A relationship with an irc pal?

soontobe

Hi hi....wonder is this thread still active.

But just to share my story, I met my FH in irc too. We have been together for 9 months, and we are getting married in Dec 06.

I only told 2 gfs about this. They were shocked, but happy for me.

babygera

Hi, Just to share...
mi and FH also met in IRC several years back and I've also gotten quite a number of frens whom met their partner from IRC and r now happily married

sandsand

Just sharing too, i am getting married to my IRC friend of 5 years this Dec too. =)
I guess some of us are just fortunate to find a soul mate thru IRC though to many it sounds dangerous..

soontobe

Heehee...i think we gals must gather to share our experiences. I never tot that I would meet my soulmate in IRC....

idealone

Hear for a guy's point of view for a change?

Bad guys go on net to look for a prey. Good guys who are bored, go on line for chatting.

Bad guy's chat topic always lead to sexual content. Good guy can talk about anything, maybe a bit of sexual content but most of it revolves around himself or yourself to get to know you better.

Bad guy will always try to initiate to meet you. Good guys will wait for you to initiate. If you dun initiate after some time and he is interested in you, he will also initiate meeting you.

Bad guy will try to lure you to some ulu place of even give excuses for you to go to his house. Good guy will try to make you comfortable by meeting you at some crowded place, usually go for a meal or movies.

Bad guys will use all available oppotunities to touch you where good guys will keep their hands to themselves.

After a few dates, The good guys will continue to get to know you better more attentive to you but bad guys will try all ways to bed you. Giving lousy excuses like if you love me enough, prove it to me by having sex with me and I'll not leave you.

Though this is a rather lousy and common line, still many gals still fall for it. So, just be careful. Gals at your age is rather easy prey. Trust me. I know it.

Ask the jie jies here.. who have been coned b4. They will advice you better. Nevertheless, the decision maker is still yourself.

idealone

I've a younger sister too... Thats y i can't stand young gals get cheated. Even though I've to betray my own kind it's for the good of the young gal here. ;)

babygera

?? means ure younger sis got cheated before?? so far i think i'm lucky havent met any bad guys in irc before lolx

idealone

No lah... Wat i mean is that I told my sis the same things and dun wan her to get cheated.. hee~ my england weak lah... ha ha ha

idealone

blur_ger still Irc... hee~ friendster also the same... can use the same tactic de... you are lucky you never met any b4...

idealone

Friendster lagi worse... You can see the person's photo and if he is rather good looking and a smooth talker, think not all gals will be able to resist the charm and will kenna cheated. Not jus guys will cheat gals, gals will also cheat guys by extortion. Call to meet and later do something and claim rape or molested thus extorting $$ from the guy.

Scary!!! Bottom line is to exercise caution once think that it's not right, give excuse to leave and giving a empty promise to meet another day. Like that, you can get away safely...

idealone

where are you blur gal? so have you got our messages? Not all guys are bad so you have to see for yourself lor. Keep us updated like wat he says and where he wan to meet and do wat... From this, we will help you futher.

idealone

thats y i wonder if she blissfully got attached or unfortunately kenna cheated liao. Seems that we came in too late... :p

wnteruv

i dun think all irc guys are bad. My bf met in irc too. we know the existence of each other and its only about 2 years later thn we meet each other in real life. we have been together for almost 2 years, and this dec, we are getting married.

I guess its all depends on the type of channels that you go to. and of coz, if you are to go out together for the first time, preferably go in a group rather thn with the guy alone. afterall, gals tend to lose out if anyting happen.

nanabear

Well.. just wanna share.. Not all IRC guys are bad.. i have my fair share of bad guys too and was in IRC for 10 yrs liaoz.. now i am going to be a mum liaoz.. and i got to know my hubby from IRC too.. he is just fanastic (of cos all hubbys are fanastic to their wives, hehe)

I am considered lucky to have found my fated one on irc.. BUT REMEMBER! NOT ALL GUYS ARE GOOD GUYS IN IRC.. u just got to learn how to judge..

yiplim

hey pple, juz wanna share too, i got to know this guy in IRC 5yrs ago and we are happily together and getting married next yr. It depands how u judge the person, if ur both have natural feelings, it will come.....

Be careful when u meet with those guys.... all the best!!

nessa81

Well i meet my FH from "Alamak Chatroom" about 1 yr plus ago...After 2nd meeting we got together and after 1 month together we decided to married and will ROM in Oct tis year
...and he been there for me no matter what...like he said to me "U have 2 keys...1 key is my house key and 1 key is to my heart" and i do have a key to his heart
and i m glad to know him...

xinz

I met both my bf and one of my buddy through IRC. My bf and I were friends for 7 years before we finally got together.

So I would say not all guys on IRC are preying on girls yet there are always black sheeps who would spoil the balance of it...

gera78

me too..i met my husband from irc too...we have been together for 8 yrs before we got engaged last year june, now happily married

wachifield

me too, i met my hubby from irc. dated for 2 yrs and married for 6 yrs :D
my fren met her hubby from facebook and they are happily married for 4 yrs already :D

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Facebook, Inc.

Type Private
Founded Cambridge, Massachusetts
(February 4, 2004)[1]
Headquarters Palo Alto, California
Launched February 2004
Current status Active
Facebook (branded as "facebook") is a social networking website launched on February 4, 2004.

so Wachifield,
your friend once know he hubby then married already huh?

wachifield

hi cynthia, yes yes, u are right. when facebook started in 2004, they met each other. then dated 6 mths and get rom. fast right? :p

wachifield

hmm... actually r/s thingy hard to say. my another fren, dated for.. let me count... not sure 7 or 9 yrs then get married. not that she or the guy wanted to postpone the marriage, but is my fren's mum who objected. so my fren waited lor. finally her mum agreed. i guess the reason is that her younger brother gave the mum a grandson, so she happy and agree to the marriage. i didn't clarify this with my fren, bcos not a nice thing to ask.
my fren's hubby really nice guy, willing to wait for her so many years. if other guy, he may not wait :p

wachifield

oh dear, this is a sad question. it all depends on the man's part, whether he gives back the love to u or not. if he doesn't, then it is hard to be with him.

wachifield

yes, and i believe she needs support from frens and family during this period. r/s is never perfect, always has its ups and downs. hope she's ok soon

crankset

Met the wife through ICQ random chat, can't get anymore erm, random than that.

8 years since we met, 4 since we've been married, 2 girls in the meantime, weirder things have happened than finding true love on the internet.

Just keep your wits about you at all times though and trust your instincts if the alarm bells start going off! That goes for both the boys and girls.

albertri

I kenna before by a lady online friend... so I stop chatting online. I had this friend in a forum and we began chatting online we never met each other for few mnths she was ok then she started telling me stories like money problem she borrowed me few times (small change) and no probs she pays back (oh all transaction done via internet banking) then one fine day she ask me for 250$ so i lend her. The day she promise to pay back she didn't until a week pass then two weeks so I ping her once when I saw her online then she started sending me nasty messages like i lost her job coz my boss saw me chatting coz i message her (why in the 1st place she was online at work if it is not allowed?). And she will log police report for me harrassing her. I told her if she dont want to pay just say it, it's just 250$ i wont chase you for that I could earn that money easily. Since then I stop chatting.

Anyways that was when I was still new in SG since then I never trust anyone in the internet

junio

my future husband is from IRC.. we talk about mirc scripting and talk about IT stuff.. no dirty chat at all.. been good friends for 10 over years and he is from UK and i am SG.. fate come around and got together!

but there are alot of pervert in IRC