon the look can be more classy and unique right?
http://cimg2.163.com/lady/2007/10/15/200710152051547cce6.jpg

Some of the simple veils I think can go with simple gowns...
http://www.lovethebride.com/files/1882275/uploaded/780%20large.jpg
www.iiwed.com/upimg/allimg/071119/0105377_lit.jpg
http://www.hn.gov.cn/upfile/2005114161501_b1.jpg

And this is what I wanted to wear for my ROM initially but of course couldn't really find such a nice one lor..
http://winsonandfelicia.weddingannouncer.com/cphotos-841289/91648.html

I think most impt thing is your hairstyle.. Maybe to me if you were to wear standard veil then your hairdo could be quite limited to a few standard styles only lor…
So if you can find a veil which becomes a highlight of your entire look, then wear it.. But if just wear for the purpose of wearing, then not necessary ba.. Might as well wear nice hair accessories lor.. Rem if you wear veil then hair accessories cannot be too elaborate lor.. And another thing, not related to your question, but if possible, try not to wear fresh flowers.. I meant unless you really like it lah.. Cuz most makeup artist will advise you to wear that, easier for them also mah can throw away after that.. But I think if yours is simple wedding, most likely gown will be simple right, so at least make sure there's one thing gives you the "grand" look lor, once in a life time mah..

gracelourdes

seriously Felicia...i didn't even tik abt veil till i saw my ex-classmate's wedding pics...that set me tiking u know...was just wondering how much hairstyles we can actually tik of doing if going to get veils for ur wedding nite...check out her pics here...www.hemadeus.com/kencarol

anyhow, dun quite like the 1st pic link u included...pretty old-fashioned type...as for the rest, it's interesting but i guess it's more modish style...v interesting...i tik i have to tik abt it...

honestly, i tik the tiara thing is just overhyped...besides, since i dun look nice in tiara or princessy so-called, i tik i rather consider flowers for that matter...

wat do u tik abt the 2 hairstyles below? though the tiara does look really nice here, i tik tis kind of effect a bit hard to create leh...wat u tik?

641576.jpg

641577.jpg

gracelourdes

if not, i do suppose another way would be to do a veil which is not widely spread over the hair on the back...then on the side of the hair...either side..can use hair accessory...i tik i ever saw one such accessory where it's like a mini spider web type n it's diamante...wat u tik?

bethany

wow i love the 2nd picture you uploaded. but honestly i guess your makeup artist might not be able to do this for you lor, even if she has the skill, she might not have the time...

your friend really looks gorgeous leh.. And yes i think the veil really gives a complete bridal look lor.. but personally I find her veil looks great from the side only.. front view and back view so-so only cuz it is really the standard normal vell lor.. i like the length of it of course... haha maybe i only like modish style ba..

i am not too into tiara actually.. cuz i prefer cute and sweet look lah so if it is a super small one i am still okay.. haha.. And I also prefer simple and chic look, so pearl hair accessories like those in your 2nd picture looks perfect to me lor.. And i like your idea about doing a veil that does not spread widely over the hair lor..

sorry leh i am not pro on this so can't really give you much advice.. rule of thumb is, it is your big day, just do whatever you like and you will definitely look great..

gracelourdes

aiyoh, felicia dun say like that leh...so glad that u offered advice to me
definitely agree with u tht impt thing is, i must like how i look...n that it's only then i would look the prettiest woman in the world! hehehe

snow_bell

Came across the thread. Interesting and get me thinking about a simple wedding.
No dates decided but BF and I have been talking about it. He doesn't want anything and I want everything.
Will get him to go through the thread.. maybe we can get started somewhere now..

650688.jpg
650689.jpg
650690.jpg

these pictures are what i have search for..but i used none..i leave it to my MUA to decide..

i personally like hairstyle 1 a lot..simple and nice.
hairstyle 3 is more tradition look, good for church wedding.
I like the tiria of hairstyle 2.

hi snowbell
when u say you wan everything..pls be sure they are realistic.
dun scare the hell out of your bf and in the end u end up with nothing.

snow_bell

Hi cynthia,
actually i meant i wanted the normal that most couples go through.. the photo-taking, gate crashing, tea ceremony and dinner..
not that i expected it to be grand or very extra-ordinary.. bf just not used to being the centre of attraction..
Instead of the dinner, maybe he will compromise on buffet lunch.. hmm..

piupiugoh

I'm also having a simple wedding nxt june. Most prob signing the contract with panpac. I want my wedding lunch to be a huge cozy gathering for my close friends, relatives and family who can share my happiness. There is no gate-crashing,no champagne pouring,no yum-seng,no photo-taking-just lunch and the feeling of blissfulness and love in the air. It's our wedding so we decide how it shld be done and how we like it. No point tiring ourselves out for the sake of other people's reviews on our wedding. At the end of the day, they will prob forget our wedding the nxt few days. A simple wedding = no headaches. *applause*

hey piupiugoh, your wedding sounds like a good idea. that is what I am planning as I find the champagne pouring and yum seng very fake and staged but how to fill in the time? That's the headache! Will be so quiet!!!! How to keep the guests entertained, not bored but also happy.

piupiugoh

Ya..that's what I think too...I'm having my solemnization on that day..other than that..the guests have nothing to do but eat..haa..I'm cracking my head too but I still have one yr to brainstorm..kee.

sparkless

In all the weddings I have attended, I think guests usually are quite happy on their own, eating and chatting with friends. Will be good if the couple could mingle with the guests.

For myself, the wedding will be simple but the preparation is mostly DIY, thus hardly simple at all. Haha

piupiugoh

Ya, that's what I think too..hence initially I suggested a buffet lunch so I can go around chatting..but my FH husband's father prefer a wedding banquet, hence the change.

