A Question on Chimney Hood...

faithe

I have a qn on chimney hood, wonder anyone can enlighten me...my new house was installed with Rinnai RH-90CD chimney hood, however, i notice there was no ventilation for the air to go out. As i went to my frd hse, she install those slim hood, i notice the smoke/air will be suck in from bottom and there will be air coming out from the toop of the slim hood. So, i was wondering how come mine do not have the ventilation for the sucked air to come out after filter, anyone can enlighten me?

cha_alex

u should call Rinnai and inquire......

i use other brand, there are some strips of opening on top of my chimney hood. when i use the hood for cooking, i can see air/moist flow out.....

faithe

I called rinnai today, looks like its my contractor's problem, rinnai technician says the opening is on the 2nd part of the chimney, but my hood was only install with 1st part, cos the extended 2nd part was too long, haiz...now have to tell my ID this problem and see how he can rectify for me...sian...

rachely

oh faithe, yout problem sounds like my current house pro...3 yrs ago, my mom & i bought this chimney hood too, suction power strong blah blah balh, however, also realise how come the smoke from the food don get "suck" into the chimney? Anyway, now the chimney is half gone already....On already still make the whole cooking area dripping with oil...wasting electricities

Anyway, the product is a brand call El****

faithe

Rachel, that means is not the product fault, is confirmed your renovator's fault, or rather the person who help u to install the hood. Today the technician from rinnai came and check and tell me liao...all hood, no matter chimney or slim, all have the same logic, that is suck air in, and let air out, so die die must have air outlet. For those who are doing chimney hood, do take note of this, dun juzz becos have to fit the cabinet design and let the contractor anyhow chop off the hole....

rachely

i donno whether it's the installation pro or because my mom is a heavy user. But we also notice the symptom when we first use it like the smoke suction is very mild...then later the motor starts to run in very loud noise & there is where all problem starts like even if we on the hood, after a few days or so, the surrounding area is very oily=dripping with oil.

for my new home, i bought a canopy type, hopefully is a better choice...haahaa, gotta take it easy tot.

annabella

Hi Faithe,

What do u mean by chop off the hole? Is it the white plastic hole(with the rectangular base) Mine is same model as yours. I have two white pieces stuff that is not installed. I have just called rinnai this morning, waiting for their staff to arrange for their technicians to come down to my house to check. My ID wil be there too to learn the proper installation and they'll recify the problem. Thanks for your info.

Me also blurred blurred when my mum commented that my hood not powerful, I still told her off.. ha..ha..ha..

faithe

ya lor, i think we should listen to pple's feedback sometimes...actually my colleague also ask me before how come no air outlet when she came to my hse to see my reno...

annabella, can i have ur email address?need ask u abt this hood thing...think we shd discuss cos my id not sure how to rectify..

cha_alex

dun forget to maintain the hood such as clean the filter regularly, etc. in order to maintain good suction power

jewelelegance

hmm.. it seems you have not bought the chimney but a problems at your place.Just check whether there is a problem with your installation as you have said.I am sure the technician have missed something better go for someone who have a better knowledge of of chimney installation, the one who can fix your problem .I too faced this type of problem 2 yrs back with my new chimney after changing the technician i got relived with the smoke.

joanne918

Do you mean that the smoke will suck into the hood and the oil is filtered. Then, the smoke comes out from the "hole" on the chimney and back to our kitchen?

maylitte

I'm in the process of making an eleventh hour switch from a 36" DF range to the 48" DF Wolf range (DF486G). However, I'm confused about the chimney portion of the 54" vent hood. With the 42" wide hood, the top of the hood narrows to 24". Then you add the 24" wide duct cover (chimney)to the ceiling. The end result is a smooth transition from 42 > 24, then up.
With the 54" wide hood, the specs show that it only narrows down to 36" at the top of the hood. Since the duct covers are only available 6", 12", 18" or 24" - how are you supposed to get that chimney look? Is there a 36" > 24" transition available from Wolf?

Thanks for any help - can't believe I'm changing ranges with less than a week before I order cabinets.