And as a guest, sometimes I got frustrated by the many interuptions(yumseng or performances, for some, or games) when I just want to eat my dinner (having been starved which is usually the case). However, I love looking at the couple's photos and listen to some (sincere ones) of their speeches.

I want a wedding lunch coz there will still be time to chat and mingle ard after the banquet as the guests will not be rushing home...

Anyway...I have not confirmed which hotel to take yet...

kioko_angel

hi,i will be holding a small and simple wedding lunch next month..can someone advise if is a must to have GDL bfor the AD like distriubting cakes and AN CHUAN? all the while my FH is staying wif us, and our house is in a mid of reno, am i allow to go bek to my parents house after the wedding tat night? and since my house not ready, can i skip AN CHUAN or is a must? im so vexed cos im lost with the preparations..

piupiugoh

For me, I did not follow the customs @ all.I think it's up to you whether you want to distribute cakes or not coz it's UR wedding so you decide.I just plan to go straight to the hotel in my jeans and tee and then make-up there,I did not å‡ºå« frm my house. But I did consult my parents if they mind and they are okay with it. So, I suggest you shld probably consult your elders.If they are okay, then you can do it your way.

gracelourdes

yeah, agree with piupiu...kioko, i tik u better consult ur parents or PIL first...if they are ok with it, then good lah....

like for me, my parents waive off the GDL but just want us to give our relatives wedding cakes only...as for an chuang, we are not doing it...

kioko_angel

thks piupiu and grace..

most headache is both side parents are both not particular abt GDL cos they wan make it simple.. and they let me decide wat i like to do.. but worried tat if don't do properly will get "chiong" or not.. sigh
just hope all get in places slowly..

gracelourdes

twinfairy_starry....welcome!! i guess there's no hard n fast rule....wat's most impt is, u n ur hb love it cos it's going to be ur big day also...

however, let's not forget both your parents n his parents...much as we would like to have our ideal wedding, we still have to consider abt our parents' feelings....

seriously, wat do u have in mind?

sparkless

hi grace,
we are planning for a church wedding, no banquet. The last time we went to ask, we were quoted abt 3k even though there's no need for evening gown and the night make up. Usually, the bridal shops will top up their photos quantity.

so i am thinking if i should do everything ala carte.

option 1.
get a package

option 2.
search for a bridal shop that rent out wedding gown. source for own make-up, bridal car, flowers, etc.

option 3.
buy 2nd handed gown. source everything else.

For option 2. If we manage to buy a car, then bridal car will have no issue. Otherwise, i am not sure if renting a car itself is more worthwhile than getting a package. If on my own, i still have to find someone to help do up the car.

For option 3. Not sure if i can find a good seamstress to help alter. And after wedding, storage is a problem.

tay_weiwei

Hi Twinfairy, i am not sure if you want to follow my style, i got everything ala-crate as my husband does not wan the photography. So i brought a nice dress from Allure. And just invited 30people for lunch. And might going to engage a 2 pcs band to entertain them. Cosy and simple.

But of course, i still want the gate-crashing from him and his siong-di. Must sabo him for once in his life.

Hi Twinfairy, I was very confused at the start of my preparations and went to a few BS to source but prices are so ex! In the end, I am DIYing myself. Got my gown brand new OTR from D'Sire - they do alteration and dry cleaning for only SGD30 so that's not an issue. The dress was only SGD799 but there was a cheaper range at SGD599 Allure has some nice dresses too and its not ex.

I find DIY cheaper and I can get what I want. With your car, perhaps you can consider borrowing a friend's car and give them an ang pow in return? I find the packages provided by BS usually includes alot of frills that are useless.

iamhey

i also wanna have a simple wedding. i dun wanna have banquet in hotel. but a nice dinner in a nice restaurant. does anyone have any suggestion of nice restaurant with nice atmosphere and nice food? there will be ard 50 guests.

jadeite

For those who want a simple wedding, just wanna inspire u!

my bro and i getting married 3 months apart, we are both having church weddings with receptions, no banquets. i'm planning both wedding singlehandedly! sourcing 2nd hand gowns, MUA, decor. Our friends and my dad who are experienced photogs are doing our PG for us. it can be done
aiming to spend less than 5k each. my parents have volunteered to pay for the receptions for both of us, and the food is the most expensive so that's the biggest load off our back.

can be done
jiayou!

smokeyeyes

mine is simple. ROM in june with 60pax all very close friends and family only.

Our upcoming AD in DEC, no friends invited and only catering at both homes, serve tea etc... no BROTHERS AND SISTERS either.

Simple enough?

hahaha.. you can see our ROM pics at www.jasonandyvonne.multiply.com

as LONG as both happy can already.

tianedeyangyang

Seems that a simple wedding becomes favourite for the young generation. am i right ??

I had my simple western ROM followed by wedding lunch @ the Art house. Even our preparation was only 2 months. We had our 70 intimates frenz and relatives only with international buffet style.

No tea ceremony, no brothers n sisters, somemore bride n groom meet @ the art house directly.

For those who are keen of having sort of "private" colonial wedding celebration, the Art House ( BLue Room ) can be one of the suitable place

yangyen

Can I find out for your simple weddings, did you provide any small little gifts or favors for your guests?

yawnzzz

Agree that a simple wedding is less hassle and can save more $$$ for new house or honeymoon. My AD is in Jan 2010, it seems that as the preparation goes along, we seem to prefer doing it as simple as possible. But kinda regret booking a hotel for banquet already. Think a cosy dinner is much more interactive and fun.